DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Rejection of Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cox (US 2024/0035937) have been modified in light of applicant’s amendments.
Rejection of Claim(s) 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox has been modified in light of applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-14 and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cox (US 2024/0035937).
Regarding claim 1, Cox teaches a modular assay support device comprising a base (605) comprising a planar body that defines an aperture; a handle (662) connected to the base (605); a mold frame (577) defining a cavity configured to form a polymeric support within the cavity (refer to figure 5B); wherein an inner wall of the mold frame (577) comprises a rib (588) (refer to Figure 17B) that extends into the cavity and the rib (588) is configured to retain the polymeric support (580) within the cavity; and a lid (207) removably coupled to the mold frame (577). (Refer to Figures 3A-6)
Regarding claim 2, the mold frame (577) is removably seated in or on the base (605). (Refer to Figure 6)
Regarding claim 3, the base (605) forms an aperture and wherein the mold frame (577) can be seated into the aperture. (Refer to Figure 6)
Regarding claim 4, the base (605) has at least one clip or tab (608) that releasably secures the mold frame (577) to the base (605).
Regarding claim 5, a substrate (610) removably positioned on a bottom region of the mold frame (577) wherein the substrate forms a surface.
Regarding claim 6, the substrate (610) comprises a polyester (PE) film, polypropylene (PP) film, polyvinyl chloride (PVC) film, or a low-density polyethylene (LDPE) film.
Regarding claim 7, the polymeric support is a hydrogel. (Refer to paragraph [0115])
Regarding claim 8, the hydrogel comprises agarose, gelatin, polyacrylamide, or combinations thereof. (Refer to paragraph [0125])
Regarding claim 10, a tissue section attached to a surface of the polymeric support. (Refer to paragraph [0114])
Regarding claim 11, the tissue section is a fixed-formalin paraffin-embedded (FFPE) tissue section. (Refer to paragraph [0243])
Regarding claim 12, the tissue section is a fresh-frozen tissue section. (Refer to paragraph [0243])
Regarding claim 13, the lid comprises a polyester (PE) film, polypropylene (PP) film, polyvinyl chloride (PVC) film, or a low-density polyethylene (LDPE) film. (Refer to paragraph [0226-0227])
Regarding claim 14, a peripheral recess is defined between the mold frame (577) and the base (605) and is configured to collect liquid during capture of a tissue section. (Refer to paragraph [0105]) (Refer to Figure 6)
Regarding claim 21, the rib (588) extends around an inner perimeter of the cavity. (Refer to Figure 5B)
Regarding claim 22, a peripheral trough surrounds the cavity and is configured to collect excess liquid. (Refer to Figures 5A and 5B)
Regarding claim 23, the handle (662) comprises a planar structure that extends outwardly from a side of the carrier device. (Refer to Figure 6)
Regarding claim 24, a cover film (610) removably positionable on a bottom of the mold frame such that the cover film encloses a lower end of the cavity.
Regarding claim 25, the hydrogel comprises a polymer selected from the group consisting of agarose, amylose, amylopectin, alginate, gelatin, cellulose, polyethylene glycol, polyvinyl alcohol, and acrylate polymers and copolymers thereof. (Refer to paragraph [0130])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox in view of Lafond (US 6446807).
Refer above for the teachings of Cox.
Cox fails to teach the hydrogel has a compression or Young's modulus between about 5 kPa and about 2.5 MPa.
Cox fails to teach a storage assembly configured to retain a plurality of carrier devices.
Lafond teaches a stacked modular assembly of containers. (Refer to Figures 1-3)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Cox such that the hydrogel has a compression or Young's modulus between about 5 kPa and about 2.5 MPa in order to ensure a tight seal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Cox with a storage assembly to retain a plurality of carrier devices during transporting and handling.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue that Cox does not teach “a mold frame defining a cavity configured to form a polymeric support within the cavity; wherein an inner wall of the mold frame comprises a rib that extends into the cavity and the rib is configured to retain the polymeric support within the cavity”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Refer to modified rejection above. With respect to the recited “rib” applicant’s disclosure teaches an extending wall which is equivalent to Cox’s recess in the insert that retains the gasket. Applicants further argue that Cox does not teach sealing to a hydrogel. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Cox teaches collagen, Matrigel ® and Proteogycan which are all considered hydrogels.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JYOTI Mutreja/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798