DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/10/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US20210316721A1), and further in view of Komoguchi (US20140015693A1).
Claim.1 Lim discloses a method of avoiding rear cross-traffic collision of a first vehicle (see at least p4, ADAS equipped within the vehicle include Rear Cross-Traffic Collision Warning (RCCW) and Rear Cross-Traffic Collision-Avoidance Assist (RCCA), The RCCA is a system that prevents collision by performing brake braking control of the vehicle based on collision determination contents detected by a sensor mounted on the vehicle when a risk of collision is determined by not recognizing the driver's inattention or a cross-approaching vehicle in a blind spot while the vehicle is driving rearward), the method comprising: determining a driving status of the first vehicle (see at least fig.1-2, p67, The controller 150 may be configured to determine whether the vehicle 1 is in the parking state based on driving information detected by a driving information detector 60 and the image information obtained from the imager 110, p68, The controller 150 may be configured to determine whether the vehicle 1 is in the parking state, and determine whether the driving intention of the user is the exit intention, based on at least one of position information of a shift lever, driving speed information, and an on/off signal of an electronic parking brake); determining a risk area based on the driving status of the first vehicle (see at least fig.5-10, p69, the controller 150 may generate a driving path of a subject vehicle based on steering angle information of the vehicle 1 detected by the driving information detector 60, and set a risk of collision region of the vehicle 1 based on the generated driving path of the subject vehicle and the driving path of another vehicle (that is, a first vehicle) driving on a rear lateral side of the vehicle 1, When the vehicle 1 is in the parking state, the controller 150 may be configured to determine whether another vehicle (that is, a second vehicle) is present at least one of the front and rear sides of the vehicle 1 based on the obstacle information detected by the obstacle detector 120); detecting a second vehicle approaching from a rear-cross side of the first vehicle (see at least fig.2, 5-6, p94, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set the risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 based on the steering angle of the vehicle 1 and a driving path ml of the first vehicle 2 approaching from the rear lateral side of the vehicle 1, p110, the predetermined weight to the obstacle information detected by the third and fourth corner radars 122c and 122d. In other words, the vehicle 1 may be configured to determine the risk of collision region A2 based on the detection information of the weighted first vehicle 2 in setting the risk of collision region A2 of the vehicle 1); determining a target area of the second vehicle (see at least fig.4A-5, p69, the controller 150 may generate a driving path of a subject vehicle based on steering angle information of the vehicle 1 detected by the driving information detector 60, and set a risk of collision region of the vehicle 1 based on the generated driving path of the subject vehicle and the driving path of another vehicle (that is, a first vehicle) driving on a rear lateral side of the vehicle 1); determining a first intersection of the risk area and the target area (see at least fig.2-6, p71, the controller 150 may be configured to set an expected collision region within the risk of collision region based on the driving information of the vehicle 1 and driving information of the first vehicle 2, p73, The controller 150 may then be configured to change the driving control amount, such as steering or the driving speed of the vehicle 1, based on at least one of the set expected collision region and the risk of collision region, p97, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set an expected collision region C1 between the vehicle 1 and the first vehicle 2 within the risk of collision region A1 based on the driving information of the vehicle 1 and the driving information of the first vehicle 2, p99, The vehicle 1 may be configured to set the expected collision region C2 between the vehicle 1 and the first vehicle 2 within the risk of collision region A2 based on the obtained driving information of the vehicle 1 and the driving information of the first vehicle 2); and performing warning and control of the first vehicle to avoid a collision with the second vehicle based on the time of forming of the second intersection (see at least fig.2-6, p118, the collision warning of the vehicle 1 may be provided to the driver through the display 140 and the sound output device 160. In other words, the vehicle 1 may be configured to operate the display 140 and the sound output device 160 to output the collision risk warning sound between the vehicle 1 and the first vehicle 2 to inform the driver of the risk. Additionally, the vehicle 1 may be configured to operate the display 140 to display the collision risk message on the display of the vehicle 1 to inform the driver of the risk visually, p17, adjusting at least one of the steering or the braking based on the set the risk of collision region, p19, reducing a timing of outputting information about the risk of collision with the obstacle by a predetermined time within the set expected collision region. The adjusting at least one of the steering or the braking may include dividing the set the risk of collision region into a plurality of regions; setting a first weight in a region corresponding to a field of view of the imager among the divided plurality of regions; setting a second weight in a region corresponding to front left and right field of views of the obstacle detector).
Lim does not discloses determining whether a second intersection between the first intersection and a warning area on a side of the first vehicle is formed according to movement of the first intersection; determining a time of forming of the second intersection.
