DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species.
Species A: Claims 11-15 (Figs. 18-30)
Species B: Claim 16 (Figs. 31-32)
Species C: Claim 17 (Figs. 33-35)
The species are independent or distinct because Species A, Species B, and Species C are mutually exclusive.
Species A: Claims 11-15 are directed to a battery with a terminal post structure and with a flow channel (electrolyte solution filling hole) with a sealing structure at a battery terminal post.
Species B: Claim 16 is directed to a battery with a pressure relief structure and a flow channel (electrolyte solution filling hole) and a sealing structure at the pressure relief structure.
Species C: Claim 17 is directed to a battery with a pressure relief structure and a terminal post structure and with a flow channel (electrolyte solution filling hole) with a sealing structure disposed on a mounting housing wall spaced apart from the terminal post structure and the pressure relief structure.
These species do not overlap in scope and are patentably distinct.
In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, Claim 1 is generic.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply:
Species A (H01M50/552, H01M50/172), Species B (H01M50/3425), and Species C (H01M50/645, H01M50/668) have a separate classification as each invention has attained recognition in the art as a separate subject for inventive effort, and also a separate field of search.
Species A (H01M50/552, H01M50/172), Species B (H01M50/3425), and Species C (H01M50/645, H01M50/668) require a different field of search in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other inventions (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
During a telephone conversation with Jun Ma on 06/25/2026-06/26/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Species A, claims 11-15. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 16 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 recites the limitation " the first positioning structure forms a positioning engagement with the second positioning structure to prevent the locking portion from rotating with respect to the stopper portion;,
wherein one of the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure is a protrusion structure, and the other is a recess structure, and " in lines 22-25. Either the semicolon or adjacent comma should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 7, 11-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “an interference fit” in line 5. Claim 7 depends on Claim 6, which requires an interference fit in lines 2-3. Therefore, it is unclear if the interference fit of Claim 7 is the same interference fit of claim 6 or if an additional interference fit is required, making the claim indefinite. Claim 8 depend on claim 7, and is, therefore, also indefinite. For purpose of compact prosecution, Claim 7 is interpreted as “the interference fit”. Correction is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the electrolyte solution filling hole” in line 4. Claim 11 depends on claim 1, which does not recite an electrolyte solution filling hole. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, which makes the claim indefinite. Claims 12-15 depend on claim 11 and are therefore also indefinite. For purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has considered the limitation as “an electrolyte solution filling hole”. Correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "an accommodating groove" in line 3. Claim 13 depends on claims 12 and 11. Claim 12 recites a first accommodating groove and a second accommodating groove; therefore, it is unclear if the “an accommodating groove” of Claim 13 is the same as the first accommodating groove or the second accommodating groove of claim 12 or if a different accommodating groove is claimed. Further, claim 13 recites the limitation “a terminal post body” in line 2. Claim 12 recites “a terminal post body” in line 2. Therefore, it is unclear if the terminal post bodies in each claim 12 and 13 are the same or if an additional terminal post body is claimed in claim 13. Thus, the claim is indefinite. For purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has considered claim 13 to depend on claim 11, which would address both indefinite limitations. Claims 14 and 15 depend on claim 13 and are therefore also indefinite. Correction is required.
Claim 18 recites “the housing” in line 2. Claim 18 depends on claim 1 which does not recite “a housing.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, making the claim indefinite. For purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has considered the limitation as “a housing”. Correction is required.
Claim 19 recites “the housing” in line 2. Claim 19 depends on claim 1 which does not recite “a housing.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, making the claim indefinite. For purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has considered the limitation as “a housing”. Correction is required.
Claim 19 recites “the first housing wall” in line 3. Claim 19 depends on claim 1 which does not recite “a first housing wall”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, making the claim indefinite. For purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has considered the limitation as “a first housing wall”. Correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 11, and 19 have one or more “or” or “and/or” limitations which are interpreted as provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-10 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. [US11114716B1], hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a battery cell [Chen abstract, column 8, and throughout, battery 400, Fig. 1D and throughout], comprising:
a housing assembly [Chen column 9 and throughout, first interpretation housing is shell 40 with cover 10 and second interpretation housing is 40/10/4, Fig. 1D, defining an accommodating cavity [Chen column 9 and throughout, accommodating cavity is the interior or housing 40/10 or 40/10/4, Fig. 1D], and provided with a flow channel in communication with the accommodating cavity [Chen column 10 and throughout, flow channel 15 through 11 as part of mounting 10’, Figs. 2-27]; and
a sealing structure [Chen column 10/11 and throughout, sealing structure 2, 3, 4, Figs. 2-27, first interpretation sealing structure is 2/3/4; second interpretation sealing structure is 2/3 and 4 is part of housing 40/10/4], engaged with the housing assembly [Chen column 10/11 and throughout, both of first interpretation and second interpretation engages with cover 10] , and configured to open or seal the flow channel [Chen column 11-12 and throughout, seals and opens detachably through rotation of body 2].
Regarding Claim 2, Chen discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the sealing structure is engaged with the housing assembly detachably [Chen column 11-12 and throughout, first interpretation sealing structure 2/3/4 or second interpretation sealing structure 2/3 seals and opens detachably through rotation of body 2].
