DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 and 19 are objected to because “an upper surface of aft panel link” appears to be in error for “an upper surface of the aft panel link”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. “at least one link” is indefinite because it is unclear if it is the same or different from the “at least one link” of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-10, 12, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0126340 (Lair) in view of US 2023/0192308 (Gardel).
Regarding claim 1, 9-10, Lair teaches an exhaust nozzle for a turbine engine (Fig 1, abstract, para 20), the exhaust nozzle comprising an outer nozzle case arranged to extend around a central axis (exhaust nozzle 20 including thrust reverser 22; nozzle is annular around a centerline axis – Fig 3), the outer nozzle case having an outer surface facing away from the central axis and an opposite inner surface facing toward the central axis and defining an interior space radially inwardly from the inner surface (Fig 1-3, outer surface of case comprising 30, 34 and/or the portion of the engine case upstream of the thrust reverser panels 24 and 26; inner surface facing radially inward), and a thrust reverser coupled to the outer nozzle case and configured to redirect the hot exhaust gases to provide reverse thrust in a forward direction opposite the aft direction (Fig 2, para 20-23), the thrust reverser including a first thrust reverser panel (24) coupled to the outer nozzle case and an actuator system (actuator system including 34 and the actuators within) coupled with the first thrust reverser panel and configured to move the first thrust reverser panel between and including a stored configuration (Fig 1) and a reverse-thrust configuration (Fig 2) in which the first thrust reverser panel is spaced apart from the outer surface of the outer nozzle case to direct at least a portion of the hot exhaust air exiting the exhaust outlet in the forward direction and radially outward (para 20-23, Fig 2), wherein, in the stored configuration, the first thrust reverser panel and a portion of the actuator system provide a portion of an exterior surface of the exhaust nozzle (actuator system is construed as including 34, which forms part of the exterior surface of the nozzle – see Fig 1, para 23), the thrust reverser further includes a second thrust reverser panel coupled to the outer nozzle case and located on an opposite side of the outer nozzle case from the first thrust reverser panel and coupled to the actuator system (second panel 26 – Fig 1), and wherein the actuator system is configured to move the second thrust reverser panel between and including a stored configuration and a reverse-thrust configuration in which the second thrust reverser panel is spaced apart from the outer surface of the outer nozzle case to direct at least a portion of the hot exhaust air exiting the exhaust outlet in the forward direction and radially outward (Fig 2, para 20-23), wherein, in the stored configuration, the second thrust reverser panel and a further portion of the actuator system provide a further portion of the exterior surface of the exhaust nozzle (para 23; “further portion of the actuator system” comprises panel 34 on the other side of the engine).
Lair fails to teach a nozzle plug located at least partially within the interior space and along the central axis and configured to interact with hot exhaust gases flowing through the interior space in an aft direction to guide the hot exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case. However, Gardel teaches a nozzle plug located at least partially within the interior space and along the central axis and configured to interact with hot exhaust gases flowing through the interior space in an aft direction to guide the hot exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case (Fig 4-6, nozzle plug 52 is within the primary flow/hot exhaust gas flow PV, and guides exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case – the outlet of the primary flowpath or the outlet of the secondary flowpath). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a nozzle plug located at least partially within the interior space and along the central axis and configured to interact with hot exhaust gases flowing through the interior space in an aft direction to guide the hot exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case, as taught by Gardel. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, a nozzle plug located at least partially within the interior space and along the central axis and configured to interact with hot exhaust gases flowing through the interior space in an aft direction to guide the hot exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case yields predictable results (guiding flow out of the exhaust).
