DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/29/2025 has been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-10, 14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 11837128 hereinafter Kim) in view of Song et al. (US 20210201820 hereinafter Song).
Referring to claim 1, Kim discloses a display device (Fig. 1; display device 100) comprising:
a display panel comprising pixels (Fig. 1; subpixels 200);
a controller (Fig. 3; degradation management circuit 300) configured to control the display panel (Col. 11 lines 5-11; The degradation management circuit 300 may include a data signal output unit 310, a degradation compensator 320 and a degradation management unit 330. The data signal output unit 310 may receive an image data signal from outside. The data signal output unit 310 may output a driving data signal to the data driving circuit 130. The driving data signal may be produced by adding a compensation data to the image data signal.); and
a working memory (Fig. 3; storage unit 400) connected to the controller (Fig. 3; memory 300 connected to controller 300), wherein the controller (Fig. 3; circuit 300) is configured to:
update accumulated stress data corresponding to the pixels based on first image frames (Col. 12 lines 26-37; As the accumulated stress data of the subpixel SP is updated by the degradation management unit 330 during a driving of the subpixel SP, information related to a degradation of the circuit element disposed in the subpixel SP can be updated and managed in real time. The degradation management unit 330 may compress and store at least some of the accumulated stress data of the subpixel SP.);
determine a representative value (i.e. Vcomp1) of source data units obtained from the accumulated stress data (i.e. Vstr1) (Col. 11 line 59 to Col. 12 line 5; in FIG. 4, if the accumulated stress data is a first stress value Vstr1, the driving data signal in which a first compensation value Vcomp1 corresponding to the first stress value Vstr1 is reflected may be input to the data driving circuit 130. If the accumulated stress data is a second stress value Vstr2, the driving data signal in which a second compensation data Vcomp2 corresponding to the second stress value Vstr2 is reflected may be input to the data driving circuit 130. In this regard, in one or more aspects, a driving data signal is based on a first compensation value Vcomp1 corresponding to the first stress value Vstr1. In one or more aspects, a driving data signal is based on a second compensation data Vcomp2 corresponding to the second stress value Vstr2.); and
encode the source data units to generate compressed data (Col. 12 lines 65-67; The encoding module 333 may compress the updated accumulated stress data and store the compressed accumulated stress data in the storage unit 400.).
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose change a portion of data bits of each of the source data units according to the representative value, to generate changed source data units; and
the changed source data units to generate compressed data, and store the compressed data in the working memory.
In analogous art, Song discloses change a portion of data bits of each of the source data units according to the representative value, to generate changed source data units ([0054]; For example, when first stress data is input as “1100 0010,” loss is generated once upon occurrence of first accumulation. That is, one or more LSBs can be abandoned. The accumulated stress data value becomes “1100 0000” as 2 bits among LSBs are lost…, [0055]; When “1110 0011” is received as second input image data and second accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “11” among LSBs are lost…, [0056]; When “1110 0001” is received as third input image data and third accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are lost. Here, an accumulated stress data value restored by being accumulated as the average value becomes “1110 0000,” 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are estimated as a loss value (S423). It is determined whether loss recovery with respect to the estimated loss value is required. When the number of accumulations is “n” and the loss estimate value is “e,” a product of the two values is calculated. It is determined whether the value of “3*01” exceeds 2 bits corresponding to LSBs. Since “3” corresponds to “11,” it does not correspond to a loss recovery condition…, and [0060]; When it is determined that loss recovery is required, “1” is added to the last bit of MSBs of previously accumulated data. That is, lost data needs to be restored and accumulated to the lossless region as “1110 0100.”); and
the changed source data units to generate compressed data, and store the compressed data in the working memory ([0061]; A stress data being compressed is divided into a lossless area and a lossy area based on the quantization level. The data in the loss area is compressed in the form of loss without storing the data. Based on the accumulated data, the MSB is used as the reference for generating the actual panel compensation value. The size of MSB is 8 bits which occupy among 32 bits of the accumulated stress data…. and [0062]; A lossless manner of compressing and then restoring the accumulated stress data is therefore carried out by conducting the following steps. The data being stored in the memory using entropy coding method are data in lossless region and the information for the compression as like quantization level. In restoring process, all the memory area of LSB are stored with 0 based on the quantization level.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Song to the system of Kim in order to compensate for deterioration of pixels in response to an accumulated light emission amount of each pixel that improves picture quality.
