DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
Claims 1-20 are pending; claims 1, 18 and 19 are independent.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recited (…an other side), line 5, should be change to (…another side).
Claim 12 recited (…an other side), lines 6-7, should be change to (…another side).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10-11, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoigawa (US 2007/0063942), and further in view of Lee (US 2020/0176699).
Regarding claim 1, Itoigawa teaches a display device (fig. 3) comprising:
a transparent substrate (fig. 3, a transparent substrate 70 and Para 0039);
a display panel located on a one surface of the transparent substrate and including a display area in which a plurality of pixels configured to emit light is arranged (fig. 3, and Paras 0037-0039, wherein the liquid crystal display unit 11 are formed on a transparent substrate70 to display an image),
a driving controller located on the one surface of the transparent substrate, the driving controller being spaced from the display panel and electrically connected to the display panel (fig. 3, a drive controller 10 and Para 0039, wherein a liquid crystal drive controller 10 formed on a transparent substrate 70 and connecting to the liquid crystal display unit 11 through a wiring composed of a transparent electrode film); and
a plurality of connecting lines located on the one surface of the transparent substrate, the plurality of connecting lines extending from the driving controller toward the display panel and electrically connecting the display panel and the driving controller (fig. 3 and Para 0039, wherein a wiring for connecting the liquid crystal drive controller 10 and the liquid crystal display unit 11 is composed of a transparent electrode film).
Itoigawa does not expressly a display panel including a non-display area adjacent to the display area, and a pad area adjacent to the non-display area.
However, Lee discloses a display panel including a non-display area adjacent to the display area (fig. 1 and Para 0043, a non-display area IA is provided in edges of the flexible substrate FS to surround the display area AA) and a pad area adjacent to the non-display area, fig. 1 and Para 0060, a pad part PP.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display device of Itoigawa with the teaching of Lee that a display device includes a flexible substrate which partitioned into a display area, a non-display area and pad part area includes a plurality of pads to connect a common power supply, a data input, a plurality of power supply and a plurality of control signal input, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 10, Itoigawa in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a sealing member located between the display panel and the transparent substrate in a cross-sectional view and surrounding at least a portion of the display area in a plan view; and an encapsulation substrate located between the display panel and the transparent substrate and combined with the display panel through the sealing member (Para 0058, encapsulation layer, Lee).
Regarding claim 11, Itoigawa teaches a display device (fig. 3) comprising:
a transparent substrate (fig. 3, a transparent substrate 70 and Para 0039);
a display panel located on a one surface of the transparent substrate and including a display area in which a plurality of pixels configured to emit light is arranged (fig. 3, and Paras 0037-0039, wherein the liquid crystal display unit 11 are formed on a transparent substrate70 to display an image),
a driving controller located on the one surface of the transparent substrate, spaced from the display panel, and electrically connected to the display panel (fig. 3, a drive controller 10 and Para 0039, wherein a liquid crystal drive controller 10 formed on a transparent substrate 70 and connecting to the liquid crystal display unit 11 through a wiring composed of a transparent electrode film); and
a source driver located on the one surface of the transparent substrate, spaced from the display panel in a plan view, and electrically connected to the display panel and the driving controller (figs 3, 4 , a source driver (DRV) 23 and para 0041).
Itoigawa does not expressly a display panel including a non-display area adjacent to the display area, and a pad area adjacent to the non-display area.
However, Lee discloses a display panel including a non-display area adjacent to the display area (fig. 1 and Para 0043, a non-display area IA is provided in edges of the flexible substrate FS to surround the display area AA) and a pad area adjacent to the non-display area, fig. 1 and Para 0060, a pad part PP.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display device of Itoigawa with the teaching of Lee that a display device includes a flexible substrate which partitioned into a display area, a non-display area and pad part area includes a plurality of pads to connect a common power supply, a data input, a plurality of power supply and a plurality of control signal input, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 15, Itoigawa in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 11, further comprising: a plurality of first connecting lines located on the one surface of the transparent substrate, extending from the source driver toward the display panel, and electrically connecting the display panel and the source driver (figs 1, 2A/B, data lines DL and Para 0068, wherein the flexible substrate FS includes scan lines SL and sensing lines RL that are arranged in a transverse direction and data lines DL and pixel driving power supply lines PL that are arranged in a longitudinal direction. Areas of the pixels P are defined by these lines, Lee); and
a plurality of second connecting lines located on the one surface of the transparent substrate, extending from the driving controller toward the display panel, and electrically connecting the driving controller and the source driver (figs 1, 2A/B, data lines DL and Para 0064, wherein input terminals of the driving integrated circuit 300 are directly connected to the pad part PP and thus a plurality of data lines DL provided in the display area AA are electrically connected to a plurality of pixel driving power supply lines PL, Lee).
