Response to Amendment
The amendments filed January 25, 2026 have been entered. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. The examiner acknowledges the amendments of claims 1-2, 4, 16, and 20. The previous drawing and specification objections have been withdrawn due to the newly presented and accepted “Drawings” and “Specification” dated 01/25/2026. The previous claim objection and has been withdrawn due to applicant amendments. The previous 112 rejection has been withdrawn due to applicant’s persuasive arguments. The previous 103 rejections have been modified due to applicant’s amendments. For the reason(s) set forth below, applicant’s arguments have not been found persuasive. The action is Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Renaud (US Pub. No. 2015/0322684).
Regarding claim 1, Renaud discloses: a pool robot (Figures 1-7C element 100 and see also paragraph 0029), comprising:
a housing (element 110);
an accommodation cavity (element 157) disposed in the housing (see figure 6), wherein the accommodation cavity is provided with at least one water inlet hole (see figure 5 annotated below showing a plurality of elements 113 (holes), see figure 6 annotated below showing the at least one water inlet hole (Detail A) showing water entering through the inlet hole and entering the accommodation cavity (element 157), thus as best shown in figure 5 annotated below, the examiner selects one of the plurality of elements 113 (see Detail A) as the at least one water inlet hole);
a filtering box (element 154) disposed in the accommodation cavity (see figure 6);
a filter driving assembly (element 160), wherein under an action of the filter driving assembly, water enters the filtering box, and the water filtered by the filtering box enters the filter driving assembly through the at least one water inlet hole and is drained from the housing to form a first water flow path used for cleaning the water (see paragraph 0046 where the prior art discloses element 160 comprises “a motor box 161 and an impeller unit 162”, see paragraph 0050 where the prior art discloses utilizing element 162 to draw water (an action of the filter assembly) and see figure 6 annotated below showing water entering through the filtering box (see arrows) and enter the filter driving assembly (element 160) through the at least one water inlet hole (Detail A) and is drained from the housing (see arrows above element 160 leaving the housing) to form a first water flow path (arrows) used for cleaning the water (see paragraph 0050 where the prior art discloses “filtered water”));
a plurality of first water outlet holes (see figure 5 annotated below showing a plurality of elements 113 (holes), see also paragraph 0031 where the prior art discloses element 113 “can advantageously serve as drains for when the cleaner 100 is removed from the water”, thus as best shown in figure 5 annotated below, the examiner selects two (i.e. plurality) of the plurality of elements 113 (see Detail B) as the plurality of first water outlet holes) disposed on the housing (see figures 5-6 annotated below); and
at least one second water outlet hole (see figure 6 annotated below Detail C showing the water (arrow) escaping from the accommodation cavity (element 157) and flowing into a different portion of the pool robot, thus the selected at least one second water outlet hole (Detail C) is an outlet) disposed on the accommodation cavity (see figure 6 annotated below),
wherein in a process in which the pool robot is leaving water in a tilt state, some of the plurality of first water outlet holes are located lower than the at least one second water outlet hole (see figure 6 annotated below showing the pool robot in a “tilted state” and showing some of the plurality of first water outlet holes (Detail B) located lower than the at least one second water outlet hole (Detail C)), so that the filtering box, the accommodation cavity, the at least one second water outlet hole, and the plurality of first water outlet holes are sequentially in fluid communication to form a second water flow path used for water in the housing to be quickly drained from the housing (See figure 6 annotated below showing the pool robot in a “tilted state” and showing a water flow path (arrows) going through the filtering box (element 154), the accommodation cavity (element 157), the at least one second water outlet hole (Detail C), and the plurality of first water outlet holes (Detail B) which show all components to be sequentially in fluid communication. Therefore, giving that there are no structural distinguish of the device and the prior art and since all structural limitations are met, thus the prior art would be capable of having the process in which the pool robot is leaving water in a tilt state, some of the plurality of first water outlet holes are located lower than the at least one second water outlet hole, so that the filtering box, the accommodation cavity, the at least one second water outlet hole, and the plurality of first water outlet holes are sequentially in fluid communication to form a second water flow path used for water in the housing to be quickly drained from the housing, as recited.).
Regarding claim 2, Renaud discloses: the pool robot according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of first water outlet hole is disposed at a bottom (element 147) of the housing.