Referring to claim 2, Kim as modified by Song discloses wherein the controller is configured to change one or more least significant data bits of the data bits of each of the source data units to a first logic level to generate the changed source data units (Song- [0054];
For example, when first stress data is input as “1100 0010,” loss is generated once upon occurrence of first accumulation. That is, one or more LSBs can be abandoned. The accumulated stress data value becomes “1100 0000” as 2 bits among LSBs are lost…, [0055] When “1110 0011” is received as second input image data and second accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “11” among LSBs are lost…, and [0056] When “1110 0001” is received as third input image data and third accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are lost. Here, an accumulated stress data value restored by being accumulated as the average value becomes “1110 0000,” 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are estimated as a loss value (S423). It is determined whether loss recovery with respect to the estimated loss value is required. When the number of accumulations is “n” and the loss estimate value is “e,” a product of the two values is calculated. It is determined whether the value of “3*01” exceeds 2 bits corresponding to LSBs. Since “3” corresponds to “11,” it does not correspond to a loss recovery condition…, and [0060]; When it is determined that loss recovery is required, “1” is added to the last bit of MSBs of previously accumulated data. That is, lost data needs to be restored and accumulated to the lossless region as “1110 0100.”).
Referring to claim 3, Kim as modified by Song discloses wherein a number of the least significant data bits changed to the first logic level is adjusted according to the representative value (Song- [0054]; For example, when first stress data is input as “1100 0010,” loss is generated once upon occurrence of first accumulation. That is, one or more LSBs can be abandoned. The accumulated stress data value becomes “1100 0000” as 2 bits among LSBs are lost…, [0055] When “1110 0011” is received as second input image data and second accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “11” among LSBs are lost…, and [0056] When “1110 0001” is received as third input image data and third accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are lost. Here, an accumulated stress data value restored by being accumulated as the average value becomes “1110 0000,” 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are estimated as a loss value (S423). It is determined whether loss recovery with respect to the estimated loss value is required. When the number of accumulations is “n” and the loss estimate value is “e,” a product of the two values is calculated. It is determined whether the value of “3*01” exceeds 2 bits corresponding to LSBs. Since “3” corresponds to “11,” it does not correspond to a loss recovery condition…, and [0060]; When it is determined that loss recovery is required, “1” is added to the last bit of MSBs of previously accumulated data. That is, lost data needs to be restored and accumulated to the lossless region as “1110 0100.”).
Referring to claim 4, Kim as modified by Song discloses wherein a number of the least significant data bits changed to the first logic level increases as the representative value increases (Song- [0054]; For example, when first stress data is input as “1100 0010,” loss is generated once upon occurrence of first accumulation. That is, one or more LSBs can be abandoned. The accumulated stress data value becomes “1100 0000” as 2 bits among LSBs are lost…, [0055] When “1110 0011” is received as second input image data and second accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “11” among LSBs are lost…, and [0056] When “1110 0001” is received as third input image data and third accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are lost. Here, an accumulated stress data value restored by being accumulated as the average value becomes “1110 0000,” 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are estimated as a loss value (S423). It is determined whether loss recovery with respect to the estimated loss value is required. When the number of accumulations is “n” and the loss estimate value is “e,” a product of the two values is calculated. It is determined whether the value of “3*01” exceeds 2 bits corresponding to LSBs. Since “3” corresponds to “11,” it does not correspond to a loss recovery condition…, and [0060]; When it is determined that loss recovery is required, “1” is added to the last bit of MSBs of previously accumulated data. That is, lost data needs to be restored and accumulated to the lossless region as “1110 0100.”).
Referring to claim 9, Kim as modified by Song discloses wherein the representative value is determined according to values of the source data units (Song- [0054]; For example, when first stress data is input as “1100 0010,” loss is generated once upon occurrence of first accumulation. That is, one or more LSBs can be abandoned. The accumulated stress data value becomes “1100 0000” as 2 bits among LSBs are lost…, [0055] When “1110 0011” is received as second input image data and second accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “11” among LSBs are lost…, and [0056] When “1110 0001” is received as third input image data and third accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are lost. Here, an accumulated stress data value restored by being accumulated as the average value becomes “1110 0000,” 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are estimated as a loss value (S423). It is determined whether loss recovery with respect to the estimated loss value is required. When the number of accumulations is “n” and the loss estimate value is “e,” a product of the two values is calculated. It is determined whether the value of “3*01” exceeds 2 bits corresponding to LSBs. Since “3” corresponds to “11,” it does not correspond to a loss recovery condition…, and [0060]; When it is determined that loss recovery is required, “1” is added to the last bit of MSBs of previously accumulated data. That is, lost data needs to be restored and accumulated to the lossless region as “1110 0100.”).