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the battery cell according to claim 2, wherein the sealing structure comprises a first structural member [Chen column 16 and throughout, Figs. 2-27, first interpretation is the first structural member 4; second interpretation the first structural member is 2] and a second structural member [Chen column 16 and throughout, Figs. 2-27, first interpretation the second structural member 2/3 and the second interpretation is the second structural member is 3], the second structural member is sealingly engaged with the flow channel [Chen column 16 and throughout, Figs. 2-27 both first and second interpretations apply where the second structural member is 2 or 3], and
the first structural member is engaged with the housing assembly in a locking manner [Chen column 17, Figs. 2-27, (i.e. see Fig. 3-9) first interpretation is the first structural member 4 is fixed to cover 10 through first groove 15 part 151, (i.e. see Figs. 3-9) second interpretation is the first structural member 2 is fixed and locked with part 4 of the housing assembly in a locking manner through the clamping of 121 on the housing assembly part 4 with limiting opening 221 on part 2 ] and is located on a side of the second structural member that is away from the accommodating cavity [Chen column 16 and throughout, Figs. 3 and others, part 4 is on the side of second structural member 2/3 away from the accommodating cavity within housing 10/40] to restrict the second structural member to a position of sealing the flow channel [Chen column 19-21 and throughout, Figs. 2-27],
wherein at least a portion of the first structural member is inserted in the housing assembly (1);
and/or the first structural member is configured to lock and unlock with the housing assembly via rotational motion (2) [This limitation is treated as either (1) or (2) is required by the claim; however Chen teaches both. Specifically regarding (1), for the first interpretation, that first structural member 4 is inserted into the housing assembly part 10, as shown in the various embodiments in Figs. 2-27, and for the second interpretation the first structural member 2 is inserted into the housing assembly portion 10 and 4. Regarding (2) [Chen Figs. 2-27, Fig. 30, column 3, 4, 11 and throughout], Chen teaches the sealing 2/3 member can be installed or removed [Chen column 3, 4, and 11 and throughout, Fig. 30]. For the second interpretation, where the first structural member is 2, as shown in the various embodiments in Figs. 2-27, Fig. 30, the first structural member 2 is locked (movement into Chen’s first position) and unlocked (movement into Chen’s second position) through the rotation of body 2 as taught throughout (i.e. steps S103-S104 Fig. 30)],
wherein a tool mating hole is provided in a surface on a side of the first structural member that is away from the second structural member (3);
and/or a positioning structure is provided on the surface on the side of the first structural member that is away from the second structural member (4) [This limitation is treated as either (3) or (4) is required by the claim. In this case, both apply. For (3), tool mating hole embodiment 211A [Chen column 16 and throughout, Fig. 4A ], 211B [Chen column 20 and throughout, Fig. 7], or 211C [Chen column 23, Fig. 13] reads on the claimed tool mating hole provided in a surface on a side of the first structural member 2 that is away from the second structural member 3. For (4), the embodiment 211D [ Chen column 24 and throughout, Fig. 18A] reads on the claimed positioning structure on the surface on the side of the first structural member 2 that is away from the second structural member 3.]. Thus, Chen anticipates claim 3.
Regarding Claim 5, Chen discloses a battery cell according to claim 3, wherein the first structural member comprises a central portion and a locking portion [Chen column 19 and throughout, Figs. 3-4, 7, 13, main body part 21 as the central portion and limiting part 22 as the locking portion],
the central portion is disposed corresponding to the flow channel [Chen Figs. 3-4, 7, 13, central portion is above flow channel 15 through 11 and such correspondence reads on the limitation],
the locking portion is located in a peripheral region of the central portion [Chen Figs. 3-4, 7, 13, locking portion 22 is on the periphery of central portion 21],
a stopper portion [Chen columns 18-23, Figs. 4, 8, 12 stopper portion is the surfaces on the side of part 4 with concave part 44, surface 123, limiting opening 221 or stopping part 122 read on the claimed stopper portion] and an avoidance hole [Chen column 13-14, 18, 22, Figs. 4, 8, 12, avoidance hole 13] that are located around the flow channel [Chen Figs. 3 and others shown the flow channel 15 through 11 corresponds to opening 14 and the stopper portions and avoidance holes as described as part of housing portion 4 would be considered located around flow channel 11] and are alternately disposed [Chen columns 13-14, 18-23 and throughout, Figs. 3 and others shown this relationship] are formed on the housing assembly [Chen columns 13-14, 18-23 and throughout, Figs. 3 and others shown this relationship] ,
a receiving groove is formed on a side of the stopper portion that is close to the accommodating cavity [Chen column 10 and throughout, Figs. 2-27, accommodating part 12 as the receiving groove],
the avoidance hole penetrates a surface on a side of the housing assembly that is away from the accommodating cavity and is in communication with the receiving groove [Chen Figs. 2-27, Avoidance hole 13 penetrates the side away from the interior of housing 10/40 and is directly in contact with the receiving groove 12. i.e., see Figs. 3, 5A/5B. ] and
the locking portion rotates through the avoidance hole to enter/exit the receiving groove [Chen discussed throughout, i.e. columns 11-16, 18-23, etc.],
wherein a plurality of avoidance holes are provided and are disposed at intervals around the flow channel [Chen Figs. 5A/5B, 8A/8B, 12A/12B each show two avoidance holes 13 corresponding to two locking portions]
the stopper portion is disposed between every two adjacent avoidance holes [Chen Figs. 5A/5B, 8A/8B, 12A/12B each show stopper portions 42 with concave part 44, surface 123, limiting opening 221 or stopping part 122 between two adjacent avoidance holes],
a plurality of locking portions are provided and are disposed at intervals around the central portion [Chen Figs. 4A/4B, 7, and 13 show two locking portions 22 disposed at intervals around central portion 21] and
