DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-6, 10-15, and 19-20 are rejected. Claims 7, 8, 9, 16, 17, and 18 are objected to for being dependent upon rejected claims but containing allowable subject matter.
The instant application has PRO 63/697,856 filed on 09/23/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 09/24/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 8, 9, 16, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 10-12, 14, 15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee et al., Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0354436 (hereinafter Mukherjee) in view of Jain et al., United States Patent No. 12,481,666 (hereinafter Jain).
Regarding claim 1, Mukherjee teaches:
A system comprising: a processor (Mukherjee Paragraph [0193], A computerized method, performed by a computing system having one or more hardware computer processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable storage devices storing software instructions); and
a memory communicably coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises processor-executable instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (Mukherjee Paragraph [0193], A computerized method, performed by a computing system having one or more hardware computer processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable storage devices storing software instructions):
receive input prompt data corresponding to an enterprise from at least one data source, wherein the input prompt data comprises a user query and user requirements (Mukherjee Paragraph [0138], The one or more documents portions that are more relevant or similar to the user query along with the user input/query may be further utilized by the prompt generation module 114 to generate a prompt for the LLM 130);
generate an ontological representation corresponding to the input prompt data based on the generated contextual data (Mukherjee Paragraph [0099], The session information 220 may include references to one or more of permissioned documents 230, user input 240, LLM output 250, context 260 and/or ontology 205), wherein the ontological representation comprises a plurality of nodes comprising the textual content and the embedding vectors derived using the embedding model (Mukherjee Paragraph [0043], the system may query the ontology using the reference IDs of the vectors corresponding to the n most similar portions of the set of documents returned by the similarity search to retrieve/obtain portions of the set of documents similar to the user query (Jain teaches the nodes and embedded model));
generate a Generative Artificial Intelligence (Gen AI) response to the input prompt data using at least one Gen AI model based on the generated contextual data and the generated ontological representation (Mukherjee Paragraph [0061], While certain aspects and implementations are discussed herein with reference to use of a language model, LLM, and/or AI, those aspects and implementations may be performed by any other language model, LLM, AI model, generative AI model, generative model, Paragraph [0067], An ontology may also include respective link types/definitions associated with data object types, which may include indications of how data object types may be related to one another);
validate the generated Gen AI response by comparing the Gen AI response with a reference response using at least one performance metric (Mukherjee Paragraph [0041], Depending on the limit on the size of the prompt to the LLM and/or size of the similar portions of the set of documents, the system may increase or decrease n to balance system accuracy, performance and efficiency), wherein the at least one performance metric comprises at least one of accuracy-based measures (Mukherjee Paragraph [0041], Depending on the limit on the size of the prompt to the LLM and/or size of the similar portions of the set of documents, the system may increase or decrease n to balance system accuracy, performance and efficiency), similarity-based measures, and quality assessment measures; and
fine-tune the at least one Gen AI model and the ontological representation based on results of the validation (Mukherjee Paragraph [0049], the system may use the feedback to fine-tune the performance of the LLM, such as by adjusting or modifying one or more weights associated with the LLM), wherein the fine-tuning of the ontological representation comprises updating a node content and the embedding vectors (Mukherjee Paragraph [0160], the document search system 102 may use the feedback to fine-tune the performance of the LLM 130, such as by adjusting or modifying one or more weights associated with the LLM 130, or trigger training and/or re-training of the LLM 130).
