DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they contain improper shading/cross-hatching and/or are missing proper shading/cross-hatching. Specific cross hatching depicts specific materials. See MPEP 608.02 IX for cross hatching / shading patterns.
The drawings are objected to because they are grey scale and of poor line quality. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. See MPEP 608.02 and 37 CFR 1.84.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 11-12, 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-7, 15-17, 21 of copending Application No. 19/379632 in view of Drakeley (US 6176318).
Claims 5-7, 15-17, 21 of the copending application teach all of the elements of claims 1-5, 11-15, 21 of the present application but do not expressly state a second actuator. Drakeley teaches a downhole flow control valve comprising a sliding sleeve and a first actuator (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16) and a second actuator (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16) wherein the actuators can be electromechanical and/or hydraulic, the same type, or different types (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-54, 5:20-27, 7:10-16).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ), to have modified the co-pending application to include a second actuator wherein the actuators are electromechanical and/or hydraulic, the same type, or different types in order to allow the operator to customize the actuators for the specific downhole operations (continuous actuation, speed of actuation, expected duty cycles, etc.) to be performed and the specific environmental characteristics (pressure, temperature, formation type, etc.) where the tool is to be used, additionally Drakeley teaches using a second actuator in the even the primary actuator system fails Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-54.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 11-15, 21 is/are, as best understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Mallawany (US 20180163521) in view of Drakeley (US 6176318).
Regarding claim 1, El Mallawany teaches: A flow control valve, comprising:
a housing (El Mallawany comprising 202) including a central bore (El Mallawany near A/206) extending axially there through, the central bore configured to convey subsurface fluids there through;
an opening (El Mallawany near 204) located in a sidewall of the housing;
a flow trim (El Mallawany comprising 308) coupled with the housing and covering (El Mallawany Fig. 3A) the opening, the flow trim including one or more flow trim ports (El Mallawany 310) configured to (El Mallawany Fig. 3A/3B) allow the subsurface fluids to pass between the housing and a subterranean formation surrounding the housing;
a sliding sleeve (El Mallawany 304) disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering (El Mallawany Fig. 3A) the opening and engaging a housing seal and second state (El Mallawany Fig. 3B) disengaging from the housing seal and exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow ports; an actuator (El Mallawany [0024]) coupled with the sliding sleeve
but does not expressly state: first and second actuators coupled with the sliding sleeve, the first and second actuators configured to move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state, and further wherein the first and second actuators are configured such that only one of the first or second actuator is operable move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state at a given moment in time.
Drakeley teaches a downhole flow control valve comprising a sliding sleeve and a first actuator (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16) and a second actuator (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16) the first and second actuators configured (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16) to move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state, and further wherein the first and second actuators are configured (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16) such that only one of the first or second actuator is operable move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state at a given moment in time, wherein the actuators can be electromechanical and/or hydraulic, the same type, or different types (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ), to have modified El Mallawany to include a second actuator wherein the actuators are electromechanical and/or hydraulic, the same type, or different types in order to allow the operator to customize the actuators for the specific downhole operations (continuous actuation, speed of actuation, expected duty cycles, etc.) to be performed and the specific environmental characteristics (pressure, temperature, formation type, etc.) where the tool is to be used, additionally Drakeley teaches using a second actuator in the even the primary actuator system fails Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-54.
Note: Alternative citations based on different embodiments and/or different interpretations of the same embodiment have been provided to address the different variations and/or alteration of features in the dependent claims.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of El Mallawany and Drakeley teaches: The flow control valve as recited in claim 1, wherein the first actuator is a first electric actuator (El Mallawany [0024] / Drakeley 5:20-27, 7:10-16).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of El Mallawany and Drakeley teaches: The flow control valve as recited in claim 2, wherein the second actuator is a second electric actuator (El Mallawany [0024] / Drakeley 5:20-27, 7:10-16).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of El Mallawany and Drakeley teaches: The flow control valve as recited in claim 2, wherein the second actuator is a second hydraulic actuator (El Mallawany [0024] / Drakeley 5:20-27, 7:10-16).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of El Mallawany and Drakeley teaches: The flow control valve as recited in claim 4, wherein the second hydraulic actuator is a second non-electric actuator (El Mallawany [0024] / Drakeley 5:20-27, 7:10-16).