Regarding claim 16, Itoigawa in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 11, further comprising: a sealing member located between the display panel and the transparent substrate in a cross-sectional view and contacting the display panel and the transparent substrate (Para 0058, encapsulation layer, Lee).
Regarding claim 17, Itoigawa in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 16, wherein the display panel further comprises: a dam structure located closer to the display area than the sealing member, in the non-display area (fig. 1, a dam structure DM and Paras 0062-0063, Lee).
Regarding claim 18, Itoigawa in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 16, further comprising: a dam structure located on the one surface of the transparent substrate and located closer to the display area than the sealing member, in the non-display area (fig. 1, a dam structure DM and Paras 0062-0063, Lee).
Regarding claim 19, Itoigawa teaches an electronic device (fig. 3) comprising:
a processor configured to output an input image data and an input control signal (fig. 3, a microcomputer (MCU) 5 and Para 036); and
a display device configured to drive based on the input image data and the input control signal (Para 0037, wherein the MCU 5 issues a display command and display data to the liquid crystal drive controller (LCDCNT) 10. Thereby, the liquid crystal drive controller 10 controls a liquid crystal display unit 11 to display an image),
wherein the display device comprises:
a transparent substrate (fig. 3, a transparent substrate 70 and Para 0039);
a display panel located on a one surface of the transparent substrate and including a display area in which a plurality of pixels configured to emit light is arranged (fig. 3, and Paras 0037-0039, wherein the liquid crystal display unit 11 are formed on a transparent substrate70 to display an image),
a driving controller configured to receive the input image data and the input control signal, the driving controller being located on the one surface of the transparent substrate, spaced from the display panel, and electrically connected to the display panel (fig. 3, a drive controller 10 and Para 0039, wherein a liquid crystal drive controller 10 formed on a transparent substrate 70 and connecting to the liquid crystal display unit 11 through a wiring composed of a transparent electrode film); and
a plurality of connecting lines located on the one surface of the transparent substrate and electrically connecting the display panel and the driving controller (fig. 3 and Para 0039, wherein a wiring for connecting the liquid crystal drive controller 10 and the liquid crystal display unit 11 is composed of a transparent electrode film)..
Itoigawa does not expressly a display panel including a non-display area adjacent to the display area, and a pad area adjacent to the non-display area.
However, Lee discloses a display panel including a non-display area adjacent to the display area (fig. 1 and Para 0043, a non-display area IA is provided in edges of the flexible substrate FS to surround the display area AA) and a pad area adjacent to the non-display area, fig. 1 and Para 0060, a pad part PP.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified an electronic device of Itoigawa with the teaching of Lee that a display device includes a flexible substrate which partitioned into a display area, a non-display area and pad part area includes a plurality of pads to connect a common power supply, a data input, a plurality of power supply and a plurality of control signal input, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 20, Itoigawa in view of Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 19, wherein the processor is located on the one surface of the transparent substrate (fig. 1, a driving integrated circuit 300 and para 0064, wherein the driving integrated circuit 300 is mounted in a chip mounting area which is defined in the first non-display area IA1 of the flexible substrate FS Lee).
Claim(s) 2-9 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoigawa (US 2007/0063942), in view of Lee (US 2020/0176699), and further in view of Kwon (US 2014/0139413).
Regarding claim 2, Itoigawa in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the display panel comprises: a first source driver electrically connected to the driving controller, and located in the non-display area adjacent to one side of the display area (figs 3, 4 , a source driver (DRV) 23 and para 0041, Itoigawa); and
Itoigawa in view of Lee does not expressly disclose a second source driver electrically connected to the driving controller, and located in the non-display area adjacent to an other side of the display area which is opposite to the one side of the display area.
However, Kwon disclosed “a second source driver electrically connected to the driving controller, and located in the non-display area adjacent to an other side of the display area which is opposite to the one side of the display area”, see fig. 2, a plurality of first data drivers 120a, a plurality of second data drivers 120b and Para 0067.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display device of Itoigawa in view of Lee with the teaching of Kwon including organic light emitting display device which includes a display panel 110, a first substrate 112, a plurality of first and second data drivers 120a and 120b, the plurality of first and second data drivers 120b is connected to a first pad part PP1 provided in the lower inactive area IA of the first substrate 112 to supply a data voltage to a lower side of a corresponding data line DL through the first pad part PP1 and a data link line, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 3, Itoigawa in view of Lee in view of Kwon teaches the display device of claim 2, further comprising: a plurality of first pad electrodes located on the one surface of the transparent substrate, overlapping a portion of the display panel located in the pad area in a plan view, and electrically connected to the display panel (fig. 1 and para 0060, wherein the pad part PP includes a plurality of pads which are provided in the non-display area IA of the flexible substrate FS. For example, the pad part PP may include a plurality of common power supply pads, a plurality of data input pads, a plurality of power supply pads, and a plurality of control signal input pads which are provided in the first non-display area IA1 of the flexible substrate FS, Lee); and
Itoigawa in view of Lee in view of Kwon a plurality of second pad electrodes located on the one surface of the transparent substrate, overlapping the driving controller in a plan view, and electrically connected to the driving controller (figs 2, 4 and para 0062, wherein the plurality of first pad parts PP1 includes a plurality of data pads that are connected to both sides of a corresponding data line DL through a data link line, Kwon),
wherein the plurality of connecting lines electrically connects the plurality of first pad electrodes and the plurality of second pad electrodes to each other (fig. 1 and Paras 0062-0063, Kwon).
