DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onoda (US11969820) in view of Mook (US20230055872A1).
Fig. 3A of Onoda
Regarding claim 1, Onoda teaches A laser module (1), comprising:
a housing (10), provided thereon with a laser exiting window lens (19) capable of allowing a laser to be emitted from an interior of the housing (Col. 10 lines 50-60 light-transmissive window 19 configured to emit laser light from the marker head 1);
a laser emitting apparatus (2), configured to emit a laser (Col. 9 lines 5-15 laser light output section 2 that amplifies and generates laser light); and
a focusing apparatus (33), accommodated in the housing (10)and located between the laser exiting window lens (19) and the laser emitting apparatus (2, Fig. 3a);
wherein the focusing apparatus (33) comprises
a driving apparatus (Col. 14 lines 1-15 lens drive section 33 d) and a focusing lens (33 a) that are connected (Col. 14 lines 1-15 the lens drive section 33 d moves the input lens 33 a along the optical axis)
the driving apparatus (33d) and the focusing lens (33a) are both accommodated in the housing (10, Fig. 3a),
the focusing lens (33a) is configured to focus the laser (Pu) emitted by the laser emitting apparatus (2, Fig. 3a),
and the driving apparatus (33d) is configured to drive the focusing lens (33a) to move so as to adjust a focal position of the laser emitting apparatus (Col. 14 lines 1-15 lens drive section 33 d moves the input lens 33 a; focal position of laser light changes).
Onoda is silent on the driving apparatus is electrically connected to a circuit board, the circuit board is configured to control the driving apparatus to drive the focusing lens to move to a determined position, the focusing lens comprises a multi-focal-length lens, and a ratio of a moving distance of the multi-focal-length lens to a moving distance of a focal point of the laser emitting apparatus is less than 1.
Mook teaches the driving apparatus (164) is electrically connected to a circuit board (104, 1506),
the circuit board (104, 1506) is configured to control the driving apparatus (164) to drive the focusing lens (608) to move to a determined position ([0060] drive motor 164 configured to move the housing assembly 160 and/or the one or more components the energy beam system 134 according to instructions for the control system 104),
the focusing lens (608) comprises a multi-focal-length lens ([0104] multi-focal lens),
Onoda and Mook are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser devices. It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda to incorporate the teachings of Mook, to have the driving apparatus be connected to a circuit board to drive the focusing lens, and to have modified the lens of Onoda to be a multi-focal length lens as in Mook in order to allow processing and control to be optionally local or remote relative to the machine (Mook [0203]) and to allow variations of intensities of the laser being outputted such that certain regions may be preheated, melted, or post-heated at the same time (Mook [0104]).
Onoda and Mook are silent on a ratio of a moving distance of the multi-focal-length lens to a moving distance of a focal point of the laser emitting apparatus is less than 1.
However, Onoda does teach a moving distance of the lens (33a), which in combination with Mook is taken to be the equivalent of the multi-focal-length lens, and a moving distance of a focal point of the laser emitting apparatus (Col. 14 lines 40-60 focal position of the laser light on the workpiece) being related a focal position is adjusted based on a measurement result of the distance measurement section (Col. 2 lines 40-60). Onoda does not expressly disclose the ratio of a moving distance of the multi-focal-length lens to a moving distance of a focal point of the laser emitting apparatus is less than 1. Onoda discloses (Col. 2 lines 40-60) that the distance of the multi-focal-length lens to a moving distance of a focal point of the laser emitting apparatus needs to be optimized to be able to correct any misalignments of the work piece and the focal position. The ratio between the lens and the focal point of the laser emitting apparatus is understood to be a result effective variable as changing the distance of the lens and the focal point of the laser emitting apparatus changes the alignment of the laser with the workpiece. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device as taught by Onoda and XXX to have a ratio of a moving distance of the multi-focal-length lens to a moving distance of a focal point of the laser emitting apparatus be less than 1 as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)(MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 3, Onoda and Mook teach the laser module according to claim 1, and Onoda teaches
wherein the laser exiting window lens comprises a laser exiting window lens, (Col. 10 lines 50-60 light-transmissive window 19 configured to emit laser light from the marker head 1);
the focusing lens (33a) is arranged parallel to the laser exiting window lens (19, Fig. 3a lens 33a parallel to window 19);
and the laser module further comprises a reflecting mirror (31, Col. 13 lines 15-25 upstream merging mechanism 31 has a dichroic mirror),
the reflecting mirror (31) is accommodated in the housing (10, Fig. 3a),
and the reflecting mirror (31) is arranged corresponding to the laser emitting apparatus (2) and the focusing lens (33a) respectively
and the reflecting mirror (31) is configured to reflect the laser (Pu) from the laser emitting apparatus (2) to the focusing lens (33a, Fig 3a).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onoda (US11969820) and Mook (US20230055872A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nehashi (US20200209523).
