DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 5, “second use” seems to be incorrect and it appears “second user” was intended because in parallel claim 9, “second user” occurs. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 7, the “unique data signal” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: the action of the generated modified treatment plan. It appears, the intended elements are readmitting the user to a healthcare facility.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/363,378 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are directed to receiving data, correlating the data using an artificial intelligence engine similarly to claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/363,378. Present claims 1-20 are directed to generating a unique data signature associated with a regression of a user’s condition. This is obvious over a treatment gap because claims 14 and 18 of copending Application No. 19/363,378 suggest generating a unique data signature associated with the treatment gap.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 10, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roh et al (US 2019/0262084).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 19, Roh discloses a computer-implemented method, instructions, and system comprising: receiving, from one or more of an electromechanical machine (surgical robot), a sensor, and a computing device, data associated with a user that uses the electromechanical machine to perform a treatment plan, see paragraph [0029];
based on one or more correlations of one or more indicators included in the data, generating, using an artificial intelligence engine, a unique data signature associated with a regression of the user’s condition (adverse events), wherein the unique data signal is generated when the one or more indicators satisfy a respective threshold indicator level, and the one or more indicators comprise a pain measurement, a measurement of revolutions per minute, and a session pedaling time, see paragraph [0031],
based on the unique data signature associated with the regression of the user’s condition, generating, using the artificial engine, a modified treatment plan at least by modifying a parameter or activity associated with at least one of the pain measurement, the measurement of revolutions per minute, and the session pedaling time, see paragraph [0031], and
controlling, while the user uses the electromechanical machine and using the modified treatment plan, the electromechanical machine, see paragraphs [0101] and [0115].
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Roh discloses the artificial intelligence engine uses one or more trained computer-implemented models to generate the unique data signature associated with the regression of the user’s condition, see paragraphs [0031], [0031] and [0051].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roh et al (US 2019/0262084).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Roh teaches pain can be monitored and evaluated to determine whether to modify the treatment plan, see paragraph [0031]. In addition, Roh teaches a user can input information for performing procedures, see paragraph [0084]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide a user input peripheral to transmit a pain measurement that has been input by the user to monitor and evaluate the pain to determine whether to modify the treatment plan.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Roh teaches, the data processing system may be implemented utilizing any suitable commercially available components, such as those typically found in data computing/communication and/or network computing/communication systems, see paragraph [0159].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found a telehealth session to be a network computing/communication system implementation that is well known in the art. Thus, based on the unique data signature associated with the regression of the user’s condition, initiating a telehealth session between the computing device and a second computing device associated with a second user would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 2, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roh et al (US 2019/0262084) as applied to claims 1, 10 and 19 above, and further in view of Hyde et al (US 2013/0173305).
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 20, Roh does not disclose generating the modified treatment plan comprises an action of readmitting the user to a healthcare facility based on the unique data signature associated with the regression of the user’s condition.
Hyde teaches readmitting the user to a healthcare facility based on the unique data signature associated with the regression of the user’s condition, see paragraph [0217].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of Hyde with the electromechanical machine (surgical robot) of Roh to readmit the user to a healthcare facility based on the unique data signature associated with the regression of the user’s condition because Hyde suggests readmission for the same condition when a prior treatment presents a regression of the user’s condition.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached on regular business days.
/George Manuel/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 3792
3/26/2026