the plurality of locking portions are disposed corresponding to the plurality of avoidance holes respectively [Chen column 19 and throughout, Figs. 3-4, 7, 13, limiting part 22 as the locking portion disposed corresponding to avoidance holes 13];
the housing assembly comprises a support portion [Chen column 20-22 and throughout, Figs. 3 and throughout, support portion 12B],
the second structural member comprises a lapping portion [Chen column 20-22 and throughout, Figs. 3 and others, portion of thrust table 32 in contact with 12B], and the lapping portion is lapped on a side of the support portion that is away from the accommodating cavity and is supported on a side of the first structural member that is close to the accommodating cavity (1 beginning with the second structural member) [Chen Fig. 3 (see below) shows this arrangement where the lapping portion of 32 is lapped on the side of support portion 12B, which is away from the accommodating cavity.], or
the first structural member is lapped on the side of the support portion that is away from the accommodating cavity (2) [Chen Fig. 3 (see below) shows this arrangement where the lapping portion of 2 is lapped on the side of support portion 12B, which is away from the accommodating cavity.], [This limitation is treated as either (1) or (2) is required by the claim and as described above Chen reads on both.];
a first positioning structure is provided on a side of the stopper portion that faces the receiving groove [Chen columns 15, 23 and throughout, Figs. 5B and 8A, first interpretation: first positioning structures 121 on the side of stopper portion 42 with receiving groove 12; second interpretation: first positioning structures 44, 122, 123], a second positioning structure is provided on a side of the locking portion that faces the stopper portion [Chen columns 15 and others, Fig. 4A, 8A/B first interpretation: second positioning structure 221; second interpretation second positioning structure 151] , and the first positioning structure forms a positioning engagement with the second positioning structure to prevent the locking portion from rotating with respect to the stopper portion [Chen first interpretation column 15; second interpretation column 21];,
wherein one of the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure is a protrusion structure [Chen columns 15, 21 first interpretation: 121 is convex which reads on protrusion structure; second interpretation: 151 is convex which reads on protrusion structure], and the other is a recess structure [Chen column 15, 21 first interpretation: 221 is a hole or groove, which reads on recess structure; second interpretation: 44 is a concave slot, which reads on recess structure], and the protrusion structure forms a concave-convex engagement with the recess structure [Chen column 15 or 21, as described above], wherein the protrusion structure comprises a plurality of elongated ribs disposed at intervals in a rotational direction of the first structural member, the recess structure comprises a plurality of elongated grooves disposed at intervals in the rotational direction of the first structural member, and the plurality of elongated ribs are engaged with the plurality of elongated grooves in a one-to-one correspondence [Chen column 15, Figs. 4-9 show the recess structure has two holes/grooves and the protrusion structure has two ribs and both are arranged in intervals as claimed rotationally], and the protrusion structure comprises a boss structure, the recess structure comprises an arc-shaped groove extending along the rotational direction of the first structural member, and the boss structure is engaged with the arc-shaped groove [Chen column 21, Figs. 4-9, slot 44 with 151 reads on a boss structure where boss 151 with arc-shaped groove 44 extending in the rotational direction of first structural member 2] (3 beginning with wherein);
and/or
the central portion is embedded in the flow channel, and forms a cylindrical surface engagement with the flow channel [Chen Figs. 3 and others, central portion 21 is embedded in flow channel region 15 to 11 as shown in Fig. (4) [This limitation is treated as either (3 beginning with wherein) or (4) is required by the claim. As provided above, Chen teaches both.] .
Regarding Claim 6, Chen discloses a battery cell according to claim 3, wherein at least a portion of the second structural member is plugged in the flow channel, and forms an interference fit with the flow channel to seal the flow channel [Chen column 15, sealing column 31 of second structural member 3 is closely matched with through hole 11, which reads on interference fit, which seals the channel], wherein the first structural member forms a cylindrical surface plug-in engagement with the second structural member to make the first structural member rotatable with respect to the second structural member [Chen columns 14-16, Such engagement is taught in column 14-16. Further, Chen teaches lubricating the surface between sealing element 3 and cover body 2 to reduce friction. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Chen is this lubrication facilitates the rotation between the first and second structural members [column 16].].
Regarding Claim 7, Chen discloses the battery cell according to claim 6, wherein the flow channel comprises a first channel section and a second channel section arranged in sequence in an electrolyte solution filling direction [Chen column 17-20 and throughout, Fig. 3 (see below)],
a cross-sectional area of the first channel section is greater than a cross-sectional area of the second channel section [Chen Fig. 3, see below], the second structural member is in the interference fit [Examiner edit, see 112b rejection] with the second channel section [Chen column 15, sealing column 31 of second structural member 3 is closely matched with through hole 11, which reads on interference fit, which seals the channel], and
at least a portion of the first structural member is embedded in the first channel section [Chen Fig. 3 shows first structural member 2 is within first channel section as indicated below], wherein the housing assembly forms a stepped surface at a connection between the first channel section and the second channel section [Chen Fig. 3 shows a stepped surface as indicated below], and the second structural member is locally supported on a side of the stepped surface that is away from the accommodating cavity [Chen Fig. 3 shows the claimed support on the stepped surface as indicated below].