Fig. 5 of Onoda
Regarding claim 4, Onoda and Mook teach the laser module according to claim 3, and Onoda teaches
wherein the housing (10) comprises:
a first housing (S1 and S2), provided with the laser exiting window lens (19),
wherein the driving apparatus (33d), the reflecting mirror (31) and the focusing lens (33a) are all accommodated in the first housing (S1 and S2),
and in a moving direction of the focusing lens (33a, Figs. 5 and 6),
the focusing lens (33a) is located between the reflecting mirror (31) and the laser exiting window lens (19, Fig. 3a); and
a second housing (12), an interior of which is in communication with an interior of the first housing (S1, S2 Fig. 5),
wherein the second housing (21) and the first housing (S1, S2) are configured in a split design or formed as an integral unit (Col. 10 lines 45-55 Fig. 5 where optical components 21, being hermetically sealed, is within the interior S1 and S2 of housing 10 which form a first housing, and formed on base plate 12 of housing 10),
the laser emitting apparatus (2) is accommodated in the second housing (21).
Onoda is silent on the laser emitting apparatus has an emitting end, and the emitting end is disposed opposite to the reflecting mirror and extends into the first housing to allow the laser emitted by the laser emitting apparatus to reach the reflecting mirror.
Fig. 6 of Nehashi
Nehashi teaches the laser emitting apparatus has an emitting end (Fig. 6), and the emitting end is disposed opposite to the reflecting mirror (31) and extends into the first housing (S1, S2) to allow the laser emitted by the laser emitting apparatus to reach the reflecting mirror (31, Fig. 6).
Onoda, Mook, and Nehashi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser cutting. It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda and Mook to incorporate the teachings of Nehashi to have the laser emitting apparatus have an emitting end that extends to the first housing in order to be able to guide the light output to be incident on a laser guiding section so that it may be output (Nehashi [0146]).
Regarding claim 5, Onoda, Mook, and Nehashi teach the laser module according to claim 4, and Onoda teaches wherein the first housing (S1, S2) is provided with a laser entry opening (Fig. 5) and a laser exit opening (a through-hole that penetrates the bottom plate 10 a),
the laser exiting window lens (19) is configured to cover the laser exit opening (Col. 10 lines 50-67), but is silent on the emitting end is configured to be inserted into the laser entry opening and to extend into the first housing.
Nehashi teaches the emitting end is configured to be inserted into the laser entry opening and to extend into the first housing (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda and Mook to incorporate the teachings of Nehashi to have the laser emitting apparatus have an emitting end in the laser entry opening that extends to the first housing in order to be able to guide the light output to be incident on a laser guiding section so that it may be output (Nehashi [0146]).