Mukherjee does not expressly disclose:
generate a query embedding vector representing the received input prompt data using an embedding model, wherein the query embedding vector comprises a numerical representation of the input prompt data indicating a semantic meaning corresponding to the input prompt data;
retrieve at least one relevant node corresponding to the input prompt data from a pre-determined ontological representation by calculating cosine similarities between the generated query embedding vector and a plurality of embedding vectors of a plurality of nodes within the pre-determined ontological representation using a collapsed tree retrieval model;
select a subset of nodes comprising the cosine similarities exceeding a predetermined retrieval threshold based on the retrieved at least one relevant node;
generate contextual data corresponding to the input prompt data by aggregating textual content from the selected subset of nodes;
However, Jain teaches:
generate a query embedding vector representing the received input prompt data using an embedding model, wherein the query embedding vector comprises a numerical representation of the input prompt data indicating a semantic meaning corresponding to the input prompt data (Jain Column 3 Lines 5-15, The query Q may be embedded into each document graph of the set of document graphs 220 with an embedding model (e.g., the document embedding component 314 in FIG. 3). In some embodiments, the semantic relevance is determined based on a similarity or distance between the node F.sub.i and the query Q. For example, the semantic relevance may be determined based on a cosine similarity between the node F.sub.i and the query Q. The cosine similarity ranges between −1 and 1 and measures the degree of similarity between two vectors);
retrieve at least one relevant node corresponding to the input prompt data from a pre-determined ontological representation by calculating cosine similarities between the generated query embedding vector and a plurality of embedding vectors of a plurality of nodes within the pre-determined ontological representation using a collapsed tree retrieval model (Jain Column 13 Lines 10-15, The cosine similarity ranges between −1 and 1 and measures the degree of similarity between two vectors, node F.sub.i and the query Q (Mukherjee teaches the ontological representation in Paragraph 41));
select a subset of nodes comprising the cosine similarities exceeding a predetermined retrieval threshold based on the retrieved at least one relevant node (Jain Column 13 Lines 55-60, the semantic relevance may be determined based on the semantic relevance score of the node (e.g., fragment F.sub.i) satisfying a threshold);
generate contextual data corresponding to the input prompt data by aggregating textual content from the selected subset of nodes (Jain Column 9 Lines 4-10, the structured navigation component 108 overcomes limitations of conventional searching techniques that isolate chunks of text by enabling reconstruction of the structural context of the search results by navigating a graph to identify the hierarchical relationships captured by edges connecting nodes);
The claimed invention and Jain are from the analogous art of querying. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having the teachings of Mukherjee in view of Jain to have combined Mukherjee in view of Jain. Jain teaches a method for improving search by utilizing a user’s intent and context of search terms through semantic understanding of a search query (Column 1 Lines 60-65).
Regarding claim 2, Mukherjee in view of Jain further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein to generate the query embedding vector representing the received input prompt data using the embedding model (Jain Column 3 Lines 5-15, The query Q may be embedded into each document graph of the set of document graphs 220 with an embedding model (e.g., the document embedding component 314 in FIG. 3). In some embodiments, the semantic relevance is determined based on a similarity or distance between the node F.sub.i and the query Q. For example, the semantic relevance may be determined based on a cosine similarity between the node F.sub.i and the query Q. The cosine similarity ranges between −1 and 1 and measures the degree of similarity between two vectors), the processor is to:
generate a numerical vector corresponding to the received input prompt data by applying the embedding model to a textual input comprised within the received input prompt data (Jain Column 3 Lines 5-15, The query Q may be embedded into each document graph of the set of document graphs 220 with an embedding model (e.g., the document embedding component 314 in FIG. 3). In some embodiments, the semantic relevance is determined based on a similarity or distance between the node F.sub.i and the query Q. For example, the semantic relevance may be determined based on a cosine similarity between the node F.sub.i and the query Q. The cosine similarity ranges between −1 and 1 and measures the degree of similarity between two vectors);
encode at least one semantic relationship within the input prompt data into the generated numerical vector based on learned representations of the embedding model (Jain Column 3 Lines 5-15, The query Q may be embedded into each document graph of the set of document graphs 220 with an embedding model (e.g., the document embedding component 314 in FIG. 3). In some embodiments, the semantic relevance is determined based on a similarity or distance between the node F.sub.i and the query Q. For example, the semantic relevance may be determined based on a cosine similarity between the node F.sub.i and the query Q. The cosine similarity ranges between −1 and 1 and measures the degree of similarity between two vectors, Column 7 Lines 55-60, architecture that uses an encoder-decoder structure and does not rely on recurrence and/or convolutions to generate an output); and
output the query embedding vector as a fixed-length numerical representation capturing the encoded at least one semantic relationship of the input prompt data (Mukherjee Paragraph [0193], wherein the document search model comprises a plurality of vectors corresponding to a plurality of portions of a set of documents; generating a first prompt for a large language model (“LLM”), the first prompt comprising at least: the first user input, and the one or more similar document portions; transmitting the first prompt to the LLM; receiving a first output from the LLM in response to the first prompt; and providing, via the user interface, the first output from the LLM (Jain teaches the embedded model)).