Regarding Claim 9, Chen discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the sealing structure is configured to be at least partially embedded in the flow channel through an inlet of the flow channel [Chen discussed throughout, as shown in Fig. 3 below].
Regarding Claim 10, Chen discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the housing assembly comprises a mounting portion [Chen column 9-10 and throughout, Fig. 3 and others, where the mounting portion is end cover assembly 10’], the flow channel comprises an electrolyte solution filling hole formed in the mounting portion [Chen column 10 and throughout, electrolyte filling through hole 11 in end cover 10’] , the mounting portion comprises a base portion [Chen column 17-18 and throughout, Fig. 9 and others, base portion 15] and a base seat mounted on the base portion [Chen column 17 and throughout, Fig. 9 and others, base seat 4 mounted on base portion 15, second interpretation of claim 1], and the sealing structure is engaged with the base seat and is configured to open or seal the electrolyte solution filling hole [Chen column 15-18 and throughout, Fig. 3 and others, sealing structure 2/3 engages with base seat 4 to open or seal the filling hole 11].
Regarding Claim 18, Chen discloses the battery cell according to claim 1 (Chen has several embodiments, all of which read on the limitations of claim 1. Several embodiments of Chen read on the limitations of claim 18 as indicated below. The embodiment of Fig. 25 reads on all the limitations of claim 18. Thus, Chen anticipates claim 18.) , wherein the housing assembly comprises a housing [Chen column 9 and throughout, claim 18 relies on the second interpretation described in claim 1 where housing is 40/10/4 together as a housing assembly, Fig. 1D/2] , the accommodating cavity is defined by the housing [Chen column 9 and throughout, accommodating cavity is the interior of 40/10/4, Fig. 1D/2], the housing comprises a first housing wall, a surface on a side of the first housing wall that faces the accommodating cavity is an inner surface [Chen column 9 and throughout, Figs. 1D, 2, 3, 10, 17, 25 and others, end cover as the first housing wall with inner surface on the accommodating cavity side as the claimed surface, for example, see Fig. 3 below]
a surface on a side of the first housing wall that is away from the accommodating cavity is an outer surface [Chen column 9 and throughout, Figs. 3, 10, 17, 25 and others, end cover as the first housing wall with opposite the accommodating cavity side as the claimed surface, see Fig. 3 below], the flow channel comprises the electrolyte solution filling hole that is directly or indirectly provided in the first housing wall [Chen column 10 and throughout, columns 26-27, Figs. 2, 19 and others show a filling hole 11 that is directly provided in end cover 10 and Figs. 24-25 show a filling hole that could be considered either directly (hole in Fig. 24 for fitting part 4) or indirectly provided (hole 11 in Fig. 25)],
two ends of the electrolyte solution filling hole are respectively a hole outer end and a hole inner end, the hole outer end and the hole inner end are disposed in sequence in a direction from the outer surface to the inner surface of the first housing wall, and the hole inner end is located on a side of the inner surface of the first housing wall that is away from the accommodating cavity [Chen Figs. 3, 10, and 25 read on the limitation, as shown in Fig. 3 below where two holes (interior portion of 4 or hole in 1 accommodating 4) read on the claimed hole outer end],
wherein the mounting portion is disposed on the first housing wall, at least a portion of the mounting portion protrudes from a side of the outer surface of the first housing wall that is away from the accommodating cavity, and the electrolyte solution filling hole is provided in the mounting portion [Chen Figs. 10 and 25 read on the limitation, as shown in Fig. 25 below] ;
the hole inner end is located on the side of the outer surface of the first housing wall that is away from the accommodating cavity [Chen as shown in Fig. 3 and 25 below, where two regions reading on the claimed hole inner end are shown].
Regarding Claim 19, Chen discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the housing assembly comprises a housing [Chen column 9 and throughout, claim 19 relies on the second interpretation described in claim 1 where housing is 40/10/4 together as a housing assembly, Fig. 1D/2 and others] , the accommodating cavity is defined by the housing [Chen column 9 and throughout, accommodating cavity is the interior of 40/10/4, Fig. 1D], the housing comprises a first housing wall [Chen Fig. 1D/2, end cover as the first housing wall], the flow channel is disposed at the first housing wall [Chen column 9-17 and throughout, Fig. 1D, 2, 3, 9 and others, end cover is first housing wall 1 and with flow channel from 15 to 11]
the first housing wall is an integrally formed cover plate (1) [Chen Figs. 2-27, the end cover 10 is considered an integrally formed cover plate] , or the first housing wall is integrally formed with at least one second housing wall (2) [This limitation is treated as either (1) or (2) is required by the claim. As provided above, Chen teaches (1) and thus meets the limitation.], and
the second housing wall extends toward a side in a thickness direction of the first housing wall [Chen Fig. 1D, second housing wall (sides of 40) extend in the z direction toward the first housing wall 10, which is the same as the thickness direction of end cover 10.].
