DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 03/08/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 16 has been amended such that it now falls under Invention I.
Claims 10-15 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the currency” in line 10 should be “a currency.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-9, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the on-chain issuance request" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim recites “receiving an issuance instruction message” and “publishing an issuance application transaction in the blockchain network” prior to the introduction of “the on-chain issuance request.” However, the claim does not recite any limitations related to “the on-chain issuance request” when receiving an issuance instruction message and/or publishing an issuance application transaction. Therefore, it is unclear when and/or how the blockchain network receives the on-chain issuance request to vote on it.
Claims 4-9 and 16-18 depend from claim 1. They do not cure the deficiencies presented above. Therefore, they are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for at least based on their dependency from a rejected base claim. Claims 2-3 introduce the “an on-chain issuance request” and specifies that it is received before receiving the issuance instruction message. Therefore, it cures the deficiencies presented above and are not rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to signals per se. The “computer-readable storage medium” is described in the instant specification as “may be, but is not limited to an electrical, magnetic, optical, electromagnetic, infrared, or semiconductor system, apparatus, or device, or any combination thereof” in [0284]. Therefore, the broadest, most reasonable interpretation of a “computer-readable storage medium” encompasses non-statutory transitory forms of signal transmission. Transitory, propagating signal does not fall within any statutory category since it does not possess concrete structure that would qualify as a device or part under the definition of a machine, is not a tangible article or commodity under the definition of a manufacture, and is not composed of matter such that it would qualify as a composition of matter see MPEP 2106.03.
Claims 1-9 and 16-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 1-9, 16, and 18 fall into at least one of the four categories of statutory subject matter. The eligibility analysis proceeds to Step 2A.1.
Although claim 17 does not fall into at least one of the four categories of statutory subject matter as noted above, for purposes of compact prosecution, the claim shall proceed forward with the eligibility analysis as if it were to fall into at least one of the four categories.
Step 2A.1:
The limitations of independent claim 1 have been denoted with letters by the Examiner for easy reference. The judicial exceptions recited in claim 1 are identified in bold below:
A transaction processing method, applied to an on-chain issuer node in a cross-border transaction system, wherein the on-chain issuer node is located on a blockchain network comprised in the cross-border transaction system, the blockchain network comprises a plurality of node computers which are connected to each other through communication interfaces, at least one of the plurality of node computers comprised in the blockchain network is configured as an on-chain issuer computer, the on-chain issuer computer comprises a processor and a communication interface, and the cross-border transaction system performs cross-border transaction business through the blockchain network, wherein the method comprises:
receiving an issuance instruction message from an off-chain issuer computer in an off-chain transaction system through the communication interface, wherein the off-chain transaction system comprises at least one of an off-chain local payment system and an off-chain local digital currency system, the off-chain transaction system comprises at least one off-chain issuer computer, the off-chain local payment system manages off-chain local bank accounts, the off-chain local digital currency system manages off-chain digital currency wallets, and the issuance instruction message comprises an off-chain participant identifier, a first target amount and a deduction success instruction;
publishing an issuance application transaction in the blockchain network via a contract interface of a blockchain, wherein the blockchain network votes on the on-chain issuance request based on a predetermined consensus mechanism, and the issuance application transaction comprises a digital signature of the on-chain issuer node; and
triggering a smart contract, in a case of a voting result indicating that the on-chain issuance request is approved, to generate digital currency of the first target amount in a digital currency wallet of an on-chain participant node that corresponds to the off-chain participant identifier and is located on the blockchain network;
wherein in a case that the issuance instruction message is sent by the off-chain local payment system, the deduction success instruction indicates deducting currency of the first target amount from a local bank account of an off-chain participant in the off-chain local payment system; and in a case that the issuance instruction message is sent by the off-chain local digital currency system, the deduction success instruction indicates deducting currency of the first target amount from a local digital currency wallet of the off-chain participant in the off-chain local digital currency system.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, A-E recite limitations that are reasonably categorized under certain methods of organizing human activity. Specifically, the bolded claimed limitations of A-B and D-E can be grouped as fundamental economic principles or practices. Performing a transaction by transferring to and/or deducting a currency amount from an account or wallet is a fundamental economic practice. The bolded claimed limitations of C can be grouped as managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. Voting on a request is a social activity. Therefore, limitations A-E recite abstract ideas that fall under multiple sub-groupings.
Claim 1 recites at least one abstract idea. The eligibility analysis proceeds to Step 2A.2.
