DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 09/23/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “timing controller,” “data driver,” “data distributor,” and “luminance corrector” in claims 1 and 14, of which claims 2-13 and 15-19.
Paragraph 0056, discloses that the “block, unit, and/or module are/is physically implemented by a logic circuit, an individual component, a microprocessor, a hard wire circuit, a memory element, a line connection, and other electronic circuits.”
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2023/0013528 to Jang et al. (Jang).
As to claims 1 and 14, Jang discloses a display device (Fig. 1; Para. 0051-0052, display device) comprising:
a display panel comprising pixels arranged in a first direction (Fig. 1; Para. 0054, pixel unit, 100);
a timing controller configured to generate output data based on input image data (Fig. 1; Para. 0066, timing controller, 400);
a data driver configured to convert the output data into a data signal, and to output the data signal to at least one output line (Fig. 1; Para. 0061-0063, data driver, 300, data voltage/signal);
a data distributor configured to supply the data signal to data lines connected to the display panel based on any one of a first control signal or a second control signal supplied from the timing controller (Fig. 1; Para. 0061, data driver, 300, data control signal); and
a luminance corrector configured to generate compensation data for correcting one of the pixels supplied with the data signal relatively late (Fig. 1, 4, 5; Para. 0068-0069, luminance corrector, 500; Para. 0087-0095).
14. An electronic device comprising: a processor configured to provide input image data (Para. 0046-0047; Para. 0052, smart phone, tablet, smart pad); and a display device configured to display an image based on the input image data (Fig. 1; Para. 0051-0052, display device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0035734 to Lee et al. (Lee).
As to claims 2 and 15, Jang discloses the display device of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the pixels comprise first pixels comprising: a (1_1)th pixel configured to be supplied with the data signal corresponding to the first control signal; and a (1_2)th pixel configured to be supplied with the data signal corresponding to the second control signal that is different from the first control signal.
Lee teaches wherein the pixels comprise first pixels comprising:
a (1_1)th pixel configured to be supplied with the data signal corresponding to the first control signal (Fig. 6, 7; Para. 0059-0064, DMUX1 supplied to pixel though data line, D1); and
a (1_2)th pixel configured to be supplied with the data signal corresponding to the second control signal that is different from the first control signal (Fig. 6, 7; Para. 0059-0064, DMUX2 supplied to pixel though data line, D2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Jang to include the pixel driving of Lee because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display device of Jang as modified the pixel driving of Lee can yield a predictable result of providing an organic light emitting display capable of preventing a current deviation from being generated between pixels displaying the same color by designing a demultiplexer (demux) switching circuit and demux switching control signals so that the number of times a kickback voltage influences the pixels displaying the same color is the same for each such pixel. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the display device of Jang the ability to use the pixel driving of Lee since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As to claims 3 and 16, Jang and Lee disclose the display device of claim 2. Jang does not expressly disclose wherein the (1_2)th pixel comprises the one of the pixels supplied with the data signal relatively late as compared with the (1_1)th pixel.
Lee discloses wherein the (1_2)th pixel comprises the one of the pixels supplied with the data signal relatively late as compared with the (1_1)th pixel (Fig. 7; Para. 0059-0064, DMUX1 v DMUX2). This combination is obvious to one skilled in the art for at least the reasons set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 4, Jang and Lee disclose the display device of claim 3. Jang does not expressly disclose wherein the pixels further comprise second pixels sequentially arranged in the first direction, and wherein, in one frame, the second pixels are configured to be supplied with the data signal in a same direction as a direction in which the first pixels are configured to be sequentially supplied with the data signal.
Lee discloses wherein the pixels further comprise second pixels sequentially arranged in the first direction, and wherein, in one frame, the second pixels are configured to be supplied with the data signal in a same direction as a direction in which the first pixels are configured to be sequentially supplied with the data signal (Fig. 6, 7; Para. 0059-0064, data lines D1, D3 and D5 are controlled DMUX1 and D2, D4, and D6 are controlled by DMUX2). This combination is obvious to one skilled in the art for at least the reasons set forth in claim 2.
