DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
wherein a size or position of the one or more flow trim ports are configured to prevent the housing seal from eroding while providing at least a X pressure differential;
wherein the size or position of the one or more flow trim ports are configured to improve turbulence properties created as the subsurface fluids pass through the nearest most flow trim port to prevent the housing seal from eroding while providing at least the X pressure differential.
In the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8-9, 18-19 include, or depend from claims that include, the limitation(s): “wherein a size or position of the one or more flow trim ports are configured to prevent the housing seal from eroding while providing at least a 1.5 KSI pressure differential” or similar limitations.
Claims 9, 19 include, or depend from claims that include, the limitation(s): “wherein the size or position of the one or more flow trim ports are configured to improve turbulence properties created as the subsurface fluids pass through the nearest most flow trim port to prevent the housing seal from eroding while providing at least the KSI pressure differential.” Or similar limitations.
These limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification as filed describes the limitations using language similar or identical to the claimed language with no additional language describing the structure of how the function is accomplished.
The claims contain exclusively intended use limitations and recite no further definite structural limitations than that in the parent claim(s). While intended use limitations in apparatus claim(s) are not indefinite per se, the examiner holds claim(s) 8-9, 18-19 to be indefinite by the following logic. A claim which contains only intended use limitations can modify the parent claim in one of two ways:
The first interpretation is that the intended use is inherent to the structural limitations of the parent claim; i.e. any apparatus which meets the structural limitations of the parent claim(s) inherently meets the limitations of the dependent claim(s) 8-9, 18-19. In such a case the dependent claim(s) 8-9, 18-19 do not further limit the parent claim(s), and is thus clearly improper under 112(d).
The second is that, because intended use limitations limit the claim to prior art which is capable of performing such intended use (regardless of whether or not it is explicitly taught or even desirable), such limitations add some further structural limitation to the parent claim; i.e. the limitations of dependent claim(s) 8-9, 18-19 provides some kind of structural limitation to the parent claim(s). But whatever that structural limitation might be, it is nebulous and indefinite because Applicant is defining the apparatus using non-structural intended use limitations. It is therefore impossible to determine what theoretical structural limitation is now required by dependent claim(s) 8-9, 18-19 that is not exclusively required by the parent claim(s), and claim(s) 8-9, 18-19 is/are thus improper under 112(b). In other words, if dependent claim(s) 8-9, 18-19 requires something structural not already required by the parent claim(s), it is impossible to determine what that structure definitely is.
Put yet another way, in Applicant's attempt to word the claim functionally, as opposed to clearly reciting the structure that allows the flow control valve to perform the intended use recited in claim(s) 8-9, 18-19, Applicant has rendered the structural requirements of claim(s) 8-9, 18-19, and how they further limit the "flow control valve" in the parent claim(s), unclear.
If the claims were issued as written, the determination of whether a hypothetical apparatus (Apparatus A) that meets all the structural limitations of the claim is considered an infringing device would change based on the environment where the tool is used and the fluid flowing through the tool. For example, if Apparatus A, when used with a fluid with a viscosity of 1 cp meets the limitations of the claim (e.g. X pressure differential, improve turbulence, decrease erosion, etc.) but Apparatus A does not meet the limitations of the claim when used with a fluid with a viscosity of 50 cp and no longer reading on the claims, without any structural change to Apparatus A.
Notwithstanding the permissible instances, the use of functional language in a claim may fail “to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim” and thus be indefinite. In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 213 (CCPA 1971). For example, when claims merely recite a description of a problem to be solved or a function or result achieved by the invention, the boundaries of the claim scope may be unclear. Halliburton Energy Servs., Inc. v. M-I LLC, 514 F.3d 1244, 1255, 85 USPQ2d 1654, 1663 (Fed. Cir. 2008) (noting that the Supreme Court explained that a vice of functional claiming occurs “when the inventor is painstaking when he recites what has already been seen, and then uses conveniently functional language at the exact point of novelty”). See MPEP 2173.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 9, 19 include, or depend from claims that include, the limitation(s): “wherein the size or position of the one or more flow trim ports are configured to improve turbulence properties created as the subsurface fluids pass through the nearest most flow trim port to prevent the housing seal from eroding while providing at least the KSI pressure differential.” Or similar limitations.
