DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 18, the phrase “the force“ in line 1 should read “the gas force,” for proper antecedent basis,
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an energy storage member” in claims 1, 15, and 21,
Regarding “an energy storage member” in claims 1, 15 and 21, 112(f) is invoked because: (i) it uses a generic placeholder (energy storage), (ii) it is coupled with functional language (member), and (iii) it is not associated with structure in the claim. The specification is referenced for the corresponding structure. Para. 1113-1114 and 1121 discloses the energy storage member as any suitable member or device that stores potential energy and when actuated produces the pressurized gas such as a compressed gas cylinder having any desired pressure of gas therein, a device containing a vapor-based propellant, magnetic storage means, electronic storage means, or the like. Examiner is interpreting the limitations as any device that stores potential energy and when actuated produces the pressurized gas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the phase “a force acting on the medicament container” in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear. It is unclear whether this is a different force acting on the medicament container or the aforementioned “gas force” in line 15 of claim 1 which is understood to be the gas force acting on the medicament container. Examiner is interpreting this as the aforementioned force. Examiner suggests applicant amend claim 2 to recite “the gas force” in line 3 for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the valve passageway" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 17, the phase “a force acting on the medicament container” in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear. It is unclear whether this is a different force acting on the medicament container or the aforementioned “gas force” in line 15 of claim 15 which is understood to be the force acting on the medicament container. Examiner is interpreting this as the aforementioned force. Examiner suggests applicant amend claim 17 to recite “the gas force” in line 3 for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the valve passageway" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the valve passageway" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 21, the phrase “maintain a force produced by the pressurized gas within the gas chamber” in line 18 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear. It is unclear whether this is a different force or the aforementioned “gas force produced by the pressurized gas within the gas chamber” in lines 7-8 of claim 21. Examiner is interpreting this as the aforementioned force. Examiner suggests applicant amend claim 21 to recite “maintain the gas force” in line 18 for proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 21, the phrase “a delivered volume of the composition” in line 20 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear. It is unclear whether this is a different delivered volume of the aforementioned “delivered volume of the composition” in line 11 of claim 21. Examiner is interpreting it as the aforementioned volume and suggests amending to recite “the delivered volume of the composition” in line 20.
Regarding claim 21, the phrase “the valve being shaped to maintain a force produced by the pressurized gas within the gas chamber at a magnitude that is greater than a force applied by a retraction spring during a venting duration time to dispense a delivered volume of the composition on a condition that the valve member is in the closed configuration” in lines 17-21 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear. In light of the specification para. 1283-1284, the venting duration is the duration of time starting when the vent opening is in the open configuration and ending when the vent opening is in the closed configuration which may correspond to the delivery of the final portion of the dose. Thus, claim 21 is unclear because the valve being maintained by the gas force at a magnitude greater than the force applied by the retraction spring indicates that the final portion of the dose has not yet been delivered from the injector, and thus the vent opening would not be in the closed configuration. Examiner is interpreting this limitation as the valve is shaped to maintain the gas force produced by the pressurized gas within the gas chamber at a magnitude that is greater than a force applied by a retracting spring during a venting duration to dispense the delivered volume of the composition.
Regarding claims 3 and 18, these claims are rejected due to their dependency upon an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20180304017 A1, “Edwards”) in view of Anderson et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20150151047 A1, “Anderson”).