Regarding claim 12, 17, Lair teaches an exhaust nozzle for a turbine engine (Fig 1, abstract, para 20), the exhaust nozzle comprising an outer nozzle case arranged to extend around a central axis (exhaust nozzle 20 including thrust reverser 22), the outer nozzle case having an outer surface facing away from the central axis and an opposite inner surface facing toward the central axis and defining an interior space radially inwardly from the inner surface (Fig 1-3, outer surface of case comprising 30, 34 and/or the portion of the engine case upstream of the thrust reverser panels 24 and 26; inner surface facing radially inward), and a thrust reverser coupled to the outer nozzle case and configured to redirect the hot exhaust gases to provide reverse thrust in a forward direction opposite the aft direction (Fig 2, para 20-23), the thrust reverser including a first thrust reverser panel (24) coupled to the outer nozzle case and an actuator system (actuator system including 34 and the actuators within) coupled with the first thrust reverser panel and configured to move the first thrust reverser panel between and including a stored configuration (Fig 1) and a reverse-thrust configuration (Fig 2) in which the first thrust reverser panel is spaced apart from the outer surface of the outer nozzle case to direct at least a portion of the hot exhaust air exiting the exhaust outlet in the forward direction and radially outward (para 20-23, Fig 2), wherein the outer nozzle case further includes a first actuator cavity formed between the outer surface of the outer nozzle case and the inner surface of the outer nozzle case, and wherein a portion of the actuator system is arranged within the first actuator cavity (Fig 1-2; actuator cavity inside of 34; a portion of the actuator system – e.g. the linkages - is within the cavity – see para 20-23), wherein, in the stored configuration, the first thrust reverser panel and a portion of the actuator system provide a portion of an exterior surface of the exhaust nozzle (34 is construed as a portion of the actuator system; 24 and 34 form a portion of the exterior surface – Fig 1).
Lair fails to teach a nozzle plug located at least partially within the interior space and along the central axis and configured to interact with hot exhaust gases flowing through the interior space in an aft direction to guide the hot exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case. However, Gardel teaches a nozzle plug located at least partially within the interior space and along the central axis and configured to interact with hot exhaust gases flowing through the interior space in an aft direction to guide the hot exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case (Fig 4-6, nozzle plug 52 is within the primary flow/hot exhaust gas flow PV, and guides exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case – the outlet of the primary flowpath or the outlet of the secondary flowpath). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a nozzle plug located at least partially within the interior space and along the central axis and configured to interact with hot exhaust gases flowing through the interior space in an aft direction to guide the hot exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case, as taught by Gardel. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, a nozzle plug located at least partially within the interior space and along the central axis and configured to interact with hot exhaust gases flowing through the interior space in an aft direction to guide the hot exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case yields predictable results (guiding flow out of the exhaust).
Regarding claim 20, Lair teaches a method, comprising arranging an outer nozzle case to extend around a central axis (Fig 1-3, abstract, para 20; nozzle is annular around a centerline axis – Fig 3), the outer nozzle case having an outer surface facing away from the central axis and an opposite inner surface facing toward the central axis and defining an interior space radially inwardly from the inner surface (Fig 1-3, outer surface of case comprising 30, 34 and/or the portion of the engine case upstream of the thrust reverser panels 24 and 26; inner surface facing radially inward), and coupling a thrust reverser to the outer nozzle case, the thrust reverser being configured to redirect the hot exhaust gases to provide reverse thrust in a forward direction opposite the aft direction, the thrust reverser including a first thrust reverser panel coupled to the outer nozzle case and an actuator system coupled with the first thrust reverser panel and configured to move the first thrust reverser panel between and including a stored configuration (Fig 1) and a reverse-thrust configuration (Fig 2) in which the first thrust reverser panel is spaced apart from the outer surface of the outer nozzle case to direct at least a portion of the hot exhaust air exiting the exhaust outlet in the forward direction and radially outward (Fig 2-3; para 20-23; first panel 24; actuators inside of 34), wherein, in the stored configuration, the first thrust reverser panel and a portion of the actuator system provide a portion of an exterior surface of the exhaust nozzle (actuator system is construed as including 34, which forms part of the exterior surface of the nozzle – see Fig 1, para 23).
Lair fails to teach arranging a nozzle plug at least partially within the interior space and along the central axis and configured to interact with hot exhaust gases flowing through the interior space in an aft direction to guide the hot exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case. However, Gardel teaches arranging a nozzle plug located at least partially within the interior space and along the central axis and configured to interact with hot exhaust gases flowing through the interior space in an aft direction to guide the hot exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case (Fig 4-6, nozzle plug 52 is within the primary flow/hot exhaust gas flow PV, and guides exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case – the outlet of the primary flowpath or the outlet of the secondary flowpath). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrange a nozzle plug located at least partially within the interior space and along the central axis and configured to interact with hot exhaust gases flowing through the interior space in an aft direction to guide the hot exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case, as taught by Gardel. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, arranging a nozzle plug located at least partially within the interior space and along the central axis and configured to interact with hot exhaust gases flowing through the interior space in an aft direction to guide the hot exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case yields predictable results (guiding flow out of the exhaust).
