DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/8/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,428,277. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each structural feature claimed in 12,428,277 overlaps with the current application.
Claims 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,428,277. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each structural feature claimed in 12,428,277 overlaps with the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Clark, US Patent 4,114,854.
Regarding claim 1, Clark discloses a lift device (see fig 1), comprising: a base (14); a platform (12); and a scissor assembly (17) coupling the base (14) to the platform (12), comprising: a plurality of scissor layers (i.e. 18,20,22,24 – see fig 1), each of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above) coupled to at least one other (see fig 1) of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above) and comprising an inner arm (20,24) coupled to an outer arm (18,22 respectively); an actuator (42) configured to exert an actuator force (via power cylinder) to the at least one of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above); and a kicker assembly (30,50,64) coupling the actuator (42) to the at least one of the plurality of scissor layers (see fig 7-8, as described above), the kicker assembly (as described above) comprising: a kicker (30) having opposing first (connected at 32) and second kicker ends (34), wherein the kicker (30) is operably coupled to the actuator (42) such that the actuator (42) is configured to rotate (see fig 7 vs fig 9) the kicker (30) relative to the at least one of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above) about a kicker axis (centered at 32); and a guide (62,64) coupled to the kicker (30) and configured to limit the rotation of the kicker (30), wherein in a first stage (shown in fig 7-8), the kicker (30) is movably engaged with the at least one other of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above) proximate the second kicker end (34), such that the actuator force (from 42) partially passes directly from the second kicker end (34) to the at least one of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above) and in a second stage (see fig 1), the kicker (30) is disengaged from the at least one of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above) such that the actuator force partially passes through the guide (62,64) and the at least one of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above).
Regarding claim 2, Clark discloses the lift device of Claim 1, wherein the kicker (30) is operably coupled to the actuator (42) between the first (32) and second kicker ends (34) such that the actuator (42) is configured to rotate the kicker (30) relative to the at least one of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above).
Regarding claim 3, Clark discloses the lift device of Claim 1, wherein the kicker (30) is pivotally coupled (at 32) to the at least one of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above) proximate the first kicker end (32) and releasably (see fig 1 vs fig 7-8) coupled to at least one other of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above) proximate the second kicker end (34).
Regarding claim 4, Clark discloses the lift device of Claim 1, wherein the actuator (42) is configured to move the platform (12) between a raised position (see fig 1) and a lowered position (see fig 2) relative to the base (14).
Regarding claim 5, Clark discloses the lift device of Claim 1, wherein the kicker (30) is pivotally coupled to the actuator (42) by an actuator pin (46).
Regarding claim 10, Clark discloses the lift device of Claim 1, further comprising a kicker plate (50) coupled to the at least one other of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above), and wherein the kicker (30) is releasably coupled to the at least one other of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above) via the kicker plate (50) and is supported for sliding movement (via roller 36) along the kicker plate (52 of 50).
Regarding claim 12, Clark discloses the lift device of Claim 1, further comprising: a first mode of operation (see fig 7-8) defined when the kicker (30) rotates around the kicker axis (centered on 32) and the second kicker end (34) is movably coupled to the at least one of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above); and a second mode of operation (see fig 1) defined when the kicker (30) is static relative to the guide (62,64) and the second kicker end (34) is removed (see fig 1) from the at least one of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above).
Regarding claim 13, Clark discloses a scissor assembly (see fig 1), comprising: a plurality of scissor layers (18,20,22,24 etc.) and an actuator (42) configured to extend and retract the scissor layers (see fig 1 vs fig 7), wherein each scissor layer (as described above) includes: an inner arm (i.e. 24); and an outer arm (i.e. 22) pivotally (about 32) coupled to the inner arm (24) such that the outer arm (22) and the inner arm (24) rotate relative to one another (see fig 1 vs fig 7); a kicker assembly (30,50,64) selectively coupling the actuator (42) to a first scissor layer (22,24) of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above) and a second scissor layer (18,20) of the plurality of scissor layers (as described above), the kicker assembly (as described above) comprising: a kicker (30) operably coupled to the actuator (42) and a stop (62,64), wherein, in a first stage (fig 7-8), the kicker (30) is rotatable around a kicker axis (about 32) relative to the first scissor layer (as described above) and the second scissor layer (as described above) by the actuator (42), and in a second stage (see fig 1), the stop (62,64) restrains the kicker (30) from rotating around the kicker axis (32).
Regarding claim 14, Clark discloses the scissor assembly of Claim 13, wherein the stop (62,64) is supported by the first scissor layer (22,24) and configured to selectively restrain the rotation of the kicker (30) around the kicker axis (as described above) to an arc centered at the kicker axis (32).
Regarding claim 15, Clark discloses the scissor assembly of Claim 14, wherein the kicker (30) transitions from the first stage (fig 7-8) to the second stage (fig 1) based on at least one of a length of the arc and a length of an engagement surface (52) supported by the second scissor layer (18,20) and configured to selectively engage with the kicker (30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark in view of Bruno et al., US PGPub 2020/0290855.
Regarding claims 11 and 16-17, Clark discloses the lift device of Claims 1 and 12, the plurality of scissor layers (as described above) further comprising: a first scissor layer (22,24) including a first inner arm (24) pivotally coupled to a first outer arm (22), wherein the first inner arm (24) is configured to rotate relative to the first outer arm (22) wherein the first scissor layer (22,24) has a first end axis center point (at 32) positioned at an intersection of (a) a first straight line that extends from an upper end (see fig 1) of the first inner arm (24) to a lower end (see fig 1) of the first inner arm (24) and (b) a second straight line that extends from an upper end (see fig 1) of the first outer arm (22) to a lower end (see fig 1) of the first outer arm (22). Clark does not specify that the first inner and outer arms rotate about a first middle axis wherein the center point (at 32) vertically offset from the first middle axis.
Bruno et al. teaches a similar lifting device (see fig 1) wherein the first inner (110) and outer arms rotate (112) about a first middle axis (114) wherein the center point (as detailed above) is vertically offset (see fig 1) from the first middle axis (114). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the vertically offset middle axis described by Bruno et al. to the system disclosed by Clark, in order to prevent lift contraction to an angle that is overly contracted and would overload the actuator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 6-9 are patentable over the prior art of record because the teachings of the references taken as a whole do not show or render obvious the combination set forth in claim 6, including every structural element recited in the claims, especially, the configuration wherein the actuator pin at least partially extends into a slot in the guide.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest the elements of the elevator system as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the system in the manner required by the claims.
Claim 18 is patentable over the prior art of record because the teachings of the references taken as a whole do not show or render obvious the combination set forth in claim 18, including every structural element recited in the claims, especially, the configuration wherein the kicker is pivotally coupled to the actuator by a pin, wherein the pin extends through the kicker and selectively engages with the stop to limit rotation of the kicker, and wherein the stop includes a slot configured to receive the pin having a first and second slot ends for movement of the pin from the first slot end to the second slot end.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest the elements of the elevator system as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the system in the manner required by the claims.
Conclusion
MICHAEL A. RIEGELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/MICHAEL A RIEGELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654