Regarding claim 1, Edwards discloses the limitations (Claim 1) an apparatus (8000 in Fig. 59-78), comprising:
a housing (8100 in Fig. 62) defining a gas chamber (8139A, 8139B in Fig. 63, see para. 0234);
an energy storage member (8410 in Fig. 65) configured to release a pressurized gas into the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B) when the energy storage member (8410) is actuated (examiner notes the energy storage member is being interpreted under 112(f) as any device that stores potential energy and when actuated produces the pressurized gas, see para 0234 – energy storage member 8410 is a gas container containing and configured to release pressurized gas and is in fluid communication with the gas chambers 8139A and 8139B);
a medicament container assembly (4200 in Fig. 65) slidingly disposed within the housing (8100, see Fig. 73-75 and para. 0232-0233), the medicament container assembly (4200) being movable longitudinally between a proximal container position (see Fig. 73) and a distal container position (see Fig. 75) in response to the pressurized gas within the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B, see Fig. 73-75 and para. 0265), the medicament container assembly (4200) including a container (4210 in Fig. 67) containing a composition and an elastomeric member (4217 in Fig. 67) that seals the composition within the container (4210, see para. 0232-0233 and 0241 – medicament container assembly 4200 includes a first and second container 4210 each containing a composition and an elastomeric member 4217); and
a delivery control assembly (8310, 4380 in Fig.65 and 69) configured to regulate a magnitude of the pressurized gas within the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B, see para. 0252 – vent assembly 8310 and retraction spring 8340 form the delivery control assembly by regulating the magnitude of pressurized gas in chambers 8139A and 8139B), the delivery control assembly (8310, 4380) including:
a vent assembly (8310 in Fig. 67) configured to place the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B) in fluid communication with an exterior volume (see para. 0235), the vent assembly (8310) including a valve member (8345 in Fig. 68) configured to seal a vent opening (8112 in Fig. 68) defined by the housing (8100, see para. 0136 and 0235), the valve member (8345) defining a valve passageway (8346 in Fig. 68) sized to maintain a gas force produced by the pressurized gas within the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B) at a magnitude that is greater than a force applied by a retraction spring (4380 in Fig. 65) during a time to dispense a delivered volume of the composition (see para. 0256 – valve portion 8345 defines passageway 8346, see para. 0270), the valve passageway (8346) sized such that the gas force decreases to a magnitude that is less than the force applied by the retraction spring (4380) after the dispensing of the delivery volume (see para. 0270).
While Edwards, discloses the vent assembly being configured such that the gas force decreases to a magnitude that is less than the force applied by the retraction spring after the dispensing of the delivery volume when the gas pressure within the gas chamber decreases below a threshold, Edwards fails to disclose, instead this occurring concurrent with a completion of the dispensing of the delivery volume.
Anderson discloses an injection device (see Fig. 14C) containing a drug, a piston (16 in Fig. 14C), an energy storage member in the force of a propellant source (21 in para. 0109), wherein the propellant pressurizes a gas chamber (20 in Fig. 14C) which applies a gas force to first translate a syringe (12 in Fig. 14C0 and then translate the piston (16) to expel the volume of drug (see Fig. 14C and para. 0177-0180). A venting assembly may be present such that when the pressure in the gas chamber (20) drops below a predetermined threshold that is less than the force applied by a retraction spring (632 in Fig. 14C), retraction of the syringe (12) occurs (see para. 0180). Anderson teaches (Claim 1) that the venting assembly may be appropriately sized such that venting occurs during delivery of the volume of drug and allows for needle retraction to occur concurrent with the completion of delivery of the volume of drug (see para. 0180).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the delivery control assembly taught by Edwards to incorporate the vent assembly configured such that the gas force decreases to a magnitude that is less than the force applied by the retraction spring concurrent with a completion of the dispensing of the delivery volume as taught by Anderson. Such a configuration would allow the gas chamber to vent any overpressure that could occur upon initial puncture of the compressed gas container, and having the needle retraction be triggered concurrent with the completion of drug delivery ensures that the needle is not exposed to the user thereby preventing needle stick injuries (see para. 0180-0182).
Regarding claim 2, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Edwards discloses (Claim 2) the valve passageway (8346) defined by the valve member (8345).