Referring to claim 10, Kim as modified by Song discloses wherein a maximum value of values of the source data units is determined as the representative value (Song- [0054]; For example, when first stress data is input as “1100 0010,” loss is generated once upon occurrence of first accumulation. That is, one or more LSBs can be abandoned. The accumulated stress data value becomes “1100 0000” as 2 bits among LSBs are lost…, [0055] When “1110 0011” is received as second input image data and second accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “11” among LSBs are lost…, and [0056] When “1110 0001” is received as third input image data and third accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are lost. Here, an accumulated stress data value restored by being accumulated as the average value becomes “1110 0000,” 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are estimated as a loss value (S423). It is determined whether loss recovery with respect to the estimated loss value is required. When the number of accumulations is “n” and the loss estimate value is “e,” a product of the two values is calculated. It is determined whether the value of “3*01” exceeds 2 bits corresponding to LSBs. Since “3” corresponds to “11,” it does not correspond to a loss recovery condition…, and [0060]; When it is determined that loss recovery is required, “1” is added to the last bit of MSBs of previously accumulated data. That is, lost data needs to be restored and accumulated to the lossless region as “1110 0100.”).
Referring to claim 14, Kim discloses a method to operate a display device including pixels, the method comprising:
obtaining source data units from accumulated stress data corresponding to the pixels (Col. 12 lines 26-37; As the accumulated stress data of the subpixel SP is updated by the
degradation management unit 330 during a driving of the subpixel SP, information related to a degradation of the circuit element disposed in the subpixel SP can be updated and managed in real time. The degradation management unit 330 may compress and store at least some of the accumulated stress data of the subpixel SP.);
determining a representative value (i.e. Vcomp1) corresponding to the source data units (i.e. Vstr1) (Col. 11 line 59 to Col. 12 line 5; in FIG. 4, if the accumulated stress data is a first stress value Vstr1, the driving data signal in which a first compensation value Vcomp1 corresponding to the first stress value Vstr1 is reflected may be input to the data driving circuit 130. If the accumulated stress data is a second stress value Vstr2, the driving data signal in which a second compensation data Vcomp2 corresponding to the second stress value Vstr2 is reflected may be input to the data driving circuit 130. In this regard, in one or more aspects, a driving data signal is based on a first compensation value Vcomp1 corresponding to the first stress value Vstr1. In one or more aspects, a driving data signal is based on a second compensation data Vcomp2 corresponding to the second stress value Vstr2.); and
encode the source data units to generate compressed data (Col. 12 lines 65-67; The
encoding module 333 may compress the updated accumulated stress data and store the
compressed accumulated stress data in the storage unit 400.).
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose changing a portion of data bits of each of the source data units according to the representative value, to generate changed source data units; and the changed source data units to generate compressed data.
In analogous art, Song discloses changing a portion of data bits of each of the source data units according to the representative value, to generate changed source data units ([0054];
For example, when first stress data is input as “1100 0010,” loss is generated once upon occurrence of first accumulation. That is, one or more LSBs can be abandoned. The accumulated stress data value becomes “1100 0000” as 2 bits among LSBs are lost…, [0055] When “1110 0011” is received as second input image data and second accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “11” among LSBs are lost…, and [0056] When “1110 0001” is received as third input image data and third accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are lost. Here, an accumulated stress data value restored by being accumulated as the average value becomes “1110 0000,” 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are estimated as a loss value (S423). It is determined whether loss recovery with respect to the estimated loss value is required. When the number of accumulations is “n” and the loss estimate value is “e,” a product of the two values is calculated. It is determined whether the value of “3*01” exceeds 2 bits corresponding to LSBs. Since “3” corresponds to “11,” it does not correspond to a loss recovery condition…, and [0060]; When it is determined that loss recovery is required, “1” is added to the last bit of MSBs of previously accumulated data. That is, lost data needs to be restored and accumulated to the lossless region as “1110 0100.”); and the changed source data units to generate compressed data ([0061]; A stress data being compressed is divided into a lossless area and a lossy area based on the quantization level. The data in the loss area is compressed in the form of loss without storing the data. Based on the accumulated data, the MSB is used as the reference for generating the actual panel compensation value. The size of MSB is 8 bits which occupy among 32 bits of the accumulated stress data…. and [0062]; A lossless manner of compressing and then restoring the accumulated stress data is therefore carried out by conducting the following steps. The data being stored in the memory using entropy coding method are data in lossless region and the information for the compression as like quantization level. In restoring process, all the memory area of LSB are stored with 0 based on the quantization level.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Song to the system of Kim in order to compensate for deterioration of pixels in response to an accumulated light emission amount of each pixel that improves picture quality.