Regarding claim 3, Mukherjee in view of Jain further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein to retrieve the at least one relevant node corresponding to the input prompt data from the pre-determined ontological representation (Jain Column 13 Lines 55-60, the semantic relevance may be determined based on the semantic relevance score of the node (e.g., fragment F.sub.i) satisfying a threshold), the processor is to:
calculate the cosine similarities between the generated query embedding vector and the plurality of embedding vectors of the plurality of nodes in the ontological representation using the collapsed tree retrieval model (Jain Column 13 Lines 13-17, The cosine similarity ranges between −1 and 1 and measures the degree of similarity between two vectors, node F.sub.i and the query Q. The closer the cosine similarity is to “1”, the more semantically similar the node F.sub.i and the query Q);
rank the plurality of nodes in the ontological representation based on the calculated cosine similarities (Jain Column 14 Lines 5-12, Various keyword searching and ranking algorithms may be used to determine keyword matches and rank the relevance of the fragment node based on the keyword matches (Jain teaches ranking and the cosine, one of ordinary skill of the art would recognize that ranking could be done with the cosine similarity)); and
identify the at least one relevant node with a cosine similarity value exceeding a predefined threshold value based on the ranked plurality of nodes (Jain Column 13 Lines 55-60, the semantic relevance may be determined based on the semantic relevance score of the node (e.g., fragment F.sub.i) satisfying a threshold, Column 13 Lines 13-17, The cosine similarity ranges between −1 and 1 and measures the degree of similarity between two vectors, node F.sub.i and the query Q. The closer the cosine similarity is to “1”, the more semantically similar the node F.sub.i and the query Q).
Regarding claim 5, Mukherjee in view of Jain further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein to select the subset of nodes comprising the cosine similarities exceeding the predetermined retrieval threshold based on the retrieved at least one relevant node, the processor is to (Jain Column 13 Lines 55-60, the semantic relevance may be determined based on the semantic relevance score of the node (e.g., fragment F.sub.i) satisfying a threshold, Column 13 Lines 13-17, The cosine similarity ranges between −1 and 1 and measures the degree of similarity between two vectors, node F.sub.i and the query Q. The closer the cosine similarity is to “1”, the more semantically similar the node F.sub.i and the query Q):
compute cosine similarity scores between the generated query embedding vector and the plurality of embedding vectors of the retrieved at least one relevant node (Jain Column 13 Lines 55-60, the semantic relevance may be determined based on the semantic relevance score of the node (e.g., fragment F.sub.i) satisfying a threshold, Column 13 Lines 13-17, The cosine similarity ranges between −1 and 1 and measures the degree of similarity between two vectors, node F.sub.i and the query Q. The closer the cosine similarity is to “1”, the more semantically similar the node F.sub.i and the query Q);
determine a subset value based on at least one of a user-defined parameter (Mukherjee Paragraph [0067], An ontology may be user-defined, computer-defined, or some combination of the two. An ontology may include hierarchical relationships among data object types), a system configuration (Mukherjee Paragraph [0074], The user interface module 104 is configured to generate user interface data that may be rendered on a user 150), and a query-specific requirement associated with the input prompt data (Mukherjee Paragraph [0034], the user query, and generate a prompt for a LLM based on results of the search); and
select the subset of nodes comprising the cosine similarity scores exceeding the predetermined retrieval threshold based on the determined subset value (Jain Column 13 Lines 55-60, the semantic relevance may be determined based on the semantic relevance score of the node (e.g., fragment F.sub.i) satisfying a threshold, Column 13 Lines 13-17, The cosine similarity ranges between −1 and 1 and measures the degree of similarity between two vectors, node F.sub.i and the query Q. The closer the cosine similarity is to “1”, the more semantically similar the node F.sub.i and the query Q).
Regarding claim 6, Mukherjee in view of Jain further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein to generate the Gen AI response to the input prompt data using the at least one Gen AI model based on the generated contextual data and the generated ontological representation, the processor is to (Mukherjee Paragraph [0061], While certain aspects and implementations are discussed herein with reference to use of a language model, LLM, and/or AI, those aspects and implementations may be performed by any other language model, LLM, AI model, generative AI model, generative model, Paragraph [0067], An ontology may also include respective link types/definitions associated with data object types, which may include indications of how data object types may be related to one another):
preprocess the generated contextual data and the generated ontological representation into an input for the Gen AI model (Mukherjee Paragraph [0061], While certain aspects and implementations are discussed herein with reference to use of a language model, LLM, and/or AI, those aspects and implementations may be performed by any other language model, LLM, AI model, generative AI model, generative model), wherein the preprocessing comprises at least one of embedding system instructions (Mukherjee Paragraph [0040], the system may chunk, vectorize, normalize (and/or the like) the set of documents in advance (e.g., as a preprocessing operation or before receiving a user query)), the user query (Mukherjee Paragraph [0040], the system may chunk, vectorize, normalize (and/or the like) the set of documents in advance (e.g., as a preprocessing operation or before receiving a user query)), the contextual data, ontological information, and metadata related to relevant node;
