DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11, & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN Pub No. 112537457 A).
Claims 1 & 11
Wang teaches a mobile landing assistance system (See figures 1-7) comprising: a vehicle (See page 5, lines 14-40 & figure 1, ref # 1) providing mobility; and a landing pad (See figures 1-7, ref # 5) securable to the vehicle (See figures 1-7, ref # 1) for transportation, the landing pad (See figures 1-7, ref # 5) comprising: a first panel (See figures 1-7, ref # 51) extending in a first direction, the first panel (See figures 1-7, ref # 51) having a plurality of hinge openings (See figures 1-7, ref # near 53 & 61) along two opposing side edges along the first direction; a second panel (See figures 1-7, ref # 52 & 521) hinged to the first panel (See figures 1-7, ref # 51) at hinge openings of a first of the two opposing side edges; (See figures 1-7) and a third panel (See figures 1-7, ref # 52 & 521) hinged to the first panel (See figures 1-7, ref # 51) at hinge openings of a second of the two opposing side edges, the second panel (See figures 1-7, ref # 52 & 521) and the third panel (See figures 1-7, ref # 52 & 521) foldable (See figures 1-4) toward each other during transportation (See figures 1-7) and deployable (See figures 5-7) to provide a flat top surface (See figures 1-7, ref # 5) together with the first panel (See figures 1-7, ref # 51) during use as a helipad. (See page 5, lines 14-40 & figures 1-7, ref # 5)
Regarding claim 9
Wang teaches further comprising: a fourth panel (See figures 1-7, ref # 52) hinged (See figures 1-7, ref # 53) at an outer edge of the second panel; (See figures 1-7, ref # 521) and a fifth panel (See figures 1-7, ref # 52) hinged (See figures 1-7, ref # 53) at an outer edge of the third panel, (See figures 1-7, ref # 521) wherein the fourth panel (See figures 1-7, ref # 52) is foldable toward the second panel (See figures 1-7, ref # 521) during transportation and deployable to align with the top surface (See figures 1-7, ref # 51) for use as the helipad, (See figures 1-7, ref # 5) and wherein the fifth panel (See figures 1-7, ref # 52) is foldable toward the third panel (See figures 1-7, ref # 521) during transportation and deployable to align with the top surface (See figures 1-7, ref # 51) for use as the helipad. (See figures 1-7, ref # 5)
Regarding claim 19
Wang teaches wherein the vehicle (See figures 1-7, ref # 1) comprises at least one of: a land vehicle (See figures 1-7, ref # 1) configured to tow the landing pad (See figures 1-7, ref # 5) during transportation; (See page 5, lines 14-40 & figure 1, ref # 1) an ariel vehicle configured to lift the landing pad open in air during transportation; or an ariel vehicle configured to enclose and carry the landing pad during transportation. (Further, while Wang specifically mentions the vehicle as a trailer, the helipad is a size that could be loaded into an aircraft or picked up by a helicopter for transportation.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Claims 2-8, 10, & 12-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 2 & 12,
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “a plurality of rollers or wheels mounted to and rotatable under the first panel; a plurality of trailer stabilizers; a trailer tongue coupler at a front end of the first panel; and a trailer tongue jack” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claims 2 & 12.
Regarding claims 4 & 14,
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “wherein the second panel and the third panel respectively comprise: a foldable staircase, ramp or lift; a plurality of storage units underneath the first panel; and one or more hydraulic cylinders hinged on the first panel and configured to respectively power the second panel and the third panel to move between a folded position and a deployed position” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claims 4 & 14.
Regarding claims 5 & 15,
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “wherein the second panel comprises a locking mechanism and the third panel comprises a corresponding opening to receive a hook of the locking mechanism to secure the second panel and the third panel in a folded position” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claims 5 & 15.
Regarding claim 8,
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “wherein the first panel has a width no greater than a traffic lane width, and wherein the first panel, the second panel, and the third panel provide a plurality of light-emitting and optical aids for identifying the landing pad” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claims 10 & 18,
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “wherein the fourth panel and the fifth panel respectively comprises a lock-in mechanism that biases respective hinge connections between the fourth panel and the second panel, and the fifth panel and the third panel, to stay aligned with the top surface” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claims 10 & 18.
Regarding claim 20,
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “and wherein the third panel is locked to the second panel using a locking mechanism in the folded condition; releasing the locking mechanism to allow the second panel and the third panel freely rotate relative to the first panel” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The reference Conyers et al. (Pub No. US 2017/0137150 A1) discloses a landing pad comprising: a first panel extending in a first direction, the first panel having a plurality of hinge openings along two opposing side edges along the first direction; a second panel hinged to the first panel at hinge openings of a first of the two opposing side edges; and a third panel hinged to the first panel at hinge openings of a second of the two opposing side edges, the second panel and the third panel foldable toward each other during transportation and deployable to provide a flat top surface together with the first panel during use as a helipad.
The reference Hadley et al. (US Patent No. 9,403,559 B1) discloses a helicopter transport apparatus, a first panel extending in a first direction, a plurality of rollers or wheels mounted and rotatable under the first panel; a plurality of trailer stabilizers; a trailer tongue coupler at a front end of the first panel; and a trailer tongue jack.
The reference Svirsky et al. (Pub No. US 2021/0070468 A1) discloses a mobile stowable/deployable helipad/landing pad, a first panel, a second panel, and third panel.
The reference Harris et al. (Pub No. US 2021/0047052 A1) discloses a helipad on a ship, a first panel, and folding second and third panels on opposite side edges.
The reference Newcomb (Pub No. US 2020/0010214 A1) discloses a mobile helipad with a first and second panel that folds in half.
The reference Van Beest et al. (Pub No. US 2017/0320593 A1) discloses a helipad/landing pad, a plurality of light emitting and/or optical aids for identifying the landing pad.
/RODNEY A BONNETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647