Regarding claim 4, Itoigawa in view of Lee in view of Kwon teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the pad area includes: a first pad area in which the plurality of the first pad electrodes is located (fig. 1 and Para 0060, a pad part PP, Lee); and
Itoigawa in view of Lee in view of Kwon teaches a second pad area spaced from the first pad area, wherein the display area and the non-display area are arranged between the first pad area and the second pad area (fig. 1 and Para 0062, wherein the plurality of first pad parts PP1 are arranged at certain intervals in each of the upper and lower inactive areas IA of the first substrate 112, Kwon).
Regarding claim 5, Itoigawa in view of Lee in view of Kwon teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the display panel further comprises: a first gate driver electrically connected to the driving controller (fig. 1, a gate driving circuit 200 is provided in the third non-display area IA3 of the flexible substrate FS, Para 0061, Lee).
Itoigawa in view of Lee in view of Kwon teaches a first gate driver located in the non-display area which is located between the first pad area and the display area in a plan view (fig. 1 and Para 0070, wherein the plurality of first gate drivers 130a is connected to a second pad part PP2 provided in the left inactive area IA of the first substrate 112, Kwon).
Regarding claim 6, Itoigawa in view of Lee in view of Kwon teaches the display device of claim 5, wherein the display panel further comprises: a second gate driver electrically connected to the driving controller, and spaced from the first gate driver (fig. 1, a gate driving circuit 200 is provided in the fourth non-display area IA4 of the flexible substrate FS, Para 0061, Lee).
Itoigawa in view of Lee in view of Kwon teaches a second gate driver located in the non-display area which is located between the second pad area and the display area in a plan view (fig. 1 and Para 0070, wherein the plurality of second gate drivers 130b is connected to a second pad part PP2 provided in the right inactive area IA of the first substrate 112, Kwon).
Regarding claim 7, Itoigawa in view of Lee in view of Kwon teaches the display device of claim 5, further comprising: a plurality of third pad electrodes located on the one surface of the transparent substrate, overlapping a portion of the display panel located in the second pad area, and electrically connected to the display panel (fig. 2, 4 and Para 0064, wherein the plurality of driving power pad parts PP3 are arranged in the respective inactive areas IA. Each of the plurality of driving power pad parts PP3 includes a driving power pad that is connected to the first common driving power line CPL1 through a driving power link line, Kwon);
a circuit board located on the one surface of the transparent substrate and spaced from the display panel and the driving controller in a one direction (fig. 2, 4, a first data PCB 160a and Para 0064, Kwon);
a plurality of fourth pad electrodes located on the one surface of the transparent substrate, overlapping the circuit board in a plan view, and electrically connected to the circuit board (fig. 2, 4 and Para 0065, wherein the plurality of cathode power pad parts PP4 are arranged in the respective inactive areas IA. Each of the plurality of cathode power pad parts PP4 includes a cathode power pad that is connected to the cathode connection part CCP through a cathode power link line, Kwon);
a plurality of driving lines electrically connecting the plurality of third pad electrodes and the plurality of fourth pad electrodes to each other (figs 2, 4 and Paras 0064-0065, the first common driving power line CPL1 and a cathode power link line, Kwon); and
a power line electrically connecting two fourth pad electrodes from among the plurality of fourth pad electrodes to each other, the two fourth pad electrodes being respectively adjacent to one side and an other side of the circuit board, wherein the power line is configured to provide a first power voltage to the pixels (figs 2, 4 and Para 0065, wherein each of the plurality of cathode power pad parts PP4 includes a cathode power pad that is connected to the cathode connection part CCP through a cathode power link line Kwon).