Annotated Fig. 5 of Onoda
Regarding claim 6, Onoda, Mook, and Nehashi teach the laser module according to claim 4, and Onoda teaches wherein a first chamber (S2) and a second chamber (S1) are formed in the first housing (S1 and S2),
and the first chamber (S2) and the second chamber (S1) are arranged adjacent to each other (Fig. 5 and 6);
the reflecting mirror (31) and the focusing lens (33a) are both accommodated in the first chamber (S2);
the laser exiting window lens (19) corresponds to the first chamber (S1);
one end of the second chamber (S1) is provided with a first through-opening (Annotated Fig. 5);
the first through-opening (Annotated Fig. 5) is in communication with the interior of the second housing (S2);
and the other end of the second chamber (S1) is provided with a second through-opening (35) disposed opposite to the first through-opening (Fig. 5).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onoda (US11969820), Mook (US20230055872A1), and Nehashi (US20200209523) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Zeng (CN216607642) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 7, Onoda, Mook, and Nehashi teach the laser module according to claim 6, but are silent on further comprising a fan, wherein the second housing comprises a heat dissipation base and a heat dissipation cover, the heat dissipation base and the heat dissipation cover together define a first accommodating space, the laser emitting apparatus is accommodated in the first accommodating space, the fan is disposed at an end of the heat dissipation base and/or the heat dissipation cover away from the first housing, and the fan is configured to generate an airflow to reduce heat of the heat dissipation base and/or the heat dissipation cover.
Fig. 4 of Zeng
Fig. 5 of Zeng
Zeng teaches a fan (40),
wherein the second housing (50) comprises a heat dissipation base (10) and a heat dissipation cover (Fig. 5),
the heat dissipation base (10) and the heat dissipation cover together define a first accommodating space (Fig. 5),
the laser emitting apparatus (20) is accommodated in the first accommodating space (Fig. 5),
the fan (40) is disposed at an end of the heat dissipation base (10) and/or the heat dissipation cover (Fig. 5) away from the first housing (Fig, 5 heat dissipation away from laser module), and
the fan (40) is configured to generate an airflow to reduce heat of the heat dissipation base and/or the heat dissipation cover ([0032]).
Onoda, Mook, Nehashi, and Zeng are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser cutting. It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda and Nehashi to incorporate the teachings of Zeng to have a heat dissipation base, a heat dissipation cover, and a fan in order to optimally cool the device by carrying heat out of the heat sink by use of a fan (Zeng [0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Onoda, Mook, Nehashi, and Zeng teach the laser module according to claim 7, but Onoda, Mook, and Nehashi are silent on wherein the heat dissipation base comprises a bottom wall, and a plurality of side walls connected to the bottom wall, a plurality of fins are disposed on both sides of two of the plurality of side walls facing away from each other.
Zeng wherein the heat dissipation base (10) comprises a bottom wall (Figs. 3 and 4),
and a plurality of side walls (Fig. 4) connected to the bottom wall (Figs. 3 and 4),
a plurality of fins (13) are disposed on both sides of two of the plurality of side walls facing away from each other (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda, Mook, and Nehashi to incorporate the teachings of Zeng to have a heat dissipation bottom and side wall with a plurality of fins in order to optimally cool the device by carrying heat out of the heat sink (Zeng [0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Onoda, Mook, Nehashi, and Zeng teach the laser module according to claim 7, but Onoda, Mook, and Zeng are silent on wherein the second chamber is provided with a plurality of through-openings, a lengthwise direction of each through-opening is perpendicular to an arrangement direction of adjacent fins.
Nehashi teaches wherein the second chamber (S1) is provided with a plurality of through-openings ([0134] 12a, 35),
and a lengthwise direction of each through-opening is perpendicular to an arrangement direction of adjacent fins (22, Fig. 5 and 8).
It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda, Mook, and Zeng to incorporate the teachings of Nehashi to have a plurality of through holes perpendicular to the fins so that a plurality of components may be coupled through different portions of the housing (Nehashi [0134]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onoda (US11969820), Mook (US20230055872A1), Nehashi (US20200209523), and Zeng (CN216607642), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Li (CN112382928A) with citations made to associated US Publication (US20240055831).
Regarding claim 10, Onoda, Mook, Nehashi, and Zeng teach the laser module according to claim 7, but are silent on wherein a semiconductor cooling element is disposed between a bottom wall of the heat dissipation base and the laser emitting apparatus, a cold end of the semiconductor cooling element is used for heat absorption and in contact with the laser emitting apparatus and a hot end of the semiconductor cooling element is used for heat dissipation and in contact with the bottom wall ([0047] a hot end of the semiconductor chilling plate realizes heat conduction through the heat pipe 12 and the heat sink 11).
