DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Examiner notes the following amendments made to the claims:
Claims 1 and 11 amended to further limit the molecular weight of PAA used as a dispersant
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are partially persuasive. Specifically, by further amending claims 1 and 11 to limit the range of molecular weight of PAA in the dispersant, the previously applied prior art is marginally overcome, in that the narrower range makes the previous obviousness argument less strong. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cho (US 20210305658 A1), which teaches the use of PAA having the desired molecular weight as a dispersant, and thus in combination with the previously applied references meets all of the limitations of amended claims 1 and 11. Additionally, examiner believes that the range of MW taught by Kim would still encompass the range taught in amended claim 1, and while an argument could be made that the claim is still obvious in view of Kim and Kwon, Cho is being used as further reasoning for using a molecular weight of PAA between 345,000 and 500,000 g/mol.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, the argument presented that the previously used references would not have been obvious to combine is not considered to be persuasive. Applicant argues that since Kwon uses a low molecular weight dispersant that it would not be obvious to modify to use a higher molecular weight dispersant. Examiner does not find this persuasive as both pieces of prior art still teach the use of a dispersant/PAA in a coating layer for a separator, and that it would only require the simple substitution of one dispersant for another in the same context, which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art even if the molecular weights of the dispersant were significantly different from each other. Additionally, the original combination/argument used was simply to use the teachings of Kwon to modify the amount of dispersant present, and is unrelated to the molecular weight of the dispersant. This reasoning would still apply regardless of the molecular weight of the dispersant, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of modifying Kim to use the quantity of dispersant, as taught by Kwon, in order to improve the heat resistance and adhesion, as cited in the previous office action (Kwon [0047]). While Kim used PAA as a “binder” rather than a “dispersant,” the fact that Kim cites its excellent dispersibility characteristics means that it is still being used as a dispersant even without the same nomenclature.
In regard to the unexpected results argument, this is not currently considered to be persuasive as a main argument is that a MW of PAA being between 345,000 g/mol – 500,000 g/mol leads to improved results. However, Cho example 1 teaches the use of PAA of explicitly 345,000 g/mol, the same as in instant specification preparation examples 1-3, and also cites that PAA MW in this range leads to improved characteristics (“When the polyacrylic acid metal salt has an excessively low weight average molecular weight (e.g., is outside of the ranges described herein), the heat shrinkage rate of the composite separator may increase, and thus, the heat resistance of the composite separator may be decreased. When the weight average molecular weight of the polyacrylic acid metal salt is too high (e.g., is outside of the ranges described herein), it may be difficult to dissolve the polyacrylic acid metal salt in a solvent, and thus, it may be difficult to form a suitable coating layer.” Cho [0041]). Thus, the cited benefits to this molecular weight of PAA are not considered to be unexpected results as they are already demonstrated in prior art. Additionally, applicant argues that Kwon teaches the amount of dispersant in a range outside of the range cited in examples 1-3 (0.5%). This is not persuasive as Kwon explicitly teaches a range in the amount of dispersant that overlaps the claimed range (0.5-5%), and thus the teachings of Kwon would render obvious the usage of the dispersant in the amount required by the instant claims.
Since no arguments were made regarding the patentability of the dependent claims, other than their dependence on claim 1, the previous rejections remain in place and unchanged other than now being further in view of Cho. There is currently not considered to be any allowable subject matter in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160149186 A1) in view of Cho (US 20210305658 A1), and further in view of Kwon (WO 2022071775 A1)—Kwon (US 20230307789 A1) used as English language translation
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches the following elements:
A composition for forming a coating layer comprising: (“Some embodiments provide a separator including a porous base layer, and a coating layer formed on at least one surface of the base layer,” Kim [0009])
inorganic particles, (“In some embodiments a manufacturing method of a separator, including preparing a porous base layer; preparing a slurry by mixing inorganic particles,” Kim [0016])
a binder, (“In some embodiments, the binder may be a mixture of the first binder and a second binder, and the second binder may be one water-based binder selected from the group consisting of a styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR), carboxyl methyl cellulose (CMC) and acrylate.” Kim [0018]. In this case, the second binder of Kim functions as the “binder” of the instant invention, while the first binder of Kim, PAA, functions as the dispersant.)