Regarding claim 8, Itoigawa in view of Lee in view of Kwon teaches the display device of claim 7, wherein the plurality of the driving lines comprises: a first driving line configured to provide a second power voltage having a different voltage level from the first power voltage to the pixels (figs 2-4 and Paras 0078, wherein the driving voltage is supplied to the first and second common driving power lines CPL1 and CPL2 through the plurality of upper and lower driving power supply members 140a and 140b Kwon);
a second driving line configured to provide a third power voltage for driving the first source driver and the second source driver (figs 2, 4 and Para 0069, wherein the data driving IC 123 converts display data, which are input through the data flexible circuit film 121, into data voltages by using a data control signal and a plurality of reference gamma voltages which are input through the data flexible circuit film 121, and supplies the data voltages to the respective data lines DL. Therefore, the data driving IC 123 of each of the first and second data drivers 120a and 120b simultaneously supplies the same data voltage to an upper side and lower side of one data line DL, Kwon); and
a third driving line configured to provide a fourth power voltage for driving the first gate driver (figs 2, 4 and Para 0072, wherein the gate driving IC 133 generates the gate pulse according to a gate control signal input through the gate flexible circuit film 131, into data voltages by using a data control signal and a plurality of reference gamma voltages which are input through the gate flexible circuit film 131, and sequentially supplies the gate pulse to the plurality of gate lines GL, Kwon).
Regarding claim 9, Itoigawa in view of Lee in view of Kwon teaches the teaches the display device of claim 7, wherein the plurality of the driving lines are spaced from each other in a plan view, wherein each of the driving lines is around at least a portion of the display panel in a plan view (Para0048, Lee),
wherein the power line is around at least a portion of the plurality of driving lines and the display panel in a plan view (fig. 1 and Para 0057, wherein the common power supply line CPL is disposed along the second to fourth non-display areas IA2, IA3, and IA4 which are adjacent to the display area AA of the flexible substrate FS with a constant line width and surrounds parts of the display area AA, Lee).
Regarding claim 12, Itoigawa in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 11, wherein the source driver comprises: a first source driver located on the one surface of the transparent substrate, electrically connected to the driving controller, and spaced from one side of the display panel (figs 3, 4 , a source driver (DRV) 23 and para 0041, Itoigawa); and
Itoigawa in view of Lee does not expressly disclose a second source driver located on the one surface of the transparent substrate, electrically connected to the driving controller, and spaced apart from an other side opposite to the one side of the display panel.
However, Kwon disclosed “a second source driver located on the one surface of the transparent substrate, electrically connected to the driving controller, and spaced apart from an other side opposite to the one side of the display panel”, see fig. 2, a plurality of first data drivers 120a, a plurality of second data drivers 120b and Para 0067.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display device of Itoigawa in view of Lee with the teaching of Kwon including organic light emitting display device which includes a display panel 110, a first substrate 112, a plurality of first and second data drivers 120a and 120b, the plurality of first and second data drivers 120b is connected to a first pad part PP1 provided in the lower inactive area IA of the first substrate 112 to supply a data voltage to a lower side of a corresponding data line DL through the first pad part PP1 and a data link line, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 13, Itoigawa in view of Lee in view of Kwon teaches teaches the display device of claim 12, further comprising: a circuit board located on the one surface of the transparent substrate and electrically connected to the driving controller and the display panel; and a plurality of driving lines located on the one surface of the transparent substrate and extending from the circuit board toward the display panel (fig. 1, a driving integrated circuit 300 and Paras 0064-00065, wherein the driving integrated circuit 300 receives various powers, a timing synchronization signal, and digital image data from a display driving circuit unit (or a host circuit) via the pad part PP, generates gate control signals on the basis of the timing synchronization signal, controls driving of the gate driving circuit 200, converts the digital image data into analog pixel data voltages, and supplies the analog pixel data voltages to the corresponding data lines DL, Lee).
Regarding claim 14, Itoigawa in view of Lee in view of Kwon teaches display device of claim 13, wherein the pad area includes: a first pad area adjacent to the first source driver; a second pad area adjacent to the second source driver (figs 2, 4 and Para 0062, wherein a plurality of first pad parts PP1 are arranged at certain intervals in each of the upper and lower inactive areas IA of the first substrate 112. Each of the plurality of first pad parts PP1 includes a plurality of data pads that are connected to both sides of a corresponding data line DL through a data link line, Kwon); and
a third pad area in which the plurality of driving lines extends (figs 2, 4 and Para 0062, wherein a plurality of second pad parts PP2 are arranged at certain intervals in each of the left and right inactive areas IA of the first substrate 112. Each of the plurality of second pad parts PP2 includes a plurality of gate pads that are connected to both sides of a corresponding gate line DL through a gate link line, Kwon).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi (US 2023/0189579), relates to a display device and a method of manufacturing a display panel included in the same, and more particularly, to a display panel with improved display quality. A display device includes a display panel including a display area, a non-display area adjacent to the display area and including a pad area, a circuit layer in the display area and the pad area, and a light emitting element in the display area
Park (US 2024/0203364), relates to a display device and a display panel, and more particularly, to a display device and a display panel having an alignment structure of data lines by which a narrow bezel may be obtained.
/S.E.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2625 7/25/2026
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625