Regarding claim 3, Renaud discloses: the pool robot according to claim 1, wherein the at least one second water outlet hole is disposed on at least one side wall (element 156) of the accommodation cavity.
Regarding claim 5, Renaud discloses: the pool robot according to claim 1, further comprising at least one first cavity (see figure 6 annotated below Detail A) disposed in the housing and separated from the accommodation cavity (see figure 6 annotated below showing the least one first cavity disposed in the housing (element 110) and separate from the accommodation cavity (element 157)), wherein the accommodation cavity communicates with the at least one first cavity through the at least one water inlet hole (see figure 6 annotated below Detail B/element 155 showing water (arrow) entering from the accommodation cavity (element 157) and flowing into the at least one first cavity (Detail A) via Detail B/element 155, thus the selected at least one water inlet hole (Detail B/element 155) serves as an inlet hole);
at least a part of the filter driving assembly is disposed in the at least one first cavity (see figure 6 annotated below showing at least a part (element 162C) of the filter driving assembly (element 160) disposed in the at least one first cavity (Detail A)); and
under the action of the filter driving assembly, the filtering box, the accommodation cavity, the at least one water inlet hole, the at least one first cavity, and the filter driving assembly are sequentially in fluid communication to form the first water flow path (see figure 6 annotated below showing the filter driving assembly (element 160 which draw water (an action of the filter assembly) see paragraph 0050), the filtering box (element 154), the accommodation cavity (element 157), the at least one water inlet hole (Detail B/element 155), the at least one first cavity (Detail A) being sequentially in fluid communication to form the first water flow path (arrows).
Regarding claim 6, Renaud discloses: the pool robot according to claim 5, further comprising at least one liquid inlet (see annotated figure 6 below Detail A) disposed on the filtering box, wherein the water enters the filtering box through the at least one liquid inlet (see arrows in figure 6).
Regarding claim 7, Renaud discloses: the pool robot according to claim 6, further comprising:
at least one first water inlet (see figure 5 annotated above (page 7) showing a plurality of elements 113 (holes), see figure 6 annotated above Detail B showing at least one first water inlet, thus the examiner selects the remaining element 113 (element 113 that is not boxed or circled as best shown figure 5 annotated above (page 7)) as the least one first water inlet) disposed on the housing and communicating with the at least one liquid inlet (see figure 6 annotated above); and
at least one third water outlet hole (element 122) disposed on the housing (see figure 6), wherein under the action of the filter driving assembly, the at least one first water inlet, the at least one liquid inlet, the filtering box, the accommodation cavity, the at least one water inlet hole, the at least one first cavity, the filter driving assembly, and the at least one third water outlet hole are sequentially in fluid communication to form the first water flow path (see figure 6 annotated above showing the filter driving assembly (element 160 which draw water (an action of the filter assembly) see paragraph 0050), the least one first water inlet (Detail B), the at least one liquid inlet (Detail A), the filter driving assembly (element 160), the filtering box (element 154 located in the left side portion of the cleaner) and the at least one third water outlet hole (element 122)are sequentially in fluid communication to form the first water flow path (arrows)).
Regarding claim 8, Renaud discloses: the pool robot according to claim 7, wherein the filter driving assembly comprises at least an impeller (see paragraph 0045 where the prior art discloses element 160 comprises “impeller 162C”), wherein
under the action of the filter driving assembly, the at least one first water inlet, the at least one liquid inlet, the filtering box, the accommodation cavity, the at least one water inlet hole, the at least one first cavity, the impeller, and the at least one third water outlet hole are sequentially in fluid communication to form the first water flow path (see figure 6 annotated above showing the filter driving assembly (element 160 which draw water (an action of the filter assembly) see paragraph 0050), the least one first water inlet (see figure 6 annotated below Detail B), the at least one liquid inlet (see figure 6 annotated below Detail A), the filtering box (element 154), the accommodation cavity (element 157), the at least one water inlet hole (see figure 6 annotated below Detail C), the at least one first cavity (see figure 6 annotated below Detail D), the impeller (element 162C), and the at least one third water outlet hole (element 122) are sequentially in fluid communication to form the first water flow path (arrows).
Regarding claim 9, Renaud discloses: the pool robot according to claim 7, wherein the at least one first water inlet is disposed at a bottom of the housing (see annotated figure 6 above showing the least one first water inlet (see figure 6 annotated below Detail B) is disposed at a bottom of the housing (element 110), and the at least one third water outlet hole is disposed at a top of the housing (see annotated figure 6 above showing the at least one third water outlet hole (element 122) is disposed at a top of the housing (element 110)).