a solvent, (“In the preparation of the slurry (S2), the slurry is prepared by mixing inorganic particles, a binder and a solvent.” Kim [0049])
and a dispersant, wherein the dispersant includes polyacrylic acid (PAA) having a weight average molecular weight of 345,000 g/mol to 500,000 g/mol, (“The first binder may include one selected from the group consisting of polyacrylic acid (PAA),” Kim [0041] and “The first binder preferably has a molecular weight of 100,000 to 1,000,000.” Kim [0042]. In this case, the first binder of Kim, which comprises PAA in the desired weight range, functions as the dispersant. Kim even cites the excellent dispersibility found when using this material “Since the binder including the polyacrylic acid or sodium acrylate has excellent dispersibility with respect to inorganic particles, a packing density of a coating layer 120 formed by coating the base layer 110 using a slurry prepared by mixing the binder with the inorganic particles can be increased, and excellent adhesion to the base layer 110 can be obtained.” Kim [0043])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 100,000 – 1,000,000 g/mol for the molecular weight of the polyacrylic acid/dispersant encompasses the claimed range of 345,000 – 500,000 g/mol for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
While examiner does not believe Kim is silent on the following elements, examiner believes Cho provides even stronger teachings regarding the element below of claim 1:
and a dispersant, wherein the dispersant includes polyacrylic acid (PAA) having a weight average molecular weight of 345,000 g/mol to 500,000 g/mol,
Cho teaches the following elements of claim 1:
and a dispersant, wherein the dispersant includes polyacrylic acid (PAA) having a weight average molecular weight of 345,000 g/mol to 500,000 g/mol, (“The coating layer may include a binder, and the binder may include, for example, a polyacrylic acid metal salt having a weight average molecular weight of 300,000 Dalton or more.” Cho [0040] and “he weight average molecular weight of the polyacrylic acid metal salt included in the composite separator may be, for example, from about 300,000 Dalton to about 500,000 Dalton,” Cho [0041])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 300,000-500,000 g/mol for the molecular weight of the polyacrylic acid/dispersant encompasses the claimed range of 345,000 – 500,000 g/mol for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Additionally, Cho example 1 uses PAA with a MW of 345,000 g/mol, which would anticipate the claimed range (“Example 1: PAA Li 10% substitution (polyacrylic acid lithium salt in which 10% of the acrylic acid repeating units have an acidic hydrogen of an acrylic acid group that is substituted with lithium), Mw=345K (the polyacrylic acid lithium salt had a molecular weight of 345,000 Dalton), 0.7 μm inorganic particles, total coating layer thickness of 2 μm” Cho [0131])
Cho and Kim are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of coating layers for separators which contain inorganic particles and binders, particularly including PAA. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PAA used as the first binder (and dispersant) of Kim to have the specific molecular weight as taught by Cho, in order to optimize the heat resistance of the coating layer and have the easy formation of a suitable coating layer (“When the polyacrylic acid metal salt has an excessively low weight average molecular weight (e.g., is outside of the ranges described herein), the heat shrinkage rate of the composite separator may increase, and thus, the heat resistance of the composite separator may be decreased. When the weight average molecular weight of the polyacrylic acid metal salt is too high (e.g., is outside of the ranges described herein), it may be difficult to dissolve the polyacrylic acid metal salt in a solvent, and thus, it may be difficult to form a suitable coating layer.” Cho [0041])
Kim and Cho are silent on the following elements of claim 1:
and the content of the dispersant is 1 part by weight to 3 parts by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the total weight of the inorganic particles.