However, Komoguchi discloses determining whether a second intersection between the first intersection and a warning area on a side of the first vehicle is formed according to movement of the first intersection; determining a time of forming of the second intersection (see at least fig.2-7, p45, the ECU 20 sets a left notification target area 210L and a left notification stop area 220L in the left detection area 200L, and sets a right notification target area 21 OR and a right notification stop area 220R in the right detection area 200R, when the detection area 200 is referred to, the detection area 200 means both the left detection area 200L and the right detection area 200R, when the notification target area 210 is referred to, the notification target area 210 means both the left notification target area 210L and the right notification target area 210R, and when the notification stop area 220 is referred to, the notification stop area 220 means both the left notification stop area 220L and the right notification stop area 220R. Here, when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10 but is not detected in the notification stop area 220, notification of the presence of the object is executed by the notification unit 40, and when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10, p69, the ECU 20 determines whether or not the detected object is detected also in the notification stop area 220, p70, whether or not the object having been detected in the notification target area 210 has moved to be detected in both the notification target area 210 and the notification stop area 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Lim to include determining whether a second intersection between the first intersection and a warning area on a side of the first vehicle is formed according to movement of the first intersection; determining a time of forming of the second intersection by Komoguchi in order to determine whether or not the object has entered a predetermined area in a detection area in which the object detection section can detect the presence of the object (see Komoguchi’s abstract).
Claim.2 Lim discloses wherein determining the risk area includes diagramming a collision area on the rear-cross side of the first vehicle according to driving of the first vehicle (see at least fig.5-9, p94, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set a risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 and the second vehicle 2 based on the first driving type for the first vehicle 2 driving in the driving lane in a state substantially parallel to a departure angle of the vehicle 1 (1060), the vehicle 1 may be configured to set the risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 based on the steering angle of the vehicle 1 and a driving path ml of the first vehicle 2 approaching from the rear lateral side of the vehicle 1, p96, determine the risk of collision region A1 between the vehicle 1 and the second vehicle 2 based on the driving path of the vehicle 1 according to the steering angle of the vehicle 1 and the driving speed of the second vehicle 2 detected by the rear lateral side sensor 201. In other words, the vehicle 1 may be configured to determine the risk of collision region A1 between the vehicle 1 and the second vehicle 2 according to the TTC obtained based on an exit direction of the vehicle 1 that has parked and the driving speed of the second vehicle 2 approaching from the rear lateral side).
Claim.3 Lim discloses wherein determining the target area of the second vehicle includes diagramming a location of the second vehicle approaching from the rear-cross side of the first vehicle with four vertices (see at least fig.5-10, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set a risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 and the second vehicle 2 based on the first driving type for the first vehicle 2 driving in the driving lane in a state substantially parallel to a departure angle of the vehicle 1 (1060), the vehicle 1 may be configured to set the risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 based on the steering angle of the vehicle 1 and a driving path ml of the first vehicle 2 approaching from the rear lateral side of the vehicle 1, p97, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set an expected collision region C1 between the vehicle 1 and the first vehicle 2 within the risk of collision region A1 based on the driving information of the vehicle 1 and the driving information of the first vehicle 2).
Claim.4 Lim does not discloses wherein determining whether the second intersection is formed includes determining whether the second intersection is formed between the first intersection and the warning area on the side of the vehicle after a certain period of time, wherein the warning area overlaps the risk area and is located at a front portion of the risk area.
However, Komoguchi discloses wherein determining whether the second intersection is formed includes determining whether the second intersection is formed between the first intersection and the warning area on the side of the vehicle after a certain period of time, wherein the warning area overlaps the risk area and is located at a front portion of the risk area (see at least fig.2-7, p45, the ECU 20 sets a left notification target area 210L and a left notification stop area 220L in the left detection area 200L, and sets a right notification target area 21 OR and a right notification stop area 220R in the right detection area 200R, when the detection area 200 is referred to, the detection area 200 means both the left detection area 200L and the right detection area 200R, when the notification target area 210 is referred to, the notification target area 210 means both the left notification target area 210L and the right notification target area 210R, and when the notification stop area 220 is referred to, the notification stop area 220 means both the left notification stop area 220L and the right notification stop area 220R. Here, when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10 but is not detected in the notification stop area 220, notification of the presence of the object is executed by the notification unit 40, and when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Lim to include wherein determining whether the second intersection is formed includes determining whether the second intersection is formed between the first intersection and the warning area on the side of the vehicle after a certain period of time, wherein the warning area overlaps the risk area and is located at a front portion of the risk area by Komoguchi in order to determine whether or not the object has entered a predetermined area in a detection area in which the object detection section can detect the presence of the object (see Komoguchi’s abstract).