It is unclear what is required by the limitation “improve turbulence properties” It is unclear if an increase in turbulence or decrease in turbulence is considered an improvement in general or whether an increase or decrease is considered an improvement based on the composition of the fluid.
Clarification and/or correction are required. No new matter may be entered. The claims will be read and examined as best understood.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 8-11, 15, 18-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 9-11, 15, 19-21 of copending Application No. 19/379604 in view of Carmody (US 6041857).
Claims 1, 5, 8-11, 15, 18-21 are fully encompassed by claims 1, 5, 9-11, 15, 19-21 of the copending with the exception of the position sensor.
Carmody teaches a flow control valve comprising a housing (Carmody comprising 35, 15) including a central bore (Carmody inside 15) extending axially there through, the central bore configured to convey subsurface fluids there through;
an opening (Carmody 13) located in a sidewall of the housing;
a sliding sleeve (Carmody not labeled in Fig. 1-6; near 11; 4:13-40) disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering (Carmody Fig. 3) the opening and engaging a housing seal and second state (Carmody Fig. 6) disengaging from the housing seal and exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow ports; and
a position sensor (Carmody 2:66-3:7) coupled with the sliding sleeve, the position sensor configured to determine a change in a resistance value as the sliding sleeve moves between the first state and the second state, the change in resistance value indicative of a position of the sliding sleeve in relation to the first state and the second state.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ), to have modified the co-pending application to include a position sensor in order to provide an accurate representation of the degree of openness of the sliding sleeve. Carmody 2:66-3:7.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection. See at least MPEP 804 I. B. Between Copending Applications—Provisional Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 10-11, 15, 20-21 is/are, as best understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Mallawany (US 20180163521) in view of Carmody (US 6041857).
Regarding claim 1, El Mallawany teaches: A flow control valve, comprising:
a housing (El Mallawany comprising 202) including a central bore (El Mallawany near A/206) extending axially there through, the central bore configured to convey subsurface fluids there through;
an opening (El Mallawany near 204) located in a sidewall of the housing;
a flow trim (El Mallawany comprising 308) coupled with the housing and covering (El Mallawany Fig. 3A) the opening, the flow trim including one or more flow trim ports (El Mallawany 310) configured to (El Mallawany Fig. 3A/3B) allow the subsurface fluids to pass between the housing and a subterranean formation surrounding the housing;
a sliding sleeve (El Mallawany 304) disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering (El Mallawany Fig. 3A) the opening and engaging a housing seal and second state (El Mallawany Fig. 3B) disengaging from the housing seal and exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow ports; but does not expressly state:
a position sensor coupled with the sliding sleeve, the position sensor configured to determine a change in a resistance value as the sliding sleeve moves between the first state and the second state, the change in resistance value indicative of a position of the sliding sleeve in relation to the first state and the second state.
Carmody teaches a flow control valve comprising a sliding sleeve (Carmody not labeled in Fig. 1-6; near 11; 4:13-40) disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering (Carmody Fig. 3) the opening and second state (Carmody Fig. 6) exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow ports; and
a position sensor (Carmody 2:66-3:7) coupled with the sliding sleeve, the position sensor configured to determine a change in a resistance value as the sliding sleeve moves between the first state and the second state, the change in resistance value indicative of a position of the sliding sleeve in relation to the first state and the second state, and a controller (Carmody 5:44-54) configured to process and control the electrical motor for actuation of the sleeve
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ), to have modified El Mallawany to include a position sensor and electrical actuator in order to provide an accurate representation of the degree of openness of the sliding sleeve. Carmody 2:66-3:7.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of El Mallawany and Carmody teaches: The flow control valve as recited in claim 1, further including an electric actuator (Carmody 5:44-54) coupled with the sliding sleeve, the electric actuator configured (Carmody 5:44-54) to move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of El Mallawany and Carmody teaches: The flow control valve as recited in claim 1, wherein the housing seal is a metal-to-metal seal (El Mallawany [0026]).