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shan CN219203434U, machine translation relied upon provided, hereinafter Shan.
Regarding Claim 1, Shan discloses a battery cell [Shan throughout, Fig. 4 cell], comprising:
a housing assembly [Shan n0047 and throughout, Fig. 4, housing 1 with end wall 11 and surrounding wall 12], defining an accommodating cavity [Shan n0047 and throughout, Fig. 1 interior of housing where the core 3 is disposed], and provided with a flow channel in communication with the accommodating cavity [Shan n0056, Fig. 4, injected through injection hole 21]; and a sealing structure engaged with the housing assembly [Shan n0055, sealing pin], and configured to open or seal the flow channel [Shan n0055, sealing pin, The limitation is considered that open OR seal is required. Shan teaches sealing.].
Regarding Claim 11, Shan discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the housing assembly comprises a housing and a terminal post structure [Shan n0055, Fig. 4, terminal post structure 2], the accommodating cavity is defined by the housing [Shan n0047 and throughout, Fig. 4, housing 1 with end wall 11 and surrounding wall 12 with accommodating cavity inside as shown], the terminal post structure is disposed in the housing [Shan n0055, Fig. 4], the flow channel is disposed at the terminal post structure and comprises the electrolyte solution filling hole [Shan n0055-n0056 and throughout, Fig. 4], and the sealing structure is engaged with the terminal post structure and is configured to open or seal the electrolyte solution filling hole [Shan n0055, Shan teaches the injection hole 21, which is in terminal 2, is sealed with a sealing pin. The limitation is considered that open OR seal is required. Shan teaches sealing. Thus, Shan anticipates the limitation.].
Claim(s) 1, 9-15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao CN218731341U, machine translation relied upon provided.
Regarding Claim 1, Cao discloses a battery cell [Cao throughout, Fig. 1 and others], comprising:
a housing assembly [Cao n0040-n0049 and throughout, Figs. 1-6, housing 1 and cover plates 31], defining an accommodating cavity [Cao n0040-n0047 and throughout, Figs. 1-6 interior of housing where the cell assembly and parts of cover plate assembly are disposed], and provided with a flow channel in communication with the accommodating cavity [Cao n0050, n0095 and throughout, Figs. 1-6, injected into receiving cavity 320 and into housing 1 through and 3311]; and a sealing structure engaged with the housing assembly [Cao n0049-n0053; n0067-n0068; n0088, and throughout, sealing components 34-36 ], and configured to open or seal the flow channel [Cao n0049-n0053; n0067-n0068; n0088, and throughout, sealing components 34-36, Cao teaches sealing. The limitation open OR seal is considered as either limitation meets the claim. Thus, Cao anticipates the limitation.].
Regarding Claim 9, Cao disclose the batter cell according to claim 1, wherein the sealing structure is configured to be at least partially embedded in the flow channel through an inlet of the flow channel [Cao n0095, n0049, Figs. 1-6, Cao teaches the electrolyte flow channel is 320 through 3311 to the interior of housing 1[0095]; therefore the inlet would be considered the upper region of electrode frame 32 [n0049, Figs. 3-6]. Cao further teaches the sealing structure as parts 34-36 [Cao n0049-n0053; n0067-n0068; n0088, and throughout, sealing components 34-36 ]. Thus, as shown in Fig. 6, parts 34-36 would all be consider at least partially embedded in the flow channel beginning at the inlet at the upper region of electrode frame 32 through 3311 to the interior of housing 1. Thus, Cao anticipates the claim.].
Regarding Claim 10, Cao discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the housing assembly comprises a mounting portion [Cao n0049 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, on cover plate assembly including cover plate body 31, electrode frame 32, sealing member 34, connecting member 33], the flow channel comprises an electrolyte solution filling hole formed in the mounting portion [Cao n0095, n0049, Figs. 1-6, Cao teaches the electrolyte flow channel is 320 through 3311 to the interior of housing 1[0095], which would be considered formed in the cover plate assembly as described] , the mounting portion comprises a base portion and a base seat mounted on the base portion [Cao n0095, n0049 and throughout, Fig. 6 and others, base portion 31 and base seat 32 ], and the sealing structure is engaged with the base seat and is configured to open or seal the electrolyte solution filling hole [Cao n0049-n0053; n0067-n0068; n0088, and throughout, sealing components 34-36, where 34 and 35 would be considered to engage with the base seat directly and 37 engages with the base seat indirectly through 33. Cao teaches sealing. The limitation open OR seal is considered as either limitation meets the claim. Thus, Cao anticipates the limitation.].
Regarding Claim 11, Cao discloses the battery of claim 1, wherein the housing assembly comprises a housing and a terminal post structure [Cao n0049, n0090-n0092, and throughout, Figs. 1-6 and throughout, housing 1/31 as described in claim 1 and terminal plate 32 with connecting member 33 and first electrode tab 22 (221/222) as the terminal post structure], the accommodating cavity is defined by the housing [as described in claim 1 above, Cao n0040-n0047 and throughout, Figs. 1-6 interior of housing where the cell assembly and parts of cover plate assembly are disposed], the terminal post structure is disposed in the housing [Cao n0049, n0090-n0092 and throughout, Fig. 6, portions of tab 22, connecting member 33 would be considered in housing 1/31 ], the flow channel is disposed at the terminal post structure and comprises an electrolyte solution filling hole [Cao n0095 and throughout], and the sealing structure is engaged with the terminal post structure and is configured to open or seal the electrolyte solution filling hole [Cao n0049-n0053; n0067-n0068; n0088, and throughout, Figs. 3-6, sealing components are parts 34-36, where 35 and 36 would be considered to engage with the terminal post structure portion 33 directly and 34 engages with the terminal post structure portion 32 directly. Cao teaches sealing. The limitation open OR seal is considered as either limitation meets the claim. Thus, Cao anticipates the limitation.].
