DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In claim 15, “means for controlling” is interpreted as a valve as discussed in paragraph 70.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 236A [0072]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the compressor” is apparently in error for “the at least one compressor section”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11, 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: “a first flow” and “a second flow” should be “the first flow” and “the second flow”, respectively. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0360698 (Waldman) in view of US 9976815 (Roper).
Regarding claim 1, 3-4, 14, Waldman teaches a heat exchanger for heat transfer between an external first flow along a first flowpath (Fig 10; first flow along first flowpath 1022) and a second flow along an internal second flowpath (second flow along second flowpath inside tubes 1002), the heat exchanger comprising: a first manifold (inlet manifold 1010 or 1012); a second manifold (outlet manifold 1010 or 1012; para 49-50; it is noted that it appears a typographical error in either the drawing or specification makes it unclear whether 1010 or 1012 is the inlet manifold; however, 1010 is either the inlet or the outlet manifold; 1012 is the other of the inlet or the outlet manifold); and a plurality of tubes extending from the first manifold to the second manifold and having respective interiors bounding respective legs of the second flowpath (individual tubes 1002 each defining a respective leg of the second flowpath), wherein: the plurality of tubes comprises a plurality groups of tubes (groups of 2 of the tubes 1002); for each of the groups of the tubes: the tubes of the group have first ends mounted to the first manifold at respective first locations (as noted above, it is unclear if 1010 or 1012 is the inlet manifold; however, Waldman teach two opposite arrangements, one of which reads on the claims; the annotations below represent both arrangements); and the tubes of the group have second ends mounted to the second manifold at respective second locations (annotated below); and the tubes are bent so that an internal pressure increase counters stress caused by a temperature increase (annotated below; para 50: curved tubes enhance thermo-mechanical fatigue strength; furthermore, “so that an internal pressure increase counters stress …” is a statement of intended use; it has been held that “a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim" see MPEP 2114 [R-1]; in this case, Waldman in view of Roper has the same structure; if Applicant’s bent tubes counter stress caused by a temperature increase, so too does Waldman in view of Roper), the second locations are offset downstream along the first flowpath from the respective first locations (annotated below; as noted above, it is unclear if 1010 or 1012 is the inlet manifold; however, Waldman teach two opposite arrangements of tubes, one of which comprises tubes with the second locations offset downstream along the first flowpath relative to the first locations; the annotated drawing below shows both possibilities), the second locations are streamwise offset by a distance Lo from the respective first locations of at least 10 millimeters or at least 2.0 times a tube outer diameter (Fig 10; second locations are offset a distance greater than 2x the tube outer diameter), each of the tubes has a centerline lying essentially in a respective plane (Fig 10; respective plane extending from the first location to the second location and along the centerline of each tube 1002).
Waldman further teaches that the tubes may comprise different curved configurations (para 50) but fails to explicitly teach, from the first manifold to the second manifold, each tube has an upstream concave first turn; an upstream convex second turn; and an upstream concave third turn. However, Roper teaches that heat exchanger tubes may be formed with different curvatures from the first manifold to the second manifold, including an upstream concave first turn; an upstream convex second turn; and an upstream concave third turn (annotated below; col 5 ll. 49-61: “passages having any or no curvature and/or any number of loops (e.g., no loops at all)”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide each tube with an upstream concave first turn; an upstream convex second turn; and an upstream concave third turn, as taught by Roper. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making each tube with an upstream concave first turn; an upstream convex second turn; and an upstream concave third turn yields predictable results (heat exchange). It is noted that Roper also shows the second location being downstream of the first location.
Regarding claim 7, Waldman in view of Roper as discussed thus far fails to teach each tube has no turn other than the first turn, the second turn, and the third turn. However, Waldman teaches that the tubes may comprise different curved configurations (para 50), and Roper teaches that it was well known in the art that heat exchange tubes may comprise zero curvature to any number of turns (see col 5 ll. 49-61). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make each tube having no turn other than the first turn, the second turn, and the third turn, as determining the appropriate number of turns was within the level of ordinary skill in the art, as taught by Waldman and Roper. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making each tube having no turn other than the first turn, the second turn, and the third turn yields predictable results (heat exchange).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0360698 (Waldman) in view of US 9976815 (Roper) and further in view of US 2020/0224974 (Turney).