Regarding claim 11, El Mallawany teaches: A method, comprising: positioning a downhole tool within a wellbore extending through one or more subterranean formations, the downhole tool having a flow control valve (El Mallawany comprising 202), including:
a housing (El Mallawany comprising 202) including a central bore (El Mallawany near A/206) extending axially there through, the central bore configured to convey subsurface fluids there through;
an opening (El Mallawany near 204) located in a sidewall of the housing;
a flow trim (El Mallawany comprising 308) coupled with the housing and covering (El Mallawany Fig. 3A) the opening, the flow trim including one or more flow trim ports (El Mallawany 310) configured to (El Mallawany Fig. 3A/3B) allow the subsurface fluids to pass between the housing and a subterranean formation surrounding the housing;
a sliding sleeve (El Mallawany 304) disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering (El Mallawany Fig. 3A) the opening and engaging a housing seal and second state (El Mallawany Fig. 3B) disengaging from the housing seal and exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow ports; but does not expressly state:
a position sensor coupled with the sliding sleeve, the position sensor configured to determine a change in a resistance value as the sliding sleeve moves between the first state and the second state, the change in resistance value indicative of a position of the sliding sleeve in relation to the first state and the second state.
Carmody teaches a flow control valve comprising a sliding sleeve (Carmody not labeled in Fig. 1-6; near 11; 4:13-40) disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering (Carmody Fig. 3) the opening and second state (Carmody Fig. 6) exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow ports; and
a position sensor (Carmody 2:66-3:7) coupled with the sliding sleeve, the position sensor configured to determine a change in a resistance value as the sliding sleeve moves between the first state and the second state, the change in resistance value indicative of a position of the sliding sleeve in relation to the first state and the second state, and a controller (Carmody 5:44-54) configured to process and control the electrical motor for actuation of the sleeve
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ), to have modified El Mallawany to include a position sensor and electrical actuator in order to provide an accurate representation of the degree of openness of the sliding sleeve. Carmody 2:66-3:7.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of El Mallawany and Carmody teaches: The method as recited in claim 11, further including an electric actuator (Carmody 5:44-54) coupled with the sliding sleeve, the electric actuator configured (Carmody 5:44-54) to move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of El Mallawany and Carmody teaches: The method as recited in claim 11, wherein the housing seal is a metal-to-metal seal (El Mallawany [0026]).
Regarding claim 21, El Mallawany teaches: A well system, comprising:
a wellbore (El Mallawany Fig. 1) extending through one or more subterranean formations; and a downhole tool (El Mallawany comprising 116/200) located within the wellbore, the downhole tool having a flow control valve including:
a housing (El Mallawany comprising 202) including a central bore (El Mallawany near A/206) extending axially there through, the central bore configured to convey subsurface fluids there through;
an opening (El Mallawany near 204) located in a sidewall of the housing;
a flow trim (El Mallawany comprising 308) coupled with the housing and covering (El Mallawany Fig. 3A) the opening, the flow trim including one or more flow trim ports (El Mallawany 310) configured to (El Mallawany Fig. 3A/3B) allow the subsurface fluids to pass between the housing and a subterranean formation surrounding the housing;
a sliding sleeve (El Mallawany 304) disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering (El Mallawany Fig. 3A) the opening and engaging a housing seal and second state (El Mallawany Fig. 3B) disengaging from the housing seal and exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow ports; but does not expressly state:
a position sensor coupled with the sliding sleeve, the position sensor configured to determine a change in a resistance value as the sliding sleeve moves between the first state and the second state, the change in resistance value indicative of a position of the sliding sleeve in relation to the first state and the second state.
Carmody teaches a flow control valve comprising a sliding sleeve (Carmody not labeled in Fig. 1-6; near 11; 4:13-40) disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering (Carmody Fig. 3) the opening and second state (Carmody Fig. 6) exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow ports; and
a position sensor (Carmody 2:66-3:7) coupled with the sliding sleeve, the position sensor configured to determine a change in a resistance value as the sliding sleeve moves between the first state and the second state, the change in resistance value indicative of a position of the sliding sleeve in relation to the first state and the second state, and a controller (Carmody 5:44-54) configured to process and control the electrical motor for actuation of the sleeve
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ), to have modified El Mallawany to include a position sensor and electrical actuator in order to provide an accurate representation of the degree of openness of the sliding sleeve. Carmody 2:66-3:7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6-7, 12-14, 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Schnatzmeyer (US 5957208) teaches a flow control valve comprising a sliding sleeve and flow trim.
Candiani (US 20240368966) teaches a flow control valve formed from high erosion resistant material, the valve comprising a flow trim, housing, and sliding sleeve.
Conclusion
/David Carroll/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674