DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference # 211S2 & 211S3 in figure 2, are not mentioned in the specification and should be in paragraphs 0033-0034 of the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 12-15, & 17, & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundlach et al. (US Patent No. 11,597,490 B1) in view of Camacho (US Patent No. 7,165,772 B1).
Regarding claim 1
Gundlach teaches an integral fastening system (See column 1, lines 5-20, column 2, lines 41-42 & figures 1-5 & 9-12) for a mission-adaptable aerial vehicle, (See figures 1 & 15, ref # 10) comprising: a first airframe section (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34) having a first end region and a second end region on an opposing side with respect to the first end region; (See figures 2-5 & 9-12) a second airframe section (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34) having a first end region and a second end region on an opposing side with respect to the first end region; (See figures 2-5 & 9-12) and a bayonet mount system, (See figures 2-5 & 9-12) comprising: one or more passageways (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 80) produced on the first end region of the first airframe section, (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34) and one or more protrusions (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 70) produced on the second end region of the second airframe section (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34) configured to be connected to the first end region of the first airframe section, (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34) such that, when the first and second airframe sections (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 & 34) are being assembled, the one or more protrusions (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 70) are first aligned with an entry region of the passageway (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 80) to be translated to securely connect the first and second airframe sections (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34) together. (See figures 1 & 15)
Gundlach does not teach one or more passageways produced on the first end region of the first airframe section to include a first channel and a second channel, and one or more protrusions produced on the second end region of the second airframe section configured to be connected to the first end region of the first airframe section, such that, when the first and second airframe sections are being assembled, the one or more protrusions are first aligned with an entry region of the first channel to be translated and then aligned with the second channel of the one or more passageways to be rotated to securely connect the first and second airframe sections together.
However, Camacho teaches a bayonet mount system, (See figures 1-8) comprising: one or more passageways (See figures 1-8, ref # 12) produced on the first end region (See figures 1-8, ref # 10) of the first section (See figures 1-8, ref # 1) to include a first channel (See figures 1-8, ref # 14) and a second channel, (See figures 1-8, ref # 13) and one or more protrusions (See figures 1-8, ref # 5) produced on the second end region (See figures 1-8, ref # 4) of the second section (See figures 1-8, ref # 1) configured to be connected to the first end region (See figures 1-8, ref # 10) of the first section, (See figures 1-8, ref # 1) such that, when the first and second sections (See figures 1-8, ref # 1) are being assembled, the one or more protrusions (See figures 1-8, ref # 5) are first aligned with an entry region of the first channel (See figures 1-8, ref # 14) to be translated and then aligned with the second channel (See figures 1-8, ref # 13) of the one or more passageways (See figures 1-8, ref # 12) to be rotated to securely connect the first and second sections (See figures 1-8, ref # 1) together. (See column 4, lines 52-67, column 5, lines 1-11 & figures 1-8)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a bayonet mount system, comprising: one or more passageways produced on the first end region of the first airframe section to include a first channel and a second channel, and one or more protrusions produced on the second end region of the second airframe section configured to be connected to the first end region of the first airframe section, such that, when the first and second airframe sections are being assembled, the one or more protrusions are first aligned with an entry region of the first channel to be translated and then aligned with the second channel of the one or more passageways to be rotated to securely connect the first and second airframe sections together as taught by Camacho in the aircraft of Gundlach, so as to lock the sections together. (See abstract and column 1, lines 5-10)
Regarding claims 4 & 12
Gundlach teaches wherein the one or more protrusions (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 70) and the one or more passageways (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 80) are integrally produced through an additive manufacturing technique (See column 1, lines 5-20 & column 3, lines 52-56) as part of the first airframe section (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34) and the second airframe section. (See column 1, lines 5-20, column 3, lines 52-56 & figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34)
Regarding claims 5 & 13
Gundlach teaches wherein the additive manufacturing technique includes 3D printing. (See column 1, lines 5-20 & column 3, lines 52-56)
Regarding claims 6 & 14
Gundlach teaches wherein the one or more protrusions (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 70) includes at least one of a lug, a pin, (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 70) a nub, or other projection component. (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 70)
Regarding claims 7 & 15
Gundlach teaches wherein the one or more passageways (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 80) includes an open volume in a wall structure of an airframe structure (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34) that forms a slot, a channel, (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 80) or other cavity. (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 80)