Regarding claim 11, El Mallawany teaches: A method, comprising: positioning a downhole tool within a wellbore extending through one or more subterranean formations, the downhole tool having a flow control valve (El Mallawany comprising 202), including:
a housing (El Mallawany comprising 202) including a central bore (El Mallawany near A/206) extending axially there through, the central bore configured to convey subsurface fluids there through;
an opening (El Mallawany near 204) located in a sidewall of the housing;
a flow trim (El Mallawany comprising 308) coupled with the housing and covering (El Mallawany Fig. 3A) the opening, the flow trim including one or more flow trim ports (El Mallawany 310) configured to (El Mallawany Fig. 3A/3B) allow the subsurface fluids to pass between the housing and a subterranean formation surrounding the housing;
a sliding sleeve (El Mallawany 304) disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering (El Mallawany Fig. 3A) the opening and engaging a housing seal and second state (El Mallawany Fig. 3B) disengaging from the housing seal and exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow ports; an actuator (El Mallawany [0024]) coupled with the sliding sleeve
but does not expressly state:
first and second actuators coupled with the sliding sleeve, the first and second actuators configured to move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state, and further wherein the first and second actuators are configured such that only one of the first or second actuator is operable move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state at a given moment in time; and actuating the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state.
Drakeley teaches a downhole flow control valve comprising a sliding sleeve and a first actuator (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16) and a second actuator (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16) the first and second actuators configured (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16) to move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state, and further wherein the first and second actuators are configured (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16) such that only one of the first or second actuator is operable move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state at a given moment in time, wherein the actuators can be electromechanical and/or hydraulic, the same type, or different types (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ), to have modified El Mallawany to include a second actuator wherein the actuators are electromechanical and/or hydraulic, the same type, or different types in order to allow the operator to customize the actuators for the specific downhole operations (continuous actuation, speed of actuation, expected duty cycles, etc.) to be performed and the specific environmental characteristics (pressure, temperature, formation type, etc.) where the tool is to be used, additionally Drakeley teaches using a second actuator in the even the primary actuator system fails Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-54.
Note: Alternative citations based on different embodiments and/or different interpretations of the same embodiment have been provided to address the different variations and/or alteration of features in the dependent claims.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of El Mallawany and Drakeley teaches: The method as recited in claim 11, wherein the first actuator is a first electric actuator (El Mallawany [0024] / Drakeley 5:20-27, 7:10-16).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of El Mallawany and Drakeley teaches: The method as recited in claim 12, wherein the second actuator is a second electric actuator (El Mallawany [0024] / Drakeley 5:20-27, 7:10-16).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of El Mallawany and Drakeley teaches: The method as recited in claim 12, wherein the second actuator is a second hydraulic actuator (El Mallawany [0024] / Drakeley 5:20-27, 7:10-16).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of El Mallawany and Drakeley teaches: The method as recited in claim 14, wherein the second hydraulic actuator is a second non-electric actuator (El Mallawany [0024] / Drakeley 5:20-27, 7:10-16).