In modified Edwards, Anderson discloses (Claim 2) wherein: the venting assembly is sized to achieve a desired rate of decrease of a force acting on the medicament container assembly (12 in Fig. 14C) during the dispensing of the delivery volume (see para. 0180 – venting assembly is sized to allow venting during dispensing of the dose and to have the retraction spring 632 be triggered at the end of delivery and thus is sized to achieve a desired rate of decrease of force acting on the container 12 during dispensing).
Regarding claim 3, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 2, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Anderson discloses (Claim 3) wherein: the desired rate of decrease of the force is associated with a plurality of delivery properties of the composition (see para. 0114 – a specific propellant may be chosen if the drug is highly viscous and at a certain temperature to achieve the desired gas force in use, and thus the rate of decrease of the gas force achieve by the venting assembly which aligns retraction with the end of the delivery is associated with both the viscosity and temperature of the drug).
Regarding claim 4, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Edwards discloses (Claim 4) the valve passageway (8346) defined by the valve member (8345).
In modified Edwards, Anderson discloses (Claim 4) wherein: the venting assembly is sized and shaped to yield a design retraction initiation timing while maintaining a design delivery rate of the composition (see para. 0180 – venting assembly is configured to cause retraction of the syringe 12 at a specific timepoint at the end of delivery while maintaining the delivery rate of the composition before said timepoint).
Regarding claim 5, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Edwards discloses (Claim 5) wherein: the vent assembly (8310 in Fig. 68) has a closed configuration (see Fig. 68) in which the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B in Fig. 63) is fluidically isolated from the exterior volume (see para. 0235 – vent opening 8112 is sealed form exterior volume in Fig. 68); the valve member (8345 in Fig. 68) is movable relative to the vent opening (8112 in Fig. 68) to transition the vent assembly (8310) to an open configuration (see Fig. 77) in which the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B) is in fluid communication with the exterior volume (see Fig. 77 and para. 0253 – valve member 8346 moves relative to vent opening 8112 to fluidly communicate with exterior volume); and the vent assembly (8310) is transitioned to the open configuration (see Fig. 77) on a condition that a specified interval has elapsed following actuation of the apparatus (8000, see para. 0253 and 0270 – vent assembly 8310 is placed in open condition after specified interval of time required for elastomeric members 4217 to move predetermined distance in containers 4210).
Regarding claim 6, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Edwards discloses (Claim 6) wherein: the size of the valve passageway (8346 in Fig. 68) defined by the valve member (8345 in Fig. 68) is tuned to ensure a delivery of a final portion of the composition during a final delivery interval (the vent assembly 8310 including valve passageway 8346 are configured such that the elastomeric members 4217 must move a predetermined distance corresponding to the desired dose before the vent assembly 8310 opens and thus are tuned to ensure delivery of the desired dose during the interval of time required for dose delivery).
Regarding claim 7, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 6, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Edwards discloses (Claim 7) wherein: an initial portion of the composition is delivered at a rate that is less than two times a rate of the delivery of the final portion (see para. 0201 – the composition may be a viscous medicament and thus the apparatus 8000 is capable of being configured to deliver the viscous medicament with an initial portion delivered slower and the final portion being delivered faster due to the high viscosity).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified Edward, Edward discloses (Claim 8) wherein: the valve passageway (8346 in Fig. 68) defined by the valve member (8345 in Fig. 68) is sized to establish a venting duration (see para. 0270 – venting duration is interpreted as the duration of time the vent assembly 8310 is in the open position); the venting duration commences with a movement of the valve member (8345) relative to the vent opening (8112, see para. 0270).
In modified Edwards, Anderson discloses (Claim 8) the venting assembly is sized to establish a venting duration (see para. 0180 – the venting assembly is sized to establish a venting duration that extends the period of time needed to reduce the pressure in the gas chamber 20 which would be the duration of the vent opening and to the end of delivery), and the venting duration culminates with a delivery of a final portion of the composition (see para. 0180 – the venting duration as defined above ends culminates with the end of the delivery of the composition).