Regarding claim 8
Gundlach teaches wherein the first and second airframe sections (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 & 34) are configured to be tightly and securely (See figures 1 & 15) connected based on physical and material properties of structures comprising the one or more protrusions (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 70) and the one or more passageways (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 80) through at least one of tight tolerances, fillets, smooth surfaces, or surface draft angles. (See column 3, lines 19-35 & 49-56, column 4, lines 65-67, column 5, lines 1-10 & figures 2-5 & 9-12)
Regarding claim 9
Gundlach teaches a mission-adaptable aerial vehicle, (See figures 1 & 15, ref # 10) comprising: a fuselage assembly, (See figure 1, ref # 26) wherein the fuselage assembly (See figure 1, ref # 26) comprises one or more fuselage sections; (See figure 1, ref # 34) a wing assembly (See figure 1, ref # 24) reversibly attachable to the fuselage assembly, (See figure 1, ref # 26) wherein the wing assembly (See figure 1, ref # 24) comprises at least one wing section; (See figure 1, ref # 32) a nose cone assembly (See figure 1) reversibly attachable to the fuselage assembly, (See figure 1, ref # 26) wherein the nose cone assembly (See figure 1) comprises at least one nose cone section; (See figure 1) and a tail assembly (See figure 1) reversibly attachable to the fuselage assembly, (See figure 1, ref # 26) wherein the tail assembly (See figure 1) comprises at least one tail section, (See figure 1) wherein at least one of the fuselage assembly, (See figure 1, ref # 26) the wing assembly, (See figure 1, ref # 24) the nose cone assembly, (See figure 1) or the tail assembly (See figure 1) includes a bayonet mount system, (See figures 2-5 & 9-12) wherein the bayonet mount system (See figures 2-5 & 9-12) comprises: one or more passageways (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 80) produced on the first end region of the first airframe section, (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34) and one or more protrusions (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 70) produced on the second end region of the second airframe section (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34) configured to be connected to the first end region of the first airframe section, (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34) such that, when the first and second airframe sections (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 & 34) are being assembled, the one or more protrusions (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 70) are first aligned with an entry region of the passageway (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 80) to be translated to securely connect the first and second airframe sections (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34) together. (See figures 1 & 15)
Gundlach does not teach one or more passageways produced on the first end region of the first airframe section to include a first channel and a second channel, and one or more protrusions produced on the second end region of the second airframe section configured to be connected to the first end region of the first airframe section, such that, when the first and second airframe sections are being assembled, the one or more protrusions are first aligned with an entry region of the first channel to be translated and then aligned with the second channel of the one or more passageways to be rotated to securely connect the first and second airframe sections together.
However, Camacho teaches a bayonet mount system, (See figures 1-8) comprising: one or more passageways (See figures 1-8, ref # 12) produced on the first end region (See figures 1-8, ref # 10) of the first section (See figures 1-8, ref # 1) to include a first channel (See figures 1-8, ref # 14) and a second channel, (See figures 1-8, ref # 13) and one or more protrusions (See figures 1-8, ref # 5) produced on the second end region (See figures 1-8, ref # 4) of the second section (See figures 1-8, ref # 1) configured to be connected to the first end region (See figures 1-8, ref # 10) of the first section, (See figures 1-8, ref # 1) such that, when the first and second sections (See figures 1-8, ref # 1) are being assembled, the one or more protrusions (See figures 1-8, ref # 5) are first aligned with an entry region of the first channel (See figures 1-8, ref # 14) to be translated and then aligned with the second channel (See figures 1-8, ref # 13) of the one or more passageways (See figures 1-8, ref # 12) to be rotated to securely connect the first and second sections (See figures 1-8, ref # 1) together. (See column 4, lines 52-67, column 5, lines 1-11 & figures 1-8)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a bayonet mount system, comprising: one or more passageways produced on the first end region of the first airframe section to include a first channel and a second channel, and one or more protrusions produced on the second end region of the second airframe section configured to be connected to the first end region of the first airframe section, such that, when the first and second airframe sections are being assembled, the one or more protrusions are first aligned with an entry region of the first channel to be translated and then aligned with the second channel of the one or more passageways to be rotated to securely connect the first and second airframe sections together as taught by Camacho in the aircraft of Gundlach, so as to lock the sections together. (See abstract and column 1, lines 5-10)
Regarding claim 17
The operation of the apparatus of claims 1 & 4 or 9 & 12 meets the limitation of the method of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18
The operation of the apparatus of claim 5 or 13 meets the limitation of the method of claim 18.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundlach et al. (US Patent No. 11,597,490 B1) in view of Camacho (US Patent No. 7,165,772 B1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kunz et al. (Pub No. US 2021/0197965 A1).