However, Kwon teaches all of the elements of claim 1 that are not found in Kim. Specifically, Kwon teaches the use of a PAA dispersant in the claimed weight range, also in a separator:
and the content of the dispersant is 1 part by weight to 3 parts by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the total weight of the inorganic particles. (“According to the fifth embodiment, there is provided the separator for a lithium secondary battery as defined in any one of the first to the fourth embodiments, wherein the weight ratio of the inorganic particles to the dispersant is 99.5:0.5-95:5.” Kwon [0020])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 0.5-5 parts by weight of dispersant relative to 100 parts by weight of total inorganic particles overlaps the claimed range of between 1 and 3 parts by weight of dispersant per 100 parts by weight of total inorganic particles. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Kwon is considered to be analogous to Kim because they are both within the same field of separators for lithium-ion batteries including a dispersant. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dispersant content of Kim to be within the range taught by Kwon in order to improve heat resistance and adhesion (“According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, there are provided a separator having improved heat resistance and adhesion (Lami strength) to an electrode by using a dispersant having predetermined properties, and a lithium secondary battery including the separator.” Kwon [0047])
No further modifications or motivation would be required to meet the additional limitations of claims 3-6 and 11.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches all of the following elements:
The composition according to claim 1, wherein an average particle size (D5o)of the solids of the coating layer forming composition is 1 μm to 1.5 μm. (“While there is no particular limitation in particle diameters of the inorganic particles 121, the inorganic particles 121 may have a particle diameter in a range of about 0.01 μm to about 10 μm, preferably in a range of about 0.1 μm to about 1 μm, to form the coating layer 120 having a uniform thickness, uniform dispersibility and an appropriate porosity.” Kim [0038])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range 0.01-10 μm for the average particle size of inorganic particle in the coating layer encompasses the claimed range of 1-1.5 μm for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches all of the following elements:
The composition according to claim 1, wherein the solid content of the coating layer forming composition is 30 wt% to 35 wt%. (“In order to prepare a coating layer slurry, a mixture was first prepared by mixing inorganic particles, a binder and a solvent. … The slurry includes a solid content of 35%.” Kim [0061])
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches all of the following elements:
The composition according to claim 1, wherein the content of the inorganic particles is 80 parts by weight to 99 parts by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the total solids of the coating layer forming composition. (“In order to prepare a coating layer slurry, a mixture was first prepared by mixing inorganic particles, a binder and a solvent. Here, boehmite particles were used as the inorganic particles and ion exchange water was used as a solvent. The mixing ratio of the inorganic particles, the binder and the solvent may be 100:6.7:198 (% by weight).” Kim [0061]. In this case, since the inorganic particles and binder comprise the total solid content of the coating layer, there would be 93.7 parts by weight of inorganic particles based on 100 parts by weight of total solid content, which is within the claimed range and therefore anticipates it.)
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches all of the following elements:
The composition according to claim 1, wherein the content of the binder is about 0.5 parts by weight to 10 parts by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the total solids of the coating layer forming composition. (As described earlier in claim 1, if there is a 50:50 mix of the first and second binder of Kim, i.e. the binder and the dispersant, then there would be 3.35 parts by weight of the binder compared to 106.7 parts of total solids, assuming the solid content comprises the inorganic particles and the mixture of binders. This would be within the claimed range as there would be ~3.1 parts per weight binder relative to 100 parts per weight total solids in the coating composition.)
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 0 (in the case where there is no second binder) to 3.1 (in the case where there is 3.35% by weight second binder) parts by weight of binder relative to 100 parts by weight of total solids overlaps the claimed range of between 0.5 and 10 parts by weight of binder for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches all of the following elements:
A separator for an electrochemical device, (“The present disclosure relates to a separator having high heat resistance, a manufacturing method thereof and a secondary battery having the separator.” Kim [0003])
the separator comprising: a porous polymer substrate; (“In the preparation of the base layer (51), a porous base layer is prepared. The base layer may include, for example, glass fiber, polyester, tetrafluoroethylene (TEFLON), polyolefin, polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) or combinations thereof. The polyolefin may include, for example, polyethylene, polypropylene, or the like.” Kim [0047])
and a coating layer disposed on at least one surface of the porous polymer substrate, (“Some embodiments provide a separator including a porous base layer, and a coating layer formed on at least one surface of the base layer, wherein the coating layer includes inorganic particles and a binder,” Kim [0009])
wherein the coating layer includes inorganic particles, (“In some embodiments a manufacturing method of a separator, including preparing a porous base layer; preparing a slurry by mixing inorganic particles,” Kim [0016])
a binder, (“In some embodiments, the binder may be a mixture of the first binder and a second binder, and the second binder may be one water-based binder selected from the group consisting of a styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR), carboxyl methyl cellulose (CMC) and acrylate.” Kim [0018]. In this case, the second binder of Kim functions as the “binder” of the instant invention, while the first binder of Kim, PAA, functions as the dispersant.)