Regarding claim 13, Renaud discloses: the pool robot according to claim 1, wherein at least a part of the filter driving assembly faces the at least one water inlet hole (see annotated figure 6 below showing the bottom portion of the filter driving assembly (element 160) faces the at least one water inlet hole (see figure 6 annotated below Detail A)).
Regarding claim 14, Renaud discloses: the pool robot according to claim 7, wherein at least a part of the filter driving assembly and/or a water drainage direction of the filter driving assembly face/faces the at least one third water outlet hole (see figure 6 showing upper portions of the filter driving assembly (element 160) facing the at least one third water outlet hole (element 122)).
Regarding claim 15, Renaud discloses: the pool robot according to claim 14, wherein one end of at least a part of the filter driving assembly is in fluid communication with the at least one water inlet hole, and the other end is in fluid communication with the at least one third water outlet hole (see annotated figure 6 below showing the filter driving assembly (element 160) having upper/lower portions (ends) which are in fluid communication (arrows) with the at least one water inlet hole (Detail B), and the other end is in fluid communication (arrows) with the at least one third water outlet hole (element 122)).
Regarding claim 16, Renaud discloses: the pool robot according to claim 7, wherein the at least one third water outlet hole is located at a top of the at least one first cavity (see annotated figure 6 below showing the at least one third water outlet hole (element 122) is located at a top of the at least one first cavity (Detail A)).
Regarding claim 17, Renaud discloses: the pool robot according to claim 8, wherein the filter driving assembly further comprises a motor (element 161 and see also paragraph 0046 where the prior art discloses element 161 as “a motor box”) configured to drive the impeller to rotate (see paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 18, Renaud discloses: the pool robot according to claim 17, further comprising: the at least one first cavity, wherein the impeller is disposed in the at least one first cavity (see annotated figure 6 below showing the impeller (element 162C) disposed in in the at least one first cavity (Detail A)); and
a second cavity (see annotated figure 6 below Detail B) separated from both the accommodation cavity and the at least one first cavity, wherein the motor is disposed in the second cavity (see annotated figure 6 below showing the first cavity (Detail A), second cavity (Detail B), the accommodation cavity (element 157) separate from each other and the motor (element 161) disposed in the second cavity).
Regarding claim 19, Renaud discloses: the pool robot according to claim 18, wherein the second cavity is located below the at least one first cavity (see figure 6 annotated above).
Regarding claim 20, Renaud discloses: the pool robot according to claim 1, wherein when the pool robot is in the tilt state, a bottom of the housing and a horizontal plane form an included angle of 45° to 75° (see figures 7A and 7C showing the pool robot (element 100) having a housing with a bottom being a tilt state, and giving that there are no structural distinguish of the device and the prior art and since all structural limitations are met. The prior art would be capable of having the bottom of the housing and a horizontal plane form the included angle of 45° to 75°, as recited.).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud (US Pub. No. 2015/0322684).
Regarding claim 10, Renaud discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1, 5-7, and further discloses alternate embodiments (Figures 8-14), but appears to be silent further comprising at least one second water inlet disposed at a bottom of the accommodation cavity and communicating with the at least one first water inlet, wherein the at least one second water inlet is located between the at least one first water inlet and the at least one liquid inlet, and the at least one first water inlet, the at least one second water inlet, and the at least one liquid inlet are sequentially in fluid communication.