As to claims 5 and 18, Jang and Lee disclose the display device of claim 4. Jang does not expressly disclose wherein the second pixels comprise: a (2_1)th pixel configured to be supplied with the data signal corresponding to the first control signal; and a (2_2)th pixel configured to be supplied with the data signal, which corresponds to the second control signal, relatively late as compared with the (2_1)th pixel.
Lee discloses wherein the second pixels comprise:
a (2_1)th pixel configured to be supplied with the data signal corresponding to the first control signal (Fig. 6, 7; Para. 0059-0064, DMUX1 supplied to pixel though data line, D1; Fig. 4; Para. 0042, pixel array, 14; secondary pixels as an additional row below the row shown in Fig. 6); and
a (2_2)th pixel configured to be supplied with the data signal, which corresponds to the second control signal, relatively late as compared with the (2_1)th pixel (Fig. 6, 7; Para. 0059-0064, DMUX2 supplied to pixel though data line, D2; Fig. 4; Para. 0042, pixel array, 14; secondary pixels as an additional row below the row shown in Fig. 6).
This combination is obvious to one skilled in the art for at least the reasons set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 6, Jang and Lee disclose the display device of claim 5. Jang does not expressly disclose wherein the (1_1)th pixel and the (2_1)th pixel are adjacent to each other in a second direction crossing the first direction, and wherein the (1_2)th pixel and the (2_2)th pixel are adjacent to each other in the second direction.
Lee discloses wherein the (1_1)th pixel and the (2_1)th pixel are adjacent to each other in a second direction crossing the first direction, and wherein the (1_2)th pixel and the (2_2)th pixel are adjacent to each other in the second direction (Para. 0042, pixel array, 14; secondary pixels as an additional row below the row shown in Fig. 6). This combination is obvious to one skilled in the art for at least the reasons set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 17, Jang and Lee disclose the electronic device of claim 16. Jang does not expressly disclose wherein the pixels further comprise second pixels that are sequentially arranged in the first direction, and that are configured to be sequentially supplied with the data signal according to an order in which the second pixels are arranged in a same direction as a direction in which the first pixels are configured to be supplied with the data signal in one frame.
Lee teaches wherein the pixels further comprise second pixels that are sequentially arranged in the first direction, and that are configured to be sequentially supplied with the data signal according to an order in which the second pixels are arranged in a same direction as a direction in which the first pixels are configured to be supplied with the data signal in one frame (Fig. 6, 7; Para. 0059-0064, data lines D1, D3 and D5 are controlled DMUX1 and D2, D4, and D6 are controlled by DMUX2). This combination is obvious to one skilled in the art for at least the reasons set forth in claim 15.
Claim(s) 7, 10-14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang and Lee as applied to claims 2 and 15 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0372047 to Kim et al. (Kim).
As to claims 7 and 19, Jang and Lee disclose the display device of claim 6, but do not expressly disclose wherein, in a next frame after the one frame, the first pixels and the second pixels are configured to be sequentially supplied with the data signal in a direction that is opposite to the direction in which the first pixels and the second pixels are configured to be supplied with the data signal in the one frame.
Kim teaches wherein, in a next frame after the one frame, the first pixels and the second pixels are configured to be sequentially supplied with the data signal in a direction that is opposite to the direction in which the first pixels and the second pixels are configured to be supplied with the data signal in the one frame (Fig. 1, 2; Para. 0020, 0057-0066, driving method of FIG. 1 may alternately perform the scanning (i.e., the data writing) and light emitting operations by the sequential driving technique in the first and second directions for each image frame FRAME(2k−1) and FRAME(2k)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Jang and Lee to include the pixel driving sequence of Kim because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display device of Jang and Lee as modified by the pixel driving sequence of Kim can yield a predictable result of power consumption may decrease, and lifespan of the pixels may increase. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the display device of Jang and Lee the ability to use the pixel driving sequence of Kim since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As to claim 10, Jang and Lee disclose the display device of claim 3, but do not expressly disclose wherein the pixels further comprise second pixels sequentially arranged in the first direction, and wherein, in one frame, the second pixels are configured to be supplied with the data signal in a direction opposite to a direction in which the first pixels are configured to be sequentially supplied with the data signal.
