DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Examiner’s Note
Although Applicant’s request to participate in the Patent Prosecution Highway (PPH) has been granted, the examiner is unable to allow the application at this stage of prosecution due to several deficiencies. Further, no prior art has been found for claims 1-14, 19, and 20. However, they are each subject to one or more deficiencies as elaborated throughout this Office Action.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12461780 (hereinafter ‘780). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘780 patent anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12079661 (hereinafter ‘661). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘661 patent anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12340246 (hereinafter ‘246). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘246 patent anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “task buffer”, “task queue”, “runtime handle” in claim 1; “task manager” in claim 11, “task passage” and “done passage” in claim 12, “task buffer, “task queue” in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitations “task buffer”, “task queue”, “runtime handle” in claim 1; “task manager” in claim 11, “task passage” and “done passage” in claim 12, “task buffer, “task queue” in claim 13 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the functions. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 17, it is not clear where or when the run signal is provided. Is it provided or placed after a waiting state in a data structure? Is it provided after the waiting state expires?
With respect to claim 18, it is not clear where or when the run signal is provided. Is it provided or placed before a waiting state in a data structure? Is it provided before the waiting state expires?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (US 2017/0270053) in view of Lippett (US 2007/0220517).
With respect to claim 15, Brown discloses:
receiving, by a task queue of the processing device, a task descriptor, wherein the task descriptor comprises a wait field associated with control of an execution time of the task ([0066], Fig. 2 where 201a-203a are task descriptors, 201b-203b are operations which are interpreted to correspond to Applicant’s “task/s”, the operations 201b-203b are depicted in an order and is interpreted to function like Applicant’s “queue” which essentially stores a list of date or commands retrievable in a definite order);
checking, by a runtime handle of the processing device, whether the task descriptor includes the wait field for the task ([0089], checking whether a wait condition needs to be satisfied by checking the wait field corresponds to Applicant’s checking whether the descriptor includes the wait field); and
determining, by the runtime handle, a state of the task descriptor as a run state or a waiting state, based on whether the task descriptor includes the wait field ([0089]- [0090]).
Brown discloses a processing device, but not a neural processing device.
However, Lippett discloses a neural processing device (col. 2, lines 22-31).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate neural processing devices as taught by Lippett to accelerate artificial intelligence and machine learning tasks with far greater power efficiency, faster real time responses then a generic processing device. It also frees up generic CPU/GPUs for other work.
With respect to claim 16, Brown discloses: releasing, by the runtime handle, the waiting state of the task descriptor based on a run signal provided from a command processor of the neural processing device ([0089]-[0090], where the event corresponds to Applicant’s “run signal”).
With respect to claim 17, Brown discloses: wherein the run signal is provided after a waiting state of the task descriptor (id. dependent on whether the event meets the wait value, i.e., the wait value may be less or more).
With respect to claim 18, Brown discloses: wherein the run signal is provided before a waiting state of the task descriptor ([0089]-[0090], dependent on whether the event meets the wait value, i.e., the wait value may be less or more).
Conclusion
/WISSAM RASHID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195