DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 4, 9, 14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1, 10, 20 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,486,739. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 15-18, 20-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,486,739. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims are essentially the same as the patented claims and any differences are minor, based on shifting of limitations between independent and dependent claims. Any differences that may exist cause the patented claims to be narrower than the pending claims, and therefore the patented claims fully encompass the pending claims and are obviously directed to the same invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-21 include, or depend from claims that include, the limitation(s): “a flow restrictor operable to receive production fluid having a pressure (P3) and discharge control fluid having a control pressure…” or similar limitations.
It is unclear if the production fluid and control fluids are the same fluid at different pressures or if the production fluid and control fluid are different fluids (e.g. production fluid is oil and control fluid is water; production fluid is reservoir fluid and control fluid hydraulic fluid).
Clarification and/or correction are required. No new matter may be entered. The claims will be read and examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 15-21 is/are, as best understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Veit (US 20150021019).
Regarding claim 1, Veit teaches: A fluid flow control system, comprising:
a flow restrictor (Veit at least one of 112/116) operable to receive production fluid having a pressure (P3) (Veit at least one of downhole, formation pressure / annular pressure in 112/116) and discharge control fluid having a control pressure (P2) (Veit annular pressure in 128);
a fluidic diode (Veit at least one of 124, 126) placed between the flow restrictor and a tubing (Veit 102) the fluid flow control system is configured to couple to, wherein the fluidic diode is configured to (Veit [0031-0033, 0035-0036]) change the control pressure (P2) to a higher control pressure (P2++) when the fluidic diode encounters lower viscosity fluids and is configured to (Veit [0031-0033, 0035-0036]) change the control pressure (P2) to a lower control pressure (P2+) when the fluidic diode encounters higher viscosity fluids; and
an inflow control device (Veit 122) having a production fluid inlet (Veit 154) operable to receive the production fluid having the pressure (P3),
a control inlet (Veit 154) operable to receive control fluid having the higher control pressure (P2++) or the lower control pressure (P2+), and
a production fluid outlet (Veit 158) operable to pass the production fluid having a pressure (P1) to tubing it is configured to couple to, the inflow control device configured to (Veit [0031-0033, 0035-0036]) close or open the production fluid outlet based upon pressure values (P3, P2++, P1) or (P3, P2+, P1).
Note: Alternative citations based on different embodiments and/or different interpretations of the same embodiment have been provided to address the different variations and/or alteration of features in the dependent claims.
Regarding claim 2, Veit teaches: The fluid flow control system as recited in Claim 1, wherein the fluidic diode is a vortex fluidic diode (Veit [0019, 0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Veit teaches: The fluid flow control system as recited in Claim 1, wherein the flow restrictor is a fluid nozzle (Veit [0019, 0033]).
Regarding claim 5, Veit teaches: The fluid flow control system as recited in Claim 1, wherein the flow restrictor is a first flow restrictor (Veit 112) and the fluidic diode is a first fluidic diode (Veit one of 124, 126), and further including a second flow restrictor (Veit 116) and a second fluidic diode (Veit other of 124, 126) placed in series with the first flow restrictor and in parallel with the first fluidic diode.
Regarding claim 6, Veit teaches: The fluid flow control system as recited in Claim 1, wherein the flow restrictor and fluidic diode are placed such that (Veit Fig. 2A-3) production fluid encounters the flow restrictor prior to the fluidic diode.
Regarding claim 7, Veit teaches: The fluid flow control system as recited in Claim 1, wherein the fluidic diode includes no moving parts (Veit at least one of 124, 126).
Regarding claim 8, Veit teaches: The fluid flow control system as recited in Claim 1,
wherein the inflow control device is a first inflow control device (Veit one of 122 near 24, Fig. 1), and further including a second inflow control device (Veit one of 122 near another 24, Fig. 1), the second inflow control device having a second production fluid inlet (Veit 122) operable to receive the production fluid having the pressure (P3) (Veit 154),
a second control inlet (Veit 154) operable to receive the control fluid having the higher control pressure (P2++) or the lower control pressure (P2+), and
a second production fluid outlet (Veit 158) operable to pass the production fluid having the pressure (P1) to the tubing it is configured to couple to, the second inflow control device configured to (Veit [0031-0033, 0035-0036]) close or open the second production fluid outlet based upon pressure values (P3, P2++, P1) or (P3, P2+, P1).
Regarding claim 10, Veit teaches: The fluid flow control system as recited in Claim 1, wherein the inflow control device is a piloted valve (Veit 122).
Regarding claim 11, Veit teaches: A well system, comprising:
a wellbore (Veit 12) extending through one or more subterranean formations (Veit 20);
tubing (Veit comprising 102) positioned within the wellbore; and
a fluid flow control system (Veit comprising at least 122) positioned between the wellbore and the tubing, the fluid flow control system including:
a flow restrictor (Veit at least one of 112/116) operable to receive production fluid having a pressure (P3) (Veit at least one of downhole, formation pressure / annular pressure in 112/116) and discharge control fluid having a control pressure (P2) (Veit annular pressure in 128);
a fluidic diode (Veit at least one of 124, 126) placed between the flow restrictor and the tubing (Veit 102), wherein the fluidic diode is configured to (Veit [0031-0033, 0035-0036]) change the control pressure (P2) to a higher control pressure (P2++) when the fluidic diode encounters lower viscosity fluids and is configured to (Veit [0031-0033, 0035-0036]) change the control pressure (P2) to a lower control pressure (P2+) when the fluidic diode encounters higher viscosity fluids; and
an inflow control device (Veit 122) having a production fluid inlet (Veit 154) operable to receive the production fluid having the pressure (P3),
a control inlet (Veit 154) operable to receive control fluid having the higher control pressure (P2++) or the lower control pressure (P2+), and
a production fluid outlet (Veit 158) operable to pass the production fluid having a pressure (P1) to tubing it is configured to couple to, the inflow control device configured to (Veit [0031-0033, 0035-0036]) close or open the production fluid outlet based upon pressure values (P3, P2++, P1) or (P3, P2+, P1).