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0126340 (Lair) in view of US 2023/0192308 (Gardel), and further in view of US 2023/0175457 (Gormley).
Regarding claim 13-16, Lair in view of Gardel fails to teach the actuator system includes a first actuator coupled to the first thrust reverser panel including a first actuator mount fixed to the outer nozzle case and a first link mover configured to move the first thrust reverser panel between the stored configuration and the thrust-reverse configuration, the first actuator mount is arranged within the first actuator cavity, the first actuator further includes a first plurality of panel links coupled between the outer nozzle case and the first thrust reverser panel, wherein the first link mover extends between the first actuator mount and at least one link included in the first plurality of panel links, and wherein, in the stored configuration, the first actuator mount and the first link mover are arranged within the first actuator cavity, wherein, in the stored configuration, the first actuator mount, the first link mover, and the first plurality of panel links are arranged within the first actuator cavity. However, Gormley teaches a first actuator coupled to the first thrust reverser panel including a first actuator mount fixed to the outer nozzle case and a first link mover configured to move the first thrust reverser panel between the stored configuration and the thrust-reverse configuration (Fig 8, 10; para 52; link mover 122 coupled to an actuator mount 118 fixed to outer nozzle case 56), the first actuator mount is arranged within the first actuator cavity (actuator cavity within fairing 112), the first actuator further includes a first plurality of panel links coupled between the outer nozzle case and the first thrust reverser panel, wherein the first link mover extends between the first actuator mount and at least one link included in the first plurality of panel links (panel links 138, 124, 126 – para 53), and wherein, in the stored configuration, the first actuator mount and the first link mover are arranged within the first actuator cavity (Fig 8, 10), wherein, in the stored configuration, the first actuator mount, the first link mover, and the first plurality of panel links are arranged within the first actuator cavity (Fig 8; it is also noted that Lair teaches the links extending from within the first actuator cavity). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the actuator system including a first actuator coupled to the first thrust reverser panel including a first actuator mount fixed to the outer nozzle case and a first link mover configured to move the first thrust reverser panel between the stored configuration and the thrust-reverse configuration, the first actuator mount is arranged within the first actuator cavity, the first actuator further includes a first plurality of panel links coupled between the outer nozzle case and the first thrust reverser panel, wherein the first link mover extends between the first actuator mount and at least one link included in the first plurality of panel links, and wherein, in the stored configuration, the first actuator mount and the first link mover are arranged within the first actuator cavity, wherein, in the stored configuration, the first actuator mount, the first link mover, and the first plurality of panel links are arranged within the first actuator cavity, as taught by Gormley. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, the actuator system including a first actuator coupled to the first thrust reverser panel including a first actuator mount fixed to the outer nozzle case and a first link mover configured to move the first thrust reverser panel between the stored configuration and the thrust-reverse configuration, the first actuator mount is arranged within the first actuator cavity, the first actuator further includes a first plurality of panel links coupled between the outer nozzle case and the first thrust reverser panel, wherein the first link mover extends between the first actuator mount and at least one link included in the first plurality of panel links, and wherein, in the stored configuration, the first actuator mount and the first link mover are arranged within the first actuator cavity, wherein, in the stored configuration, the first actuator mount, the first link mover, and the first plurality of panel links are arranged within the first actuator cavity yields predictable results (mounting the actuator system and coupling it to the thrust reverser panels).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15, 16, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12228096. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined claims are anticipated by or would have been obvious over the reference claims, as presented below.