and a dispersant, the dispersant contains polyacrylic acid (PAA) having a weight average weight of 345,000 g/mol to 500,000 g/mol, (“The first binder may include one selected from the group consisting of polyacrylic acid (PAA),” Kim [0041] and “The first binder preferably has a molecular weight of 100,000 to 1,000,000.” Kim [0042]. In this case, the first binder of Kim, which comprises PAA in the desired weight range, functions as the dispersant. Kim even cites the excellent dispersibility found when using this material “Since the binder including the polyacrylic acid or sodium acrylate has excellent dispersibility with respect to inorganic particles, a packing density of a coating layer 120 formed by coating the base layer 110 using a slurry prepared by mixing the binder with the inorganic particles can be increased, and excellent adhesion to the base layer 110 can be obtained.” Kim [0043])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 100,000 – 1,000,000 g/mol for the molecular weight of the polyacrylic acid/dispersant encompasses the claimed range of 200,000 – 500,000 for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
and the thickness of the coating layer is 1.3 μm or less. (“The coating layer 120 may have a thickness in a range of about 0.05 μm to about 50 μm preferably in a range of about 0.5 μm to about 5 μm.” Kim [0036]) The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range 0.5-5 μm for the thickness of the coating layer overlaps the claimed range of less than 1.3 μm for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
While examiner does not believe Kim is silent on the following elements, examiner believes Cho provides even stronger teachings regarding the element below of claim 11:
and a dispersant, the dispersant contains polyacrylic acid (PAA) having a weight average weight of 345,000 g/mol to 500,000 g/mol,
Cho teaches the following elements of claim 11:
and a dispersant, the dispersant contains polyacrylic acid (PAA) having a weight average weight of 345,000 g/mol to 500,000 g/mol, (“The coating layer may include a binder, and the binder may include, for example, a polyacrylic acid metal salt having a weight average molecular weight of 300,000 Dalton or more.” Cho [0040] and “he weight average molecular weight of the polyacrylic acid metal salt included in the composite separator may be, for example, from about 300,000 Dalton to about 500,000 Dalton,” Cho [0041])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 300,000-500,000 g/mol for the molecular weight of the polyacrylic acid/dispersant encompasses the claimed range of 345,000 – 500,000 g/mol for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Additionally, Cho example 1 uses PAA with a MW of 345,000 g/mol, which would anticipate the claimed range (“Example 1: PAA Li 10% substitution (polyacrylic acid lithium salt in which 10% of the acrylic acid repeating units have an acidic hydrogen of an acrylic acid group that is substituted with lithium), Mw=345K (the polyacrylic acid lithium salt had a molecular weight of 345,000 Dalton), 0.7 μm inorganic particles, total coating layer thickness of 2 μm” Cho [0131])
Kim and Cho are silent on the following elements of claim 11:
and the content of the dispersant is 1 part by weight to 3 parts by weight relative to parts by weight of the total weight of the inorganic particles,
However, Kwon teaches all of the elements of claim 11 that are not found in Kim:
and the content of the dispersant is 1 part by weight to 3 parts by weight relative to parts by weight of the total weight of the inorganic particles, (“According to the fifth embodiment, there is provided the separator for a lithium secondary battery as defined in any one of the first to the fourth embodiments, wherein the weight ratio of the inorganic particles to the dispersant is 99.5:0.5-95:5.” Kwon [0020])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 0.5-5 parts by weight of dispersant relative to 100 parts by weight of total inorganic particles overlaps the claimed range of between 1 and 3 parts by weight of dispersant per 100 parts by weight of total inorganic particles. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160149186 A1) in view of Cho (US 20210305658 A1), further in view of Kwon (WO 2022071775 A1), and further in view of Ha (US 20130316219 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kim is silent on the following elements:
The composition according to claim 1, wherein the viscosity of the coating layer forming composition measured at a temperature of 25 C and a shear rate of 10 rpm is 5cp to 30cp.