Referring to claim 16, Kim as modified by Song discloses wherein the changing comprises changing one or more least significant data bits of the data bits of each of the source data units to a first logic level (Song- [0054]; For example, when first stress data is input as “1100 0010,” loss is generated once upon occurrence of first accumulation. That is, one or more LSBs can be abandoned. The accumulated stress data value becomes “1100 0000” as 2 bits among LSBs are lost…, [0055] When “1110 0011” is received as second input image data and second accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “11” among LSBs are lost…, and [0056] When “1110 0001” is received as third input image data and third accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are lost. Here, an accumulated stress data value restored by being accumulated as the average value becomes “1110 0000,” 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are estimated as a loss value (S423). It is determined whether loss recovery with respect to the estimated loss value is required. When the number of accumulations is “n” and the loss estimate value is “e,” a product of the two values is calculated. It is determined whether the value of “3*01” exceeds 2 bits corresponding to LSBs. Since “3” corresponds to “11,” it does not correspond to a loss recovery condition…, and [0060]; When it is determined that loss recovery is required, “1” is added to the last bit of MSBs of previously accumulated data. That is, lost data needs to be restored and accumulated to the lossless region as “1110 0100.”).
Referring to claim 17, Kim as modified by Song discloses herein a number of the least significant data bits changed to the first logic level is adjusted according to the representative value (Song- [0054]; For example, when first stress data is input as “1100 0010,” loss is generated once upon occurrence of first accumulation. That is, one or more LSBs can be abandoned. The accumulated stress data value becomes “1100 0000” as 2 bits among LSBs are lost…, [0055] When “1110 0011” is received as second input image data and second accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “11” among LSBs are lost…, and [0056] When “1110 0001” is received as third input image data and third accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are lost. Here, an accumulated stress data value restored by being accumulated as the average value becomes “1110 0000,” 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are estimated as a loss value (S423). It is determined whether loss recovery with respect to the estimated loss value is required. When the number of accumulations is “n” and the loss estimate value is “e,” a product of the two values is calculated. It is determined whether the value of “3*01” exceeds 2 bits corresponding to LSBs. Since “3” corresponds to “11,” it does not correspond to a loss recovery condition…, and [0060]; When it is determined that loss recovery is required, “1” is added to the last bit of MSBs of previously accumulated data. That is, lost data needs to be restored and accumulated to the lossless region as “1110 0100.”).
Referring to claim 18, Kim as modified by Song discloses wherein a maximum value of values of the source data units is determined as the representative value (Song- [0054]; For example, when first stress data is input as “1100 0010,” loss is generated once upon occurrence of first accumulation. That is, one or more LSBs can be abandoned. The accumulated stress data value becomes “1100 0000” as 2 bits among LSBs are lost…, [0055] When “1110 0011” is received as second input image data and second accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “11” among LSBs are lost…, and [0056] When “1110 0001” is received as third input image data and third accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are lost. Here, an accumulated stress data value restored by being accumulated as the average value becomes “1110 0000,” 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are estimated as a loss value (S423). It is determined whether loss recovery with respect to the estimated loss value is required. When the number of accumulations is “n” and the loss estimate value is “e,” a product of the two values is calculated. It is determined whether the value of “3*01” exceeds 2 bits corresponding to LSBs. Since “3” corresponds to “11,” it does not correspond to a loss recovery condition…, and [0060]; When it is determined that loss recovery is required, “1” is added to the last bit of MSBs of previously accumulated data. That is, lost data needs to be restored and accumulated to the lossless region as “1110 0100.”).