Li teaches wherein a semiconductor cooling element ([0047] semiconductor chilling plate) is disposed between a bottom wall of the heat dissipation base (11) and the laser emitting apparatus (2, 5),
a cold end of the semiconductor cooling element ([0047] cold end of the semiconductor chilling plate) is used for heat absorption and in contact with the laser emitting apparatus ([0047] realizes heat conduction and cooling of the optical window 5 through the housing 2, lowering the temperature of the optical window 5)
and a hot end of the semiconductor cooling element is used for heat dissipation and in contact with the bottom wall ([0047] A hot end of the semiconductor chilling plate realizes heat conduction through the heat pipe 12 and the heat sink 11).
Onoda, Mook, Nehashi, Zeng, and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser cutting. It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda, Mook, Nehashi, and Zeng to incorporate the teachings of Li to have a semiconductor cooling element with a cold and hot end in order to be able to transfer heat energy absorbed by the laser apparatus be transferred out but the heat sink (Li [0047]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onoda (US11969820) and Mook (US20230055872A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kang (CN110948121A) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 11, Onoda and Mook teach the laser module according to claim 1, but are silent on wherein the driving apparatus comprises: a bracket connected to the housing, wherein both ends of the bracket are respectively provided with two end plates arranged at an angle to the bracket, and the two end plates correspond to each other and are spaced apart from each other; a lead screw nut, provided with a lens holder for fixing the focusing lens; a lead screw, extending between the two end plates wherein the lead screw is threadedly connected to the lead screw nut, and the lead screw is rotated to drive the lead screw nut to move in an axial direction of the lead screw; and a motor, provided on one of the end plates, wherein the lead screw passes through the end plate and is in transmission connection with the motor, and the motor is configured to drive the lead screw to rotate.
Fig. 2 of Kang
Kang teaches wherein the driving apparatus (1004 [0032]) comprises:
a bracket (1,10), connected to the housing, wherein both ends of the bracket are respectively provided with end plates (5,8) arranged at an angle to the bracket (Fig. 2),
and the two end plates (5,8) correspond to each other and are spaced apart from each other (Fig. 2);
a lead screw nut (6), provided with a lens holder for fixing the focusing lens (23);
a lead screw (6), extending between the two end plates (5,8)wherein the lead screw (6) is threadedly connected to the lead screw nut (4)
and the lead screw (6) is rotated to drive the lead screw nut (4) to move in an axial direction of the lead screw; and
a motor (11), provided on one of the end plates (5), wherein the lead screw (6) passes through the end plate and is in transmission connection with the motor (11),
and the motor (11) is configured to drive the lead screw (6) to rotate.
Onoda, Mook, and Kang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser cutting. It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda and Mook to incorporate the teachings of Kang to have the driving apparatus comprise a bracket, end plates, a lead screw, a lead screw nut, and a motor in order to achieve optical zoom adjustments through moving the optical lens through the use of a motor and screw (Kang [0034]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onoda (US11969820), Mook (US20230055872A1), and Kang (CN110948121A) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Wang (CN210789711U) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 12, Onoda, Mook, and Kang teach the laser module according to claim 11, but are silent on wherein the driving apparatus further comprises:
guide rods, wherein both ends of each of the guide rods are respectively connected to the two end plates; two guide rods are disposed, and the lead screw is located between the two guide rods in a direction perpendicular to a moving direction of the lead screw nut; and a middle portion of the lead screw nut is sleeved on the lead screw, and both side ends of the lead screw nut are each provided with an open slot, and the two guide rods are respectively inserted into the open slots at both side ends of the lead screw nut.
Wang teaches wherein the driving apparatus further comprises:
guide rods (503), wherein both ends of each of the guide rods (503) are respectively connected to the two end plates (5,6);
two guide rods (503) are disposed, and the lead screw (502) is located between the two guide rods (503) in a direction perpendicular to a moving direction of the lead screw nut (nut seat); and
a middle portion of the lead screw nut ([0030] nut seat) is sleeved on the lead screw (502), and both side ends of the lead screw nut are each provided with an open slot (Fig. 2)
and the two guide rods (503) are respectively inserted into the open slots at both side ends of the lead screw nut ([0030] nut seat Fig. 2).