Renaud alternate embodiment is also concern in providing a pool robot (Figures 10-11 element 500 and see also paragraph 0069) comprising a housing (see figure 11 annotated below Detail A), an accommodation cavity (see figure 11 annotated below Detail B), at least one first water inlet (inlet holes of element 553B), the at least one first water inlet (see figure 11 annotated below Detail C), and further comprising at least one second water inlet (see figure 11 annotated below Detail D) disposed at a bottom of the accommodation cavity (see figure 11 annotated below) and communicating with the at least one first water inlet (see figure 11 annotated below flow of water (arrows), wherein the at least one second water inlet is located between the at least one first water inlet and the at least one liquid inlet (see figure 11 annotated below), and the at least one first water inlet, the at least one second water inlet, and the at least one liquid inlet are sequentially in fluid communication (see figure 11 annotated below showing the at least one first water inlet (inlet holes of element 553B), the at least one second water inlet (see figure 11 annotated below Detail D), and the at least one liquid inlet (see figure 11 annotated below Detail C) are sequentially in fluid communication (arrows)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Renaud to incorporate the teachings of Renaud alternate embodiment to provide at least one second water inlet disposed at a bottom of the accommodation cavity and communicating with the at least one first water inlet, wherein the at least one second water inlet is located between the at least one first water inlet and the at least one liquid inlet, and the at least one first water inlet, the at least one second water inlet, and the at least one liquid inlet are sequentially in fluid communication. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize having a plurality of different inlets communicating with each other would necessarily provide the predictable result of intaking dirty water with debris, treating the water and collecting the debris, and discharging clean water back to the pool during operations.
Regarding claim 11, Renaud modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1, 5-7, 10, and further discloses alternate embodiments (Figures 8-14), but appears to be silent wherein the at least one first water inlet communicates with the at least one second water inlet through a water guiding duct.
Renaud alternate embodiment is also concern in providing a pool robot (Figures 10-11 element 500 and see also paragraph 0069) comprising a housing (see figure 11 annotated below Detail A), an accommodation cavity (see figure 11 annotated below Detail B), at least one first water inlet (inlet holes of element 553B), the at least one first water inlet (see figure 11 annotated below Detail C), at least one second water inlet (see figure 11 annotated below Detail D), and wherein the at least one first water inlet communicates with the at least one second water inlet through a water guiding duct (element 592).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Renaud to incorporate the teachings of Renaud alternate embodiment to provide wherein the at least one first water inlet communicates with the at least one second water inlet through a water guiding duct. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize having guiding duct communicating a plurality of different inlets communicating with each other would necessarily provide the predictable result of intaking dirty water with debris, treating the water and collecting the debris, and discharging clean water back to the pool during operations.
Regarding claim 12, Renaud modified discloses: the pool robot according to claim 11, wherein at least a part of the water guiding duct is located outside the accommodation cavity (see figure 11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 recites limitations directed to the pool robot, specifically “further comprising a water baffle plate provided over the at least one second water outlet hole, wherein when the pool robot is located in the water, the water baffle plate closes the at least one second water outlet hole, and in the process in which the pool robot is leaving the water some of the plurality of first water outlet holes are located lower than the at least one second water outlet hole, and the water baffle plate does not close the at least one second water outlet hole, so that the filtering box, the accommodation cavity, the at least one second water outlet hole, and the plurality of first water outlet holes are sequentially in fluid communication to form the second water flow path”.
The prior art discloses Renaud discloses all the claimed limitations of the pool robot in claim 1, including at least one second water outlet hole (see figure 6 annotated above (page 6) Detail C showing the water (arrow) escaping from the accommodation cavity (element 157) and flowing into a different portion of the pool robot, thus the selected at least one second water outlet hole (Detail C) is an outlet). The prior art further shows in figure 6 and discloses in paragraph 0050 that “a flow path” (see arrows) created by the impeller (element 162C) is between the intake flow regions 157 and the vent flow regions 158 can be through the side filter panels 154 and/or through the top filter panels 155. Thus creating an uninterrupted and unobstructed water flow path in order to filter water through the pool robot when the pool robot is in the water.
Thus, any proposed modification including providing a water baffle plate over the at least one second water outlet hole and wherein the water baffle plate closes the at least one second water outlet hole when the pool robot is located in the water would render Renaud unsatisfactory for its intended purpose and there would necessarily be no suggestion or motivation to make the proposed modification. Therefore, the prior art fails to disclose further comprising a water baffle plate provided over the at least one second water outlet hole, wherein when the pool robot is located in the water, the water baffle plate closes the at least one second water outlet hole, and in the process in which the pool robot is leaving the water some of the plurality of first water outlet holes are located lower than the at least one second water outlet hole, and the water baffle plate does not close the at least one second water outlet hole, so that the filtering box, the accommodation cavity, the at least one second water outlet hole, and the plurality of first water outlet holes are sequentially in fluid communication to form the second water flow path.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on January 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-15 of the “Remarks” the applicant argues the newly amended features of independent claim 1, specifically:
Renaud fails to disclose at least "a plurality of first water outlet holes disposed on the housing; and at least one second water outlet hole disposed on the accommodation cavity, wherein in a process in which the pool robot is leaving water in a tilt state ... are sequentially in fluid communication to form a second water flow path used for water in the housing to be quickly drained from the housing" as recited by amended claim 1.