Claim.5 Lim discloses wherein determining the first intersection includes diagramming an overlapping area of the risk area and the target area (see at least fig.5-10, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set a risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 and the second vehicle 2 based on the first driving type for the first vehicle 2 driving in the driving lane in a state substantially parallel to a departure angle of the vehicle 1 (1060), the vehicle 1 may be configured to set the risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 based on the steering angle of the vehicle 1 and a driving path ml of the first vehicle 2 approaching from the rear lateral side of the vehicle 1, p97, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set an expected collision region C1 between the vehicle 1 and the first vehicle 2 within the risk of collision region A1 based on the driving information of the vehicle 1 and the driving information of the first vehicle 2).
Claim.6 Lim does not discloses wherein determining the time of forming of the second intersection includes determining a time at which the first intersection is formed to overlap a rear portion of the warning area on the side of the first vehicle.
However, Komoguchi discloses wherein determining the time of forming of the second intersection includes determining a time at which the first intersection is formed to overlap a rear portion of the warning area on the side of the first vehicle (see at least fig.2-7, p45, the ECU 20 sets a left notification target area 210L and a left notification stop area 220L in the left detection area 200L, and sets a right notification target area 21 OR and a right notification stop area 220R in the right detection area 200R, when the detection area 200 is referred to, the detection area 200 means both the left detection area 200L and the right detection area 200R, when the notification target area 210 is referred to, the notification target area 210 means both the left notification target area 210L and the right notification target area 210R, and when the notification stop area 220 is referred to, the notification stop area 220 means both the left notification stop area 220L and the right notification stop area 220R. Here, when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10 but is not detected in the notification stop area 220, notification of the presence of the object is executed by the notification unit 40, and when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Lim to include wherein determining the time of forming of the second intersection includes determining a time at which the first intersection is formed to overlap a rear portion of the warning area on the side of the first vehicle by Komoguchi in order to determine whether or not the object has entered a predetermined area in a detection area in which the object detection section can detect the presence of the object (see Komoguchi’s abstract).
Claim.8 Lim discloses an autonomous vehicle (see at least fig.1, p46, the vehicle 1 may include an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) 100, the ADAS 100 may provide a lane departure warning (LDW), a lane keeping assist (LKA), a high beam assist (HBA), an autonomous emergency braking (AEB), a traffic sign recognition (TSR), a smart cruise control (SCC), a blind spot detection (BSD), and the like ) comprising: a first sensor configured to collect internal information of the autonomous vehicle (see at least fig.2, p67, a driving information detector 60, driving information detected by the driving information detector 60, operation information of the steering wheel 10, engagement information of a brake pedal, and engagement information of an accelerator pedal, p68, based on at least one of position information of a shift lever, driving speed information, and an on/off signal of an electronic parking brake); a second sensor configured to collect external information of the autonomous vehicle (see at least fig.1-2, p65, obstacle information detected by the obstacle detector 120, the obstacle information detected by the obstacle detector 120 and the image information obtained by the imager 110. The controller 150 may be configured to recognize a shape of the road around the vehicle 1, the lane displayed on the road, and a road surface marking from the image information); an electronic control unit (ECU) configured to control driving of the autonomous vehicle (see at least fig.2 element 150 is a controller, p65, the controller 150 may be configured to recognize the lane or a parking line marking displayed on the road, and recognize the lane of the road on which the vehicle 1 is driving or a parking area where the vehicle 1 is parked based on the position information of the recognized lane); and a human machine interface (HMI) configured to provide output from the ECU to a driver (see at least fig.2, element 140 is a display, p59, the input device 130 and the display 140 may be user interfaces (UI). The display 140 may include a display panel, and the input device may include a touch panel. In other words, a touch screen in which the touch panel is integrated on the display panel may be provided. The display 140 may include a cluster), wherein the ECU is configured to: determine a driving status of the autonomous vehicle (see at least fig.1-2, p67, The controller 150 may be configured to determine whether the vehicle 1 is in the parking state based on driving information detected by a driving information detector 60 and the image information obtained from the imager 110, p68, The controller 150 may be configured to determine whether the vehicle 1 is in the parking state, and determine whether the driving intention of the user is the exit intention, based on at least one of position information of a shift lever, driving speed information, and an on/off signal of an electronic parking brake), calculates a risk area based on the driving status of the autonomous vehicle (see at least fig.5-10, p69, the controller 150 may generate a driving path of a subject vehicle based on steering angle information of the vehicle 1 detected by the driving information detector 60, and set a risk of collision region of the vehicle 1 based on the generated driving path of the subject vehicle and the driving path of another vehicle (that is, a first vehicle) driving on a rear lateral side of the vehicle 1, When the vehicle 1 is in the parking state, the controller 150 may be configured to determine whether another vehicle (that is, a second vehicle) is present at least one of the front and rear sides of the vehicle 1 based on the obstacle information detected by the obstacle detector 120), detect an approaching vehicle (see at least fig.4A-5, p69, the controller 150 may generate a driving path of a subject vehicle based on steering angle information of the vehicle 1 detected by the