Onoda, Mook, Kang, and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser cutting. It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda, Mook, and Kang to incorporate the teachings of Wang to have guide rods surrounding a lead screw and inserted into a lead screw nut so that rotation of the apparatus may be affected (Wang [0030]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onoda (US11969820) and Mook (US20230055872A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogiwara (JP2022138500A) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 13, Onoda and Mook teach the laser module according to claim 1, but are silent on further comprising: a ranging sensor, disposed on the housing and configured to detect thickness information of an object to be processed, so that the focusing apparatus adjusts the focal position of the laser emitting apparatus based on the thickness information;
wherein the ranging sensor comprises at least one of an ultrasonic sensor or a laser ranging sensor, and the ranging sensor and the laser exiting window lens are located on the same side of the housing and are spaced apart.
Fig. 1 of Ogiwara
Ogiwara teaches a ranging sensor (S1, S2), disposed on the housing (H) and configured to detect thickness information of an object to be processed, so that the focusing apparatus adjusts the focal position of the laser emitting apparatus based on the thickness information ([0037] focusing unit 6 moves based on the displacement data of the surface 11a acquired by the distance measuring sensor located in front of the pair of distance measuring sensors S1, S2; focal point C of laser light at a predetermined depth);
wherein the ranging sensor comprises at least one of an ultrasonic sensor or a laser ranging sensor ([0028] distance measuring sensor S1, S2 emits light for distance measurement (for example, laser light) to the surface 11a of the object 11),
and the ranging sensor (S1, S2) and the laser exiting window lens (61) are located on the same side of the housing and are spaced apart (Fig. 1).
Onoda, Mook, and Ogiwara are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser cutting. It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda and Mook to incorporate the teachings of Ogiwara to have ranging sensors to adjust a focal position of the laser emitting apparatus in order to be able to control the focal point to be at a desired depth in the surface of the workpiece (Ogiwara [0037]).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onoda (US11969820) and Mook (US20230055872A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zeng (CN216607642) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 14, Onoda and Mook teach the laser module according to claim 1, but are silent on the housing is provided with an air guide channel, and a surface of the housing is provided with an air outlet in communication with the air guide channel; and the laser module further comprises an air nozzle, the air nozzle is connected to the housing and covers the air outlet and the laser exiting window lens, a first channel facing the laser exiting window lens is formed inside the air nozzle, and a second channel is further defined inside the air nozzle and is in communication with the air outlet and the first channel.
Zeng teaches the housing is provided with an air guide channel (11), and a surface of the housing is provided with an air outlet (112) in communication with the air guide channel (11); and
the laser module further comprises an air nozzle (30),
the air nozzle (30) is connected to the housing (50) and covers the air outlet (112) and the laser exiting window lens (20),
a first channel facing (Fig. 5) the laser exiting window lens (20) is formed inside the air nozzle (30),
and a second channel (Fig. 5) is further defined inside the air nozzle (30) and is in communication with the air outlet (112) and the first channel (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda and Mook to incorporate the teachings of Zeng to have an air guide channel, an air nozzle and a first and second channel so that a large amount of heat may be removed which removes heat dissipation efficiency of the heat sink (Zeng [0037]).
Regarding claim 15, Onoda, Mook, and Zeng teach the laser module according to claim 14, but Onoda and Mook are silent on wherein a clearance recess is recessed on an outer surface of the housing, and an end of the air guide channel penetrates through to an inner surface of the clearance recess, forming an air inlet in communication with the air guide channel in the inner surface of the clearance recess; and the laser module further comprises a connection nozzle, accommodated in the clearance recess, inserted into the air inlet, and configured for connecting a gas source.