Regarding claim 16
A modified Gundlach is silent about further comprising: a propulsion unit at least partially contained in at least one of the tail assembly or the fuselage assembly and configured to drive flight of the mission-adaptable aerial vehicle; and an electronics unit comprising a wireless transceiver device and a data processing unit in communication with a control unit of or interfaced with the propulsion unit.
However, Kunz teaches further comprising: a propulsion unit (See figures 2 & 3, ref # 122) at least partially contained in at least one of the tail assembly (See figures 2 & 3, ref # 108) or the fuselage assembly (See figures 2 & 3, ref # 104) and configured to drive flight of the mission-adaptable aerial vehicle; (See paragraphs 0045, 0079 & figures 2 & 3, ref # 100) and an electronics unit comprising a wireless transceiver device and a data processing unit in communication with a control unit of or interfaced with the propulsion unit. (See paragraphs 0079, 0104 & figures 2 & 3, ref # 122)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a propulsion unit at least partially contained in at least one of the tail assembly or the fuselage assembly and configured to drive flight of the mission-adaptable aerial vehicle; and an electronics unit comprising a wireless transceiver device and a data processing unit in communication with a control unit of or interfaced with the propulsion unit as taught by Kunz in the modified aircraft of Gundlach, so as to control the flight of the aerial vehicle.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundlach et al. (US Patent No. 11,597,490 B1) in view of Camacho (US Patent No. 7,165,772 B1) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Wiegman et al. (US Patent No. 11,590,854 B1).
Regarding claim 19
Gundlach teaches wherein the additively manufacturing (See column 1, lines 5-20 & column 3, lines 52-56) the first airframe section (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34) and the second airframe section (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34) includes 3D printing (See column 1, lines 5-20 & column 3, lines 52-56) the first airframe section (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34) and the second airframe section. (See figures 2-5 & 9-12, ref # 32 or 34)
A modified Gundlach is silent about wherein the additively manufacturing includes injection molding.
However, Wiegman teaches wherein the additively manufacturing (See column 11, lines 61-65 & figure 1) the first airframe section and the second airframe section includes injection molding (See column 11, lines 61-65 & figure 1; 3D printing or injection molding) the first airframe section and the second airframe section. (See column 11, lines 61-65 & figure 1)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an additively manufacturing of the first airframe section and the second airframe section includes injection molding the first airframe section and the second airframe section as taught by Wiegman in the modified aircraft of Gundlach, since 3D printing and injection molding are both well-known types of additive manufacturing.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 6-11, 14, & 15-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,486,017 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the Instant Application are broader and thus fully met.
Regarding claim 1
Patent (017) teaches an integral fastening system for a mission-adaptable aerial vehicle, comprising: a first airframe section having a first end region and a second end region on an opposing side with respect to the first end region; a second airframe section having a first end region and a second end region on an opposing side with respect to the first end region; and a bayonet mount system, comprising: one or more passageways produced on the first end region of the first airframe section to include a first channel and second channel, and one or more protrusions produced on the second end region of the second airframe section configured to be connected to the first end region of the first airframe section, such that, when the first and second airframe sections are being assembled, the one or more protrusions are first aligned with an entry region of the first channel to be translated and then aligned with the second channel of the one or more passageways to be rotated to securely connect the first and second airframe sections together. (See claim 1)
Regarding claim 2
Patent (017) teaches wherein the bayonet mount system further includes a locking assembly comprising: one or more deflection tabs disposed at one or both of the first end region of the first airframe section and the second end region of the second airframe section; and a corresponding slot disposed at one or both of the second end region of the second airframe section and the first end region of the first airframe section. (See claim 1)
Regarding claim 3
Patent (017) teaches wherein the one or more deflection tabs is structured to have a ramp angle protrusion height, a tab thickness, and a tab width and structured to include material properties including modulus of elasticity, elongation at break, and flexural modulus to render a ramp protrusion portion of the one or more deflection tabs as depressible when undergoing a contact force and returnable to its initial position when the contact force is removed. (See claim 2)
Regarding claim 4
Patent (017) teaches wherein the one or more protrusions and the one or more passageways are integrally produced through an additive manufacturing technique as part of the first airframe section and the second airframe section. (See claim 6)
Regarding claim 5
Patent (017) teaches wherein the additive manufacturing technique includes 3D printing. (See claim 19)
Regarding claim 6
Patent (017) teaches wherein the one or more protrusions includes at least one of a lug, a pin, a nub, or other projection component. (See claim 7)
Regarding claim 7
Patent (017) teaches wherein the one or more passageways includes an open volume in a wall structure of an airframe structure that forms a slot, a channel, or other cavity. (See claim 8)
Regarding claim 8