12228096 Claim 15, 16, 18
Claim 1-3, 6-11
Claim 15: An exhaust nozzle for a turbine engine, the exhaust nozzle comprising an outer nozzle case arranged to extend around a central axis, the outer nozzle case having an outer surface facing away from the central axis and an opposite inner surface facing toward the central axis and defining an interior space radially inwardly from the inner surface,
Claim 1: An exhaust nozzle for a turbine engine, the exhaust nozzle comprising an outer nozzle case arranged to extend around a central axis, the outer nozzle case having an outer surface facing away from the central axis and an opposite inner surface facing toward the central axis and defining an interior space radially inwardly from the inner surface,
a nozzle plug located at least partially within the interior space and along the central axis and configured to interact with hot exhaust gases flowing through the interior space in an aft direction to guide the hot exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case,
a nozzle plug located at least partially within the interior space and along the central axis and configured to interact with hot exhaust gases flowing through the interior space in an aft direction to guide the hot exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case,
and a thrust reverser coupled to the outer nozzle case and configured to redirect the hot exhaust gases to provide reverse thrust in a forward direction opposite the aft direction, the thrust reverser including a first thrust reverser panel coupled to the outer nozzle case, a second thrust reverser panel coupled to the outer nozzle case and located on an opposite side of the outer nozzle case from the first thrust reverser panel,
and a thrust reverser coupled to the outer nozzle case and configured to redirect the hot exhaust gases to provide reverse thrust in a forward direction opposite the aft direction, the thrust reverser including a first thrust reverser panel coupled to the outer nozzle case
and an actuator system coupled with the first and second thrust reverser panels and configured to move the first and second thrust reverser panels between: (i) a stored configuration, in which the first and second thrust reverser panels are in contact with the outer surface of the outer nozzle case
and an actuator system coupled with the first thrust reverser panel and configured to move the first thrust reverser panel between and including a stored configuration
and (ii) a reverse-thrust configuration, in which the first and second thrust reverser panels are spaced apart from the outer surface of the outer nozzle case and engage the exhaust nozzle plug aft of the exhaust outlet to direct at least a portion of the hot exhaust air exiting the exhaust outlet in the forward direction and radially outward away from the central axis
and a reverse-thrust configuration in which the first thrust reverser panel is spaced apart from the outer surface of the outer nozzle case to direct at least a portion of the hot exhaust air exiting the exhaust outlet in the forward direction and radially outward,
and wherein, in the stored configuration, the first and second thrust reverser panels and at least one link included in the first plurality of links of the actuator system provide a portion of an exterior surface of the exhaust nozzle such that the first and second thrust reverser panels and the at least one link included in the first plurality of links are approximately flush with the outer surface of the outer nozzle case.
wherein, in the stored configuration, the first thrust reverser panel and a portion of the actuator system provide a portion of an exterior surface of the exhaust nozzle.
wherein the actuator system includes a first actuator coupled to the first thrust reverser panel and a second actuator coupled to the second thrust reverser panel, the first actuator includes a first actuator mount fixed to the outer nozzle case, a first plurality of panel links coupled between the outer nozzle case and the first thrust reverser panel, and a first link mover extending between the first actuator mount and at least one link included in the first plurality of panel links and configured to move the first thrust reverser panel between the stored configuration and the thrust-reverse configuration,
Claim 2: wherein the actuator system includes a first plurality of panel links coupled between the outer nozzle case and the first thrust reverser panel
and wherein, in the stored configuration, the first and second thrust reverser panels and at least one link included in the first plurality of links of the actuator system provide a portion of an exterior surface of the exhaust nozzle such that the first and second thrust reverser panels and the at least one link included in the first plurality of links are approximately flush with the outer surface of the outer nozzle case.
Claim 2: and wherein, in the stored configuration, the first thrust reverser panel and at least one link included in the first plurality of links of the actuator system is the portion of the actuator system that provides the portion of the exterior surface of the exhaust nozzle such that the first thrust reverser panel and the at least one link included in the first plurality of links are approximately flush with the outer surface of the outer nozzle case.
(i) a stored configuration, in which the first and second thrust reverser panels are in contact with the outer surface of the outer nozzle case and (ii) a reverse-thrust configuration, in which the first and second thrust reverser panels are spaced apart from the outer surface of the outer nozzle case and engage the exhaust nozzle plug aft of the exhaust outlet to direct at least a portion of the hot exhaust air exiting the exhaust outlet in the forward direction and radially outward away from the central axis through first and second reverse thrust passageways defined between the nozzle plug and an inner surface of the thrust reverser panel,
Claim 3: wherein, in the stored configuration, the first thrust reverser panel is in contact with the outer surface of the outer nozzle case and, in the reverse-thrust configuration, the first thrust reverser panel engages the exhaust nozzle plug aft of the exhaust outlet to direct at least a portion of the hot exhaust air exiting the exhaust outlet in the forward direction and radially outward away from the central axis through a first reverse thrust passageway defined between the nozzle plug and an inner surface of the first thrust reverser panel.
