DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiba (US 2017/0256450 A1) in view of Peng (US 2019/0103485 A1) in view of Clendenning (US 2018/0130707 A1).
Claims 1, 7-8:
Chiba teaches a method for filling a recess with germanium based film (abstract).
Claimed step 1: preparing a substrate with a plurality of recesses (Fig. 4A).
Claimed step 2: depositing a silicon-containing film along surfaces of the plurality of recesses (Fig. 2B). Film 203 is amorphous silicon [0021].
Claimed step 4: The amorphous silicon film is etched to leave a U-shaped portion (Fig. 2C) [0024].
Thereafter, the trench is filled with the germanium based film (Fig. 2D) [0027].
Chiba does not teach a substrate having a plurality of recesses each having an opening with a different width or claimed step 3 utilizing a carbon hard mask.
However, Peng teaches a method for depositing a liner and fill including a substrate with trenches having different widths (Fig. 1B-1D).
Additionally, Clendenning teaches a method for forming a U-shaped film portion that includes using a carbon hard mask by filling with carbon hard-mask material 208 by spin-on deposition [0031]. Thereafter, the carbon hard mask and liner film are etched in the thickness direction (Fig. 2A (b)), preferably by partially removing recessed fill material prior to removing the film 206 from the field 203 and exposed sidewalls 201 [0034]. This partial removal of fill material in a trench is anisotropic etching in the thickness direction (the material to be removed is in thickness direction, no undercutting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Chiba using different width trenches and a carbon hard mask for etching the liner into a U-shape. Peng establishes different width trenches are desired and can be lined and filled and Clendenning establishes a carbon hard mask can be used to form a liner layer into the U-shape.
Claims 2-3:
Clendenning teaches the carbon covers the entirety of the liner film on the substrate and completely fills the recesses (Fig. 2A(a)).
Claim 5:
Chiba teaches the etching gas for etching the amorphous silicon film can be fluorine [0026].
Claim 6:
Clendenning does teach that the carbon hard mask is ultimately removed (Fig. 2A(c)) prior to final fill (Fig. 2A(d)). As noted above, Chiba teaches filling the recesses with germanium based film.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiba (US 2017/0256450 A1) in view of Peng (US 2019/0103485 A1) in view of Clendenning (US 2018/0130707 A1) in view of Subramonium (US 8435608 B1).
Previously cited prior art is discussed above but does not teach oxygen plasma etching the carbon containing film. However, Subramonium teaches that carbon hard masks are typically removed by plasma ashing, a process that includes supplying oxygen plasma (col. 2, lines 31-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further supply and oxygen plasma for the purpose of removing the carbon hard mask because Subramonium teaches that doing so is the conventional manner for accomplishing this task.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759