DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 of U.S. Application No. 19/353,654 filed on 10/19/2025 have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) are:
a receiving unit that receives in claim 1.
an estimation unit that estimates in claims 1 and 5-10.
a power control unit that causes in claims 1-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VALLUR RAJENDRAN et al. (US20220255100A1) in view of Ojima et al. (US20190229357A1), hereinafter referred to as Vallur Rajendran and Ojima respectively.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Vallur Rajendran discloses a power control apparatus comprising:
(“The present disclosure is directed to a look ahead energy management and control system to reduce or prevent transients in a fuel cell system, comprising one or more sensors comprising look ahead technology data, an air handling subsystem, the fuel cell system, and a look ahead controller.”[0017],“The primary objective of the look ahead energy management systems (LEMS) and methods of the present disclosure is to reduce lag in power delivery from one or more fuel cells or fuel cell stacks in low or negative operation modes, while maximizing life of a fuel cell or fuel cell stack.”[0015])
a receiving unit that receives traffic information indicating traffic conditions ahead of a vehicle;(“Look ahead data or technologies of the present disclosure comprise information 12 ……., traffic conditions, frequency or existence of stop-and-start locations (e.g., stop signs, stop lights, stopped traffic, etc.), obstacles, throttle demand or frequency, scheduled stops and starts, weather, etc.”[0073]’“Look ahead technologies of the present disclosure ….. predict or forecast future fuel cell energy demands, performance, defaults, or trajectories. In particular, look ahead technologies ……information, facts, and/or data related to roadways, airways, waterways, or other paths or routes a vehicle comprising a fuel cell system may encounter.”[0070]).
an acquisition unit that acquires a vehicle speed of the vehicle and a state of charge of a battery included in the vehicle;
(“Look ahead technology or data may further comprise information 12 related to the velocity, distance, mass, drag, rolling resistance, wheel power, grade, shifting schedules, gear ratios, transmission ratios, motor speed, torque, battery power, powertrain energy, time reconstruction, electricity generating unit (EGU) power, trip distance, battery state of charge (SOC) limits, battery size, EGU status, current SOC, current distance, control action, etc.”[0072]).
an estimation unit that estimates whether the vehicle will accelerate after a predetermined time period has elapsed on the basis of the traffic conditions in a case where the vehicle speed is equal to or less than a first threshold value and the state of charge is less than a predetermined state of charge;(“Look ahead data 12 may comprise several factors such as vehicle 200 parameters, vehicle 200 mass, look ahead grade, look ahead speed limit, and/or look ahead traffic. In other embodiments, the look ahead data 12 may comprise fewer factors or additional factors.”[0130],
“the intelligent look ahead energy management system …..able to predict when peak loads may be encountered (e.g., high traffic and/or ‘stop-and-go’ conditions are in progress or upcoming, increased slope in the road, such as when climbing a hill, or when auxiliary loads are turned on in the system) and can take mitigating and/or corrective and actionable steps to reduce the peak loads on the fuel cell 110 and battery 220 caused by repeated acceleration (i.e., ramp up of the fuel cell system) ……… by determining and/or implementing a speed or acceleration/deceleration rate of the vehicle 200 that will reduce the stress on the fuel cell system 100.”[0100],
“ Look ahead technology or data may further comprise information 12 related to the velocity, …….., grade, …….., motor speed, torque, battery power, powertrain energy, ………. battery state of charge (SOC) limits, battery size, EGU status, current SOC, current distance, control action, etc.”[0072]).
a power control unit that causes, as a result of the estimation unit having estimated that the vehicle will accelerate, a fuel cell included in the vehicle to output a predetermined electric power before the vehicle begins to accelerate,“In one embodiment, the look ahead data is detected by the one or more sensors and communicated to the look ahead controller, which predicts transients based on the look ahead data. The look ahead controller proactively prompts the air handling subsystem to release excess oxygen to the fuel cell system.”[0017],“For example, a FCEV operating at a cruise speed that is sustaining charge may incorporate look ahead data indicating that a steep positive grade is upcoming, which can prompt, initiate, or enable a precharge of the fuel cell to timely ramp up power output in order to meet the near future increased power demand without experiencing any transients or delay of power output from the fuel cell system. This anticipatory air flow ramp up that occurs during the precharge stage may increase power output of the fuel cell system by increasing oxygen supply…”[0094]).
Vallur Rajendran does not explicitly teach wherein the power control unit causes the battery to be charged with surplus electric power obtained by subtracting, from the predetermined electric power, a first electric power required by mounted equipment included in the vehicle and a second electric power required by a drive source included in the vehicle.
