DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action has been issued in response to Applicant’s Communication of application S/N 19/358,007 filed on October 14, 2025. Claims 1 to 20 are currently pending with the application.
Priority
The instant application is a continuation of application S/N 18/904,278, filed on October 2, 2024, which is a continuation of application S/N 16/698,900, filed on November 27, 2019, and which claims priority from provisional application S/N 62/896,460, filed on September 5, 2019. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of the prior-filed applications under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, or 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3 to 8, 10 to 15, and 17 to 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 13, 16, 18, and 21 of U.S. Patent 12,141,197, and claims 1, 7, 8, 14, 15, and 20 of U.S. Patent 12,468,759. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are anticipated by the claims in the U.S. Patents.
Following mapping of claims 1, and 3 to 7 of Instant Application to claims 13, and 16 of U.S. Patent 12,141,197. Similar mapping applies to claims 8, 10 to 15, and 17 to 20 of instant application, since they recite similar limitations.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent 12,141,197
1. A computer-implemented method comprising: generating, for each received media sample of a plurality of received media samples from broadcast media, at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint based on the received media sample, wherein each of the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint is based on at least one adjustment of the received media sample, wherein each of the at least one adjustment is associated with a corresponding type; identifying at least one match based on comparing the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint to at least one reference media fingerprint; updating a frequency of occurrence of each type of the at least one adjustment corresponding to each of the at least one match of the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint; and transmitting a report, wherein the report comprises the frequency of occurrence of each type of the at least one adjustment.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the at least one adjustment is one of (a) a pitch shift by a pitch shift value, (b) a time shift by a time shift value, or (c) a resample by a resample ratio of the received media sample.
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the type of the at least one adjustment is one of (a) a pitch shift, (b) a time shift, or (c) a resample.
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the report further comprises (a) one or more pitch shift values, (b) one or more time shift values, or (c) one or more resample ratios.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the report is transmitted in response to a query.
13. A method comprising: receiving broadcast media, wherein the broadcast media comprises a plurality of received media samples; analyzing each received media sample of the plurality of received media samples by: generating at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint based on the received media sample, wherein each of the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint comprises at least one of (a) a pitch shift, (b) a time shift, or (c) a resample of the received media sample; identifying at least one match based on comparing the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint to at least one reference media fingerprint; and updating a frequency of occurrence of each of (a) a pitch shift value, (b) a time shift value, or (c) a resample ratio corresponding to each of the at least one match of the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint; receiving, after collecting the broadcast media for a threshold period of time a request for information associated with a query corresponding to a suspected alteration to an audio signal; and transmitting, in response to the received request, a report, wherein the report includes the frequency of occurrence of (a) the pitch shift value, (b) the time shift value, or (c) the resample ratio.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein the one or more pitch shift values, the one or more time shift values, or the one or more resample ratios have a higher frequency of occurrence than (a) one or more additional pitch shift values, (b) one or more additional time shift values, or (c) one or more additional resample ratios, respectively.
16. The method of claim 13, wherein the report includes (a) one or more pitch shift values or (b) one or more resample ratios that have a higher frequency of occurrence than (a) one or more additional pitch shift values or (b) one or more additional resample ratios, respectively.
Following mapping of claims 1, and 3 to 7 of Instant Application to claims 8, and 14 of U.S. Patent 12,468,759. Similar mapping applies to claims 8, 10 to 15, and 17 to 20 of instant application, since they recite similar limitations.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent 12,468,759
1. A computer-implemented method comprising: generating, for each received media sample of a plurality of received media samples from broadcast media, at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint based on the received media sample, wherein each of the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint is based on at least one adjustment of the received media sample, wherein each of the at least one adjustment is associated with a corresponding type; identifying at least one match based on comparing the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint to at least one reference media fingerprint; updating a frequency of occurrence of each type of the at least one adjustment corresponding to each of the at least one match of the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint; and transmitting a report, wherein the report comprises the frequency of occurrence of each type of the at least one adjustment.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the at least one adjustment is one of (a) a pitch shift by a pitch shift value, (b) a time shift by a time shift value, or (c) a resample by a resample ratio of the received media sample.