Regarding claim 9, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 8, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Anderson discloses (Claim 9) wherein: the venting duration is associated with a plurality of delivery properties of the composition (see para. 0114 – a specific propellant may be chosen if the drug is highly viscous and at a certain temperature to achieve the desired gas force in use and thus the venting duration which is the duration of time needed to reduce the gas force in the gas chamber 20 would be associated with both the viscosity and temperature of the drug).
Regarding claim 10, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Edwards discloses (Claim 10) wherein the medicament container assembly (4200 in Fig. 65) is a first medicament container assembly (see Fig. 65 and para. 0232), the container (4210 in Fig. 65) is a first container containing a first portion of the composition (see para. 0232), and the elastomeric member (4217 in Fig. 67) is a first elastomeric member (see para. 0232), the apparatus (8000) further comprising: a second medicament container assembly (4200 in Fig. 65) slidingly disposed within the housing (8100, see Fig. 73-75 and para. 0233), the second medicament container assembly (4200) being movable longitudinally between the proximal container position (see Fig. 73) and the distal container position (see Fig. 75) in response to the pressurized gas (see para. 0265), the second medicament container assembly (4200) including a second container (4210 in Fig. 65) containing a second portion of the composition and a second elastomeric member (4217 in Fig. 67) that seals the second portion of the composition within the second container (4210, see para. 0233).
Regarding claim 11, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 10, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Edwards discloses (Claim 11) wherein: the vent assembly (8310) includes a combined actuation member (8340 in Fig. 69 and 73) operably coupled between each of the first medicament container assembly (4200 in Fig. 73) and the second medicament container assembly (4200 in Fig. 73) and the valve member (8345 in Fig. 68, see Fig. 68-69 and 73 and para. 0256 and 0268 – actuation member 8340 is operably coupled to the elastomeric members 4217 and valve portion 8345 as seen in Fig. 68).
Regarding claim 12, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 11, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Edwards discloses (Claim 12) wherein: the combined actuation member (8340 in Fig. 69) includes a guide member (8344 in Fig. 69) positioned to interact with a portion (8116 in Fig. 64) of the housing (8100, see para. 0256 – actuation member 8340 comprises guide surface 8344 positioned to interact with guide slots 8116 of housing 8100); and the combined actuation member (8340) is configured to rotate about the guide member (8344) without affecting a position of the valve member (8345) relative to the vent opening (8112, see Fig. 76 and para. 0268 – Fig. 76 illustrates a degree of rotation of the actuation member 8340 about the guide member 8344 while the valve member 8345 is still in the closed configuration relative to the vent opening 8112).
Regarding claim 13, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 11, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Edwards discloses (Claim 13) wherein: the combined actuation member (8340) includes a first arm portion (8341A in Fig. 69) and a second arm portion (8341B in Fig. 69, see para. 0256); the first arm portion (8314A) is operably coupled to the first elastomeric member (4217, see Fig. 68 and para. 0256); and the second arm portion (8314B) is operably coupled to the second elastomeric member (4217, see Fig. 68 and para. 0256).
Regarding claim 14, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 10, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Edwards discloses (Claim 14) wherein: the vent assembly (8310) has a closed configuration (see Fig. 73) in which the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B) is fluidically isolated from the exterior volume (see para. 0265); the valve member (8345) is movable relative to the vent opening (8112) to transition the vent assembly (8310) to an open configuration (see Fig. 77) in which the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B) is in fluid communication with the exterior volume (see Fig. 77 and para. 0270); and the vent assembly (8310) is transitioned to the open configuration (see Fig. 77) on a condition that the first elastomeric member (4217) has moved a predetermined distance relative to the first container (4210) and the second elastomeric member (4217) has moved a predetermined distance relative to the second container (4210, see para. 0270).
