DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994)
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application Nos. 14/546,508, 16/175,047, 16/998,197 fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Specifically, the disclosures of 14/546,508, 16/175,047, 16/998,197, 18/090,566, 18/520,781 make no mention of a first image sensor positioned over a front surface of the electronic device and a second image sensor positioned over a rear surface of the electronic device. Specifically, paragraph [0127] of the PG-PUB of 14/656,508 (US 2015/0146069), paragraph [0128] of the PG-PUB of 16/175,047 (US 2019/0075243), and paragraph [0128] of the PG-PUB of 16/998,197 (US 2021/0132653), paragraph [0128] of PG-PUB of 18/090,566 (US 2023/0195165), paragraph [0128] of the PG-PUB of 18/520,781 (US 2024/0094768) state that a plurality of image sensors may be provided. However, they only state that at least one may be provided in the region 201. There is no mention of one image sensor on a front side and another image sensor on a back side. In addition, paragraphs [0127], [0128], [0128] respectively refer to a different embodiment than is claimed. Specifically, paragraphs [0127], [0128], [0128], [0128], [0128] respectively refer to embodiment 2. The claims are directed exclusively to embodiment 4. With respect to embodiment 4, only paragraphs [0149], [0150], [0150], [0150], [0150] respectively mention an image sensor and they state “the image sensor 202…may be provided in the region 201.” This is not the same as stating that one image sensor is provided on the front of the device and another image sensor is provided on the rear.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first image sensor and first display region being positioned over a front surface of the electronic device and the second image sensor and second display region being positioned over a rear surface of the electronic device (claims 2, 4, 6) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 2, 4, and 6, they recite that the first display region and first image sensor are positioned over a front surface of the electronic device and the second display region and second image sensor are positioned over a rear surface of the electronic device. There is no support for this feature in the specification as originally filed.
Specifically, paragraph [0128] of the PG-PUB of the instant application states that a plurality of image sensors may be provided. However, it only states that at least one may be provided in the region 201. There is no mention of one image sensor on a front side and another image sensor on a back side. In addition, paragraph [0128] refers to a different embodiment than is claimed. Specifically, paragraphs [0128] refers to embodiment 2. The claims are directed exclusively to embodiment 4. With respect to embodiment 4, only paragraph [0150] mentions an image sensor and it states “the image sensor 202…may be provided in the region 201.” This is not the same as stating that one image sensor is provided on the front of the device and another image sensor is provided on the rear.
Regarding claims 3, 5, 7, they depend from one of claims 2, 4, or 6 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claims 2, 4, and 6).
Double Patenting
Claims 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,846,963.
Regarding claim 6, claim 3 of ‘963 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, claim 3 of ‘963 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 7.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,443,222.
Regarding claim 6, claim 1 of ‘222 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 6.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,443,222 in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 7, claim 1 of ‘222 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 6 except that the support has a light-blocking property. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this.
The combination teaches an electronic device comprising two supports and a third support in between. In order for something to have “a light blocking property” it simply needs to transmit essentially no light. Plastics or metals that do not transmit light are well-known to be used for supports for electronics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to substitute the undisclosed material used for the supports of claim 1 of ‘222 to achieve the predictable result of preventing stray light from effecting the image sensor or display electronics.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyashita et al. (US 2005/0270396 A1) hereinafter referenced Miyashita.
Regarding claim 6, Miyashita discloses
An electronic device comprising:
a first display panel (1; fig. 6) comprising a first display region;
a second display panel (2; fig. 5) comprising a second display region;
a non-display region (Region of casing surrounding display 1; fig. 6) surrounding the first display region;
a first image sensor (23; fig. 6);
a second image sensor (24; fig. 5);
a first support (214; fig. 5);
a second support (212; fig. 5) apart from the first support; and
a third support (213; fig. 5) comprising a region positioned between the first support and the second support,
wherein the first display region and the first image sensor are positioned over a front surface of the electronic device (fig. 6), and
wherein the second display region and the second image sensor are positioned over a rear surface of the electronic device (fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyashita in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 7, Miyashita discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6), have a light-blocking property. However, Miyashita fails to explicitly disclose casings 212, 214, and hinge 213 have a light-blocking property. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this.
Miyashita teaches a folding mobile phone comprising two casings and a hinge. In order for something to have “a light blocking property” it simply needs to transmit essentially no light. Plastics or metals that do not transmit light are well-known to be used for casings for electronics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to substitute the undisclosed material used for the casings and hinge of Miyashita to achieve the predictable result of preventing stray light from effecting the camera or display electronics.
Conclusion
PAUL M. BERARDESCA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/PAUL M BERARDESCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 9/30/2026