Note: Alternative citations based on different embodiments and/or different interpretations of the same embodiment have been provided to address the different variations and/or alteration of features in the dependent claims.
Regarding claim 12, Veit teaches: The well system as recited in Claim 11, wherein the fluidic diode is a vortex fluidic diode (Veit [0019, 0031]).
Regarding claim 13, Veit teaches: The well system as recited in Claim 11, wherein the flow restrictor is a fluid nozzle (Veit [0019, 0033]).
Regarding claim 15, Veit teaches: The well system as recited in Claim 11, wherein the flow restrictor is a first flow restrictor (Veit 112) and the fluidic diode is a first fluidic diode (Veit one of 124, 126), and further including a second flow restrictor (Veit 116) and a second fluidic diode (Veit other of 124, 126) placed in series with the first flow restrictor and in parallel with the first fluidic diode.
Regarding claim 16, Veit teaches: The well system as recited in Claim 11, wherein the flow restrictor and fluidic diode are placed such that (Veit Fig. 2A-3) production fluid encounters the flow restrictor prior to the fluidic diode.
Regarding claim 17, Veit teaches: The well system as recited in Claim 11, wherein the fluidic diode includes no moving parts (Veit at least one of 124, 126).
Regarding claim 18, Veit teaches: The well system as recited in Claim 11, wherein the inflow control device is a first inflow control device wherein the inflow control device is a first inflow control device (Veit one of 122 near 24, Fig. 1), and further including a second inflow control device (Veit one of 122 near another 24, Fig. 1), the second inflow control device having a second production fluid inlet (Veit 122) operable to receive the production fluid having the pressure (P3) (Veit 154),
a second control inlet (Veit 154) operable to receive the control fluid having the higher control pressure (P2++) or the lower control pressure (P2+), and
a second production fluid outlet (Veit 158) operable to pass the production fluid having the pressure (P1) to the tubing it is configured to couple to, the second inflow control device configured to (Veit [0031-0033, 0035-0036]) close or open the second production fluid outlet based upon pressure values (P3, P2++, P1) or (P3, P2+, P1).
Regarding claim 19, Veit teaches: The well system as recited in Claim 11, further including a pressure relief valve positioned between the flow restrictor and the control inlet, the pressure relief valve configured to eliminate a range of pressures between the higher control pressure (P2++) or the lower control pressure (P2+) that would only partially close the inflow control device.
Regarding claim 20, Veit teaches: The well system as recited in Claim 11, wherein the inflow control device is a piloted valve (Veit 122).
Regarding claim 21, Veit teaches: A method, comprising:
positioning (Veit [0024]) a fluid flow control system (Veit comprising at least 122) within a wellbore (Veit 12) extending through one or more subterranean formations (Veit 20), the fluid flow control system located between the wellbore and tubing (Veit comprising 102) positioned in the wellbore, the fluid flow control system including:
a flow restrictor (Veit at least one of 112/116) operable to receive production fluid having a pressure (P3) (Veit at least one of downhole, formation pressure / annular pressure in 112/116) and discharge control fluid having a control pressure (P2) (Veit annular pressure in 128);
a fluidic diode (Veit at least one of 124, 126) placed between the flow restrictor and the tubing (Veit 102), wherein the fluidic diode is configured to (Veit [0031-0033, 0035-0036]) change the control pressure (P2) to a higher control pressure (P2++) when the fluidic diode encounters lower viscosity fluids and is configured to (Veit [0031-0033, 0035-0036]) change the control pressure (P2) to a lower control pressure (P2+) when the fluidic diode encounters higher viscosity fluids; and
an inflow control device (Veit 122) having a production fluid inlet (Veit 154) operable to receive the production fluid having the pressure (P3),
a control inlet (Veit 154) operable to receive control fluid having the higher control pressure (P2++) or the lower control pressure (P2+), and
a production fluid outlet (Veit 158) operable to pass the production fluid having a pressure (P1) to tubing it is configured to couple to, the inflow control device configured to (Veit [0031-0033, 0035-0036]) close or open the production fluid outlet based upon pressure values (P3, P2++, P1) or (P3, P2+, P1); and producing (Veit [0003, 0029]) fluid from the wellbore into the tubing, the lower viscosity fluids closing (Veit [0031-0033, 0035-0036]) the inflow control device and the higher viscosity fluids opening (Veit [0031-0033, 0035-0036]) the inflow control device.
Note: Alternative citations based on different embodiments and/or different interpretations of the same embodiment have been provided to address the different variations and/or alteration of features in the dependent claims.
Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Coffin (US 20190120048) teaches a flow control assembly comprising an inflow control device, a plurality of fluidic devices, and fluid sensors.
Richards (US 20180245428) teaches a flow control assembly comprising inflow control devices and/or inflow control valves and tortuous paths including nozzles, tubes, orifices, helical paths, fluid diodes and/or other mechanisms to create a pressure drop and slow the flow of fluids though the ICD.
Conclusion
/David Carroll/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674