DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Common Rail Return Line Routed to High Pressure Pump.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the multiple return lines on one end side of the common rail from claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-3: The specification does not support fuel distribution pipes on an opposite side of the common rail from the return line or distribution pipes that are between the common rail and the high pressure pump.
Claim 4: The specification does not support multiple return pipes from the same end of the fuel rail all returning fuel to the pressure pump.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 requires multiple fuel return lines that return fuel from the common rail to the pressure pump. Claim 5 then states that one of these lines does not do that but instead is returning fuel from an injector to the common rail. The dependent claims must further limit the claims from which they depend not change the limitations entirely.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Rembold (U.S. Pat. No. 6,615,807).
Regarding claim 1, Rembold discloses a system comprising:
a common rail (13 and 17) configured to store fuel supplied from a fuel supply pump (11 which includes the piping up to the junction of line 5 and 19) at high pressure; and
a fuel return pipe (19) connected to the common rail and configured to return fuel inside the common rail to the fuel supply pump, wherein the fuel return pipe is connected to one end side of the common rail (shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2 which depends from claim 1, Rembold discloses wherein fuel distribution pipes are connected to a side of the common rail opposite to the one end side where the fuel return pipe is connected (shown in fig. 2 that the distribution and return line are not on the same side of the common rail. Similar to applicants depiction in fig. 6.).
Regarding claim 3 which depends from claim 2, Rembold discloses wherein the fuel distribution pipes are connected between the common rail and the fuel supply pump (As per 112 rejection this will be understood as the fuel distribution pipes being to the fuel injectors and that they are located on the common rail between the flow from the pump to the return line. Which is shown in fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rembold (U.S. Pat. No. 6,615,807) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4 which depends from claim 1, Rembold does not disclose further comprising multiple return pipes including a fuel return pipe configured to return fuel inside the common rail to the fuel supply pump, wherein the multiple return pipes are connected to one end side of the common rail.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have multiple return lines connected to the common rail, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. The system in fig. 1 shows multiple branching paths from the one return line having them be multiple lines originating at the rail is obvious.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rembold (U.S. Pat. No. 6,615,807) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Kapp (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0128219).
Regarding claim 5 which depends from claim 4, Rembold does not discloses wherein one of the multiple return pipes is a fuel return pipe configured to return fuel inside an injector to the common rail at one end side of the common rail.
Kapp, which deals in fuel lines, teaches wherein one of the multiple return pipes is a fuel return pipe configured to return fuel inside an injector to the common rail at one end side of the common rail (a return line for the fuel rail at 10 and a return line for the fuel injectors at 12 which joins the rail return line at the common rail).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Rembold with the fuel injector return lines of Kapp because this fuel is easily guided to this portion of the return (¶37).
Conclusion
GONZALO LAGUARDA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747 email: gonzalo.laguarda@uspto.gov
/GONZALO LAGUARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747