Regarding claim 15, Edwards discloses the limitations (Claim 15) an apparatus (8000 in Fig. 59-78), comprising:
a housing (8100 in Fig. 62) defining a gas chamber (8139A, 8139B in Fig. 63, see para. 0234);
an energy storage member (8410 in Fig. 65) configured to release a pressurized gas into the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B) when the energy storage member (8410) is actuated (examiner notes the energy storage member is being interpreted under 112(f) as any device that stores potential energy and when actuated produces the pressurized gas, see para 0234 – energy storage member 8410 is a gas container containing and configured to release pressurized gas and is in fluid communication with the gas chambers 8139A and 8139B);
a medicament container assembly (4200 in Fig. 65) slidingly disposed within the housing (8100, see Fig. 73-75 and para. 0232-0233), the medicament container assembly (4200) being movable longitudinally between a proximal container position (see Fig. 73) and a distal container position (see Fig. 75) in response to the pressurized gas within the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B, see Fig. 73-75 and para. 0265), the medicament container assembly (4200) including a container (4210 in Fig. 67) containing a composition and an elastomeric member (4217 in Fig. 67) that seals the composition within the container (4210, see para. 0232-0233 and 0241 – medicament container assembly 4200 includes a first and second container 4210 each containing a composition and an elastomeric member 4217); and
a delivery control assembly (8310, 4380 in Fig.65 and 69) configured to regulate a magnitude of the pressurized gas within the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B, see para. 0252 – vent assembly 8310 and retraction spring 8340 form the delivery control assembly by regulating the magnitude of pressurized gas in chambers 8139A and 8139B), the delivery control assembly (8310, 4380) including:
a vent assembly (8310 in Fig. 67) configured to place the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B) in fluid communication with an exterior volume (see para. 0235), the vent assembly (8310) including a valve member (8345 in Fig. 68) configured to seal a vent opening (8112 in Fig. 68) defined by the housing (8100, see para. 0136 and 0235), the valve member (8345) being shaped to maintain a gas force produced by the pressurized gas within the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B) at a magnitude that is greater than a force applied by a retraction spring (4380 in Fig. 65) during a time to dispense a delivered volume of the composition (see para. 0256 – valve portion 8345 defines passageway 8346, see para. 0270), the valve member (8345) being shaped such that the gas force decreases to a magnitude that is less than the force applied by the retraction spring (4380) after the dispensing of the delivery volume (see para. 0270).
While Edwards, discloses the vent assembly being configured such that the gas force decreases to a magnitude that is less than the force applied by the retraction spring after the dispensing of the delivery volume when the gas pressure within the gas chamber decreases below a threshold, Edwards fails to disclose instead, this occurring concurrent with a completion of the dispensing of the delivery volume.
Anderson discloses an injection device (see Fig. 14C) containing a drug, a piston (16 in Fig. 14C), an energy storage member in the force of a propellant source (21 in para. 0109), wherein the propellant pressurizes a gas chamber (20 in Fig. 14C) which applies a gas force to first translate a syringe (12 in Fig. 14C0 and then translate the piston (16) to expel the volume of drug (see Fig. 14C and para. 0177-0180). A venting assembly may be present such that when the pressure in the gas chamber (20) drops below a predetermined threshold that is less than the force applied by a retraction spring (632 in Fig. 14C), retraction of the syringe (12) occurs (see para. 0180). Anderson teaches (Claim 15) that the venting assembly may be shaped such that venting occurs during delivery of the volume of drug and allows for needle retraction to occur concurrent with the completion of delivery of the volume of drug (see para. 0180).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the delivery control assembly taught by Edwards to incorporate the vent assembly configured such that the gas force decreases to a magnitude that is less than the force applied by the retraction spring concurrent with a completion of the dispensing of the delivery volume as taught by Anderson. Such a configuration would allow the gas chamber to vent any overpressure that could occur upon initial puncture of the compressed gas container, and having the needle retraction be triggered concurrent with the completion of drug delivery ensures that the needle is not exposed to the user thereby preventing needle stick injuries (see para. 0180-0182).