However, Ha teaches all of the elements of claim 2 that are not found in Kim:
The composition according to claim 1, wherein the viscosity of the coating layer forming composition measured at a temperature of 25 C and a shear rate of 10 rpm is 5cp to 30cp. (“In the binder solution, the polymer for forming an adhesive layer, for example, may be used in an amount of 1 to 50 parts by weight, preferably 5 to 40 parts by weight, more preferably 10 to 40 parts by weights, based on 100 parts by weight of the solvent. When the amount of the polymer satisfies such a range, the viscosity of the solution may be controlled in the range of 10 to 5,000 cp to provide easy handling and improved spray application, thereby forming an adhesive layer having a uniform thickness.” Ha [0073])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 10-5,000 cp for the viscosity of the coating composition overlaps the claimed range of 5-30cp for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Ha is considered to be analogous to Kim because they are both within the same field of manufacturing methods for separators used in electrochemical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coating layer of Kim to have a viscosity in the range taught by Ha in order to provide easy handling and improved spray application of an adhesive layer (“When the amount of the polymer satisfies such a range, the viscosity of the solution may be controlled in the range of 10 to 5,000 cp to provide easy handling and improved spray application, thereby forming an adhesive layer having a uniform thickness.” Ha [0073]).
Claim(s) 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160149186 A1) in view of Cho (US 20210305658 A1), further in view of Kwon (WO 2022071775 A1), and further in view of Ji (US 20240396163 A1)
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the following elements:
A method of manufacturing a separator for an electrochemical device, (“Referring to FIG. 2, the manufacturing method of a separator according to an embodiment includes preparing a base layer (51), preparing a slurry (S2) and coating and drying (S3).” Kim [0046])
the method comprising: applying the composition for forming a coating layer according to claim 1 (see claim 1)
to at least one surface of a porous polymer substrate; (“In the preparation of the base layer (51), a porous base layer is prepared. The base layer may include, for example, glass fiber, polyester, tetrafluoroethylene (TEFLON), polyolefin, polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) or combinations thereof. The polyolefin may include, for example, polyethylene, polypropylene, or the like.” Kim [0047])
and forming a coating layer by drying the composition for forming a coating layer, (“Referring to FIG. 2, the manufacturing method of a separator according to an embodiment includes preparing a base layer (51), preparing a slurry (S2) and coating and drying (S3).” Kim [0046])
Kim is silent on the following elements of claim 7:
wherein in the applying the composition, the composition is applied at a speed of 3 mpm to 10 mpm.
However, Ji teaches all of the elements of claim 7 that are not found in Kim. Specifically, Ji teaches:
wherein in the applying the composition, the composition is applied at a speed of 3 mpm to 10 mpm. (“The prepared slurry composition, as a water-based slurry, was coated on both surfaces of a polyolefin microporous film having a thickness of 9 μm (ENPASS, SK Innovation, average pore size: 40 nm) as a substrate using bar coating at a speed of 10 m/min,” Ji [0146]. This bar coating speed is within the claimed range, and therefore anticipates the limitation.)
Ji and Kim are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of methods of manufacturing separators for electrochemical materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kim to apply the coating layer onto the porous polymer at the speed taught by Ji as bar coating is a commonly known method of applying a coating layer, and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that bar coating at a speed of 10 meters/min is a known method and it would be obvious to use it to modify another method of manufacturing a separator (“A coating method of coating one or both surfaces of the porous substrate with the coating composition is not limited, and specifically, for example, may be a common coating method such as bar coating, dip coating, flow coating, knife coating, roll coating, gravure coating, and spray coating.” Ji [0122]). This would be using a known method in the art to achieve an expected result, and therefore would be an obvious modification.
Kim teaches all of the additional elements of claim 10, and therefore no further modification or motivation is required:
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim teaches all of the elements of claim 7, as shown above. Kim teaches all of the additional elements of claim 7:
The method of manufacturing a separator for an electrochemical device according to claim 7, the method further comprising: preparing the composition before the applying the composition. (“Referring to FIG. 2, the manufacturing method of a separator according to an embodiment includes preparing a base layer (51), preparing a slurry (S2) and coating and drying (S3).” Kim [0046]. In the method of Kim, the slurry is prepared prior to the coating/drying/application.)
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160149186 A1) in view of Cho (US 20210305658 A1), further in view of Kwon (WO 2022071775 A1), and further in view of Ji (US 20240396163 A1) and further in view of Hying (US 20100279173 A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Kim teaches all of the elements of claim 7, as shown above. Kim and Ji are silent on the following elements of claim 8:
The method of manufacturing a separator for an electrochemical device according to claim 7, wherein in the applying the composition, the porous polymer substrate is driven at a speed of 10 mpm to 50 mpm.