Step 2A.2:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the additional element(s) not in bold above.
In A, C, and D, reciting the “blockchain network” and “blockchain” is general usage of a data structure. When the additional element is considered individually and as an ordered combination with the abstract idea, claim 1 as a whole amounts to no more than mere steps to implement an abstract idea on a data structure. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
In D, the additional element “trigger a smart contract” has been recited at a high-level generality such that it amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h). When the additional element is considered individually and as an ordered combination with the abstract idea, claim 1 as a whole amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
All other additional elements not in bold above have all been recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than generic computing components. Therefore, when the additional elements are considered individually and as an ordered combination with the abstract idea, claim 1 amounts to no more than mere software instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea MPEP 2106.05(f). These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B:
The additional elements, both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the outcome of the considerations at Step 2B will be the same when considerations from Step 2A.2 are re-evaluated. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims
Dependent claims 2-9 and 18 do not recite any new additional elements. Therefore, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claim from which they depend, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claim 16 recites “a transaction processing device,” “a processor,” and “a communication interface, wherein the communication interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to execute a computer program or instructions” as additional elements. These elements have all been recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than generic computing components. Therefore, when the additional elements are considered individually and as an ordered combination with the abstract idea, claim 16 amounts to no more than mere software instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea MPEP 2106.05(f). These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 17 recites “a computer-readable storage medium” and “wherein computer-executable instructions stored in the computer-readable storage medium, when executed by a processor of an electronic device,” and “the electronic device” as additional elements. These elements have all been recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than generic computing components. Therefore, when the additional elements are considered individually and as an ordered combination with the abstract idea, claim 17 amounts to no more than mere software instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea MPEP 2106.05(f). These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
In summary, the dependent claims considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea(s) into a patent eligible application such that the abstract idea amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims do not recite an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, claims 1-9 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravinathan et al. U.S. 2021/0406887 (herein as “Ravinathan”) in view of Gaur et al. U.S. 2021/0350458 (herein as “Gaur”).
Re Claim 1, Ravinathan discloses a transaction processing method, applied to an on-chain issuer node in a cross-border transaction system, wherein the on-chain issuer node is located on a blockchain network comprised in the cross-border transaction system, the blockchain network comprises a plurality of node computers which are connected to each other through communication interfaces [0029], at least one of the plurality of node computers comprised in the blockchain network is configured as an on-chain issuer computer, the on-chain issuer computer comprises a processor and a communication interface Fig. 5, and the cross-border transaction system performs cross-border transaction business through the blockchain network (Examiner notes this is intended use, therefore, no patentable weight is given), wherein the method comprises:
receiving an issuance instruction message from an off-chain issuer computer in an off-chain transaction system through the communication interface ([0035] – “the issuer processing server 102 may submit a blockchain transaction to a node in the blockchain network,” i.e. the node receives the blockchain transaction, the issuer processing server 102 is analogous to the off-chain issuer computer and a node is analogous to the on-chain issuer node, Fig. 5 – communications interface 524),
The following limitations italicized are not given patentable weight for the following reasons: 1) the claimed method is directed to “a transaction processing method, applied to an on-chain issuer node in a cross-border transaction system,” this is interpreted to mean that the scope of the claimed invention encompasses the method steps performed by the on-chain issuer node, and not the structure and purpose of the off-chain transaction system or off-chain issuer computer, 2) the following limitations italicized do not positively recite any method steps. Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed MPEP 2111.04. Therefore, the limitations italicized cannot be given patentable weight. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided below.