wherein the actuator system includes a first actuator coupled to the first thrust reverser panel and a second actuator coupled to the second thrust reverser panel, the first actuator includes a first actuator mount fixed to the outer nozzle case, a first plurality of panel links coupled between the outer nozzle case and the first thrust reverser panel, and a first link mover extending between the first actuator mount and at least one link included in the first plurality of panel links and configured to move the first thrust reverser panel between the stored configuration and the thrust-reverse configuration,
Claim 6: the actuator system includes a first actuator coupled to the first thrust reverser panel including a first actuator mount fixed to the outer nozzle case, the first plurality of panel links coupled between the outer nozzle case and the first thrust reverser panel, and a first link mover extending between the first actuator mount and at least one link included in the first plurality of panel links and configured to move the first thrust reverser panel between the stored configuration and the thrust-reverse configuration.
Claim 16: the first and second plurality of panel links each include: (i) a forward panel link having a first end coupled to the outer nozzle case and an opposite, second end coupled to a respective one of the first and second thrust reverser panels, and (ii) an aft panel link having a first end coupled to the outer nozzle case and an opposite, second end coupled to the respective one of the first and second thrust reverser panels
Claim 7: wherein the first plurality of panel links includes an aft panel link pivotably coupled to the outer nozzle case and pivotably coupled to the first thrust reverser panel, wherein the first plurality of panel links further includes a forward panel link pivotably coupled to the outer nozzle case and pivotably coupled to the first thrust reverser panel forward of the aft panel link,
Claim 18: wherein the first link mover is coupled to the first actuator mount for pivotable movement about a first mover pivot axis and is coupled to the forward panel link
Claim 7: and wherein the first link mover is pivotably coupled to the forward panel link.
Claim 15: a first actuator coupled to the first thrust reverser panel and a second actuator coupled to the second thrust reverser panel, the first actuator ... configured to move the first thrust reverser panel between the stored configuration and the thrust-reverse configuration
Claim 8: the first actuator is configured to remain activated while the first thrust reverser panel is in the thrust-reverse configuration so as to apply a force to the first thrust reverser panel and hold the first thrust reverser panel in the thrust-reverse configuration (remaining active would have been obvious to keep the panel in position).
Claim 15: a second thrust reverser panel coupled to the outer nozzle case and located on an opposite side of the outer nozzle case from the first thrust reverser panel, and an actuator system coupled with the first and second thrust reverser panels and configured to move the first and second thrust reverser panels between: (i) a stored configuration, in which the first and second thrust reverser panels are in contact with the outer surface of the outer nozzle case and (ii) a reverse-thrust configuration, in which the first and second thrust reverser panels are spaced apart from the outer surface of the outer nozzle case and engage the exhaust nozzle plug aft of the exhaust outlet to direct at least a portion of the hot exhaust air exiting the exhaust outlet in the forward direction and radially outward away from the central axis
Claim 9: the thrust reverser further includes a second thrust reverser panel coupled to the outer nozzle case and located on an opposite side of the outer nozzle case from the first thrust reverser panel and coupled to the actuator system, and wherein the actuator system is configured to move the second thrust reverser panel between and including a stored configuration and a reverse-thrust configuration in which the second thrust reverser panel is spaced apart from the outer surface of the outer nozzle case to direct at least a portion of the hot exhaust air exiting the exhaust outlet in the forward direction and radially outward.
Claim 15: wherein, in the stored configuration, the first and second thrust reverser panels and at least one link included in the first plurality of links of the actuator system provide a portion of an exterior surface of the exhaust nozzle
Claim 10: wherein, in the stored configuration, the second thrust reverser panel and a further portion of the actuator system provide a further portion of the exterior surface of the exhaust nozzle.
Claim 15: a second plurality of panel links coupled between the outer nozzle case and the second thrust reverser panel, and a second link mover extending between the second actuator mount and at least one link included in the second plurality of panel links and configured to move the second thrust reverser panel between the stored configuration and the thrust-reverse configuration, and wherein, in the stored configuration, the first and second thrust reverser panels and at least one link included in the first plurality of links of the actuator system provide a portion of an exterior surface of the exhaust nozzle such that the first and second thrust reverser panels and the at least one link included in the first plurality of links are approximately flush with the outer surface of the outer nozzle case.