However, Hying teaches all of the elements of claim 8 that are not found in Kim of Ji. Specifically, Hying teaches a method of manufacturing a separator in which the substrate (in the case of Kim, the porous polymer substrate) being driven at a speed within the claimed range:
The method of manufacturing a separator for an electrochemical device according to claim 7, wherein in the applying the composition, the porous polymer substrate is driven at a speed of 10 mpm to 50 mpm. (“The method for the production of separators which can be used in the method according to the invention can be carried out, for example, by a procedure in which the substrate is unrolled from a roll, passes at a speed of from 1 m/h to 2 m/s, preferably at a speed of from 0.5 m/min to 20 m/min, through at least one apparatus which applies the suspension on and in the substrate, such as, for example, a roll,” Hying [0083])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 0.5-20m/min of the speed at which the substrate is driven through the application process overlaps the claimed range of 10-50m/min for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Hying is considered to be analogous to Kim and Ji because it is within the same field of methods of producing separators for electrochemical materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manufacturing method of Kim using the bar coating method of Ji to also move the substrate along at the speed taught by Hying, in order to form the separator in a continuous and efficient method, and to allow for pretreatment steps, if desired (“The method for the production of separators which can be used in the method according to the invention can be carried out, for example, by a procedure in which the substrate is unrolled from a roll, passes at a speed of from 1 m/h to 2 m/s, preferably at a speed of from 0.5 m/min to 20 m/min, through at least one apparatus which applies the suspension on and in the substrate, such as, for example, a roll, … In this way, it is possible to produce a separator in a continuous method. Furthermore, pretreatment steps can be carried out in the continuous method while retaining said parameters.” Hying [0083]).
Regarding claim 9, it would also have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify Kim and use the drying temperature taught by Hying, as this performs an efficient drying at a temperature that will not melt the particles (“The suspension comprising the shut-down particles can be applied to the porous inorganic layer by imprinting, pressing on, pressing in, rolling on, applying with a doctor blade, coating, immersion, spraying or pouring on. The shut-down layer is preferably obtained by drying the applied suspension at a temperature from room temperature to 100.degree. C., preferably from 40 to 60.degree. C. The drying must be carried out in such a way that the shut-down particles do not melt.” Hying [0096]).
Therefore, by modifying the method of producing a separator of Kim with the application and substrate speeds of Ji and Hying, as well as the drying temperature of Hying, all of the limitations of claims 8 and 9 would be met.
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim teaches all of the elements of claim 7, as shown above. Kim and Ji are silent on the following elements of claim 7:
The method of manufacturing a separator for an electrochemical device according to claim 7, wherein in the forming the coating layer, the composition is dried at a temperature of 50 C to 70 C.
However, Hying teaches all of the elements of claim 9 that are not found in Kim and Ji. Specifically, Hying teaches a range of drying temperatures for the coating layer that meets the claimed parameter:
The method of manufacturing a separator for an electrochemical device according to claim 7, wherein in the forming the coating layer, the composition is dried at a temperature of 50 C to 70 C. (“the suspension comprising the shut-down particles can be applied to the porous inorganic layer by imprinting, pressing on, pressing in, rolling on, applying with a doctor blade, coating, immersion, spraying or pouring on. The shut-down layer is preferably obtained by drying the applied suspension at a temperature from room temperature to 100.degree. C., preferably from 40 to 60.degree. C.” Hying [0096])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of room temperature to 100 degrees C, preferably 40-60 C for the drying temperature for the coating layer overlaps the claimed range 50-70C for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
In an updated search, the following references were considered to be relevant but were not used in the above rejection:
Thang et al (A. Q. Thang, Y. Shen, Z. Shi, G. Yao, S. Y. Wong, Z. Liu, Q. Yan, Chem. Asian J. 2023, 18, e202300538.)—paper which teaches PAA as an efficient binder for separators in Li-Ion batteries, and explicitly teaches the use of Electro-Rite® BD02 having a MW of 345,000 g/mol as a binder AND dispersant in a separator coating.
/BENJAMIN ELI KASS-MULLET/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752