select at least one Gen AI model from a plurality of available Gen AI models based on a criteria suitable for the input prompt data (Mukherjee Paragraph [0061], While certain aspects and implementations are discussed herein with reference to use of a language model, LLM, and/or AI, those aspects and implementations may be performed by any other language model, LLM, AI model, generative AI model, generative model), wherein the criteria comprise a model capacity, a latency, cost, a domain specialization, and a past performance for a query type (Mukherjee Paragraph [0049], the system may use the feedback to fine-tune the performance of the LLM, such as by adjusting or modifying one or more weights associated with the LLM);
configure a plurality of processing parameters for the selected at least one Gen AI model (Mukherjee Paragraph [0061], While certain aspects and implementations are discussed herein with reference to use of a language model, LLM, and/or AI, those aspects and implementations may be performed by any other language model, LLM, AI model, generative AI model, generative model), wherein the plurality of processing parameters comprise a maximum output token count (Mukherjee Paragraph [0032], LLMs can only handle natural language prompts within a limited token size), a sampling temperature, a cumulative probability threshold value (Mukherjee Paragraph [0059], A Language Model is any algorithm, rule, model, and/or other programmatic instructions that can predict the probability of a sequence of words), a beam width, a beam count, and stop sequences;
generate at least one candidate response to the input prompt data by invoking the selected Gen AI model with the preprocessed input and configured plurality of processing parameters (Mukherjee Paragraph [0036], the user query may be a natural language query, and the system is expected to return a natural language output responsive to the natural language query);
generate a plurality of response scores for the generated at least one candidate response based on factors comprising a relevance to the input prompt data alignment with the ontological representation (Jain Column 8 Lines, 33-36, the search component 106 is configured to identify relevant documents based on an integrated relevance score, comprising both semantic relevance and lexical relevance), consistency with the contextual data (Jain column 2 Lines 50-55, providing the set of relevant nodes and the structural context of the each relevant node with the prompt to the LLM to generate a contextual response), and adherence to system instructions (Jain Column 7 Lines 45-50, An LLM may be configured to generate text, analyze sentiment, answer prompts (e.g., specific instructions and/or requests) in a conversational manner);
update at least one rank associated with the generated at least one candidate response using a ranking model based on the generated plurality of response scores (Jain Column 14 Lines 30-35, the lexical relevance may be determined based on the lexical relevance score of the node Column 14 Lines 5-12, Various keyword searching and ranking algorithms may be used to determine keyword matches and rank the relevance of the fragment node based on the keyword matches (Jain teaches ranking and the score, one of ordinary skill of the art would recognize that ranking could be done with the score));
select a final response from the generated at least one candidate response based on the updated at least one rank (Jain Column 7 Lines 10-16, This method helps to reduce the risk of generating irrelevant responses, as well as improves the overall accuracy and/or relevance of the response. Thus, the LLM's performance may be improved because the LLM has additional data to utilize in generating the response);
determine metadata associated with the selected final response (Mukherjee Paragraph [0068], The object's attributes (also referred to as “contents”) may be represented in one or more properties. Attributes may include, for example, metadata about an object),
wherein the metadata comprises information related to the selected at least one Gen AI model (Jain Column 7 Lines 50-55, Examples of LLMs include a generative pre-trained transformer (GPT)), the plurality of processing parameters (Jain Column 12 Lines 5-10, The evaluation model 126 is configured to predict the a term based on the query. In embodiments, the evaluation model 126 optimizes the hyperparameter), selected nodes (Jain Column 2 Lines 13-17, comprising: performing a semantic search of the document graph based on the document search query to identify a first relevant node), the generated plurality of response scores (Jain Column 5 Lines 20-26, Certain aspects described herein provide for an integrated relevance score based on both semantic search results and lexical search results to complement one another and provide lexically precise and conceptually relevant search results for the query); and
output the final response as the Generative Artificial Intelligence (Gen AI) response along with the determined metadata (Mukherjee Paragraph [0064], information that may improve the effectiveness (e.g., accuracy and/or relevance) of an output from the language model. A prompt may be provided to an LLM which the LLM can use to generate a response (or “model output”)).
Claims 10-12, 14, 15, 19, and 20 are rejected in the same manner as claims 1-3, 5, and 6 but are merely directed to a different statutory category of the same invention (system, method, and computer-readable medium).
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee in view of Jain and Lutz, Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0311348 (hereinafter Lutz).
Regarding claim 4, Mukherjee in view of Jain teaches parent claim 1.