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the type of the at least one adjustment is one of (a) a pitch shift, (b) a time shift, or (c) a resample.
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the report further comprises (a) one or more pitch shift values, (b) one or more time shift values, or (c) one or more resample ratios.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the report is transmitted in response to a query.
8. A computer-implemented method comprising: generating, for each received media sample of a plurality of received media samples from broadcast media, at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint based on the received media sample, wherein each of the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint comprises at least one of (a) a pitch shift, (b) a time shift, or (c) a resample of the received media sample; identifying at least one match based on comparing the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint to at least one reference media fingerprint; updating a frequency of occurrence of each of (a) a pitch shift value, (b) a time shift value, or (c) a resample ratio corresponding to each of the at least one match of the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint; receiving, after collecting the broadcast media for a threshold period of time, a request for information associated with a query corresponding to a suspected alteration to an audio signal; and transmitting, in response to the received request, a report, wherein the report includes the frequency of occurrence of at least one of (a) the pitch shift value, (b) the time shift value, or (c) the resample ratio.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein the one or more pitch shift values, the one or more time shift values, or the one or more resample ratios have a higher frequency of occurrence than (a) one or more additional pitch shift values, (b) one or more additional time shift values, or (c) one or more additional resample ratios, respectively.
14. The computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the report includes (a) one or more pitch shift values, (b) one or more time shift values, or (c) one or more resample ratios that have a higher frequency of occurrence than (a) one or more additional pitch shift values, (b) one or more additional time shift values or (c) one or more additional resample ratios, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 to 6, 8 to 13, and 15 to 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilobrov et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0371962) hereinafter Bilobrov, and further in view of Yen (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0314507).
As to claim 1:
Bilobrov discloses:
A computer-implemented method comprising:
generating, for each received media sample of a plurality of received media samples from broadcast media, at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint based on the received media sample, wherein each of the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint is based on at least one adjustment of the received media sample[Paragraph 0024 teaches generating a set of distorted fingerprints based on a test content item; Paragraph 0093 teaches test content item may be a live content stream provided by an authorized broadcaster; Paragraph 0094 teaches generating a set of distorted fingerprints ];
identifying at least one match based on comparing the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint to at least one reference media fingerprint [Paragraph 0014 teaches evaluating at least one portion of a test content item with at least one portion of a reference content item using one or more first fingerprints of the test content item and one or more first fingerprints of the reference content item; Paragraph 0024 teaches determining one or more reference content items using the set of distorted fingerprints, wherein the test content item is evaluated against at least one reference content item to identify matching content; Paragraph 0033 teaches determining at least one matching reference content item using the fingerprint; Paragraph 0094 teaches distorted fingerprinted frames can be used to identify one or more reference content items and determine what portions of those reference content items include matching content].
Bilobrov does not appear to expressly disclose wherein each of the at least one adjustment is associated with a corresponding type; updating a frequency of occurrence of each type of the at least one adjustment corresponding to each of the at least one match of the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint; and transmitting a report, wherein the report comprises the frequency of occurrence of each type of the at least one adjustment.
Yen discloses:
wherein each of the at least one adjustment is associated with a corresponding type [Paragraph 0063 teaches based on the type of modification, the system may determine that the modification is legitimate, therefore, the adjustments or modifications correspond to a type, i.e., adding frames; Paragraph 0066 teaches determine a type of modification (e.g., addition of frames, deletion of frames, modification of frames, repeated frames, etc.)];
updating a frequency of occurrence of each type of the at least one adjustment corresponding to each of the at least one match of the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint [Paragraph 0063 teaches determining the type of modification; Paragraph 0092 teaches determining the number and types of modifications of the unverified content item, hence, updating frequency of occurrence of the types of modifications of the matching items]; and
transmitting a report, wherein the report comprises the frequency of occurrence of each type of the at least one adjustment [Paragraph 0085 teaches generating an indication of the number of frames that have been altered; Paragraph 0113 teaches percent of altered content, modification type, clusters of altered content; Fig. 14 teaches a matrix (representing the report) indicating the frequency of occurrence of altered content by modification type].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Bilobrov, by incorporating wherein each of the at least one adjustment is associated with a corresponding type; updating a frequency of occurrence of each type of the at least one adjustment corresponding to each of the at least one match of the at least one adjusted media sample fingerprint; and transmitting a report, wherein the report comprises the frequency of occurrence of each type of the at least one adjustment, as taught by Yen [Paragraph 0062, 0063, 0085, 0092, 0113, Fig. 14], because both applications are directed to identification of content, including when it has been altered; tracking the frequency of types of modifications, and providing the data, i.e., in a report, enables the system to learn which modifications and combinations of alterations require user alerting, enabling feedback mechanisms that further allow for the improvement of the processes (See Yen Para [0111]).