Regarding Claim 12, Cao discloses the battery cell according to claim 11, wherein the terminal post structure comprises a terminal post body [Cao n0049, n0090-n0092, and throughout, Figs. 1-6 and throughout, connecting member 33 as the terminal post body] and a terminal post cover plate [Cao n0049, n0090-n0092, and throughout, Figs. 1-6 and throughout, terminal plate 32 as the terminal post cover plate], the terminal post body is mounted in the housing [Coa Fig. 6, body 33 is mounted in the housing 1/31 as described above], the terminal post cover plate covers the terminal post body [Cao Fig. 6, plate 32 covers body 33], the flow channel further comprises a communication channel, the communication channel is formed in the terminal post body and is in communication with the accommodating cavity [Cao n0094-n0095 and throughout, Figs. 1-6, duct 331 in terminal post body 33 as the communication channel in communication with the accommodating cavity as described], the electrolyte solution filling hole is formed on the terminal post cover plate [Cao n0095, Fig. 6, electrolyte solution filling hole is the upper portion of 32] and is in communication with the communication channel [Cao 0095], and the sealing structure is engaged with the terminal post cover plate to open or seal the electrolyte solution filling hole [Cao n0049-n0053; n0067-n0068; n0088, and throughout, Figs. 3-6, sealing components are parts 34-36, where 35 and 36 would be considered to engage with the terminal post structure portion 33 directly and 34 engages with the terminal post structure portion 32 directly. Cao teaches sealing. The limitation open OR seal is considered as either limitation meets the claim. Thus, Cao anticipates the limitation.],
wherein the terminal post cover plate comprises a cover plate portion and a first base seat portion [Cao n0054 and throughout, Fig. 6 frame 322 as the first base seat and plate 321 as the cover plate portion], the cover plate portion covers the terminal post body [Cao n0054 and throughout, Fig. 6], the first base seat portion is mounted at the cover plate portion [Cao n0054 and throughout, Fig. 6], at least a portion of the electrolyte solution filling hole is formed on the first base seat portion [Cao n0054, n0095-n0096 and throughout, Fig. 6 upper edge of 322], and the sealing structure is engaged with the first base seat portion [Cao n0054, n0095-n0096, and throughout, Fig. 6, sealing structure portion 34 engages with the upper edge of 322],
wherein a first mounting groove that opens away from the accommodating cavity is provided in the cover plate portion [Cao Fig. 6, as indicated below, the region of cover plate portion 321 where connecting portion 33 is mounted reads on the claimed first mounting groove], and at least a portion of the first base seat portion is embedded in the first mounting groove [Cao n0059 and throughout, Fig. 6, Cao teaches the plate 321 (plate portion) and outer frame 322 (first base seat portion ) can be integrated by welding or integrally formed, which reads on embedded. As described above, first base seat portion 322 would be considered embedded with the first mounting groove where cover plate 321 is used for mounting 33 on the right side of Fig. 6];
the communication channel comprises a first accommodating groove [Cao n00954-n0096 and throughout, Figs. 1-6, first accommodating groove 320] and an electrolyte solution passage hole [Cao noo94-n0096, Figs. 1-6, passage hole 3311], the first accommodating groove opens toward the terminal post cover plate to communicate with the electrolyte solution filling hole [Cao n0094-n0096, Figs. 1-6, 320 opens toward 321/322] and the electrolyte solution passage hole penetrates a groove wall of the first accommodating groove [Cao n0095-n0095, Fig. 6, passage hole 3311 would be considered to penetrate a groove wall in the bottom wall portion of 320 (321)] and is in communication with the first accommodating groove and the accommodating cavity [Cao n0094-n0096, passage hole 3311 communicates through the first accommodating groove 320 and the accommodating cavity within housing 1/31],
wherein the communication channel further comprises a second accommodating groove, the second accommodating groove is located on a side of the first accommodating groove that is close to the accommodating cavity [Cao Fig. 6 as shown below], the second accommodating groove opens toward the accommodating cavity to be in communication with the accommodating cavity [Cao Fig. 6 as shown below], and the electrolyte solution passage hole penetrates a groove wall of the second accommodating groove to be in communication with the first accommodating groove and the second accommodating groove [Cao Fig. 6 as shown below] (1 starting at wherein);
and/or the battery cell comprises a battery cell assembly, the battery cell assembly comprises an active substance coating portion received in the accommodating cavity and a conductive portion connected to the active substance coating portion, a communication hole for communicating the first accommodating groove and the accommodating cavity is formed in the terminal post body, one or more communication holes are provided, at least one communication hole is used as the electrolyte solution passage hole, and the conductive portion is passed through the at least one communication hole to be at least partially received in the first accommodating groove (2) [This limitation is treated as either (1) or (2) is required by the claim. While Cao reads on a significant portion of the limitation (2), Cao does not explicitly teach an active substance coating portion and thus does not anticipate (2). However, as provided above, Cao teaches (1) and thus anticipates the claim.].