However, Ojima does teach wherein the power control unit causes the battery to be charged with surplus electric power obtained by subtracting, from the predetermined electric power, a first electric power required by mounted equipment included in the vehicle and a second electric power required by a drive source included in the vehicle. (“the differential electrical energy (Pfc−Pap) obtained by subtracting the air compressor electrical energy Pap from the power generation electrical energy Pfc is supplied as a battery charging electrical energy Pbatc to charge the battery 14 therewith.”[0072],
“the electrical energy calculated by subtracting the drive electrical energy for driving the loads (the motor 16, the air compressor 42, etc.) from the power generation electrical energy Pfc of the fuel cell stack 18”[0102]). Both Vallur Rajendran and Ojima teach methods that address fuel cell hybrid vehicles. However, Ojima explicitly teaches wherein the power control unit causes the battery to be charged with surplus electric power obtained by subtracting, from the predetermined electric power, a first electric power required by mounted equipment included in the vehicle and a second electric power required by a drive source included in the vehicle.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Vallur Rejendran and include the surplus charging arithmetic of Ojma with a reasonable expectation of success because it improves managing vehicle fuel cell usage and efficiency (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Ojima, 0072 and 0102]).
Regarding claim 2,
Vallur Rajendran does not explicitly teach wherein the power control unit, after the vehicle starts acceleration, continues to output the predetermined power when the vehicle speed is less than a second threshold value and the state of charge is less than the predetermined state of charge.
However, Ojima does teach wherein the power control unit, after the vehicle starts acceleration, continues to output the predetermined power when the vehicle speed is less than a second threshold value and the state of charge is less than the predetermined state of charge (“Further, in the case where the charging state of the battery 14 obtained by the SOC sensor 2 reaches a charging state threshold value, when the vehicle velocity Vv obtained by the vehicle velocity sensor 4 indicates the acceleration state (the time point t5 to the time point t6 in FIG. 2), the surplus power generation electrical energy consumption control unit 26B increases the drive upper limit electrical energy (air compressor NV upper limit electrical energy Papnvlim) for the air compressor 42 in correspondence with the vehicle velocity Vv.”[0115]). Both Vallur Rajendran and Ojima teach methods that address fuel cell hybrid vehicles. However, Ojima explicitly teaches wherein the power control unit, after the vehicle starts acceleration, continues to output the predetermined power when the vehicle speed is less than a second threshold value and the state of charge is less than the predetermined state of charge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anticipatory look-ahead control method of Vallur Rajendran to also include wherein the power control unit, after the vehicle starts acceleration, continues to output the predetermined power when the vehicle speed is less than a second threshold value and the state of charge is less than the predetermined state of charge, as taught by Ojima. The combination yields the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Ojima, 0115]).
Regarding claim 3,
Vallur Rajendran does not explicitly teach wherein the power control unit, after the vehicle starts acceleration, and while the power control unit causes the fuel cell to output the predetermined power, causes the fuel cell to output the second electric power when the vehicle speed reaches the second threshold value or the state of charge reaches the predetermined state of charge.
However, Ojima does teach wherein the power control unit, after the vehicle starts acceleration, and while the power control unit causes the fuel cell to output the predetermined power, causes the fuel cell to output the second electric power when the vehicle speed reaches the second threshold value or the state of charge reaches the predetermined state of charge (“Further, in the case where the charging state of the battery 14 obtained by the SOC sensor 2 reaches a charging state threshold value, when the vehicle velocity Vv obtained by the vehicle velocity sensor 4 indicates the acceleration state (the time point t5 to the time point t6 in FIG. 2), the surplus power generation electrical energy consumption control unit 26B increases the drive upper limit electrical energy (air compressor NV upper limit electrical energy Papnvlim) for the air compressor 42 in correspondence with the vehicle velocity Vv.”[0115]). Both Vallur Rajendran and Ojima teach methods that address fuel cell hybrid vehicles. However, Ojima explicitly teaches wherein the power control unit, after the vehicle starts acceleration, and while the power control unit causes the fuel cell to output the predetermined power, causes the fuel cell to output the second electric power when the vehicle speed reaches the second threshold value or the state of charge reaches the predetermined state of charge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anticipatory look-ahead control method of Vallur Rajendran to also include wherein the power control unit, after the vehicle starts acceleration, and while the power control unit causes the fuel cell to output the predetermined power, causes the fuel cell to output the second electric power when the vehicle speed reaches the second threshold value or the state of charge reaches the predetermined state of charge, as taught by Ojima. The combination yields the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success because it improves managing vehicle fuel cell usage and efficiency (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Ojima, 0115]).
Regarding claim 4, Vallur Rajendran discloses wherein the traffic information includes gradient information indicating a gradient ahead of the vehicle, and the power control unit reduces the second threshold value when the gradient is an upward gradient, compared to when the gradient is a downward gradient.(“…steep inclines or deep declines in the roadways…”[0073],“ Look ahead technology or data may further comprise information…grade…”[0072],
“the powertrain control may request for a steep increase in power demand owing to auxiliary loads or to maintain vehicle speed during cruise operation whilst climbing a grade or incline.”[0088], “a FCEV operating at a cruise speed that is sustaining charge may incorporate look ahead data indicating that a steep positive grade is upcoming, which can prompt, initiate, or enable a precharge of the fuel cell…” [0094]).
