Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9, 11-14, 16-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballentine et al. (US 2023/0208348) in view of Mak et al. (WO 2026/057079).
Regarding claim 1, Ballentine discloses a solar tracking system (see abstract), comprising:
a plurality of solar tracker rows arranged in parallel in a north-south direction (see para [0005]);
each solar tracker row including:
a plurality of support piers (support posts 140); a torque tube (250) extending along the row and rotatably supported on the plurality of support piers (see fig. 4, para [0030] and [0024]-[0025]);
a plurality of solar module assemblies coupled to the torque tube (see para [0003]), a solar module that holds a plurality of photovoltaic cells (well-known expedient in the art, see MPEP § 2144.03, obvious to combine according to known methods wherein result is predictable), the solar module having a front surface configured to face the sun (see para [0006], [0018] and [0024]).
Ballentine does not disclose the plurality of solar module assemblies comprise edge protection against hail damage, each solar module assembly including: a first side and a second side, opposite the first side; the solar module having a sidewall extending away from the front surface; a frame having a frame wall disposed about a perimeter of the solar module sidewall and supporting the solar module, the frame wall having a first wall on the first side; and a hail absorption wall extending along and spaced from the first wall, the hail absorption wall being attached to the frame and shielding a portion of the first side of each one of the plurality of solar module assemblies from hail falling in a direction towards the first wall.
Mak et al. is analogous art to Ballentine as Mak is directed to photovoltaic modules (see para [0005]). Mak discloses wherein a plurality of solar module assembly comprises an edge protection against hail damage (shown in figs. 2 and 3, see para [0057]-[0058]), each solar module assembly (10) including:
a first side and a second side (shown in figs. 2 and 3), opposite the first side;
the solar module having a sidewall extending away from the front surface (shown in fig. 3);
a frame having a frame wall disposed about a perimeter of the solar module sidewall (i.e., the sidewall (edge) of the frame is the frame wall, shown in figs. 2-3 and 12) and supporting the solar module (see para [0005]-[0006]),
the frame wall having a first wall (64) on the first side (upper end 12, the sidewall of the frame being the frame wall); and a hail absorption (14) wall extending along and spaced from the first wall (shown in Mak figs. 2-3 and 12, see para [0057]-[0058]),
the hail absorption wall being attached to the frame (shown in fig. 12) and shielding a portion of the first side of each one of the plurality of solar module assemblies from hail falling in a direction towards the first wall (shown in Mak fig. 3) (see also fig. 3 from priority document copied below for clarification only).
Mak discloses hail protection edge protection can protect from damage due to hail including cracks in the module and a shortened life span (see Mak para [0002]).
Therefore it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the solar tracking system of Ballentine with the hail protection edge protection of Mak as the edge protection may prevent damage and prevent a shortened life span.
Regarding claim 4, modified Ballentine discloses a solar tracking system of claim 1, wherein the sidewall extends in a direction perpendicular to the front surface and defining a depth direction, the sidewall extends forward in the depth direction to a sidewall front edge and rearward in the depth direction to a sidewall rear edge (shown in Mak figs. 2, 3, and 12, para [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ballentine discloses a solar tracking system of claim 5, wherein the hail absorption wall (14) extends forward in the depth direction past the first wall front edge (shown in Mak fig. 3, see para [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ballentine discloses a solar tracking system of claim 5, wherein the hail absorption wall (14) extends rearward in the depth direction past the sidewall rear edge (64) (shown in Mak fig. 3, see para [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ballentine discloses a solar tracking system of claim 1, wherein the hail absorption wall is resilient and deflectable towards the first wall, the hail absorption wall absorbing impact energy from hail falling in a direction towards the first wall (shown in Mak fig. 3, see para [0007]-[0009]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ballentine discloses a solar tracking system of claim 1, wherein the hail absorption wall (14) is formed as a component that is separate from the first wall (shown in fig. 12, see para [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Ballentine discloses a solar tracking system of claim 11, wherein the hail absorption wall is coupled to the first wall via friction fit, snap fit, or via connectors (specifically connectors, shown in fig. 12, see para [0057]-[0058] and [0061]).
Regarding claim 13, all the limitations of claim 13 are recited in claim 1. See rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, all the limitations of claim 14 are recited in claim 4. See rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, all the limitations of claim 16 are recited in claim 6. See rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, all the limitations of claim 17 are recited in claim 7. See rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 19, all the limitations of claim 19 are recited in claim 11. See rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 20, modified Ballentine discloses a solar module assembly of claim 13, wherein the solar module assembly holds a plurality of photovoltaic cells (well-known in the art, see MPEP 2144.03, see discussion and obviousness discussion claim 1), the solar module having a front surface and configured such that the plurality of photovoltaic cells generates a voltage when solar radiation passes through the front surface (well-known in the art, see MPEP 2144.03). The court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine prior art elements, according to known methods, wherein the result is predictable. See MPEP § 2143.
Regarding claim 21, all the limitations of claim 21 are recited in claim 9. See rejection of claim 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5, 8, 10, 15, 18, and 22-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not disclose the following:
wherein the hail absorption wall forms a convex surface extending away from the first wall.
wherein the convex surface forms one or more sharp edges, whereby hail falling on the sharp edges may be broken into fragments.
wherein the first wall extends forward in the depth direction to a first wall front edge and rearward in the depth direction to a first wall rear edge, the first wall front edge extending further forward in the depth direction than the sidewall front edge, the first wall rear edge extending further rearward in the depth direction than the sidewall rear edge.
wherein the space between the hail absorption wall and the first wall contains foam, the foam absorbing impact energy from the hail absorption wall deflecting towards the first wall in response to hail striking the hail absorption wall.
wherein the hail absorption wall is formed as a part of the first wall.
Conclusion
JAYNE L. MERSHON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1721
/JAYNE L MERSHON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721