Zeng teaches wherein a clearance recess (111) is recessed on an outer surface of the housing (Fig. 5, 50),
and an end of the air guide channel (11) penetrates through to an inner surface of the clearance recess (111, Fig. 5),
forming an air inlet in communication with the air guide channel in the inner surface of the clearance recess (11,111);
and the laser module further comprises a connection nozzle ([0029] air inlet pipe), accommodated in the clearance recess (111), inserted into the air inlet, and configured for connecting a gas source ([0030] the air inlet pipe is connected with an air compressor; and the air compressor delivers high-pressure air to the air inlet pipe).
It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda and Mook to incorporate the teachings of Zeng to have a recess, an air guide, air inlet , and a nozzle connected to a gas source so that a large amount of heat may be removed which removes heat dissipation efficiency of the heat sink (Zeng [0037]).
Regarding claim 16, Onoda, Mook, and Zeng teach the laser module according to claim 15, but Onoda and Mook are silent on wherein the air nozzle comprises a connecting plate, covering and connecting to a bottom surface of the housing, and provided with a through hole and a recess having an opening; on a side of the connecting plate facing away from the housing, an annular tube is arranged along an edge of the through hole in a projecting manner; the annular tube and the through hole serve as the first channel, allowing the laser emitted by the laser emitting apparatus to pass through the through hole; the recess serves as the second channel, covering at least a portion of an outer wall of the housing and at least a portion of the laser exiting window lens; and the recess, together with at least a portion of the outer wall of the housing and at least a portion of the laser exiting window lens, defines a space for gas flow in communication with the air outlet.
Fig. 3 of Zeng
Zeng teaches the air nozzle (30) comprises a connecting plate (Fig. 3), covering and connecting to a bottom surface of the housing (50), and provided with a through hole and a recess having an opening (Fig. 3);
on a side of the connecting plate (Fig. 3) facing away from the housing (50), an annular tube (70) is arranged along an edge of the through hole in a projecting manner (Fig. 4);
the annular tube (70) and the through hole serve as the first channel (Fig. 4), allowing the laser emitted by the laser emitting apparatus to pass through the through hole;
the recess serves as the second channel (Fig. 3 and 4), covering at least a portion of an outer wall of the housing (50) and at least a portion of the laser exiting window lens (20);
and the recess, together with at least a portion of the outer wall of the housing and at least a portion of the laser exiting window lens, defines a space for gas flow in communication with the air outlet (112, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda and Mook to incorporate the teachings of Zeng to have an air nozzle with a connecting plate, an annular tube, and a recess so that a large amount of heat may be removed which removes heat dissipation efficiency of the heat sink (Zeng [0037]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onoda (US11969820) in view of Mook (US20230055872A1) and further in view of Wang (CN210789711U) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 17, Onoda teaches a laser processing device, comprising a laser module (1);
wherein the laser module (1) comprises:
a housing (10), provided thereon with a laser exiting window lens (19) capable of allowing a laser to be emitted from an interior of the housing (Col. 10 lines 50-60 light-transmissive window 19 configured to emit laser light from the marker head 1);
a laser emitting apparatus (2), configured to emit a laser (Col. 9 lines 5-15 laser light output section 2 that amplifies and generates laser light); and
a focusing apparatus (33), accommodated in the housing (10)and located between the laser exiting window lens (19) and the laser emitting apparatus (2, Fig. 3a);
wherein the focusing apparatus (33) comprises
a driving apparatus (Col. 14 lines 1-15 lens drive section 33 d) and a focusing lens (33 a) that are connected (Col. 14 lines 1-15 the lens drive section 33 d moves the input lens 33 a along the optical axis)
the driving apparatus (33d) and the focusing lens (33a) are both accommodated in the housing (10, Fig. 3a),
the focusing lens (33a) is configured to focus the laser (Pu) emitted by the laser emitting apparatus (2, Fig. 3a), and the driving apparatus (33d) is configured to drive the focusing lens to move in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (Col. 12 lines 15-25 Z scanner, Z direction).