Regarding claim 2, Waldman in view of Roper teaches the groups of tubes form respective stages; and along the second flowpath the stages are in parallel (Waldman Fig 10; from the first manifold to the second manifold, the groups of tubes are in parallel – flow runs in parallel through the tubes from the inlet manifold to the outlet manifold), but fails to teach along the first flowpath the stages are in series. However, Turney teaches groups of tubes that are in series along the first flowpath (Fig 1A-1B; groups of tubes 12 in series along first flowpath 34 – e.g. four rows of tubes/stages are in series from upstream to downstream in the direction of 34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the groups of tubes in respective stages and along the first flowpath the stages are in series, as taught by Turney. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the groups of tubes in respective stages and along the first flowpath the stages are in series yields predictable results (heat exchange).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0360698 (Waldman) in view of US 9976815 (Roper) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 5058663 (Hagemeister) and US 2017/0089643 (Arafat).
Regarding claim 5, Waldman in view of Roper fails to teach, as discussed thus far, measured at centerlines of the respective tubes: the first turns do not extend downstream of the respective first locations by more than 1.0 times a tube nominal outer diameter, if at all; the second turns extend upstream of the respective first locations by a distance Lr of at least 2.0 times the tube nominal outer diameter; and the third turns do not extend downstream of the respective second locations by more than 1.0 times the tube nominal outer diameter, if at all.
However, Hagemeister teaches that the geometry of the turns/curvatures are results-effective variables, affecting flows, spacing, and stresses (col 1 ll. 33-col 2 ll. 3; col 3 l. 51-col 4 l. 15). Arafat teaches that the size and shape of the tubes are a results-effective variable, affecting flow, heat transfer, and thermal and mechanical stresses (para 42, 56, 60-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make, measured at centerlines of the respective tubes: the first turns do not extend downstream of the respective first locations by more than 1.0 times a tube nominal outer diameter, if at all; the second turns extend upstream of the respective first locations by a distance Lr of at least 2.0 times the tube nominal outer diameter; and the third turns do not extend downstream of the respective second locations by more than 1.0 times the tube nominal outer diameter, if at all, in order to achieve desired flows, stresses, spacing, and heat transfer, as taught by Hagemeister and Arafat. It has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP 2144.05 IIA.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0043809 (Schimmels) in view of US 2014/0360698 (Waldman) and US 9976815 (Roper).
Regarding claim 1, 6, 8, Schimmels teaches a heat exchanger (Fig 2; heat exchanger 200), the heat exchanger is a full annulus or an annular segment (para 58, Fig 4), a gas turbine engine including the heat exchanger of claim 1 and further comprising: a fan section having a fan (150, 152); at least one compressor section (128); a combustor section (130) positioned to receive air compressed by the at least one compressor section; and a turbine section positioned to receive combustion gas from the combustor to drive the at least one compressor section and the at least one fan section (turbine section 132, 134), wherein: the heat exchanger is positioned in a bypass flowpath (172).