Mukherjee in view of Jain further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein to generate the ontological representation corresponding to the input prompt data based on the generated contextual data, the processor is to (Mukherjee Paragraph [0099], The session information 220 may include references to one or more of permissioned documents 230, user input 240, LLM output 250, context 260 and/or ontology 205):
Mukherjee in view of Jain does not expressly disclose:
initialize the ontological representation comprising the plurality of nodes, wherein each node comprises the textual content, an embedding vector, a parent pointer, a set of child nodes, a root node, and a depth value, wherein the root node being configured as a structural anchor;
identify a node position within the ontological representation for embedding an upcoming node by calculating the cosine similarities between the embedding vector of the upcoming node and the embedding vectors of the set of child nodes at each level;
embed the upcoming node as a leaf node at the identified node position based on a depth-adaptive similarity threshold and based on the calculated cosine similarities;
generate a corresponding child node for the embedded leaf node, wherein the corresponding child node comprises the textual content of the leaf node;
update textual content and embedding vectors of the generated corresponding child node along a traversal path using a conditional aggregation value and based on number of descendant nodes; and
generate an updated ontological representation corresponding to the input prompt data based on the updated textual content and updated embedding vectors.
However, Lutz teaches:
initialize the ontological representation comprising the plurality of nodes (Lutz Paragraph [0113], The embedding component 1110 then adds position information to the respective embedding vectors), wherein each node comprises the textual content (Lutz Paragraph [0047], Assume that a particular node represents a piece of text X, such as a name of a category or a fact), an embedding vector (Lutz Paragraph [0113], The embedding component 1110 then adds position information to the respective embedding vectors), a parent pointer (Lutz Paragraph [0046], Other structured databases include bidirectional links, links between items-of-interest, links that point from child nodes to parent nodes), a set of child nodes (Lutz Paragraph [0046], Other structured databases include bidirectional links, links between items-of-interest, links that point from child nodes to parent nodes), a root node (Lutz Paragraph [0035], The creation management component 120 stores the extracted items-of-interest (e.g., facts) as leaf nodes of the hierarchical tree that are reachable by traversing the tree starting from its root node), and a depth value (Lutz Paragraph [0047], matching engine (not shown) assesses the similarity between two concepts by measuring their distance in the vector space, e.g., using a cosine similarity metric or any other measure of distance), wherein the root node being configured as a structural anchor (Lutz Paragraph [0035], The creation management component 120 stores the extracted items-of-interest (e.g., facts) as leaf nodes of the hierarchical tree that are reachable by traversing the tree starting from its root node);
identify a node position within the ontological representation for embedding an upcoming node by calculating the cosine similarities between the embedding vector of the upcoming node and the embedding vectors of the set of child nodes at each level (Lutz Paragraph [0047], matching engine (not shown) assesses the similarity between two concepts by measuring their distance in the vector space, e.g., using a cosine similarity metric or any other measure of distance);
embed the upcoming node as a leaf node at the identified node position based on a depth-adaptive similarity threshold and based on the calculated cosine similarities (Lutz Paragraph [0047], matching engine (not shown) assesses the similarity between two concepts by measuring their distance in the vector space, e.g., using a cosine similarity metric or any other measure of distance, Paragraph [0113], an embedding component 1110 maps the sequence of tokens 1108 into respective embedding vectors);
generate a corresponding child node for the embedded leaf node, wherein the corresponding child node comprises the textual content of the leaf node (Lutz Paragraph [0086], the application management component 130 progressively moves down the levels of the structured database 106, e.g., from a root node to a leaf node (or leaf nodes));
update textual content and embedding vectors of the generated corresponding child node along a traversal path using a conditional aggregation value and based on number of descendant nodes (Lutz Paragraph [0113], The embedding component 1110 then adds position information to the respective embedding vectors, to produce position-supplemented embedded vectors 1112. The position information added to each embedding vector describes the embedding vector's position in the sequence of embedding vectors); and
generate an updated ontological representation corresponding to the input prompt data based on the updated textual content and updated embedding vectors (Lutz Paragraph [0123], The model 1102 then appends the next token to the end of the sequence of input tokens 1108, to provide an updated sequence of tokens. In a next pass, the model 1102 processes the updated sequence of tokens to generate a next output token).
The claimed invention and Lutz are from the analogous art of generative models. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having the teachings of Mukherjee in view of Jain and Lutz to have combined Mukherjee in view of Jain and Lutz. Lutz teaches a technique that improves the performance of machine-trained models such as large language models (Paragraph 7).
Claim 13 is rejected in the same manner as claim 4 but is merely directed to a different statutory category of the same invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gottlob et al., Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0045256 (hereinafter Gottlob). Gottlob teaches prompts given to an LLM (Paragraph 41). Gottlob further teaches using prompts to query an LLM (Paragraph 36). This shows that Gottlob is analogous art as both the claimed invention and Gottlob use prompts to query models.
/DUSTIN D EYERS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2164
/AMY NG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2164