Regarding claim 16, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 15, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Edwards discloses (Claim 16) wherein: the shape of the valve member (8345 in Fig. 68) defines a valve passageway (8346 in Fig. 68, see para. 0256); the valve passageway (8346) is sealed within the vent opening (8112) on a condition that the vent assembly (8310) is in a closed configuration (see Fig. 68 and para. 0235); and the valve passageway (8346) is separated from the vent opening (8112) on a condition that the vent assembly (8310) is in an open configuration (see Fig. 77) to permit passage of the pressurized gas at a rate that maintains the gas force within the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B) at the magnitude that is greater than the force applied by the retraction spring (4380 in Fig. 65) during the time to dispense the delivered volume of the composition (see para. 0270).
Regarding claim 17, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 15, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Edwards discloses (Claim 17) the valve passageway (8346) defined by the valve member (8345).
In modified Edwards, Anderson discloses (Claim 17) wherein: the venting assembly is sized to achieve a desired rate of decrease of a force acting on the medicament container assembly (12 in Fig. 14C) during the dispensing of the delivery volume (see para. 0180 – venting assembly is sized to allow venting during dispensing of the dose and to have the retraction spring 632 be triggered at the end of delivery and thus is sized to achieve a desired rate of decrease of force acting on the container 12 during dispensing).
Regarding claim 18, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 17, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Anderson discloses (Claim 18) wherein: the desired rate of decrease of the force is associated with a plurality of delivery properties of the composition (see para. 0114 – a specific propellant may be chosen if the drug is highly viscous and at a certain temperature to achieve the desired gas force in use, and thus the rate of decrease of the gas force achieve by the venting assembly which aligns retraction with the end of the delivery is associated with both the viscosity and temperature of the drug).
Regarding claim 19, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 15, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Edwards discloses (Claim 19) the valve passageway (8346) defined by the valve member (8345).
In modified Edwards, Anderson discloses (Claim 19) wherein: the venting assembly is sized and shaped to yield a design retraction initiation timing while maintaining a design delivery rate of the composition (see para. 0180 – venting assembly is configured to cause retraction of the syringe 12 at a specific timepoint at the end of delivery while maintaining the delivery rate of the composition before said timepoint).
Regarding claim 20, modified Edwards discloses the apparatus of claim 15, as discussed above. In modified Edwards, Edwards discloses (Claim 20) wherein: the shape of the valve passageway (8346 in Fig. 68) defined by the valve member (8345 in Fig. 68) is tuned to ensure a delivery of a final portion of the composition during a final delivery interval (the vent assembly 8310 including valve passageway 8346 are configured such that the elastomeric members 4217 must move a predetermined distance corresponding to the desired dose before the vent assembly 8310 opens and thus are tuned to ensure delivery of the desired dose during the interval of time required for dose delivery).
assembly be capable of performing the method step of the limitation, see para. 0270).