wherein the off-chain transaction system comprises at least one of an off-chain local payment system (Fig. 1 – at least the issuer processing server 102, payment network 112, acquiring processing server 110, and point of sale device 108 are collectively analogous to the off-chain local payment system) and an off-chain local digital currency system, the off-chain transaction system comprises at least one off-chain issuer computer Fig. 1 – issuer processing server 102, the off-chain local payment system manages off-chain local bank accounts [0022] – “the issuing processing server 102 may issue a transaction account to a consumer 104, the off-chain local digital currency system manages off-chain digital currency wallets,
and the issuance instruction message comprises an off-chain participant identifier, a first target amount and a deduction success instruction ([0035] – “The blockchain transaction may include the cryptocurrency amount…and a digital signature generated using the private key of the blockchain wallet from which payment is being made,” the blockchain wallet can be associated with the consumer’s transaction account or the issuer processing server 102, both are considered “off-chain” participants. [0054] – the blockchain transaction may also include the exchange rate, which is analogous to a deduction success instruction because it “instructs” how much of a fiat transaction amount should be debited/deducted based on the exchange rate between cryptocurrency and fiat currency);
[…]
in a case of a voting result indicating that the on-chain issuance request is approved [0034] – “The new block may be validated by other nodes in the blockchain network 116,” to generate digital currency of the first target amount in a digital currency wallet of an on-chain participant node that corresponds to the off-chain participant identifier and is located on the blockchain network ([0038] – “Settlement may include providing the issuer processing server 102 with the fiat transaction amount based on the cryptocurrency payment made to the exchange server 114,” the cryptocurrency payment made is analogous to generating digital currency of the first target amount, [0035] – “payment to a blockchain wallet of the exchange server 114,” i.e. a digital currency wallet of an on-chain participant node, [0029] – “the exchange server 114 may be a blockchain node in the associated blockchain network 116,” [0038] – the settlement made corresponds to the consumer involved in the transaction, i.e. corresponds to the off-chain participant identifier);
wherein in a case that the issuance instruction message is sent by the off-chain local payment system, the deduction success instruction indicates deducting currency of the first target amount from a local bank account of an off-chain participant in the off-chain local payment system ([0038] – “debit the consumer’s fiat transaction account for the appropriate fiat transaction amount.” Examiner notes that this limitation is not required in a case where the message is sent by the off-chain local digital currency system); and in a case that the issuance instruction message is sent by the off-chain local digital currency system, the deduction success instruction indicates deducting currency of the first target amount from a local digital currency wallet of the off-chain participant in the off-chain local digital currency system ([0038] – “In cases where the cryptocurrency payment was made directly from a blockchain wallet of the consumer 104, the consumer’s account may accurately reflect the transaction as a result of the cryptocurrency payment.” Examiner notes that this limitation is not required in a case where the message is sent by the off-chain local payment system. However, prior art is provided).
Examiner notes the content of the deduction success instruction is nonfunctional descriptive language MPEP 2111.05. The content of the deduction success instruction does not meaningfully limit how the issuance instruction message is received. Therefore, the content of the deduction success instruction cannot be given patentable weight. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided above.
However, Ravinathan does not expressly disclose
publishing an issuance application transaction in the blockchain network via a contract interface of a blockchain, wherein the blockchain network votes on the on-chain issuance request based on a predetermined consensus mechanism, and the issuance application transaction comprises a digital signature of the on-chain issuer node; and
triggering a smart contract.
Gaur discloses a blockchain settlement network. Specifically, Gaur discloses
publishing an issuance application transaction in the blockchain network via a contract interface of a blockchain ([0069] – “client node 260 transmitting a transaction proposal 291 to an endorsing peer node 281,” Fig. 2A, [0065] – “via one or more interfaces exposed,” via a contract interface), wherein the blockchain network votes on the on-chain issuance request based on a predetermined consensus mechanism [0031] – “the peers may execute a consensus protocol to validate blockchain storage transactions,” and the issuance application transaction comprises a digital signature of the on-chain issuer node [0069] – “The endorsing peer 281 may verify the client signature”; and
triggering a smart contract ([0066] – “A transaction is an execution of the smart contract code which can be performed in response to conditions associated with the smart contract being satisfied,” [0102] – “an asset transfer session or a process or procedure that is driven by a smart contract,” i.e. trigger a smart contract to generate digital currency).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravinathan’s method and system for merchant acceptance of cryptocurrency via payment rails with the teachings of publishing a transaction in the blockchain, voting on a request based on a predetermined consensus mechanism, and triggering a smart contract in Gaur. One would be motivated to make this combination to ensure validity and integrity of the transactions Gaur, [0031], [0046], while using smart contracts that are trusted distributed applications to leverage tamper-proof properties of blockchain to enforce authorization and access requirements and usage of the ledger Gaur, [0032], [0065].