Patent (017) teaches wherein the first and second airframe sections are configured to be tightly and securely connected based on physical and material properties of structures comprising the one or more protrusions and the one or more passageways through at least one of tight tolerances, fillets, smooth surfaces, or surface draft angles. (See claim 9)
Regarding claim 9
Patent (017) teaches a mission-adaptable aerial vehicle, comprising: a fuselage assembly, wherein the fuselage assembly comprises one or more fuselage sections; a wing assembly reversibly attachable to the fuselage assembly, wherein the wing assembly comprises at least one wing section; a nose cone assembly reversibly attachable to the fuselage assembly, wherein the nose cone assembly comprises at least one nose cone section; and a tail assembly reversibly attachable to the fuselage assembly, wherein the tail assembly comprises at least one tail section, wherein at least one of the fuselage assembly, the wing assembly, the nose cone assembly, or the tail assembly includes a bayonet mount system, wherein the bayonet mount system comprises: one or more passageways produced on a first end region of a first airframe section to include a first channel and second channel, and one or more protrusions produced on a second end region of a second airframe section configured to be connected to the first end region of the first airframe section, such that, when the first and second airframe sections are being assembled, the one or more protrusions are first aligned with an entry region of the first channel to be translated and then aligned with the second channel of the one or more passageways to be rotated to securely connect the first and second airframe sections together. (See claim 10)
Regarding claim 10
Patent (017) teaches wherein the bayonet mount system further includes a locking assembly comprising: one or more deflection tabs disposed at one or both of the first end region of the first airframe section and the second end region of the second airframe section; and a one or more slots disposed at one or both of the second end region of the second airframe section and the first end region of the first airframe section. (See claim 10)
Regarding claim 11
Patent (017) teaches wherein the one or more deflection tabs is structured to have a ramp angle protrusion height, a tab thickness, and a tab width and structured to include material properties including modulus of elasticity, elongation at break, and flexural modulus to render a ramp protrusion portion of the one or more deflection tabs as depressible when undergoing a contact force and returnable to its initial position when the contact force is removed. (See claim 11)
Regarding claim 12
Patent (017) teaches wherein the one or more protrusions and the one or more passageways are integrally produced through an additive manufacturing technique as part of the first airframe section and the second airframe section. (See claim 14)
Regarding claim 13
Patent (017) teaches wherein the additive manufacturing technique includes 3D printing. (See claim 19)
Regarding claim 14
Patent (017) teaches wherein the one or more protrusions includes at least one of a lug, a pin, a nub, or other projection component. (See claim 15)
Regarding claim 15
Patent (017) teaches wherein the one or more passageways includes an open volume in a wall structure of an airframe structure that forms a slot, a channel, or other cavity. (See claim 16)
Regarding claim 16
Patent (017) teaches further comprising: a propulsion unit at least partially contained in at least one of the tail assembly or the fuselage assembly and configured to drive flight of the mission-adaptable aerial vehicle; and an electronics unit comprising a wireless transceiver device and a data processing unit in communication with a control unit of or interfaced with the propulsion unit. (See claim 17)
Regarding claim 17
Patent (017) teaches a method of manufacturing interconnecting airframe structures for a mission-adaptable aerial vehicle, comprising: additively manufacturing a first airframe section to include one or more passageways on the first airframe section, wherein the one or more passageways comprises a first channel and second channel; and additively manufacturing a second airframe section to include one or more protrusions on the second airframe section, wherein the one or more protrusions are able to initially be aligned with an entry region of the first channel and translated into the first channel, and then be aligned with the second channel and rotated in the second channel, so as to securely connect the first airframe section and the second airframe section together, wherein the first airframe section and the second airframe section each includes one section of a fuselage assembly, a wing assembly, a nose cone assembly, or a tail assembly of an aerial vehicle. (See claim 18)
Regarding claim 18
Patent (017) teaches wherein the additively manufacturing the first airframe section and the second airframe section includes 3D-printing the first airframe section and the second airframe section. (See claim 19)
Regarding claim 19
Patent (017) teaches wherein the additively manufacturing the first airframe section and the second airframe section includes injection molding the first airframe section and the second airframe section. (See claim 20)
Regarding claim 20
Patent (017) teaches wherein the additively manufactured first airframe section and the additively manufactured second airframe section includes a locking assembly that comprises: one or more deflection tabs disposed at one or both of a first end region of the first airframe section and a second end region of the second airframe section; and a corresponding slot disposed at one or both of the second end region of the second airframe section and the first end region of the first airframe section. (See claim 18)
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 12-15, & 17-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, & 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,981,460 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the Instant Application are broader and thus fully met.