driving information detector 60, and set a risk of collision region of the vehicle 1 based on the generated driving path of the subject vehicle and the driving path of another vehicle (that is, a first vehicle) driving on a rear lateral side of the vehicle 1), the approaching vehicle approaching from a rear-cross side of the autonomous vehicle, determine a target area of the approaching vehicle (see at least fig.2-6, p4, ADAS equipped within the vehicle include Rear Cross-Traffic Collision Warning (RCCW) and Rear Cross-Traffic Collision-Avoidance Assist (RCCA), p71, the controller 150 may be configured to set an expected collision region within the risk of collision region based on the driving information of the vehicle 1 and driving information of the first vehicle 2, p73, The controller 150 may then be configured to change the driving control amount, such as steering or the driving speed of the vehicle 1, based on at least one of the set expected collision region and the risk of collision region, p97, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set an expected collision region C1 between the vehicle 1 and the first vehicle 2 within the risk of collision region A1 based on the driving information of the vehicle 1 and the driving information of the first vehicle 2, p99, The vehicle 1 may be configured to set the expected collision region C2 between the vehicle 1 and the first vehicle 2 within the risk of collision region A2 based on the obtained driving information of the vehicle 1 and the driving information of the first vehicle 2), and warn and control the autonomous vehicle to avoid a collision with the approaching vehicle based on the time of forming of the second intersection (see at least fig.2-6, p118, the collision warning of the vehicle 1 may be provided to the driver through the display 140 and the sound output device 160. In other words, the vehicle 1 may be configured to operate the display 140 and the sound output device 160 to output the collision risk warning sound between the vehicle 1 and the first vehicle 2 to inform the driver of the risk. Additionally, the vehicle 1 may be configured to operate the display 140 to display the collision risk message on the display of the vehicle 1 to inform the driver of the risk visually, p17, adjusting at least one of the steering or the braking based on the set the risk of collision region, p19, reducing a timing of outputting information about the risk of collision with the obstacle by a predetermined time within the set expected collision region. The adjusting at least one of the steering or the braking may include dividing the set the risk of collision region into a plurality of regions; setting a first weight in a region corresponding to a field of view of the imager among the divided plurality of regions; setting a second weight in a region corresponding to front left and right field of views of the obstacle detector).
Lim does not discloses determine a first intersection of the risk area and the target area, determine whether a second intersection between the first intersection and a warning area on a side of the autonomous vehicle is formed according to movement of the first intersection, determine a time of forming of the second intersection.
However, Komoguchi discloses determine a first intersection of the risk area and the target area, determine whether a second intersection between the first intersection and a warning area on a side of the autonomous vehicle is formed according to movement of the first intersection, determine a time of forming of the second intersection (see at least fig.2-7, p45, the ECU 20 sets a left notification target area 210L and a left notification stop area 220L in the left detection area 200L, and sets a right notification target area 21 OR and a right notification stop area 220R in the right detection area 200R, when the detection area 200 is referred to, the detection area 200 means both the left detection area 200L and the right detection area 200R, when the notification target area 210 is referred to, the notification target area 210 means both the left notification target area 210L and the right notification target area 210R, and when the notification stop area 220 is referred to, the notification stop area 220 means both the left notification stop area 220L and the right notification stop area 220R. Here, when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10 but is not detected in the notification stop area 220, notification of the presence of the object is executed by the notification unit 40, and when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10, p69, the ECU 20 determines whether or not the detected object is detected also in the notification stop area 220, p70, whether or not the object having been detected in the notification target area 210 has moved to be detected in both the notification target area 210 and the notification stop area 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Lim to include determine a first intersection of the risk area and the target area, determine whether a second intersection between the first intersection and a warning area on a side of the autonomous vehicle is formed according to movement of the first intersection, determine a time of forming of the second intersection by Komoguchi in order to determine whether or not the object has entered a predetermined area in a detection area in which the object detection section can detect the presence of the object (see Komoguchi’s abstract).
Claim.9 Lim discloses wherein the ECU is configured to determine the risk area by diagramming a collision area on the rear-cross side of the autonomous vehicle according to driving of the autonomous vehicle (see at least fig.5-9, p94, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set a risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 and the second vehicle 2 based on the first driving type for the first vehicle 2 driving in the driving lane in a state substantially parallel to a departure angle of the vehicle 1 (1060), the vehicle 1 may be configured to set the risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 based on the steering angle of the vehicle 1 and a driving path ml of the first vehicle 2 approaching from the rear lateral side of the vehicle 1, p96, determine the risk of collision region A1 between the vehicle 1 and the second vehicle 2 based on the driving path of the vehicle 1 according to the steering angle of the vehicle 1 and the driving speed of the second vehicle 2 detected by the rear lateral side sensor 201. In other words, the vehicle 1 may be configured to determine the risk of collision region A1 between the vehicle 1 and the second vehicle 2 according to the TTC obtained based on an exit direction of the vehicle 1 that has parked and the driving speed of the second vehicle 2 approaching from the rear lateral side).