Regarding claim 21, Edwards discloses the limitations (Claim 21) an apparatus (8000 in Fig. 59-78), comprising:
a housing (8100 in Fig. 62) defining a gas chamber (8139A, 8139B in Fig. 63, see para. 0234);
an energy storage member (8410 in Fig. 65) configured to release a pressurized gas into the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B) when the energy storage member (8410) is actuated (examiner notes the energy storage member is being interpreted under 112(f) as any device that stores potential energy and when actuated produces the pressurized gas, see para 0234 – energy storage member 8410 is a gas container containing and configured to release pressurized gas and is in fluid communication with the gas chambers 8139A and 8139B);
a medicament container assembly (4200 in Fig. 65) disposed within the housing (8100, see Fig. 73-75 and para. 0232-0233), the medicament container assembly (4200) being movable longitudinally between a proximal container position (see Fig. 73) and a distal container position (see Fig. 75) in response to a gas force produced by the pressurized gas within the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B, see Fig. 73-75 and para. 0265), the medicament container assembly (4200) including a container (4210 in Fig. 67) containing a composition and an elastomeric member (4217 in Fig. 67) that seals the composition within the container (4210, see para. 0232-0233 and 0241 – medicament container assembly 4200 includes a first and second container 4210 each containing a composition and an elastomeric member 4217); the elastomeric member (4217) configured to move from a first position (see Fig. 75) to a second position (see Fig. 76) in response to the gas force to convey a delivery volume of the composition (see para. 0267 and 0270); and
a delivery control assembly (8310, 4380 in Fig.65 and 69) coupled to the container assembly (4200) configured to regulate a magnitude of the pressurized gas within the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B, see Fig. 65 and para. 0252 – vent assembly 8310 and retraction spring 8340 form the delivery control assembly by regulating the magnitude of pressurized gas in chambers 8139A and 8139B), the delivery control assembly (8310, 4380), the delivery control assembly (8310, 4380) including a valve member (8345 in Fig. 68) configured to move between a closed configuration (see Fig. 68) and an opened configuration (see Fig. 77) to place the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B) in fluid communication with an exterior volume surrounding the housing (8100, see para. 0235 for closed configuration and para. 0270 for opened configuration), the valve member (8345) configured to seal a vent opening (8112 in Fig. 68) defined by the housing (8100) on a condition that the valve member (8345) is in the closed configuration (see para. 0136 and 0235), the valve member (8345) being shaped to maintain a force produced by the pressurized gas within the gas chamber (8139A, 8139B) at a magnitude that is greater than a force applied by a retraction spring (4380 in Fig. 65) to dispense a delivered volume of the composition (see para. 0270).
While Edwards discloses the vent assembly being configured to maintain a force produced by the pressurized gas within the gas chamber at a magnitude that is greater than a force applied by a retraction before the delivery of the drug is over (see para. 0270), Edwards fails to disclose instead, this occurring during a venting duration time. Examiner notes in light of the 112(b) rejection above this limitation is being interpreted as the valve is shaped to maintain the gas force produced by the pressurized gas within the gas chamber at a magnitude that is greater than a force applied by a retracting spring during a venting duration to dispense the delivered volume of the composition. Examiner further notes the venting duration time is being interpreted as the amount of time the vent assembly is in the open configuration until the final portion of the dose is delivered.
Anderson discloses an injection device (see Fig. 14C) containing a drug, a piston (16 in Fig. 14C), an energy storage member in the force of a propellant source (21 in para. 0109), wherein the propellant pressurizes a gas chamber (20 in Fig. 14C) which applies a gas force to first translate a syringe (12 in Fig. 14C0 and then translate the piston (16) to expel the volume of drug (see Fig. 14C and para. 0177-0180). A venting assembly may be present such that when the pressure in the gas chamber (20) drops below a predetermined threshold that is less than the force applied by a retraction spring (632 in Fig. 14C), retraction of the syringe (12) occurs (see para. 0180). Anderson teaches (Claim 21) that the venting assembly may be shaped such that venting occurs during delivery of the volume of drug and thus is configured to maintain the gas force on the syringe (12) at a magnitude that is greater than the force applied by the retraction spring (632) during a venting duration time (see para. 0180 – venting duration is interpreted as the amount of time needed to reduce the pressure in gas chamber 20 and thus the amount of time the venting assembly is open for venting until the end of delivery).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the delivery control assembly taught by Edwards to incorporate the vent assembly configured such that venting occurs during delivery of the volume of drug and thus is configured to maintain the gas force on the syringe at a magnitude that is greater than the force applied by the retraction spring during a venting duration time taught by Anderson. Such a configuration would allow the gas chamber to vent any overpressure that could occur upon initial puncture of the compressed gas container, and having the needle retraction be triggered concurrent with the completion of drug delivery ensures that the needle is not exposed to the user thereby preventing needle stick injuries (see para. 0180-0182).
Conclusion
/K.M.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/COURTNEY FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783