Re Claim 2, Ravinathan in view of Gaur teach the transaction processing method according to claim 1, and Ravinathan in view of Gaur further teach wherein before receiving the issuance instruction message from the off-chain issuer in the off-chain transaction system, the method further comprises:
receiving an on-chain issuance request from the on-chain participant node through the blockchain network (Gaur, [0087] – “the originator 402 requests initiation of the clearance and settlement through the host system 406,” the host system is the blockchain, see Fig. 1A 110), wherein the on-chain issuance request comprises a digital currency wallet
identifier of the on-chain participant node and the first target amount Gaur, [0094], and the on-chain issuance request is used to request issuing the digital currency of the first target amount in the blockchain network Gaur, [0044] – “choose which value to be used during the on-chain settlement”; and
Examiner notes the content of the on-chain issuance request is nonfunctional descriptive language MPEP 2111.05. The content of the on-chain issuance request does not meaningfully limit how the on-chain issuance request is received. Therefore, the content of the on-chain issuance request cannot be given patentable weight. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided above.
sending, by the on-chain issuer node, a deduction instruction to the off-chain issuer (Gaur, [0090] – “the originator 402 may transmit a settlement request message 450,” [0091] – “the host system may forward the off-chain settlement notification to the receiver 404”), wherein the deduction instruction indicates deducting the currency of the first target amount from the local bank account or the local digital currency wallet of the off-chain participant (Gaur, Fig. 4C – Amount and Account IDs, thereby indicating that a particular amount is to be deducted from a sender account for settlement).
Examiner notes the content of the deduction instruction is nonfunctional descriptive language MPEP 2111.05. The content of the deduction instruction does not meaningfully limit how the deduction instruction is sent. Therefore, the content of the deduction instruction cannot be given patentable weight. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravinathan’s method and system for merchant acceptance of cryptocurrency via payment rails with the teachings of receiving an on-chain issuance request and sending a deduction instruction in Gaur. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself. Therefore, the combination of prior art elements according to known methods would yield predictable results and renders the claim obvious.
Re Claim 3, Ravinathan in view of Gaur teach the transaction processing method according to claim 2, and Ravinathan in view of Gaur further teach wherein the sending, by the on-chain issuer node, a deduction instruction to the off-chain issuer comprises:
sending, by the on-chain issuer node, the deduction instruction to the off-chain issuer
after the on-chain issuance request is successfully verified Gaur, [0088] – “the host system 406 may verify the content of the request from the originator 402 and transfer the request to the receiver 404”;
wherein the on-chain issuance request is successfully verified by: determining that an account status of the on-chain participant node is normal, and/or determining that the first target amount is less than or equal to a remaining issuance amount of the on-chain participant node in the on-chain issuer node Ravinathan, [0047] – “determine approval or denial of a payment transaction, such as based on credit and balance information.”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravinathan’s method and system for merchant acceptance of cryptocurrency via payment rails with the teachings of sending a deduction instruction after the on-chain issuance request is successfully verified in Gaur. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself. Therefore, the combination of prior art elements according to known methods would yield predictable results and renders the claim obvious.
Re Claim 4, Ravinathan in view of Gaur teach the transaction processing method according to claim 1, and Ravinathan in view of Gaur further teach wherein the issuance instruction message is generated by the off-chain issuer after receiving an off-chain issuance request from the off-chain participant Ravinathan, [0052] – “authorization request,” the off-chain issuance request comprises the off-chain participant identifier and the first target amount Ravinathan, [0052] – “may include transaction account number, transaction amount,” and the off-chain issuance request is used to request issuing the digital currency of the first target amount in the blockchain network Ravinathan, [0057] – “payment of the cryptocurrency amount,” Fig. 4, 408.
Examiner notes the content of the off-chain issuance request is nonfunctional descriptive language MPEP 2111.05. The content of the off-chain issuance request does not meaningfully limit how the instruction message is generated. Therefore, the content of the off-chain issuance request cannot be given patentable weight. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided above.
Re Claim 5, Ravinathan in view of Gaur teach the transaction processing method according to claim 1, and Ravinathan in view of Gaur further teach wherein the deducting currency of the first target amount from a local bank account of an off-chain participant in the off-chain local payment system comprises:
debiting the first target amount in the local bank account of the off-chain participant and crediting the first target amount in a margin account of the off-chain issuer in the off-chain local payment system Ravinathan, [0038] – “debit the consumer’s fiat transaction account for the appropriate fiat transaction amount,” “credit the merchant’s transaction account accordingly.”
Re Claim 6, Ravinathan in view of Gaur teach the transaction processing method according to claim 1, and Ravinathan in view of Gaur further teach wherein the deducting currency of the first target amount from a local digital currency wallet of the off-chain participant in the off-chain local digital currency system comprises:
deducting the digital currency of the first target amount from the local digital currency wallet of the off-chain participant in the off-chain local digital currency system Ravinathan, [0038] – “In cases where the cryptocurrency payment was made directly from a blockchain wallet of the consumer 104, the consumer’s account may accurately reflect the transaction as a result of the cryptocurrency payment.”