Referring to claim 20, Kim discloses an electronic device (Fig. 1; display device 100) comprising:
a processor (Col. 18 line 58 to Col. 19 line 5; a degradation management circuit 300 and/or its components may include (or may be) a processor that may be configured to execute code or instructions to perform the operations and functionality described herein and to perform calculations and generate commands.); and
a display device configured to display an image in pixels according to image data from the processor (Col. 18 line 58 to Col. 19 line 5; a degradation management circuit 300 and/or its components may include (or may be) a processor that may be configured to execute code or instructions to perform the operations and functionality described herein and to perform calculations and generate commands. In one or more examples, each processing component of the degradation management circuit 300 (e.g., each of a data signal output unit 310, a degradation compensator 320, a degradation management unit 330, a decoding module 331, a processing module 332, and an encoding module 333) may include (or may be) a processor or one or more components of a processor. The processor of the degradation management circuit 300 and/or its components may be configured to monitor and/or control the operation of the components in the display device 100.),
wherein the display device (Fig. 1; display device 100) comprises:
a display panel comprising the pixels (Fig. 1; subpixels 200);
a controller (Fig. 3; degradation management circuit 300) configured to control the display panel (Col. 11 lines 5-11; The degradation management circuit 300 may include a data signal output unit 310, a degradation compensator 320 and a degradation management unit 330. The data signal output unit 310 may receive an image data signal from outside. The data signal output unit 310 may output a driving data signal to the data driving circuit 130. The driving data signal may be produced by adding a compensation data to the image data signal.); and
a working memory (Fig. 3; storage unit 400) connected to the controller (Fig. 3; memory 300 connected to controller 300), wherein the controller (Fig. 3; degradation management circuit 300) is configured to:
update accumulated stress data corresponding to the pixels based on first image frames (Col. 12 lines 26-37; As the accumulated stress data of the subpixel SP is updated by the
degradation management unit 330 during a driving of the subpixel SP, information related to a degradation of the circuit element disposed in the subpixel SP can be updated and managed in real time. The degradation management unit 330 may compress and store at least some of the accumulated stress data of the subpixel SP.);
determine a representative value (i.e. Vcomp1) of source data units obtained from the accumulated stress data (i.e. Vstr1) (Col. 11 line 59 to Col. 12 line 5; in FIG. 4, if the
accumulated stress data is a first stress value Vstr1, the driving data signal in which a
first compensation value Vcomp1 corresponding to the first stress value Vstr1 is
reflected may be input to the data driving circuit 130. If the accumulated stress data is a
second stress value Vstr2, the driving data signal in which a second compensation data
Vcomp2 corresponding to the second stress value Vstr2 is reflected may be input to the
data driving circuit 130. In this regard, in one or more aspects, a driving data signal is
based on a first compensation value Vcomp1 corresponding to the first stress value
Vstr1. In one or more aspects, a driving data signal is based on a second compensation
data Vcomp2 corresponding to the second stress value Vstr2.); and
encode the source data units to generate compressed data (Col. 12 lines 65-67; The
encoding module 333 may compress the updated accumulated stress data and store the
compressed accumulated stress data in the storage unit 400.).
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose change a portion of data bits of each of the source data units according to the representative value, to generate changed source data units; and the changed source data units to generate compressed data, and store the compressed data in the working memory.
In analogous art, Song discloses change a portion of data bits of each of the source data units according to the representative value, to generate changed source data units ([0054];
For example, when first stress data is input as “1100 0010,” loss is generated once upon
occurrence of first accumulation. That is, one or more LSBs can be abandoned. The
accumulated stress data value becomes “1100 0000” as 2 bits among LSBs are lost…,
[0055] When “1110 0011” is received as second input image data and second accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “11” among LSBs are lost…, and [0056] When “1110 0001” is received as third input image data and third accumulation occurs, 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are lost. Here, an accumulated stress data value restored by being accumulated as the average value becomes “1110 0000,” 2 bits of “01” among LSBs are estimated as a loss value (S423). It is determined whether loss recovery with respect to the estimated loss value is required. When the number of accumulations is “n” and the loss estimate value is “e,” a product of the two values is calculated. It is determined whether the value of “3*01” exceeds 2 bits corresponding to LSBs. Since “3” corresponds to “11,” it does not correspond to a loss recovery condition…, and [0060]; When it is determined that loss recovery is required, “1” is added to the last bit of MSBs of previously accumulated data. That is, lost data needs to be restored and accumulated to the lossless region as “1110 0100.”); and the changed source data units to generate compressed data, and store the compressed data in the working memory ([0061]; A stress data being compressed is divided into a lossless area and a lossy area based on the quantization level. The data in the loss area is compressed in the form of loss without storing the data. Based on the accumulated data, the MSB is used as the reference for generating the actual panel compensation value. The size of MSB is 8 bits which occupy among 32 bits of the accumulated stress data…. and [0062]; A lossless manner of compressing and then restoring the accumulated stress data is therefore carried out by conducting the following steps. The data being stored in the memory using entropy coding method are data in lossless region and the information for the compression as like quantization level. In restoring process, all the memory area of LSB are stored with 0 based on the quantization level.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Song to the system of Kim
in order to compensate for deterioration of pixels in response to an accumulated light emission
amount of each pixel that improves picture quality.