Regarding Claim 13, Cao discloses the battery according to claim 11 [see 112b rejection], wherein the terminal post structure comprises a terminal post body [Cao n0049, n0090-n0092, and throughout, Figs. 1-6 and throughout, connecting portion 32 and connecting member 33 as the terminal post body], the terminal post body is mounted on the housing [Cao Figs. 6 and 8 show this configuration where 32/33 is on housing 1/31], the flow channel further comprises an accommodating groove [Cao n0094-n0096 and throughout, Figs. 1-6, accommodating groove 320], both the accommodating groove and the electrolyte solution filling hole are formed in the terminal post body [Cao n0094-n0096, Fig. 6, groove 320 is in 32 and filling hole 3311 is in 33; thus, Cao meets the limitation], the electrolyte solution filling hole penetrates a groove wall on a side of the accommodating groove that is away from a groove opening of the accommodating groove to communicate with the accommodating groove [Cao Fig. 6. See below], and the sealing structure is engaged with the terminal post body to open or seal the electrolyte solution filling hole [Cao n0049-n0053; n0067-n0068; n0088, and throughout, Figs. 3-6, sealing components are parts 34-36, where 35 and 36 would be considered to engage with the terminal post body portion 33 directly and 34 engages with the terminal post body portion 32 directly. Cao teaches sealing. The limitation open OR seal is considered as either limitation meets the claim. Thus, Cao anticipates the limitation.].
Regarding Claim 14, Cao discloses the battery cell of claim 13, wherein the terminal post body comprises a body portion and a second base seat portion [Cao n0049, n0090-n0092, and throughout, Figs. 1-6 and throughout, connecting portion 32 as the second base seat portion and connecting member 33 as the body portion], the body portion is mounted on the housing [Cao Figs. 6 and 8 show this configuration where 33 is on housing 1/31], the second base seat portion is mounted at the body portion [Cao Figs. 6 and 8 show this configuration where 32 is on 33], at least a portion of the electrolyte solution filling hole is formed on the second base seat portion [Cao Fig. 6, see below], and the sealing structure is engaged with the second base seat portion [Cao Fig. 6, see below].
Regarding Claim 15, Cao discloses the battery cell according to claim 13,
wherein the accommodating groove comprises a third accommodating groove with a groove opening facing away from the accommodating cavity [Cao n0094-n0096 and throughout, Figs. 1-6, accommodating groove 320 with an opening facing up], and the electrolyte solution filling hole penetrates a groove wall on a side of the third accommodating groove that is close to the accommodating cavity [Cao Fig. 6. See below], wherein the accommodating groove further comprises a fourth accommodating groove with a groove opening facing the accommodating cavity [Cao Fig. 6. See below], the fourth accommodating groove is located on the side of the third accommodating groove that is close to the accommodating cavity [Cao Fig. 6. See below], and the electrolyte solution filling hole penetrates a groove wall on a side of the fourth accommodating groove that is away from the accommodating cavity to communicate the third accommodating groove with the fourth accommodating groove [Cao Fig. 6. See below] (1 beginning with wherein); and/or
the accommodating groove comprises a fifth accommodating groove with a groove opening facing the accommodating cavity [Cao Fig. 6. See below], and the electrolyte solution filling hole penetrates a groove wall on a side of the fifth accommodating groove that is away from the accommodating cavity [Cao Fig. 6. See below], (2) [This limitation is treated as either (1) or (2) is required by the claim. Cao can be interpreted such that either (1) or (2) are met as described above and thus meets the claim limitations.].
Cao interpretation for limitations of (1):
Cao interpretation for limitations of (2):
Regarding Claim 18, Cao discloses the battery cell of claim 1, wherein the housing assembly comprises a housing [Cao n0040-n0049 and throughout, Figs. 1-6, housing 1 and cover plates 31], the accommodating cavity is defined by the housing [Cao n0040-n0049 and throughout, Figs. 1-6 interior of housing where the cell assembly and parts of cover plate assembly are disposed], the housing comprises a first housing wall [Cao n0040-n0049, Figs. 1-8, first housing wall as cover plate 31], a surface on a side of the first housing wall that faces the accommodating cavity is an inner surface [Cao n0040-n0049 and throughout, Figs. 1-8 interior of housing wall 31 where the cell assembly and parts of cover plate assembly are disposed]
a surface on a side of the first housing wall that is away from the accommodating cavity is an outer surface [Cao n0040-n0047 and throughout, Figs. 1-8 exterior of housing wall 31 on the side of 32], the flow channel comprises the electrolyte solution filling hole that is directly or indirectly provided in the first housing wall [Cao n0095, n0049, Figs. 1-6, Cao teaches the electrolyte flow channel is 320 through 3311 to the interior of housing 1/31 [0095], which would be considered formed directly in the first housing wall 31.],
two ends of the electrolyte solution filling hole are respectively a hole outer end and a hole inner end, the hole outer end and the hole inner end are disposed in sequence in a direction from the outer surface to the inner surface of the first housing wall, and the hole inner end is located on a side of the inner surface of the first housing wall that is away from the accommodating cavity [Cao as shown in Fig. 6 below],
wherein the mounting portion is disposed on the first housing wall, at least a portion of the mounting portion protrudes from a side of the outer surface of the first housing wall that is away from the accommodating cavity, and the electrolyte solution filling hole is provided in the mounting portion [Cao see Fig. 6 below] ;
the hole inner end is located on the side of the outer surface of the first housing wall that is away from the accommodating cavity [Cao see Fig. 6 below].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as provided for claim 3 above.