Claim.10 Lim discloses wherein the ECU is configured to determine the target area of the approaching vehicle by diagramming a location of the approaching vehicle approaching from the rear-cross side of the autonomous vehicle with four vertices (see at least fig.5-10, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set a risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 and the second vehicle 2 based on the first driving type for the first vehicle 2 driving in the driving lane in a state substantially parallel to a departure angle of the vehicle 1 (1060), the vehicle 1 may be configured to set the risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 based on the steering angle of the vehicle 1 and a driving path ml of the first vehicle 2 approaching from the rear lateral side of the vehicle 1, p97, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set an expected collision region C1 between the vehicle 1 and the first vehicle 2 within the risk of collision region A1 based on the driving information of the vehicle 1 and the driving information of the first vehicle 2).
Claim.11 Lim does not discloses wherein the ECU is configured to determine whether the second intersection is formed by determining whether the second intersection is formed between the first intersection and the warning area on the side of the autonomous vehicle after a certain period of time, and wherein the warning area overlaps the risk area and is located at a front portion of the risk area.
However, Komoguchi discloses wherein the ECU is configured to determine whether the second intersection is formed by determining whether the second intersection is formed between the first intersection and the warning area on the side of the autonomous vehicle after a certain period of time, and wherein the warning area overlaps the risk area and is located at a front portion of the risk area (see at least fig.2-7, p45, the ECU 20 sets a left notification target area 210L and a left notification stop area 220L in the left detection area 200L, and sets a right notification target area 21 OR and a right notification stop area 220R in the right detection area 200R, when the detection area 200 is referred to, the detection area 200 means both the left detection area 200L and the right detection area 200R, when the notification target area 210 is referred to, the notification target area 210 means both the left notification target area 210L and the right notification target area 210R, and when the notification stop area 220 is referred to, the notification stop area 220 means both the left notification stop area 220L and the right notification stop area 220R. Here, when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10 but is not detected in the notification stop area 220, notification of the presence of the object is executed by the notification unit 40, and when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Lim to include wherein the ECU is configured to determine whether the second intersection is formed by determining whether the second intersection is formed between the first intersection and the warning area on the side of the autonomous vehicle after a certain period of time, and wherein the warning area overlaps the risk area and is located at a front portion of the risk area by Komoguchi in order to determine whether or not the object has entered a predetermined area in a detection area in which the object detection section can detect the presence of the object (see Komoguchi’s abstract).
Claim.12 Lim discloses wherein the ECU is configured to determine the first intersection by diagramming an overlapping area of the risk area and the target area (see at least fig.5-10, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set a risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 and the second vehicle 2 based on the first driving type for the first vehicle 2 driving in the driving lane in a state substantially parallel to a departure angle of the vehicle 1 (1060), the vehicle 1 may be configured to set the risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 based on the steering angle of the vehicle 1 and a driving path ml of the first vehicle 2 approaching from the rear lateral side of the vehicle 1, p97, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set an expected collision region C1 between the vehicle 1 and the first vehicle 2 within the risk of collision region A1 based on the driving information of the vehicle 1 and the driving information of the first vehicle 2).
Claim.13 Lim does not discloses wherein the ECU is configured to determine the time of formation of the second intersection by calculating a time at which the first intersection is formed to overlap a rear portion of the warning area on the side of the autonomous vehicle.
However, Komoguchi discloses wherein the ECU is configured to determine the time of formation of the second intersection by calculating a time at which the first intersection is formed to overlap a rear portion of the warning area on the side of the autonomous vehicle (see at least fig.2-7, p45, the ECU 20 sets a left notification target area 210L and a left notification stop area 220L in the left detection area 200L, and sets a right notification target area 21 OR and a right notification stop area 220R in the right detection area 200R, when the detection area 200 is referred to, the detection area 200 means both the left detection area 200L and the right detection area 200R, when the notification target area 210 is referred to, the notification target area 210 means both the left notification target area 210L and the right notification target area 210R, and when the notification stop area 220 is referred to, the notification stop area 220 means both the left notification stop area 220L and the right notification stop area 220R. Here, when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10 but is not detected in the notification stop area 220, notification of the presence of the object is executed by the notification unit 40, and when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Lim to include wherein the ECU is configured to determine the time of formation of the second intersection by calculating a time at which the first intersection is formed to overlap a rear portion of the warning area on the side of the autonomous vehicle by Komoguchi in order to determine whether or not the object has entered a predetermined area in a detection area in which the object detection section can detect the presence of the object (see Komoguchi’s abstract).