Regarding claim 1
Patent (460) teaches an integral fastening system for a mission-adaptable aerial vehicle, comprising: a first airframe section having a first end region and a second end region on an opposing side with respect to the first end region; a second airframe section having a first end region and a second end region on an opposing side with respect to the first end region; and a bayonet mount system, comprising: one or more passageways produced on the first end region of the first airframe section to include a first channel and second channel, and one or more protrusions produced on the second end region of the second airframe section configured to be connected to the first end region of the first airframe section, such that, when the first and second airframe sections are being assembled, the one or more protrusions are first aligned with an entry region of the first channel to be translated and then aligned with the second channel of the one or more passageways to be rotated to securely connect the first and second airframe sections together. (See claim 1)
Regarding claim 4
Patent (460) teaches wherein the one or more protrusions and the one or more passageways are integrally produced through an additive manufacturing technique as part of the first airframe section and the second airframe section. (See claim 9)
Regarding claim 5
Patent (460) teaches wherein the additive manufacturing technique includes 3D printing. (See claim 9)
Regarding claim 6
Patent (460) teaches wherein the one or more protrusions includes at least one of a lug, a pin, a nub, or other projection component. (See claim 1)
Regarding claim 7
Patent (460) teaches wherein the one or more passageways includes an open volume in a wall structure of an airframe structure that forms a slot, a channel, or other cavity. (See claim 3 or 5)
Regarding claim 9
Patent (460) teaches a mission-adaptable aerial vehicle, comprising: a fuselage assembly, wherein the fuselage assembly comprises one or more fuselage sections; a wing assembly reversibly attachable to the fuselage assembly, wherein the wing assembly comprises at least one wing section; a nose cone assembly reversibly attachable to the fuselage assembly, wherein the nose cone assembly comprises at least one nose cone section; and a tail assembly reversibly attachable to the fuselage assembly, wherein the tail assembly comprises at least one tail section, wherein at least one of the fuselage assembly, the wing assembly, the nose cone assembly, or the tail assembly includes a bayonet mount system, wherein the bayonet mount system comprises: one or more passageways produced on a first end region of a first airframe section to include a first channel and second channel, and one or more protrusions produced on a second end region of a second airframe section configured to be connected to the first end region of the first airframe section, such that, when the first and second airframe sections are being assembled, the one or more protrusions are first aligned with an entry region of the first channel to be translated and then aligned with the second channel of the one or more passageways to be rotated to securely connect the first and second airframe sections together. (See claim 1)
Regarding claim 12
Patent (460) teaches wherein the one or more protrusions and the one or more passageways are integrally produced through an additive manufacturing technique as part of the first airframe section and the second airframe section. (See claim 9)
Regarding claim 13
Patent (460) teaches wherein the additive manufacturing technique includes 3D printing. (See claim 9)
Regarding claim 14
Patent (460) teaches wherein the one or more protrusions includes at least one of a lug, a pin, a nub, or other projection component. (See claim 1)
Regarding claim 15
Patent (460) teaches wherein the one or more passageways includes an open volume in a wall structure of an airframe structure that forms a slot, a channel, or other cavity. (See claim 3 or 5)
Regarding claim 17
Patent (460) teaches a method of manufacturing interconnecting airframe structures for a mission-adaptable aerial vehicle, comprising: additively manufacturing a first airframe section to include one or more passageways on the first airframe section, wherein the one or more passageways comprises a first channel and second channel; and additively manufacturing a second airframe section to include one or more protrusions on the second airframe section, wherein the one or more protrusions are able to initially be aligned with an entry region of the first channel and translated into the first channel, and then be aligned with the second channel and rotated in the second channel, so as to securely connect the first airframe section and the second airframe section together, wherein the first airframe section and the second airframe section each includes one section of a fuselage assembly, a wing assembly, a nose cone assembly, or a tail assembly of an aerial vehicle. (See claims 1 & 9; the operation of the apparatus meets the limitations of the method)
Regarding claim 18
Patent (460) teaches wherein the additively manufacturing the first airframe section and the second airframe section includes 3D-printing the first airframe section and the second airframe section. (See claim 9)
Regarding claim 19
Patent (460) teaches wherein the additively manufacturing the first airframe section and the second airframe section includes injection molding the first airframe section and the second airframe section. (See claim 9)
Conclusion
/RODNEY A BONNETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647