Claims 7-8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 11837128 hereinafter Kim) in view of Song et al. (US 20210201820 hereinafter Song), and Chung et al. (US 9773455 hereinafter Chung).
Referring to claim 7, Kim in view of Song as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the controller is configured to convert a second image frame based on the compressed data when the second image frame is received, and wherein an image is displayed on the display panel according to the converted second image frame.
In an analogous art, Chung discloses wherein the controller is configured to convert (i.e. data correction is performed) a second image frame based on the compressed data when the second image frame is received, and wherein an image is displayed on the display panel according to the converted second image frame (Chung- Col. 8 lines 53-63; The first decompressor 640 generates an accumulation stress data by decompressing and recovering the accumulated compression stress data stored in the memory unit 630. The accumulation stress data generated in the first decompressor 640 is supplied to the data compensation unit 650 so as to be used (or utilized) in data correction for degradation compensation. In one embodiment, the first decompressor 640 generates, in real time, an accumulation stress data by decompressing the accumulated compression stress data every frame (e.g., for every frame), so that the data correction is performed in real time.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Chung to the system of Kim in view of Song in order to improve efficiency of the memory used in degradation compensation and increase accuracy of the degradation compensation with respect to a specific area corresponding to predetermined condition.
Referring to claim 8, Kim in view of Song as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein, when a second image frame is received, the controller is configured to perform decoding on the compressed data to generate compensation data, and convert the second
image frame according to the compensation data, and wherein an image is displayed on the display panel according to the converted second image frame.
In an analogous art, Chung discloses wherein, when a second image frame is received, the controller is configured to perform decoding on the compressed data to generate compensation data, and convert the second image frame according to the compensation data, and wherein an image is displayed on the display panel according to the converted second image frame (Chung- Col. 8 lines 53-63; The first decompressor 640 generates an accumulation stress data by decompressing and recovering the accumulated compression stress data stored in the memory unit 630. The accumulation stress data generated in the first decompressor 640 is supplied to the data compensation unit 650 so as to be used (or utilized) in data correction for degradation compensation. In one embodiment, the first decompressor 640 generates, in real time, an accumulation stress data by decompressing the accumulated compression stress data every frame (e.g., for every frame), so that the data correction is performed in real time.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Chung to the system of Kim in view of Song in order to improve efficiency of the memory used in degradation compensation and increase accuracy of the degradation compensation with respect to a specific area corresponding to predetermined condition.
Referring to claim 15, Kim in view of Song as applied above does not specifically disclose further comprising displaying an image in the pixels based on an image frame and the compressed data, wherein the displaying the image in the pixels comprises: decoding the compressed data to generate compensation data; converting the image frame according to the compensation data; and displaying the image in the pixels according to the converted image
frame.
In an analogous art, Chung discloses further comprising displaying an image in the pixels based on an image frame and the compressed data, wherein the displaying the image in the pixels comprises: decoding the compressed data to generate compensation data; converting the image frame according to the compensation data; and displaying the image in the pixels according to the converted image frame (Chung- Col. 8 lines 53-63; The first decompressor 640 generates an accumulation stress data by decompressing and recovering the accumulated compression stress data stored in the memory unit 630. The accumulation stress data generated in the first decompressor 640 is supplied to the data compensation unit 650 so as to be used (or utilized) in data correction for degradation compensation. In one embodiment, the first decompressor 640 generates, in real time, an accumulation stress data by decompressing the accumulated compression stress data every frame (e.g., for every frame), so that the data correction is performed in real time.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Chung to the system of Kim in view of Song in order to improve efficiency of the memory used in degradation compensation and increase accuracy of the degradation compensation with respect to a specific area corresponding to predetermined condition.
Claim 11-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 11837128 hereinafter Kim) in view of Song et al. (US 20210201820 hereinafter Song), and Park et al. (US 9947265 hereinafter Park).