Claim.15 Lim discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (see at least fig.2, element 151 is a storage, p83, the storage 151 may be configured to store data related to equations and control algorithms for operating the vehicle 1, p84, he storage 151 may be implemented using at least one of a non-volatile memory element, e.g., a cache, a Read Only Memory (ROM), a Programmable ROM (PROM), an Erasable Programmable ROM (EPROM), an Electrically Erasable Programmable ROM (EEPROM) and a flash memory; a volatile memory element, e.g., a Random Access Memory (RAM); or a storage medium, e.g., a Hard Disk Drive (HDD) and a CD-ROM, The storage 151 may be a memory that is implemented by a separate memory chip from the aforementioned processor related to the controller 150 or the storage may be implemented by a single chip with a processor), cause the one or more processors to: determine a driving status of a first vehicle (see at least fig.1-2, p67, The controller 150 may be configured to determine whether the vehicle 1 is in the parking state based on driving information detected by a driving information detector 60 and the image information obtained from the imager 110, p68, The controller 150 may be configured to determine whether the vehicle 1 is in the parking state, and determine whether the driving intention of the user is the exit intention, based on at least one of position information of a shift lever, driving speed information, and an on/off signal of an electronic parking brake); determine a risk area based on the driving status of the first vehicle (see at least fig.5-10, p69, the controller 150 may generate a driving path of a subject vehicle based on steering angle information of the vehicle 1 detected by the driving information detector 60, and set a risk of collision region of the vehicle 1 based on the generated driving path of the subject vehicle and the driving path of another vehicle (that is, a first vehicle) driving on a rear lateral side of the vehicle 1, When the vehicle 1 is in the parking state, the controller 150 may be configured to determine whether another vehicle (that is, a second vehicle) is present at least one of the front and rear sides of the vehicle 1 based on the obstacle information detected by the obstacle detector 120); detect a second vehicle approaching from a rear-cross side of the first vehicle (see at least fig.2, 5-6, p94, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set the risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 based on the steering angle of the vehicle 1 and a driving path ml of the first vehicle 2 approaching from the rear lateral side of the vehicle 1, p110, the predetermined weight to the obstacle information detected by the third and fourth corner radars 122c and 122d. In other words, the vehicle 1 may be configured to determine the risk of collision region A2 based on the detection information of the weighted first vehicle 2 in setting the risk of collision region A2 of the vehicle 1); determine a target area of the second vehicle (see at least fig.4A-5, p69, the controller 150 may generate a driving path of a subject vehicle based on steering angle information of the vehicle 1 detected by the driving information detector 60, and set a risk of collision region of the vehicle 1 based on the generated driving path of the subject vehicle and the driving path of another vehicle (that is, a first vehicle) driving on a rear lateral side of the vehicle 1); determine a first intersection of the risk area and the target area (see at least fig.2-6, p71, the controller 150 may be configured to set an expected collision region within the risk of collision region based on the driving information of the vehicle 1 and driving information of the first vehicle 2, p73, The controller 150 may then be configured to change the driving control amount, such as steering or the driving speed of the vehicle 1, based on at least one of the set expected collision region and the risk of collision region, p97, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set an expected collision region C1 between the vehicle 1 and the first vehicle 2 within the risk of collision region A1 based on the driving information of the vehicle 1 and the driving information of the first vehicle 2, p99, The vehicle 1 may be configured to set the expected collision region C2 between the vehicle 1 and the first vehicle 2 within the risk of collision region A2 based on the obtained driving information of the vehicle 1 and the driving information of the first vehicle 2); and perform warning and control of the first vehicle based on the time of forming of the second intersection(see at least fig.2-6, p118, the collision warning of the vehicle 1 may be provided to the driver through the display 140 and the sound output device 160. In other words, the vehicle 1 may be configured to operate the display 140 and the sound output device 160 to output the collision risk warning sound between the vehicle 1 and the first vehicle 2 to inform the driver of the risk. Additionally, the vehicle 1 may be configured to operate the display 140 to display the collision risk message on the display of the vehicle 1 to inform the driver of the risk visually, p17, adjusting at least one of the steering or the braking based on the set the risk of collision region, p19, reducing a timing of outputting information about the risk of collision with the obstacle by a predetermined time within the set expected collision region. The adjusting at least one of the steering or the braking may include dividing the set the risk of collision region into a plurality of regions; setting a first weight in a region corresponding to a field of view of the imager among the divided plurality of regions; setting a second weight in a region corresponding to front left and right field of views of the obstacle detector).