As to claim 2:
Bilobrov as modified by Yen discloses:
the plurality of received media samples is received by a central facility [Yen - Paragraph 0050 teaches system includes a server, which may be a cloud-based network including a plurality of servers and devices for content delivery; Fig. 6, 604, Server in communication with a network, media content sources, and user equipments].
As to claim 3:
Bilobrov discloses:
at least one of the at least one adjustment is one of (a) a pitch shift by a pitch shift value, (b) a time shift by a time shift value, or (c) a resample by a resample ratio of the received media sample [Paragraph 0071 teaches fingerprinting module can shift the set of frames to compute the next fingerprint, by one frame, for example, if the initial set of frames included values for frames 1 to 8, then the shifted set of frames will include values for frames 2 to 9, hence, a time shift by a time shift value].
As to claim 4:
Bilobrov discloses:
type of the at least one adjustment is one of (a) a pitch shift, (b) a time shift, or (c) a resample [Paragraph 0071 teaches fingerprinting module can shift the set of frames to compute the next fingerprint, by one frame, for example, if the initial set of frames included values for frames 1 to 8, then the shifted set of frames will include values for frames 2 to 9, hence, a time shift].
As to claim 5:
The combination of Bilobrov and Yen discloses:
at least one of the at least one adjustment is one of (a) a pitch shift by a pitch shift value, (b) a time shift by a time shift value, or (c) a resample by a resample ratio of the received media sample [Bilobrov - Paragraph 0071 teaches fingerprinting module can shift the set of frames to compute the next fingerprint, by one frame, for example, if the initial set of frames included values for frames 1 to 8, then the shifted set of frames will include values for frames 2 to 9, hence, a time shift by a time shift value; Yen - Paragraph 0085 teaches generating an indication of the number of frames that have been altered; Paragraph 0113 teaches percent of altered content, modification type, clusters of altered content; Fig. 14 teaches a matrix (representing the report) indicating the frequency of occurrence of altered content by modification type].
As to claim 6:
The combination of Bilobrov and Yen discloses:
the one or more pitch shift values, the one or more time shift values, or the one or more resample ratios have a higher frequency of occurrence than (a) one or more additional pitch shift values, (b) one or more additional time shift values, or (c) one or more additional resample ratios, respectively [Bilobrov - Paragraph 0071 teaches fingerprinting module can shift the set of frames to compute the next fingerprint, by one frame, for example, if the initial set of frames included values for frames 1 to 8, then the shifted set of frames will include values for frames 2 to 9, hence, a time shift by a time shift value; Yen – Fig. 14 teaches a matrix (report) representing the modification types, and the frequency, and teaches types of modification “altered portion” has a higher frequency as a % of altered content of 12.5%].
Same rationale applies to claims 8 to 12, and 15 to 20, since they recite similar limitations, and are therefore similarly rejected.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilobrov et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0371962) hereinafter Bilobrov, in view of Yen (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0314507), and further in view of Stoddard et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0361843) hereinafter Stoddard.
As to claim 7:
Bilobrov discloses all the limitations as set forth in the rejections of claim 1 above, but does not appear to expressly disclose the report is transmitted in response to a query.
Stoddard discloses:
the report is transmitted in response to a query.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Bilobrov, by incorporating wherein each of the at least one adjustment is associated with a corresponding type; by transmitting the report in response to a query, as taught by Stoddard [Paragraph 0205], because the applications are directed to processing of data, including content matching and identification; transmitting the report in response to a query is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Same rationale applies to claim 14, since it recites similar limitations, and is therefor similarly rejected.
Conclusion
/RAQUEL PEREZ-ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169