Re Claim 16, it is the device claim of method claim 1. Ravinathan further discloses a processor and communications interface in Fig. 5, 504, 524, respectively. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons above.
Re Claim 17, it is the computer-readable storage medium of method claim 1. Ravinathan further discloses implementation of the disclosure via non-transitory computer readable media [0063]. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons above.
Claims 7-9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravinathan et al. U.S. 2021/0406887 (herein as “Ravinathan”) in view of Gaur et al. U.S. 2021/0350458 (herein as “Gaur”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang et al. - English machine translation of CN112036849 (herein as “Huang”).
Re Claim 7, Ravinathan in view of Gaur teach the transaction processing method according to claim 1, however, Ravinathan in view of Gaur do not explicitly teach further comprising:
receiving an on-chain cancellation request message from the on-chain participant node, wherein the on-chain cancellation request message comprises an identifier of the on-chain participant node and a second target amount; and
deducting digital currency of the second target amount from the digital currency wallet of the on-chain participant node, and sending a currency refund message to the off-chain participant through the off-chain issuer in the off-chain transaction system, wherein the currency refund message comprises the off-chain participant identifier and the second target amount, and the currency refund message indicates adding currency of the second target amount to the local bank account or the local digital currency wallet of the off-chain participant.
Huang discloses a cross-border payment system and method based on distributed account book technology. Specifically, Huang discloses
receiving an on-chain cancellation request message from the on-chain participant node pg. 10, 5.4 – “receiving the transaction of canceling or returning goods by the cross-border payment system node,” wherein the on-chain cancellation request message comprises an identifier of the on-chain participant node and a second target amount (pg. 10, 5.4 – “matching the amount of the canceling or returning goods with the account currency string on the overseas acquiring system node chain,” thereby suggesting a target amount is in the received transaction); and
deducting digital currency of the second target amount from the digital currency wallet of the on-chain participant node pg. 10, 5.7 – “the DCEP digital wallet system node receives the revocation or return result message, competes the transfer of the coin string,” and sending a currency refund message to the off-chain participant through the off-chain issuer in the off-chain transaction system pg. 10, 5.7 – “sends a revocation or return notice to the user wallet module,” wherein the currency refund message comprises the off-chain participant identifier and the second target amount, and the currency refund message indicates adding currency of the second target amount to the local bank account or the local digital currency wallet of the off-chain participant.
Examiner notes the content of the currency refund message and the identifier of the on-chain participant node are nonfunctional descriptive language MPEP 2111.05. The content of the currency refund message and the identifier of the on-chain participant node do not meaningfully limit how the messages are received/sent, and/or how the digital currency is deducted. Therefore, the content of the currency refund message and the identifier of the on-chain participant node cannot be given patentable weight.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravinathan in view of Gaur’s method and system for merchant acceptance of cryptocurrency via payment rails with the teachings of cross-border transaction cancellation or return in Huang. One would be motivated to make this combination to enable a reliable and efficient cancellation or return process for cross-border transactions Huang, pg. 10, 5th paragraph.
Re Claim 8, Ravinathan in view of Gaur teach the transaction processing method according to claim 1, however, Ravinathan in view of Gaur do not explicitly teach further comprising:
receiving an off-chain cancellation instruction message from the off-chain issuer, wherein the off-chain cancellation instruction message comprises a digital currency wallet identifier of the on-chain participant node and a second target amount, the off-chain cancellation instruction message is generated by the off-chain issuer based on an off-chain cancellation request message sent by the off-chain participant to the off-chain issuer; and
deducting digital currency of the second target amount from the digital currency wallet of the on-chain participant node, and sending a currency refund message to the off-chain participant through the off-chain issuer in the off-chain transaction system, wherein the currency refund message comprises the off-chain participant identifier and the second target amount, and the currency refund message indicates adding currency of the second target amount to the local bank account or the local digital currency wallet of the off-chain participant.