Lim does not discloses determine whether a second intersection between the first intersection and a warning area on a side of the first vehicle is formed according to movement of the first intersection; determine a time of forming of the second intersection.
However, Komoguchi discloses determine whether a second intersection between the first intersection and a warning area on a side of the first vehicle is formed according to movement of the first intersection; determine a time of forming of the second intersection (see at least fig.2-7, p45, the ECU 20 sets a left notification target area 210L and a left notification stop area 220L in the left detection area 200L, and sets a right notification target area 21 OR and a right notification stop area 220R in the right detection area 200R, when the detection area 200 is referred to, the detection area 200 means both the left detection area 200L and the right detection area 200R, when the notification target area 210 is referred to, the notification target area 210 means both the left notification target area 210L and the right notification target area 210R, and when the notification stop area 220 is referred to, the notification stop area 220 means both the left notification stop area 220L and the right notification stop area 220R. Here, when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10 but is not detected in the notification stop area 220, notification of the presence of the object is executed by the notification unit 40, and when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10, p69, the ECU 20 determines whether or not the detected object is detected also in the notification stop area 220, p70, whether or not the object having been detected in the notification target area 210 has moved to be detected in both the notification target area 210 and the notification stop area 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Lim to include determine whether a second intersection between the first intersection and a warning area on a side of the first vehicle is formed according to movement of the first intersection; determine a time of forming of the second intersection by Komoguchi in order to determine whether or not the object has entered a predetermined area in a detection area in which the object detection section can detect the presence of the object (see Komoguchi’s abstract).
Claim.16 Lim discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to determine the risk area by diagramming a collision area on the rear-cross side of the first vehicle according to driving of the first vehicle (see at least fig.5-9, p94, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set a risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 and the second vehicle 2 based on the first driving type for the first vehicle 2 driving in the driving lane in a state substantially parallel to a departure angle of the vehicle 1 (1060), the vehicle 1 may be configured to set the risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 based on the steering angle of the vehicle 1 and a driving path ml of the first vehicle 2 approaching from the rear lateral side of the vehicle 1, p96, determine the risk of collision region A1 between the vehicle 1 and the second vehicle 2 based on the driving path of the vehicle 1 according to the steering angle of the vehicle 1 and the driving speed of the second vehicle 2 detected by the rear lateral side sensor 201. In other words, the vehicle 1 may be configured to determine the risk of collision region A1 between the vehicle 1 and the second vehicle 2 according to the TTC obtained based on an exit direction of the vehicle 1 that has parked and the driving speed of the second vehicle 2 approaching from the rear lateral side).
Claim.17 Lim discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to determine the target area of the approaching vehicle by diagramming a location of the approaching vehicle approaching from the rear-cross side of the first vehicle with four vertices (see at least fig.5-10, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set a risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 and the second vehicle 2 based on the first driving type for the first vehicle 2 driving in the driving lane in a state substantially parallel to a departure angle of the vehicle 1 (1060), the vehicle 1 may be configured to set the risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 based on the steering angle of the vehicle 1 and a driving path ml of the first vehicle 2 approaching from the rear lateral side of the vehicle 1, p97, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set an expected collision region C1 between the vehicle 1 and the first vehicle 2 within the risk of collision region A1 based on the driving information of the vehicle 1 and the driving information of the first vehicle 2).
Claim.18 Lim does not discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to determine whether the second intersection is formed by determining whether the second intersection is formed between the first intersection and the warning area on the side of the first vehicle after a certain period of time, wherein the warning area overlaps the risk area and is located at a front portion of the risk area.
However, Komoguchi discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to determine whether the second intersection is formed by determining whether the second intersection is formed between the first intersection and the warning area on the side of the first vehicle after a certain period of time, wherein the warning area overlaps the risk area and is located at a front portion of the risk area (see at least fig.2-7, p45, the ECU 20 sets a left notification target area 210L and a left notification stop area 220L in the left detection area 200L, and sets a right notification target area 21 OR and a right notification stop area 220R in the right detection area 200R, when the detection area 200 is referred to, the detection area 200 means both the left detection area 200L and the right detection area 200R, when the notification target area 210 is referred to, the notification target area 210 means both the left notification target area 210L and the right notification target area 210R, and when the notification stop area 220 is referred to, the notification stop area 220 means both the left notification stop area 220L and the right notification stop area 220R. Here, when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10 but is not detected in the notification stop area 220, notification of the presence of the object is executed by the notification unit 40, and when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Lim to include wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to determine whether the second intersection is formed by determining whether the second intersection is formed between the first intersection and the warning area on the side of the first vehicle after a certain period of time, wherein the warning area overlaps the risk area and is located at a front portion of the risk areaby Komoguchi in order to determine whether or not the object has entered a predetermined area in a detection area in which the object detection section can detect the presence of the object (see Komoguchi’s abstract).