Regarding claim 21, El Mallawany teaches: A well system, comprising:
a wellbore (El Mallawany Fig. 1) extending through one or more subterranean formations; and a downhole tool (El Mallawany comprising 116/200) located within the wellbore, the downhole tool having a flow control valve including:
a housing (El Mallawany comprising 202) including a central bore (El Mallawany near A/206) extending axially there through, the central bore configured to convey subsurface fluids there through;
an opening (El Mallawany near 204) located in a sidewall of the housing;
a flow trim (El Mallawany comprising 308) coupled with the housing and covering (El Mallawany Fig. 3A) the opening, the flow trim including one or more flow trim ports (El Mallawany 310) configured to (El Mallawany Fig. 3A/3B) allow the subsurface fluids to pass between the housing and a subterranean formation surrounding the housing;
a sliding sleeve (El Mallawany 304) disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering (El Mallawany Fig. 3A) the opening and engaging a housing seal and second state (El Mallawany Fig. 3B) disengaging from the housing seal and exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow ports; but does not expressly state:
first and second actuators coupled with the sliding sleeve, the first and second actuators configured to move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state, and further wherein the first and second actuators are configured such that only one of the first or second actuator is operable move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state at a given moment in time; and actuating the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state.
Drakeley teaches a downhole flow control valve comprising a sliding sleeve and a first actuator (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16) and a second actuator (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16) the first and second actuators configured (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16) to move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state, and further wherein the first and second actuators are configured (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16) such that only one of the first or second actuator is operable move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state at a given moment in time, wherein the actuators can be electromechanical and/or hydraulic, the same type, or different types (Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-48, 5:20-27, 7:10-16).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ), to have modified El Mallawany to include a second actuator wherein the actuators are electromechanical and/or hydraulic, the same type, or different types in order to allow the operator to customize the actuators for the specific downhole operations (continuous actuation, speed of actuation, expected duty cycles, etc.) to be performed and the specific environmental characteristics (pressure, temperature, formation type, etc.) where the tool is to be used, additionally Drakeley teaches using a second actuator in the even the primary actuator system fails Drakeley Abstract, 1:39-54.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 10, 16, 18, 20 is/are, as best understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of El Mallawany and Drakeley in view of Carmody (US 6041857).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of El Mallawany and Drakeley teaches: The flow control valve as recited in claim 1, but does not expressly state: further including a decoupling mechanism positioned between the sliding sleeve and the first actuator or the sliding sleeve and the second actuator,
the decoupling mechanism configured to allow the sliding sleeve to move between the first state and the second state apart from an operation of an other of the second actuator or the first actuator.
Carmody teaches a flow control valve comprising a sliding sleeve (Carmody not labeled in Fig. 1-6; near 11; 4:13-40) disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering (Carmody Fig. 3) the opening and second state (Carmody Fig. 6) exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow ports;
further including a decoupling mechanism (Carmody 5:15-29; 11:30-60) positioned between the sliding sleeve and the first actuator or the sliding sleeve and the second actuator, the decoupling mechanism configured (Carmody 5:15-29; 11:30-60) to allow the sliding sleeve to move between the first state and the second state apart from an operation of an other of the second actuator or the first actuator.
wherein a radially inside surface of the sliding sleeve includes a latch profile (Carmody 44), the latch profile configured (Carmody 5:15-29; 11:30-60) to allow a backup sliding mechanism to engage with the sliding sleeve and move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state apart from an operation of the actuator.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ), to have modified the combination to include an inner latch profile in order to allow the operator to use a conventional shifting tool in the event of failure of the actuator power conveyance system (e.g. shorted or broken electrical line; cut or crushed hydraulic line; etc.) Carmody 5:15-29; 11:30-60.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of El Mallawany, Drakeley and Carmody teaches: The flow control valve as recited in claim 6, wherein the decoupling mechanism is a shear feature (Carmody 12/222),
the shear feature configured to allow the sliding sleeve to move between the first state and the second state apart from an operation of an other of the second actuator or the first actuator.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of El Mallawany and Drakeley teaches: The flow control valve as recited in claim 1, but does not expressly state: wherein a radially inside surface of the sliding sleeve includes a latch profile, the latch profile configured to allow a backup sliding mechanism to engage with the sliding sleeve and move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state apart from an operation of the first actuator or the second actuator.