Onoda is silent on a rail structure, and wherein the laser module is connected to the rail structure, and the rail structure is configured to drive the laser module to move in a first direction and a second direction that are perpendicular to each other, the driving apparatus is electrically connected to a circuit board, the circuit board is configured to control the driving apparatus to drive the focusing lens to move to a determined position, the focusing lens comprises a multi-focal-length lens, and a ratio of a moving distance of the multi-focal-length lens to a moving distance of a focal point of the laser emitting apparatus is less than 1.
Mook teaches the driving apparatus (164) is electrically connected to a circuit board (104, 1506),
the circuit board (104, 1506) is configured to control the driving apparatus (164) to drive the focusing lens (608) to move to a determined position ([0060] drive motor 164 configured to move the housing assembly 160 and/or the one or more components the energy beam system 134 according to instructions for the control system 104),
the focusing lens (608) comprises a multi-focal-length lens ([0104] multi-focal lens),
It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda to incorporate the teachings of Mook, to have the driving apparatus be connected to a circuit board to drive the focusing lens, and to have modified the lens of Onoda to be a multi-focal length lens as in Mook in order to allow processing and control to be optionally local or remote relative to the machine (Mook [0203]) and to allow variations of intensities of the laser being outputted such that certain regions may be preheated, melted, or post-heated at the same time (Mook [0104]).
Onoda and Mook are silent on a rail structure and wherein the laser module is connected to the rail structure and the rail structure is configured to drive the laser module to move in a first direction and a second direction that are perpendicular to each other, a ratio of a moving distance of the multi-focal-length lens to a moving distance of a focal point of the laser emitting apparatus is less than 1.
Wang teaches a rail structure (401, 203) and wherein the laser module (6) is connected to the rail structure (402, 203)
and the rail structure (402, 203) is configured to drive the laser module to move in a first direction and a second direction that are perpendicular to each other ([0035] the position of the laser cutting head 6 in the X direction is adjusted and the position of the laser cutting head 6 in the Y direction is adjusted).
Onoda, Mook, and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser cutting. It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda and Mook to incorporate the teachings of Wang to have rail structure where the laser module can move in a first and second direction so that the position of the laser cutting device may be precisely controlled (Wang [0007]).
Onoda, Mook, and Wang are silent on a ratio of a moving distance of the multi-focal-length lens to a moving distance of a focal point of the laser emitting apparatus is less than 1.
However, Onoda does teach a moving distance of the lens (33a), which in combination with Mook is taken to be the equivalent of the multi-focal-length lens, and a moving distance of a focal point of the laser emitting apparatus (Col. 14 lines 40-60 focal position of the laser light on the workpiece) being related a focal position is adjusted based on a measurement result of the distance measurement section (Col. 2 lines 40-60). Onoda does not expressly disclose the ratio of a moving distance of the multi-focal-length lens to a moving distance of a focal point of the laser emitting apparatus is less than 1. Onoda discloses (Col. 2 lines 40-60) that the distance of the multi-focal-length lens to a moving distance of a focal point of the laser emitting apparatus needs to be optimized to be able to correct any misalignments of the work piece and the focal position. The ratio between the lens and the focal point of the laser emitting apparatus is understood to be a result effective variable as changing the distance of the lens and the focal point of the laser emitting apparatus changes the alignment of the laser with the workpiece. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device as taught by Onoda and XXX to have a ratio of a moving distance of the multi-focal-length lens to a moving distance of a focal point of the laser emitting apparatus be less than 1 as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)(MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onoda (US11969820) in view of Mook (US20230055872A1) and Wang (CN210789711U) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Nehashi (US20200209523).
Regarding claim 18, Onoda, Mook, and Wang teach the laser processing device according to claim 17, wherein: the focusing lens (33a) comprises a single-focal-length lens (Col. 13 lines 66-67 a plano-concave lens, known to be single focal length lenses), or the focusing lens comprises a multi-focal-length lens, and a ratio of the moving distance of the multi-focal-length lens to the moving distance of the focal point of the laser emitting apparatus is less than 1, but is silent on and a moving distance of the single-focal-length lens is equal to a moving distance of a focal point of the laser emitting apparatus.