Schimmels fails to teach the claimed details of the heat exchanger. However, Waldman teaches a heat exchanger for heat transfer between an external first flow along a first flowpath (Fig 10; first flow along first flowpath 1022) and a second flow along an internal second flowpath (second flow along second flowpath inside tubes 1002), the heat exchanger comprising: a first manifold (inlet manifold 1010 or 1012); a second manifold (outlet manifold 1010 or 1012; para 49-50; it is noted that it appears a typographical error in either the drawing or specification makes it unclear whether 1010 or 1012 is the inlet manifold; however, 1010 is either the inlet or the outlet manifold, and 1012 is the other of the inlet or the outlet manifold); and a plurality of tubes extending from the first manifold to the second manifold and having respective interiors bounding respective legs of the second flowpath (individual tubes 1002 each defining a respective leg of the second flowpath), wherein: the plurality of tubes comprises a plurality groups of tubes (groups of 2 of the tubes 1002); for each of the groups of the tubes: the tubes of the group have first ends mounted to the first manifold at respective first locations (as noted above, it is unclear if 1010 or 1012 is the inlet manifold; however, Waldman teach two opposite arrangements, one of which reads on the claims; the annotations below represent both arrangements); and the tubes of the group have second ends mounted to the second manifold at respective second locations (annotated below); the second locations are offset downstream along the first flowpath from the respective first locations (annotated below; as noted above, it is unclear if 1010 or 1012 is the inlet manifold; however, Waldman teach two opposite arrangements of tubes, one of which comprises tubes with the second locations offset downstream along the first flowpath relative to the first locations; the annotated drawing below shows both possibilities). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the heat exchanger comprising for heat transfer between an external first flow along a first flowpath and a second flow along an internal second flowpath, the heat exchanger comprising: a first manifold; a second manifold; and a plurality of tubes extending from the first manifold to the second manifold and having respective interiors bounding respective legs of the second flowpath, wherein: the plurality of tubes comprises a plurality groups of tubes; for each of the groups of the tubes: the tubes of the group have first ends mounted to the first manifold at respective first locations; and the tubes of the group have second ends mounted to the second manifold at respective second locations; and the second locations are offset downstream along the first flowpath from the respective first locations in order to transfer heat between the first flow and the second flow, as taught by Waldman. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the heat exchanger comprising for heat transfer between an external first flow along a first flowpath and a second flow along an internal second flowpath, the heat exchanger comprising: a first manifold; a second manifold; and a plurality of tubes extending from the first manifold to the second manifold and having respective interiors bounding respective legs of the second flowpath, wherein: the plurality of tubes comprises a plurality groups of tubes; for each of the groups of the tubes: the tubes of the group have first ends mounted to the first manifold at respective first locations; and the tubes of the group have second ends mounted to the second manifold at respective second locations; and the second locations are offset downstream along the first flowpath from the respective first locations yields predictable results (heat exchange).
Waldman further teaches that the tubes may comprise different curved configurations (para 50) but fails to explicitly teach, from the first manifold to the second manifold, each tube has an upstream concave first turn; an upstream convex second turn; and an upstream concave third turn. However, Roper teaches that heat exchanger tubes may be formed with different curvatures from the first manifold to the second manifold, including an upstream concave first turn; an upstream convex second turn; and an upstream concave third turn (annotated below; col 5 ll. 49-61: “passages having any or no curvature and/or any number of loops (e.g., no loops at all)”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide each tube with an upstream concave first turn; an upstream convex second turn; and an upstream concave third turn, as taught by Roper. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making each tube with an upstream concave first turn; an upstream convex second turn; and an upstream concave third turn yields predictable results (heat exchange). It is noted that Roper also shows the second location being downstream of the first location.
Claim(s) 1, 8, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0018904 (Oriol) in view of US 2014/0360698 (Waldman) and US 9976815 (Roper).
Regarding claim 1, 8, Oriol teaches a heat exchanger/heat transfer system (Fig 2, 3; heat exchanger 21) for heat transfer between an external first flow along a first flowpath (flow through duct 22) and a second flow along an internal second flowpath (lubricant flow inside the heat exchanger), a gas turbine engine including the heat exchanger and further comprising: a fan section having a fan (3); at least one compressor section (4a, 4b); a combustor section (5) positioned to receive air compressed by the at least one compressor section; and a turbine section positioned to receive combustion gas from the combustor to drive the at least one compressor section and the at least one fan section (turbine section 6a, 6b; para 55), wherein: the heat exchanger is positioned in a bypass flowpath/duct (22, para 58-59); at least one temperature sensor positioned to measure a temperature associated with at least one tube of the plurality of tubes (sensor 51 measures fluid from the heat exchanger, which is associated with at least one tube of the plurality of tubes; para 71); the at least one temperature sensor is positioned in the first flowpath downstream of the plurality of tubes (Fig 3; sensor is downstream of the heat exchanger); means for controlling pressure within the plurality of tubes (para 66; valve 36); and a controller (60) coupled to receive input from the temperature sensor and controlling the means so as to increase the pressure responsive to a measured temperature increase (para 71-77; when measured temperature is above a threshold valve 36 delivers oil to the heat exchanger – thereby increasing pressure within the tubes).