Carmody teaches a flow control valve comprising a sliding sleeve (Carmody not labeled in Fig. 1-6; near 11; 4:13-40) disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering (Carmody Fig. 3) the opening and second state (Carmody Fig. 6) exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow ports; wherein a radially inside surface of the sliding sleeve includes a latch profile (Carmody 44), the latch profile configured (Carmody 5:15-29; 11:30-60) to allow a backup sliding mechanism to engage with the sliding sleeve and move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state apart from an operation of the actuator.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ), to have modified the combination to include an inner latch profile in order to allow the operator to use a conventional shifting tool in the event of failure of the actuator power conveyance system (e.g. shorted or broken electrical line; cut or crushed hydraulic line; etc.) Carmody 5:15-29; 11:30-60.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of El Mallawany and Drakeley teaches: The method as recited in claim 11, but does not expressly state: further including a decoupling mechanism positioned between the sliding sleeve and the first actuator or the sliding sleeve and the second actuator, the decoupling mechanism configured to allow the sliding sleeve to move between the first state and the second state apart from an operation of an other of the second actuator or the first actuator.
Carmody teaches a flow control valve comprising a sliding sleeve (Carmody not labeled in Fig. 1-6; near 11; 4:13-40) disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering (Carmody Fig. 3) the opening and second state (Carmody Fig. 6) exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow ports;
further including a decoupling mechanism (Carmody 5:15-29; 11:30-60) positioned between the sliding sleeve and the first actuator or the sliding sleeve and the second actuator, the decoupling mechanism configured (Carmody 5:15-29; 11:30-60) to allow the sliding sleeve to move between the first state and the second state apart from an operation of an other of the second actuator or the first actuator.
wherein a radially inside surface of the sliding sleeve includes a latch profile (Carmody 44), the latch profile configured (Carmody 5:15-29; 11:30-60) to allow a backup sliding mechanism to engage with the sliding sleeve and move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state apart from an operation of the actuator.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ), to have modified the combination to include an inner latch profile in order to allow the operator to use a conventional shifting tool in the event of failure of the actuator power conveyance system (e.g. shorted or broken electrical line; cut or crushed hydraulic line; etc.) Carmody 5:15-29; 11:30-60.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of El Mallawany, Drakeley and Carmody teaches: The method as recited in claim 16, wherein the decoupling mechanism is a shear feature, the shear feature (Carmody 12/222) configured to allow the sliding sleeve to move between the first state and the second state apart from an operation of an other of the second actuator or the first actuator.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of El Mallawany and Drakeley teaches: The method as recited in claim 11, but does not expressly state: wherein a radially inside surface of the sliding sleeve includes a latch profile, the latch profile configured to allow a backup sliding mechanism to engage with the sliding sleeve and move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state apart from an operation of the first actuator or the second actuator.
Carmody teaches a flow control valve comprising a sliding sleeve (Carmody not labeled in Fig. 1-6; near 11; 4:13-40) disposed in the central bore of the housing, the sliding sleeve configured to move between a first state covering (Carmody Fig. 3) the opening and second state (Carmody Fig. 6) exposing at least a portion of the one or more flow ports; wherein a radially inside surface of the sliding sleeve includes a latch profile (Carmody 44), the latch profile configured (Carmody 5:15-29; 11:30-60) to allow a backup sliding mechanism to engage with the sliding sleeve and move the sliding sleeve between the first state and the second state apart from an operation of the actuator.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ), to have modified the combination to include an inner latch profile in order to allow the operator to use a conventional shifting tool in the event of failure of the actuator power conveyance system (e.g. shorted or broken electrical line; cut or crushed hydraulic line; etc.) Carmody 5:15-29; 11:30-60.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 17, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Schnatzmeyer (US 5957208) teaches a flow control valve comprising a sliding sleeve and flow trim.
Candiani (US 20240368966) teaches a flow control valve formed from high erosion resistant material, the valve comprising a flow trim, housing, and sliding sleeve.
Conclusion
/David Carroll/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674