In view of para. [0047] of Renaud, it is clear that a water flow path indicated by black arrow(s) is a filtering flow path. In other words and for discussion purpose only, the water flow path indicated by the black arrow(s) by annotated FIG. 6 of Renaud indeed functions as the first waterflow path(i.e., a water flow direction in a process in which the pool robot cleans the pool) rather than the second waterflow path(i.e., a water flow direction in a process in which the pool robot is leaving the water). Renaud, para. [0047]. Additionally, para.[0050] of Renaud explicitly provides detailed descriptions supporting that the waterflow path indicated by black arrow(s) refers to the filtering flow path used for the first water flow path for cleaning water in the pool rather than the second water flow path used for water in the pool robot's housing to be quickly drained from the housing. Relevant part of Renaud provides "unfiltered water and debris are drawn via the intake apertures 113 of the housing assembly 100 through the intake channels 153 of the filter assembly 150 and into the one or more bucket-shaped intake flow regions 157, wherein the debris and other particles are trapped. The water then filters into the one or more vent flow regions 158. With reference to FIG. 6, the flow path between the intake flow regions 157 and the vent flow regions 158 can be through the side filter panels 154 and/or through the top filter panels 155. The filtered water from the vent flow regions 158 is drawn through the intake openings defined by the apertured support 162A of the impeller 162C and discharged via the filtration vent shaft." Renaud, para. [0050].
In addition, Renaud only discloses that "intake apertures 113 can advantageously serve as drains for when the cleaner 100 is removed from the water." Renaud fails to provide any description related to a water flow direction in a process in which the pool robot is leaving the water. Thus, Renaud also fails to disclose a relationship between the water flow direction and the intake apertures 113.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the rejection of claim 1 above, the examiner indicates that a water flow path (arrows) exist and is going through the claimed components including the filtering box (element 154), the accommodation cavity (element 157), the at least one second water outlet hole (Detail C), and the plurality of first water outlet holes (Detail B) in order to for the claimed components to be sequentially in fluid communication. The examiner is not necessarily relying on the direction of the arrows that indicate the first flow path in order to address the claimed limitation of the “second flow path”, but rather that a water flow path exist between the claimed components such that the filtering box, the accommodation cavity, the at least one second water outlet hole, and the plurality of first water outlet holes are sequentially in fluid communication to form. Furthermore, giving that the prior art discloses all structural limitations of the pool cleaner and shows a flow path that fluidly communicates the claimed components, and there is no structural distinguish of the device and the prior art, thus the prior art would be capable of having a second water flow path during a tilted state in order for the housing to be quickly drained from the housing. Thus, arguments have been found unpersuasive.
On pages 16-17 of the “Remarks” the arguments of dependent claim 7 are acknowledged and have been addressed in the newly interpreted rejection of claim 7 above wherein the right filter box of element 154 is being utilized in the rejection above, thus arguments are found unpersuasive.
On page 17 of the “Remarks” the applicant argues the rejection of dependent claim 13, specifically:
The Office Action points to annotated FIG. 6 of Renaud and alleges that the motor drive assembly 160 and Detail A read on "the filter driving assembly" and the "at least one water inlet hole," respectively. OfficeAction,atp.15.
Applicant respectfully disagrees. In particular, as explicitly shown in annotated FIG. 6 of Renaud the motor drive assembly 160 and Detail A are arranged in a side-by-side manner. Rather than facing the motor drive assembly 160, Detail A actually faces downwardly toward s the plane 141. Therefore, Renaud fails to disclose all elements of claim 13. Accordingly, claim 13 is not anticipated by Renaud and Applicant respectfully requests the withdrawal of the pending rejection under 35 U.S.C. @ 102(a)(1).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As disclosed in rejection of claim 13 above, a bottom portion of the filter driving assembly (element 160) faces the at least one water inlet hole (Detail A) in an indirect manner. The claim limitation does not require or recite that the filter driving assembly is directly facing or that there is no intermediate components in between when the least a part of the filter driving assembly faces the at least one water inlet hole, thus arguments have been found unpersuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723