Oriol fails to teach the claimed details of the heat exchanger. However, Waldman teaches a heat exchanger for heat transfer between an external first flow along a first flowpath (Fig 10; first flow along first flowpath 1022) and a second flow along an internal second flowpath (second flow along second flowpath inside tubes 1002), the heat exchanger comprising: a first manifold (inlet manifold 1010 or 1012); a second manifold (outlet manifold 1010 or 1012; para 49-50; it is noted that it appears a typographical error in either the drawing or specification makes it unclear whether 1010 or 1012 is the inlet manifold; however, 1010 is either the inlet or the outlet manifold, and 1012 is the other of the inlet or the outlet manifold); and a plurality of tubes extending from the first manifold to the second manifold and having respective interiors bounding respective legs of the second flowpath (individual tubes 1002 each defining a respective leg of the second flowpath), wherein: the plurality of tubes comprises a plurality groups of tubes (groups of 2 of the tubes 1002); for each of the groups of the tubes: the tubes of the group have first ends mounted to the first manifold at respective first locations (as noted above, it is unclear if 1010 or 1012 is the inlet manifold; however, Waldman teach two opposite arrangements, one of which reads on the claims; the annotations below represent both arrangements); and the tubes of the group have second ends mounted to the second manifold at respective second locations (annotated below); the tubes each have a plurality of bends (annotated below); and the pressure increase counters stress caused by the temperature increase (para 50: curved tubes enhance thermo-mechanical fatigue strength; furthermore, “the pressure increase counters stress caused by the temperature increase” is a statement of intended use; it has been held that “a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim" see MPEP 2114 [R-1]; in this case, Waldman and Roper has the same structure; if Applicant’s pressure increase counter stress caused by the temperature increase, so too does Waldman and Roper); the second locations are offset downstream along the first flowpath from the respective first locations (annotated below; as noted above, it is unclear if 1010 or 1012 is the inlet manifold; however, Waldman teach two opposite arrangements of tubes, one of which comprises tubes with the second locations offset downstream along the first flowpath relative to the first locations; the annotated drawing below shows both possibilities). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the heat exchanger comprising for heat transfer between an external first flow along a first flowpath and a second flow along an internal second flowpath, the heat exchanger comprising: a first manifold; a second manifold; and a plurality of tubes extending from the first manifold to the second manifold and having respective interiors bounding respective legs of the second flowpath, wherein: the plurality of tubes comprises a plurality groups of tubes; for each of the groups of the tubes: the tubes of the group have first ends mounted to the first manifold at respective first locations; and the tubes of the group have second ends mounted to the second manifold at respective second locations; and the second locations are offset downstream along the first flowpath from the respective first locations in order to transfer heat between the first flow and the second flow, as taught by Waldman. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the heat exchanger comprising for heat transfer between an external first flow along a first flowpath and a second flow along an internal second flowpath, the heat exchanger comprising: a first manifold; a second manifold; and a plurality of tubes extending from the first manifold to the second manifold and having respective interiors bounding respective legs of the second flowpath, wherein: the plurality of tubes comprises a plurality groups of tubes; for each of the groups of the tubes: the tubes of the group have first ends mounted to the first manifold at respective first locations; and the tubes of the group have second ends mounted to the second manifold at respective second locations; and the second locations are offset downstream along the first flowpath from the respective first locations yields predictable results (heat exchange).