Kim teaches wherein the pixels further comprise second pixels sequentially arranged in the first direction, and wherein, in one frame, the second pixels are configured to be supplied with the data signal in a direction opposite to a direction in which the first pixels are configured to be sequentially supplied with the data signal(Fig. 1, 2; Para. 0020, 0057-0066, driving method of FIG. 1 may alternately perform the scanning (i.e., the data writing) and light emitting operations by the sequential driving technique in the first and second directions for each image frame FRAME(2k−1) and FRAME(2k)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Jang and Lee to include the pixel driving sequence of Kim because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display device of Jang and Lee as modified by the pixel driving sequence of Kim can yield a predictable result of power consumption may decrease, and lifespan of the pixels may increase. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the display device of Jang and Lee the ability to use the pixel driving sequence of Kim since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As to claim 11, Jang, Lee, and Kim disclose the display device of claim 10. Jang does not expressly disclose wherein the second pixels comprise: a (2_2)th pixel configured to receive the data signal corresponding to the second control signal; and a (2_1)th pixel configured to receive the data signal, which corresponds to the first control signal, relatively late as compared with the (2_2)th pixel.
Lee discloses wherein the second pixels comprise:
a (2_2)th pixel receive the data signal corresponding to the second control signal (Fig. 6, 7; Para. 0059-0064, DMUX1 supplied to pixel though data line, D1; Fig. 4; Para. 0042, pixel array, 14; secondary pixels as an additional row below the row shown in Fig. 6); and
a (2_1)th pixel configured to receive the data signal, which corresponds to the first control signal, relatively late as compared with the (2_2)th pixel (Fig. 6, 7; Para. 0059-0064, DMUX2 supplied to pixel though data line, D2; Fig. 4; Para. 0042, pixel array, 14; secondary pixels as an additional row below the row shown in Fig. 6).
This combination is obvious to one skilled in the art for at least the reasons set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 12, Jang, Lee, and Kim disclose the display device of claim 11. Jang does not expressly disclose wherein the (1_1)th pixel and the (2_1)th pixel are adjacent to each other in a second direction crossing the first direction, and wherein the (1_2)th pixel and the (2_2)th pixel are adjacent to each other in the second direction.
Lee discloses wherein the (1_1)th pixel and the (2_1)th pixel are adjacent to each other in a second direction crossing the first direction, and wherein the (1_2)th pixel and the (2_2)th pixel are adjacent to each other in the second direction (Para. 0042, pixel array, 14; secondary pixels as an additional row below the row shown in Fig. 6). This combination is obvious to one skilled in the art for at least the reasons set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 13, Jang, Lee, and Kim disclose the display device of claim 12. Jang and Lee do not expressly disclose wherein, in a next frame after the one frame, the first pixels and the second pixels are configured to be sequentially supplied with the data signal in a direction opposite to the direction in which the first pixels and the second pixels are configured to be supplied with the data signal in the one frame.
Kim teaches wherein, in a next frame after the one frame, the first pixels and the second pixels are configured to be sequentially supplied with the data signal in a direction opposite to the direction in which the first pixels and the second pixels are configured to be supplied with the data signal in the one frame (Fig. 1, 2; Para. 0020, 0057-0066, driving method of FIG. 1 may alternately perform the scanning (i.e., the data writing) and light emitting operations by the sequential driving technique in the first and second directions for each image frame FRAME(2k−1) and FRAME(2k)). This combination is obvious to one skilled in the art for at least the reasons set forth in claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LISA S LANDIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2626