Huang discloses a cross-border payment system and method based on distributed account book technology. Specifically, Huang discloses
Examiner notes that the following limitations italicized are not given patentable weight for the following reasons: the following limitations italicized do not positively recite any method steps. Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed MPEP 2111.04. Therefore, the limitations italicized cannot be given patentable weight. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided below.
receiving an off-chain cancellation instruction message from the off-chain issuer (pg. 9, 5.2 – “the overseas acquiring system node generates the transaction information of the revocation or return goods,” thereby suggesting it received the cancellation or goods return request from the overseas order receiving system node, see 5.2), wherein the off-chain cancellation instruction message comprises a digital currency wallet identifier of the on-chain participant node and a second target amount pg. 9-10, 5.3-5.4 – “matching the amount of the canceling or returning goods with the account currency string on the overseas acquiring system node chain,” the off-chain cancellation instruction message is generated by the off-chain issuer based on an off-chain cancellation request message sent by the off-chain participant to the off-chain issuer (pg. 9, 5.1 – “the user wallet module initiates the original order cancellation or return transaction,” 5.2 – “the overseas order receiving system node receives the original order cancellation or goods,” 5.3 – the overseas acquiring system node generates the transaction information of the revocation or return goods, thereby suggesting the overseas order receiving system node generates the request message to send to the overseas acquiring system node, the user wallet module is analogous to the off-chain participant, and the overseas order receiving system node is analogous to the off-chain issuer); and
deducting digital currency of the second target amount from the digital currency wallet of the on-chain participant node pg. 10, 5.7 – “the DCEP digital wallet system node receives the revocation or return result message, competes the transfer of the coin string,” and sending a currency refund message to the off-chain participant through the off-chain issuer in the off-chain transaction system pg. 10, 5.7 – “sends a revocation or return notice to the user wallet module,” wherein the currency refund message comprises the off-chain participant identifier and the second target amount, and the currency refund message indicates adding currency of the second target amount to the local bank account or the local digital currency wallet of the off-chain participant.
Examiner notes the content of the currency refund message and the identifier of the on-chain participant node are nonfunctional descriptive language MPEP 2111.05. The content of the currency refund message and the identifier of the on-chain participant node do not meaningfully limit how the messages are received/sent, and/or how the digital currency is deducted. Therefore, the content of the currency refund message and the identifier of the on-chain participant node cannot be given patentable weight.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravinathan in view of Gaur’s method and system for merchant acceptance of cryptocurrency via payment rails with the teachings of cross-border transaction cancellation or return in Huang. One would be motivated to make this combination to enable a reliable and efficient cancellation or return process for cross-border transactions Huang, pg. 10, 5th paragraph.
Re Claim 9, Ravinathan in view of Gaur and Huang teach the transaction processing method according to claim 7, and Ravinathan in view of Gaur and Huang further teach wherein the adding currency of the second target amount to the local bank account or the local digital currency wallet of the off-chain participant comprises:
crediting the second target amount in the local bank account of the off-chain participant and debiting the second target amount in a margin account of the off-chain issuer in the off-chain local payment system; or
adding the digital currency of the second target amount to the local digital currency wallet of the off-chain participant in the off-chain local digital currency system Huang, pg. 9, 4.5 – “transfers the amount of the digital money to the RMB balance account of the DCEP digital wallet system.”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravinathan in view of Gaur’s method and system for merchant acceptance of cryptocurrency via payment rails with the teachings of cross-border transaction refunds in Huang. One would be motivated to make this combination to enable a real-time refunds process for cross-border transactions Huang, pg. 9, 7th paragraph.
Re Claim 18, Ravinathan in view of Gaur and Huang teach the transaction processing method according to claim 8, and Ravinathan in view of Gaur and Huang further teach wherein the adding currency of the second target amount to the local bank account or the local digital currency wallet of the off-chain participant comprises:
crediting the second target amount in the local bank account of the off-chain participant and debiting the second target amount in a margin account of the off-chain issuer in the off-chain local payment system; or
adding the digital currency of the second target amount to the local digital currency wallet of the off-chain participant in the off-chain local digital currency system Huang, pg. 9, 4.5 – “transfers the amount of the digital money to the RMB balance account of the DCEP digital wallet system.”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravinathan in view of Gaur’s method and system for merchant acceptance of cryptocurrency via payment rails with the teachings of cross-border transaction refunds in Huang. One would be motivated to make this combination to enable a real-time refunds process for cross-border transactions Huang, pg. 9, 7th paragraph.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kohli U.S. 2018/0165677 directed to system and method for secured tax refund for cross border transactions. See at least [0078], [0085].
/CHRISTINE DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3698