Claim.19 Lim discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to determine the first intersection by diagramming an overlapping area of the risk area and the target area (see at least fig.5-10, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set a risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 and the second vehicle 2 based on the first driving type for the first vehicle 2 driving in the driving lane in a state substantially parallel to a departure angle of the vehicle 1 (1060), the vehicle 1 may be configured to set the risk of collision region A1 of the vehicle 1 based on the steering angle of the vehicle 1 and a driving path ml of the first vehicle 2 approaching from the rear lateral side of the vehicle 1, p97, the vehicle 1 may be configured to set an expected collision region C1 between the vehicle 1 and the first vehicle 2 within the risk of collision region A1 based on the driving information of the vehicle 1 and the driving information of the first vehicle 2).
Claim.20 Lim discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to determine the time of formation of the second intersection by calculating a time at which the first intersection is formed to overlap a rear portion of the warning area on the side of the first vehicle.
However, Komoguchi discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to determine the time of formation of the second intersection by calculating a time at which the first intersection is formed to overlap a rear portion of the warning area on the side of the first vehicle (see at least fig.2-7, p45, the ECU 20 sets a left notification target area 210L and a left notification stop area 220L in the left detection area 200L, and sets a right notification target area 21 OR and a right notification stop area 220R in the right detection area 200R, when the detection area 200 is referred to, the detection area 200 means both the left detection area 200L and the right detection area 200R, when the notification target area 210 is referred to, the notification target area 210 means both the left notification target area 210L and the right notification target area 210R, and when the notification stop area 220 is referred to, the notification stop area 220 means both the left notification stop area 220L and the right notification stop area 220R. Here, when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10 but is not detected in the notification stop area 220, notification of the presence of the object is executed by the notification unit 40, and when an object is detected in the notification target area 210 by the millimeter-wave radar 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Lim to include wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to determine the time of formation of the second intersection by calculating a time at which the first intersection is formed to overlap a rear portion of the warning area on the side of the first vehicle by Komoguchi in order to determine whether or not the object has entered a predetermined area in a detection area in which the object detection section can detect the presence of the object (see Komoguchi’s abstract).
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US20210316721A1), and Komoguchi (US20140015693A1) as applied to claim 1, 8 above, and further in view of Komuro (US20220289189A1).
Claim.7 Lim and Komoguchi do not discloses wherein determining whether the second intersection is formed is performed in response to determining that an area of the first intersection increases over time.
However, Komuro discloses wherein determining whether the second intersection is formed is performed in response to determining that an area of the first intersection increases over time (see at least fig.4-10, p10, the hardware processor increases a size of the risk area to be set when the mobile object approaches the predicted trajectory, and decelerates the mobile object when the mobile object approaches the risk area, p69, the setting processor 142 increases the size of the risk area as the vehicle M approaches the predicted trajectory, a shape in which a circumference of a bottom surface of the risk area Rsk1 is increased, The vehicle M is present at a position closer to the risk area Rsk2, as compared with the case of FIG. 4. In this case, the automated driving control device 100 decreases the speed of the vehicle M or increases a deceleration as compared with a scene of FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Lim and Komoguchi to include wherein determining whether the second intersection is formed is performed in response to determining that an area of the first intersection increases over time by Komuro in order to for the recognizer to recognize due to the obstacle, and controls at least the speed of the mobile object based on the set risk area (see Komuro’s abstract).
Claim.14 Lim and Komoguchi do not discloses wherein the ECU is configured to determine whether the second intersection is formed in response to determining that an area of the first intersection increases over time.
However, Komuro discloses wherein the ECU is configured to determine whether the second intersection is formed in response to determining that an area of the first intersection increases over time (see at least fig.4-10, p10, the hardware processor increases a size of the risk area to be set when the mobile object approaches the predicted trajectory, and decelerates the mobile object when the mobile object approaches the risk area, p69, the setting processor 142 increases the size of the risk area as the vehicle M approaches the predicted trajectory, a shape in which a circumference of a bottom surface of the risk area Rsk1 is increased, The vehicle M is present at a position closer to the risk area Rsk2, as compared with the case of FIG. 4. In this case, the automated driving control device 100 decreases the speed of the vehicle M or increases a deceleration as compared with a scene of FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Lim and Komoguchi to include wherein the ECU is configured to determine whether the second intersection is formed in response to determining that an area of the first intersection increases over time by Komuro in order to for the recognizer to recognize due to the obstacle, and controls at least the speed of the mobile object based on the set risk area (see Komuro’s abstract).
Conclusion
/SHARDUL D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664