Referring to claim 11, Kim in view of Song as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein: the pixels are grouped into a plurality of display areas;
an average value of values of the source data units corresponding to each of the display areas is determined as an area value corresponding to a display area; and
the representative value is determined according to the determined area values of the display areas.
In an analogous art, Park discloses wherein: the pixels are grouped into a plurality of display areas;
an average value of values of the source data units corresponding to each of the display areas is determined as an area value corresponding to a display area; and
the representative value is determined according to the determined area values of the display areas (Park- Col. 8 line 57 to Col. 9 line 2; Each of the pixel groups PB11˜PBps may be, for example, an 8*8 block including 64 pixels as illustrated in FIG. 5. The amount of the stress data may be reduced significantly by accumulating the block average values BA and by storing and providing accumulated block stress values BST, where each block average value BA is an average grayscale value of the pixels in each pixel block. When the stress data are provided through such compression by units of the pixel blocks, the boundary of the stressed regions may not be reflected exactly. Thus, errors may occur. For example, the errors in luminance compensation may be significant when compensating for the degeneration of pixels using the accumulated block stress values.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Park to the system of Kim in view of Song in order to enable efficiently driving an electroluminescent display device.
Referring to claim 12, Kim as modified by Park discloses wherein a maximum value of the determined area values of the display area is determined as the representative value (Park- Col. 9 lines 40-45; The boundary estimating unit 250 may determine whether the first accumulated block stress value BSTi is an increasing type or a decreasing type. This may be accomplished, for example, by comparing difference values among the first, second, and third accumulated block stress values BSTi, BSTj, and BSTk with at least one reference value (S511, S513).).
Referring to claim 13, Kim in view of Song as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein: the pixels are grouped into a plurality of pixel groups,
the accumulated stress data includes accumulated stress data units respectively corresponding to the plurality of pixel groups, and wherein the controller is configured to extract the source data units from the accumulated stress data units.
In an analogous art, Park discloses wherein: the pixels are grouped into a plurality of pixel groups, the accumulated stress data includes accumulated stress data units respectively corresponding to the plurality of pixel groups, and wherein the controller is configured to extract the source data units from the accumulated stress data units (Park- Col. 8 lines 4-11; The extracting unit 240 may extract the accumulated block stress values BST of the adjacent pixel blocks from the memory unit 230 and provide the extracted values BST to the boundary estimating unit 250. The boundary estimating unit 250 may estimate and provide a stress boundary position STB in each pixel block based on the accumulated block stress values BST of the adjacent pixel blocks.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Park to the system of Kim in view of Song in order to enable efficiently driving an electroluminescent display device.
Referring to claim 19, Kim in view of Song as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein: the pixels are grouped into a plurality of display areas;
an average value of values of the source data units corresponding to each of the display areas is determined as an area value corresponding to a display area; and
the representative value is determined according to the determined area values of the display areas.
In an analogous art, Park discloses wherein: the pixels are grouped into a plurality of display areas;
an average value of values of the source data units corresponding to each of the display areas is determined as an area value corresponding to a display area; and
the representative value is determined according to the determined area values of the display areas (Park- Col. 8 line 57 to Col. 9 line 2; Each of the pixel groups PB11˜PBps may be, for example, an 8*8 block including 64 pixels as illustrated in FIG. 5. The amount of the stress data may be reduced significantly by accumulating the block average values BA and by storing and providing accumulated block stress values BST, where each block average value BA is an average grayscale value of the pixels in each pixel block. When the stress data are provided through such compression by units of the pixel blocks, the boundary of the stressed regions may not be reflected exactly. Thus, errors may occur. For example, the errors in luminance compensation may be significant when compensating for the degeneration of pixels using the accumulated block stress values.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Park to the system of Kim in view of Song in order to enable efficiently driving an electroluminescent display device.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 5, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the controller is configured maintain the source data units when the representative value is within a first range, and wherein the controller is configured to change at least one least significant data bit of the data bits of each of the source data units to a first logic level when the representative value is within a second range greater than the first range”.
Referring to claim 6, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the controller is configured to: change n least significant data bits of the data bits of each of the source data units to a first logic level when the representative value is within a first range, where n is an integer greater than 1; and change m least significant data bits of the data bits of each of the source data units to the first logic level when the representative value is within a second range greater than the first range, where m is an integer greater than n”.
Conclusion
/SCOTT D AU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2624