Waldman further teaches that the tubes may comprise different curved configurations (para 50) but fails to explicitly teach, from the first manifold to the second manifold, each tube has an upstream concave first turn; an upstream convex second turn; and an upstream concave third turn. However, Roper teaches that heat exchanger tubes may be formed with different curvatures from the first manifold to the second manifold, including an upstream concave first turn; an upstream convex second turn; and an upstream concave third turn (annotated below; col 5 ll. 49-61: “passages having any or no curvature and/or any number of loops (e.g., no loops at all)”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide each tube with an upstream concave first turn; an upstream convex second turn; and an upstream concave third turn, as taught by Roper. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making each tube with an upstream concave first turn; an upstream convex second turn; and an upstream concave third turn yields predictable results (heat exchange). It is noted that Roper also shows the second location being downstream of the first location.
Regarding claim 11-13, Oriol in view of Waldman and Roper teaches a method for using the heat exchanger/heat transfer system of claim 1, the method comprising: driving a first flow along the first flowpath (Fig 10 of Waldman and in Fig 1 of Roper and in Fig 3 of Oriol); driving a second flow along the second flowpath (through the heat exchanger tubes); measuring a temperature associated with at least one tube of the plurality of tubes (in Oriol, temperature sensor 51 receives fluid from the heat exchanger, which is associated with at least one tube of the plurality of tubes; para 71); and controlling pressure within the plurality of tubes so as to increase the pressure responsive to a measured temperature increase (para 71-77; when measured temperature is above a threshold valve 36 delivers oil to the heat exchanger – thereby increasing pressure within the tubes), the pressure increase counters stress caused by the temperature increase (in the combination the heat exchanger is arranged in the same manner, and under the same conditions; increasing pressure would also counter stress), the pressure increase tends to contract the ends of each of the tubes toward each other (in the combination the heat exchanger is arranged in the same manner, and under the same conditions – increasing pressure would also tend to contract the ends of the tubes toward each other).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0018904 (Oriol) in view of US 2014/0360698 (Waldman) and US 9976815 (Roper) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US 2020/0332715 (Ribarov).
Regarding claim 9-10, Oriol further teaches transmission coupled to the fan (transmission 10); and a lubrication system having a lubricant flowpath through the transmission and including the internal second flowpath (para 62, Fig 3; lubricant circuit runs through the transmission and the heat exchanger), a temperature sensor (51; para 71); and a controller (60) coupled to receive input from the temperature sensor and controlling the lubrication system so as to increase pressure within the tubes responsive to a measured temperature increase (para 71-77; when measured temperature is above a threshold valve 36 delivers oil to the heat exchanger – thereby increasing pressure within the tubes).
Oriol is silent as to the transmission being an epicyclic transmission. However, Ribarov teaches that fan gear transmissions may be epicyclic (para 35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the transmission of Oriol epicyclic, as taught by Ribarov. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the transmission being an epicyclic transmission yields predictable results.
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0018904 (Oriol) in view of US 2014/0360698 (Waldman).
Regarding claim 15-19, Oriol teaches a heat exchanger/heat transfer system (Fig 2, 3; heat exchanger 21) for heat transfer between an external first flow along a first flowpath (flow through duct 22) and a second flow along an internal second flowpath (lubricant flow inside the heat exchanger), a gas turbine engine including the heat exchanger and further comprising: a fan section having a fan (3); at least one compressor section (4a, 4b); a combustor section (5) positioned to receive air compressed by the at least one compressor section; and a turbine section positioned to receive combustion gas from the combustor to drive the at least one compressor section and the at least one fan section (turbine section 6a, 6b; para 55), wherein: the heat exchanger is positioned in a bypass flowpath/duct (22, para 58-59); at least one temperature sensor positioned to measure a temperature associated with at least one tube of the plurality of tubes (sensor 51 measures fluid from the heat exchanger, which is associated with at least one tube of the plurality of tubes; para 71); the at least one temperature sensor is positioned in the first flowpath downstream of the plurality of tubes (Fig 3; sensor is downstream of the heat exchanger); means for controlling pressure within the plurality of tubes (para 66; valve 36); and a controller (60) coupled to receive input from the temperature sensor and controlling the means so as to increase the pressure responsive to a measured temperature increase (para 71-77; when measured temperature is above a threshold valve 36 delivers oil to the heat exchanger – thereby increasing pressure within the tubes).