Nehashi teaches a moving distance of the single-focal-length lens is equal to a moving distance of a focal point of the laser emitting apparatus ([0271] In subsequent step S104, the control section 101 determines a control parameter of the Z scanner 33 based on a measurement result in step S103, that is, a distance measurement value at each measurement position, such that focal positions match the respective measurement values).
It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda, Mook, and Wang to incorporate the teachings of Nehashi to have the distance of the lens be the distance of a focal potion of the laser so that a focus of the laser may be adjusted in a vertical direction (Nehashi [0175]).
Regarding claim 19, Onoda, Mook, and Wang teach the laser processing device according to claim 17, and Onoda teaches wherein the laser module further comprises a reflecting mirror (31, Col. 13 lines 15-25 upstream merging mechanism 31 has a dichroic mirror),
the reflecting mirror (31) is accommodated in the housing (10, Fig. 3a),
and the reflecting mirror (31) is arranged corresponding to the laser emitting apparatus (2) and the focusing lens (33a) respectively
and the reflecting mirror (31) is configured to reflect the laser (Pu) from the laser emitting apparatus (2) to the focusing lens (33a, Fig 3a).
wherein the housing (10) comprises:
a first housing (S1 and S2), provided with the laser exiting window lens (19),
wherein the driving apparatus (33d), the reflecting mirror (31) and the focusing lens (33a) are all accommodated in the first housing (S1 and S2),
and in a moving direction of the focusing lens (33a, Figs. 5 and 6),
the focusing lens (33a) is located between the reflecting mirror (31) and the laser exiting window lens (19, Fig. 3a); and
a second housing (12), an interior of which is in communication with an interior of the first housing (S1, S2 Fig. 5),
wherein the second housing (21) and the first housing (S1, S2) are configured in a split design or formed as an integral unit (Col. 10 lines 45-55 Fig. 5 where optical components 21, being hermetically sealed, is within the interior S1 and S2 of housing 10 which form a first housing, and formed on base plate 12 of housing 10).
the laser emitting apparatus (2) is accommodated in the second housing (21).
Onoda is silent on the laser emitting apparatus has an emitting end, and the emitting end is disposed opposite to the reflecting mirror and extends into the first housing to allow the laser emitted by the laser emitting apparatus to reach the reflecting mirror.
Nehashi teaches the laser emitting apparatus has an emitting end (Fig. 6), and the emitting end is disposed opposite to the reflecting mirror (31) and extends into the first housing (S1, S2) to allow the laser emitted by the laser emitting apparatus to reach the reflecting mirror (31, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda, Mook, and Wang to incorporate the teachings of Nehashi to have the laser emitting apparatus have an emitting end that extends to the first housing in order to be able to guide the light output to be incident on a laser guiding section so that it may be output (Nehashi [0146]).
Regarding claim 20, Onoda, Mook, Wang, and Nehashi teach the laser module according to claim 19, and Onoda teaches wherein the first housing (S1, S2) is provided with a laser entry opening (Fig. 5) and a laser exit opening (a through-hole that penetrates the bottom plate 10 a),
the laser exiting window lens (19) is configured to cover the laser exit opening (Col. 10 lines 50-67), but is silent on the emitting end is configured to be inserted into the laser entry opening and to extend into the first housing.
Nehashi teaches the emitting end is configured to be inserted into the laser entry opening and to extend into the first housing (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to have modified Onoda, Mook, and Wang to incorporate the teachings of Nehashi to have the laser emitting apparatus have an emitting end in the laser entry opening that extends to the first housing in order to be able to guide the light output to be incident on a laser guiding section so that it may be output (Nehashi [0146]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments overcome 112b rejections and 112f interpretation, accordingly the previous 112b rejection and 112f interpretations are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 2/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under Onoda and claim 17 under Onoda in view of Wang have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, Applicant's amendment necessitated a new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action,,, wherein the new ground(s) of rejection is made towards claim 1 is made in view of Onoda in view of newly cited reference Mook (US20230055872A1) and towards claim 17 in view of Onoda in view of Mook and Wang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 3/19/2026
/VY T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761