Claim 11: the actuator system further includes a second plurality of panel links coupled between the outer nozzle case and the second thrust reverser panel, and wherein, in the stored configuration, the second thrust reverser panel and at least one link included in the second plurality of links of the actuator system is the portion of the actuator system that provides the further portion of the exterior surface of the exhaust nozzle such that the second thrust reverser panel and the at least one link included in the second plurality of links are approximately flush with the outer surface of the outer nozzle case.
Claim 12-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12228096 (Pesyna) in view of US 2009/0126340 (Lair).
Regarding claim 12-18, Pesyna teaches an exhaust nozzle for a turbine engine, the exhaust nozzle comprising an outer nozzle case arranged to extend around a central axis, the outer nozzle case having an outer surface facing away from the central axis and an opposite inner surface facing toward the central axis and defining an interior space radially inwardly from the inner surface (cl 15 ll. 23-29), a nozzle plug located at least partially within the interior space and along the central axis and configured to interact with hot exhaust gases flowing through the interior space in an aft direction to guide the hot exhaust gases out of the interior space through an exhaust outlet at an aft end of the outer nozzle case (ll. 30-35), and a thrust reverser coupled to the outer nozzle case and configured to redirect the hot exhaust gases to provide reverse thrust in a forward direction opposite the aft direction, the thrust reverser including a first thrust reverser panel coupled to the outer nozzle case and an actuator system coupled with the first thrust reverser panel and configured to move the first thrust reverser panel between and including a stored configuration and a reverse-thrust configuration in which the first thrust reverser panel is spaced apart from the outer surface of the outer nozzle case to direct at least a portion of the hot exhaust air exiting the exhaust outlet in the forward direction and radially outward (ll. 36-58), the actuator system includes a first actuator coupled to the first thrust reverser panel including a first actuator mount fixed to the outer nozzle case and a first link mover configured to move the first thrust reverser panel between the stored configuration and the thrust-reverse configuration (col 18 ll. 59-col 19 l. 3), the first actuator further includes a first plurality of panel links coupled between the outer nozzle case and the first thrust reverser panel, wherein the first link mover extends between the first actuator mount and at least one link included in the first plurality of panel links (col 18 ll. 59-col 19 l. 3), wherein, in the stored configuration, the first thrust reverser panel and a portion of the actuator system provide a portion of an exterior surface of the exhaust nozzle (col 19 ll. 12-16), wherein the actuator system includes a first plurality of panel links coupled between the outer nozzle case and the first thrust reverser panel (col 18 ll. 59-65), and wherein, in the stored configuration, the first thrust reverser panel and at least one link included in the first plurality of links of the actuator system is the portion of the actuator system that provides the portion of the exterior surface of the exhaust nozzle such that the first thrust reverser panel and the at least one link included in the first plurality of links are approximately flush with the outer surface of the outer nozzle case (col 19 ll. 12-19).
Pesyna fails to teach wherein the outer nozzle case further includes a first actuator cavity formed between the outer surface of the outer nozzle case and the inner surface of the outer nozzle case, and wherein a portion of the actuator system is arranged within the first actuator cavity, wherein, in the stored configuration, the first actuator mount, the first link mover, and the first plurality of panel links are arranged within the first actuator cavity. However, Lair teaches the outer nozzle case further includes a first actuator cavity formed between the outer surface of the outer nozzle case and the inner surface of the outer nozzle case, and wherein, in the stored configuration, the first actuator mount, the first link mover, and the first plurality of panel links are arranged within the first actuator cavity (Fig 1-2; actuator cavity inside of 34; a portion of the actuator system – e.g. the linkages - is within the cavity – see para 20-23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the outer nozzle case further includes a first actuator cavity formed between the outer surface of the outer nozzle case and the inner surface of the outer nozzle case, and wherein a portion of the actuator system is arranged within the first actuator cavity, wherein, in the stored configuration, the first actuator mount, the first link mover, and the first plurality of panel links are arranged within the first actuator cavity in order to mount and couple the actuator, and to reduce aerodynamic drag, as taught by Lair.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach, in combination with the other claim limitations, an upper surface of the aft panel link is flush with the outer surface of the outer nozzle case.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5794433 teaches an actuator system at least partially positioned inside an actuator cavity (Fig 2-3).
/ANDREW H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741