Oriol fails to teach the claimed details of the heat exchanger. However, Waldman teaches a heat exchanger for heat transfer between an external first flow along a first flowpath (Fig 10; first flow along first flowpath 1022) and a second flow along an internal second flowpath (second flow along second flowpath inside tubes 1002), the heat exchanger comprising: a first manifold (inlet manifold 1010 or 1012); a second manifold (outlet manifold 1010 or 1012; para 49-50; it is noted that it appears a typographical error in either the drawing or specification makes it unclear whether 1010 or 1012 is the inlet manifold; however, 1010 is either the inlet or the outlet manifold, and 1012 is the other of the inlet or the outlet manifold); and a plurality of tubes extending from the first manifold to the second manifold and having respective interiors bounding respective legs of the second flowpath (individual tubes 1002 each defining a respective leg of the second flowpath), wherein: the plurality of tubes comprises a plurality groups of tubes (groups of 2 of the tubes 1002); for each of the groups of the tubes: the tubes of the group have first ends mounted to the first manifold at respective first locations (as noted above, it is unclear if 1010 or 1012 is the inlet manifold; however, Waldman teach two opposite arrangements, one of which reads on the claims; the annotations below represent both arrangements); and the tubes of the group have second ends mounted to the second manifold at respective second locations (annotated below); the tubes each have a plurality of bends (annotated below); and the pressure increase counters stress caused by the temperature increase (para 50: curved tubes enhance thermo-mechanical fatigue strength; furthermore, “the pressure increase counters stress caused by the temperature increase” is a statement of intended use; it has been held that “a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim" see MPEP 2114 [R-1]; in this case, Waldman has the same structure; if Applicant’s pressure increase counter stress caused by the temperature increase, so too does Waldman). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the heat exchanger comprising for heat transfer between an external first flow along a first flowpath and a second flow along an internal second flowpath, the heat exchanger comprising: a first manifold; a second manifold; and a plurality of tubes extending from the first manifold to the second manifold and having respective interiors bounding respective legs of the second flowpath, wherein: the plurality of tubes comprises a plurality groups of tubes; for each of the groups of the tubes: the tubes of the group have first ends mounted to the first manifold at respective first locations; and the tubes of the group have second ends mounted to the second manifold at respective second locations in order to transfer heat between the first flow and the second flow, as taught by Waldman. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the heat exchanger comprising for heat transfer between an external first flow along a first flowpath and a second flow along an internal second flowpath, the heat exchanger comprising: a first manifold; a second manifold; and a plurality of tubes extending from the first manifold to the second manifold and having respective interiors bounding respective legs of the second flowpath, wherein: the plurality of tubes comprises a plurality groups of tubes; for each of the groups of the tubes: the tubes of the group have first ends mounted to the first manifold at respective first locations; and the tubes of the group have second ends mounted to the second manifold at respective second locations; and the second locations are offset downstream along the first flowpath from the respective first locations yields predictable results (heat exchange).
Regarding claim 20, Oriol in view of Waldman teaches a method for using the heat exchanger/heat transfer system of claim 15, the method comprising: driving a first flow along the first flowpath (Fig 10 of Waldman and in Fig 3 of Oriol); driving a second flow along the second flowpath (through the heat exchanger tubes); measuring a temperature associated with at least one tube of the plurality of tubes (in Oriol, temperature sensor 51 receives fluid from the heat exchanger, which is associated with at least one tube of the plurality of tubes; para 71); and controlling pressure within the plurality of tubes so as to increase the pressure responsive to a measured temperature increase (para 71-77; when measured temperature is above a threshold valve 36 delivers oil to the heat exchanger – thereby increasing pressure within the tubes).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 3112793, US 3212570, and US 2013/0126141 teach heat exchangers with tubes with concave and convex portions.
/ANDREW H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741