Regarding Claim 4, Chen discloses the battery cell according to claim 3, wherein the first structural member is connected to the second structural member detachably [Chen column 30 and throughout, for second interpretation as described in claim 3, the second structural member 3 is detachable from the first structural member 2 as taught throughout.];
the connection between the first structural member and the second structural member enables the first structural member and the second structural member to remain in a connected state when the sealing structure is detached with respect to the housing assembly [Chen column 25-26 and throughout, Chen teaches an embodiment where 3 is attached to body 2 through sheet 33. Then 2 is installed in the cover 10 with 3 attached and rotated into a closed first position. To remove, 2 is rotated in a reverse direction into second position and the cover body 2 is taken off with sealing element 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Chen’s embodiment teaching of the limitation with the embodiment as described above for the predictable result of simplification of the opening and closing of the sealing member for the purpose of filling electrolyte on an as needed basis [Chen column 25-27 and throughout],
a first mating portion is provided on a side of the first structural member that faces the second structural member, a second mating portion is provided on a side of the second structural member that faces the first structural member, one of the first mating portion and the second mating portion is a convex structure and the other is a concave structure [Chen columns 19-20 and throughout, Fig. 3 as shown below read on the claim limitations. Regarding concave and convex structures, specifically, per Merriam Webster online dictionary definition of convex, the upper portion 32 of second structural member 3 is considered a convex structure since it is curved or rounded outward like the exterior of a circle. The underside of first structural member 2 (212) is considered concave. Per Merriam Webster online dictionary, a concave structure would be hollow and the region 212 of first structural member 2 is hollow to receive the convex portion of the second structural member 3. For purpose of compact prosecution, if either of the first mating portion or the second mating portion are not considered to be concave and convex, such modification would be obvious per MPEP 2144.04 since it would not change the purpose of the first mating portion and second mating portion of providing a mated interface between the two structural members. See MPEP 2144.04 IV, B.], and
the convex structure is engaged with the concave structure (1);
and/or the convex structure forms an interference fit, a threaded engagement, or a limiting engagement via a limiting structure with the concave structure to prevent the convex structure from being disengaged from the concave structure (2) [This limitation is treated as either (1) or (2) is required by the claim. In this case, Chen reads on both limitations. Regarding (1), Chen teaches at least a part of 3 (thrust table 32) is arranged in the second groove 212 and protruding part 213 of first structural member 2 enhances the pressing force of the cover body 2 onto sealing element 2, improving the sealing effect [Chen columns 19-20]. Regarding (2), the close fit taught by Chen in columns 19-20 regarding the force on the sealing element reads on the claimed interference fit.].
This is an obviousness type rejection due to the combination of embodiments as described above.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as provided for claim 7 above.
Regarding Claim 8, Chen discloses the battery cell according to claim 7, wherein the housing assembly forms the stepped surface at the connection between the first channel section and the second channel section, and the stepped surface obliquely extends toward the accommodating cavity in a direction from a hole wall of the first channel section to the second channel section [Chen column 23 Fig. 11, Chen teaches an embodiment in Fig. 11 where the stepped surface between the first channel section and the second channel section includes oblique extension toward the accommodating cavity as shown below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Chen’s embodiment of Fig. 11 with the other embodiments with the predictable result of smooth installation between the second structural member 3 and the flow channel [Chen column 23].
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Shan, or Cao, as provided for claim 1 above, and in further view of Zhou et al. CN215988965U, as provided on the IDS dated 10/14/2025, US20240079693A1 relied upon for translation.
Regarding claim 20, Chen, Shan, or Cao discloses a battery [Chen column 4 and throughout, Fig. 1D and throughout; Cao throughout as described in Claim 1 above; Shan throughout, Fig. 4 cell] and the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of battery cells are provided [Chen Figs. 1B-1D, Cao, duplication of Cao’s battery would be obvious per MPEP 2144.04 VI, B. Likewise, duplication of Shan’s batter would be obvious per MPEP 2144.04 VI, B] but is silent to comprising a bus component and at least two battery cells are electrically connected by the bus component. Zhou teaches a plurality of battery cells in a battery module 6 may be electrically connected through a bus component, so as to realize parallel, serial or parallel-series connection of the plurality of battery cells in the battery module 6 [Zhao 0075]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Zhao’s teachings with the prior arts of either Che, Shan, or Cao as described above for the predictable result of a battery module with electrical connection between a group of battery cells to meet the power requirements for a given application, such as to power a vehicle [Zhao 0066].
Contact Information
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN216720089U and CN201673939U each teach a flow channel in communication with the accommodating cavity in a terminal, which is considered relevant to at least claims 1 and 11-15.
/M. T. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724