Regarding claim 5, Vallur Rajendran discloses wherein the traffic information includes other vehicle information indicating a speed of another vehicle ahead of the vehicle, and the estimation unit estimates whether the vehicle accelerates on the basis of the speed of the other vehicle.(“Exemplary look ahead data technologies of the present disclosure includes, but is not limited to maps, global positioning systems (GPS), vehicle to vehicle infrastructure (V2X), dedicated short range communication (DSRC)…”[0071],“…traffic conditions, frequency or existence of stop-and-start locations (e.g., stop signs, stop lights, stopped traffic, etc.), obstacles…”[0073],“…anticipation or prediction of an increase (e.g., a steep increase) in power demand independent of exact timing of tip-in…”[0016]).
Regarding claim 6, Vallur Rajendran discloses wherein the estimation unit estimates that the vehicle will accelerate when the time to arrival, based on a distance between a position of the other vehicle and a position of the vehicle and on the vehicle speed of the vehicle, for the vehicle to reach the position of the other vehicle is equal to or greater than the predetermined time period, and estimates that the vehicle will not accelerate when the time to arrival is less than the predetermined time period.(“…velocity, distance… current distance…”[0072],“…vehicle to vehicle infrastructure (V2X), dedicated short range communication (DSRC)…”[0071],“…anticipation or prediction of an increase (e.g., a steep increase) in power demand independent of exact timing of tip-in…”[0016],“…with the use of one or more sensors 228 in the present look ahead energy management system 10 and method, internal performance (e.g., acceleration and/or efficiency) and maintenance readings, values, or parameters may be identified, as well as system proximity to a final destination, to a charging station, a hydrogen refill location, or any other route locations that may have implications for fuel cell performance.…”[0078]).
Regarding claim 7, Vallur Rajendran discloses wherein the traffic information includes section information indicating a construction section or a congestion section ahead of the vehicle, and the estimation unit estimates whether the vehicle will accelerate on the basis of a distance between an end position of the construction section or the congestion section on the vehicle side and the position of the vehicle, and on the vehicle speed.“…traffic conditions, frequency or existence of stop-and-start locations (e.g., stop signs, stop lights, stopped traffic, etc.), obstacles…”[0073],“…velocity, distance… current distance…”[0072],“…anticipation or prediction of an increase (e.g., a steep increase) in power demand independent of exact timing of tip-in…”[0016],
“…with the use of one or more sensors 228 in the present look ahead energy management system 10 and method, internal performance (e.g., acceleration and/or efficiency) and maintenance readings, values, or parameters may be identified, as well as system proximity to a final destination, to a charging station, a hydrogen refill location, or any other route locations that may have implications for fuel cell performance.…”[0078]).
Regarding claim 8, Vallur Rajendran discloses wherein the estimation unit estimates that the vehicle will accelerate when a time to arrival for the vehicle to reach the end position, based on a distance between the end position and the position of the vehicle and the vehicle speed of the vehicle, is equal to or greater than the predetermined time period, and estimates that the vehicle will not accelerate when the time to arrival is less than the predetermined time period.(“…velocity, distance… current distance…”[0072],“…traffic conditions… stopped traffic…”[0073],“…anticipation or prediction of an increase (e.g., a steep increase) in power demand independent of exact timing of tip-in…”[0016],
“…with the use of one or more sensors 228 in the present look ahead energy management system 10 and method, internal performance (e.g., acceleration and/or efficiency) and maintenance readings, values, or parameters may be identified, as well as system proximity to a final destination, to a charging station, a hydrogen refill location, or any other route locations that may have implications for fuel cell performance.…”[0078]).
Regarding claim 9, Vallur Rajendran discloses wherein the estimation unit reduces the predetermined time period when a road on which the vehicle is traveling is a general road, compared to when the road is an expressway.(“…maps, global positioning systems (GPS)…”[0071],“…traffic conditions…”[0073],“…anticipation or prediction of an increase (e.g., a steep increase) in power demand independent of exact timing of tip-in…”
“the intelligent look ahead energy management system 10 of the present disclosure is able to predict when peak loads may be encountered (e.g., high traffic and/or ‘stop-and-go’ conditions are in progress or upcoming, increased slope in the road, such as when climbing a hill, or when auxiliary loads are turned on in the system) and can take mitigating and/or corrective and actionable steps to reduce the peak loads on the fuel cell 110 and battery 220 caused by repeated acceleration (i.e., ramp up of the fuel cell system) and braking (i.e., ramp down of the fuel cell system; see FIG. 11), such as by determining and/or implementing a speed or acceleration/deceleration rate of the vehicle 200 that will reduce the stress on the fuel cell system 100.”[0100]).
Regarding claim 10, Vallur Rajendran discloses wherein the traffic information includes gradient information indicating a gradient ahead of the vehicle, and the estimation unit reduces the first threshold value when the gradient is an upward gradient, compared to when gradient is a downward gradient.(“…steep inclines or deep declines in the roadways…”[0073],“Look ahead technology or data may further comprise information…grade…”[0072]“a FCEV operating at a cruise speed that is sustaining charge may incorporate look ahead data indicating that a steep positive grade is upcoming, which can prompt, initiate, or enable a precharge of the fuel cell…”[0094]).
Conclusion
/AA/Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668