ELECTROLYTE SOLUTION, BATTERY AND ELECTRICAL DEVICE
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to communication filed on 2/10/2026:
Claims 1, 14, and 16 have been added; claim 13 has been canceled. Claims 21 and 22 have been newly added. No new matter has been entered.
Previous objections to the specification have been withdrawn.
Previous rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been modified.
Previous rejections under 35 USC 103 have been upheld.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant discloses: “By contrast, the cited references fail to teach or suggest the claimed compounds of the first additive.”
The Examiner respectfully traverses. The Applicant has amended claim 1 to define the first additive with a broad limitation followed by a narrow limitation. There is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by the narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainer of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims (See 112(b) rejection below). In the case of (a), Ma still reads on the broad limitation (See structures C4, C5, and C7). The Examiner is introducing an additional reference to address the case of (b) being that it is a new limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation wherein each of R1 and R2 is selected from a hydrogen atom, C1-C6 alkyl,
,
, and
and the claim also recites at least one of R1 and R2 is selected from
,
, and
which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 2-12 and 14-22 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for their dependence on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (CN 116154282 A using US 2025/0038263 A1 as an English language translation.) and, optionally, Fujiyama et al. (US 2021/0043971 A1), and further in view of Woo et al. (KR 2020-0134711 A).
Regarding claims 1-12 and 14-15, Ma et al. teach an electrolyte solution (Abstract discloses an electrolyte solution for a battery.) comprising a first additive, a second additive and a third additive (Abstract; claims 1 and 6 disclose a first, second, and a third additive.), wherein the first additive comprises a sulfate ester compound, the first additive comprises at least one of
wherein recitation wherein each of R1 and R2 is selected from a hydrogen atom, C1-C6 alkyl,
,
, and
(Paragraph 0020; claims 1 and 3 disclose the second additive can comprise esters as shown in structures B2
, C4
, C5
, and C7
.);
and the third additive comprises at least one of fluorosulfonate, tetrafluoroborate, difluorophosphate, difluoro(oxalato)borate, bis(oxalato)borate and difluorobis(oxalato)phosphate (Claim 7 discloses the third additive can comprise difluorophosphate, difluorobis(oxalate)phosphate, tetrafluoroborate, or difluoro(oxalate)borate.); and, wherein based on a total mass of the electrolyte solution, content W1 of the first additive, content W2 of the second additive and content W3 of the third additive satisfy W1:W2:W3=1:(0.1-1.5):(0.02-2.5) (Claim 4 discloses the amount of the first additive accounts for 0.1-10.0% of total mass of the electrolyte, and a use amount of the second additive accounts for 0.05-5.0% of the total mass of the electrolyte. Claims 6 and 7 discloses the third additive accounts for 0.1-5.0% of the total mass of the electrolyte.).
Optionally, while Ma et al. disclose the broad limitation of R1 and R2, they do not disclose the narrower limitation wherein R1 and R2 is selected from
,
, and
.
Fujiyama et al. disclose the use of at least three additives for use in a nonaqueous electrolytic solution for a lithium secondary battery (Abstract). Further, the first additive can comprise a sulfate ester compound represented by Formula (I) (Paragraph 0135 discloses
), wherein R1 and/or R2 can comprise
(Paragraph 0135; Formula II),
(Paragraph 0135; Formula (IV), or
(Paragraph 0135; Formula (III))(Paragraph 0136).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify R1 and/or R2 of Ma with that of Fujiyama in order to improve battery safety.
While Ma et al. teach the first additive (correlating to the claimed second additive) comprises a difluorophosphoric acid-based lithium trifluoroborate, they do not teach the second additive comprises:
the second additive comprises:
wherein Z1-Z4, each independently comprise an oxygen atom or a sulfur atom.
Woo et al. teach an electrolyte additive for a secondary battery (Abstract; title). Further, the structure of the additive comprises:
reading on Formula 2-1 (Claim 1 wherein Z1-Z4 each independently comprise an oxygen atom. Further, R can be a hydrogen atom.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the borate additive of Ma with the borate additive of Woo in order to improve electrochemical stability.
Regarding claims 16 and 20, Ma and Woo et al. teach a battery (Ma or Woo: Abstract), comprising the electrolyte solution according to claim 1. Further, Ma et al. teach wherein the battery comprises a positive electrode plate (Paragraph 0069 discloses a cathode plate.), and a positive electrode active material in the positive electrode plate comprises:
LixNiaCobMncMdO2-e,
M includes at least one of aluminum, zirconium, boron, magnesium, zinc, calcium and titanium, 0.65≤a≤0.98, 0≤b≤0.3, 0.02≤c≤0.3, 0≤d≤0.3, a+b+c+d=1, 0.1≤x≤1.3, 0≤e≤1.9 (Claim 18 discloses the cathode active material can comprise LiNixCoyMnzO2 wherein x≥0.5, y>0, z>0, and x+y+z=1.).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (CN 116154282 A using US 2025/0038263 A1 as an English language translation.) and, optionally, Fujiyama et al. (US 2021/0043971 A1), and Woo et al. (KR 2020-0134711 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Muroya et al. (US 2019/0355969 A1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Ma and Woo et al. teach the battery according to claim 16. However, they do not teach wherein compaction density of the positive electrode plate is 3.1 g/cm3-3.7 g/cm3, or compaction density of the positive electrode plate is 3.2 g/cm3-3.6 g/cm3.
Muroya et al. teach a positive electrode active material having the composition represented by LiaNibMncCodMxO2 wherein 0.9≤a≤1.2, 0<b<1, 0<c≤0.5, 0<d≤0.5, and 0≤x≤0.3; and M is at least one kind selected from Ti, Zr, Nb, W, P, Al, Mg, V, Ca, Sr, and Cr (Claim 4). Further, the compaction density of the positive electrode layer is 2.8-3.7 g/cm3 (Paragraph 0051; Examples 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ma and Woo with Muroya in order to increase capacity.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, the combination of Ma and Woo et al. teach the battery according to claim 16. Further, Ma et al. teach wherein the battery comprises a negative electrode plate (Paragraph 0069 discloses an anode plate.). However, they do not teach wherein the compaction density of the negative electrode plate is 1.3-1.7 g/cm3.
Muroya et al. teach a negative electrode layer which has a density of 1.2-1.8 g/cm3 (Paragraphs 0082; 0153).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ma and Woo with Muroya in order to increase capacity.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (CN 116154282 A using US 2025/0038263 A1 as an English language translation.) and, optionally, Fujiyama et al. (US 2021/0043971 A1), and Woo et al. (KR 2020-0134711 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (US 2019/0296397 A1).
Regarding claims 21 and 22, the combination of Ma and Woo et al. teach the electrolyte solution according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein at least one of Z1, Z2, Z3, or Z4 is a sulfur atom and wherein the second additive comprises at least one of the following:
Lim et al. teach an electrolyte additive for a lithium battery (Abstract) can comprise a borate-based lithium compound of Formula (I):
wherein Y1 to Y4 are each independently oxygen or sulfur (Claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ma and Woo with Lim in order to improve high-rate charge and discharge characteristics.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 March 3rd, 2026