DETAILED ACTION
US 8322461 B2
US 9388635 B2 – brake 122, 226- press transducer
US 20020088648 A1
US 20010022241 A1
US 6059050 A
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 6 recite “the hydraulic circuit” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Dependent claims are likewise rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 5485889 A to Gray
Regarding claim 1: Gray discloses 1. An orienting tool configured for use in a coiled tubing 100 bottom hole assembly (Figure 2), the orienting tool comprising:
a first collar 42 configured to rotate with respect to a second collar 41;
a hydraulic pump 47 deployed in the first collar, a drive shaft 50 of the hydraulic pump rotationally coupled to the second collar(Figure 3), the hydraulic pump configured to provide pressurized hydraulic fluid to a metering valve 55 in the first collar; and
the metering valve configured to restrict flow of the pressurized hydraulic fluid and thereby resist rotation of the drive shaft and the second collar relative to the first collar via back pressure to the hydraulic pump. (Col 6, line 50- Col 7, line 40)
Regarding claim 2: Gray discloses 2. The orienting tool of claim 1, wherein the drive shaft is configured to be driven by reactive torque in the second collar from a drill bit engaging a subterranean formation during a coiled tubing drilling operation. (Abstract, Col 7, lines 5- Col 7, line 40)
Regarding claim 3: Gray discloses 3. The orienting tool of claim 1, wherein the drive shaft is rotationally coupled with the second collar via a gearbox that provides a stepped down rotary torque to the drive shaft. (Figure 3, the ring gear and gear on the shaft is interpreted as meeting the limitation “gearbox”)
Regarding claim 11: Gray discloses
11. A method for coiled tubing drilling comprising:
deploying a coiled tubing 100 bottom hole assembly in a wellbore(Figure 2), the bottom hole assembly including an orienting tool (Figure 3) comprising a first collar 42 configured to rotate with respect to a second collar 41, a hydraulic pump 47 deployed in the first collar, a drive shaft 50 of the hydraulic pump rotationally coupled to the second collar (Figure 3), the hydraulic pump configured to provide pressurized hydraulic fluid to a metering valve 55 in the first collar, and the metering valve configured to restrict flow of the pressurized hydraulic fluid and thereby resist rotation of the drive shaft and the second collar relative to the first collar via back pressure to the hydraulic pump (Col 6, line 50- Col 7, line 40) ; and
using the coiled tubing bottom hole assembly to drill the wellbore (Abstract, Claim 13), the drive shaft driven by reactive torque in the second collar from the drilling to actuate the hydraulic pump such that the second collar rotates with respect to the first collar. (Col 6, line 50- Col 7, line 40)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray as applied above in view of US 20120145462 A1 to Leising.
Regarding claim 4: Gray discloses the claimed invention except 4. The orienting tool of claim 1, wherein the hydraulic circuit comprises a first pressure sensor deployed upstream of the metering valve in fluid communication with an output pressure of the hydraulic pump.
Leising teaches a pressure sensor 70 at the output of a downhole pump 62 [0028].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Gray and add a first pressure sensor deployed upstream of the metering valve in fluid communication with an output pressure of the hydraulic pump, in view of Leising, “to monitor the pump output and pressure buildup during operation”[0028].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray and Leising as applied to claim 4 above , further in view of US 20130046417 A1 to Schroter.
Regarding claim 6: Gray discloses the claimed invention except 6. The orienting tool of claim 4, wherein the hydraulic circuit comprises a second pressure sensor deployed downstream of the metering valve in fluid communication with an input pressure to the hydraulic pump.
Schroter teaches a similar system with a pressure sensor 22 downstream of a metering valve 134.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Gray to a second pressure sensor deployed downstream of the metering valve in fluid communication with an input pressure to the hydraulic pump, in view of Schroter, so as monitor the pressure after the valve to aid in the control of the rotation between the two collars.
Claim(s) 9, 10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray as applied above in view of US 20130046417 A1 to Schroter.
Regarding claim 9: Gray discloses the claimed invention except 9. The orienting tool of claim 1, further comprising a brake configured to prevent rotation of the second collar with respect to the first collar.
Schroter teaches a similar system with a brake 122 between two collars (22 and 28, [0083])
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Grey and add a brake configured to prevent rotation of the second collar with respect to the first collar, in view of Schroter, “in order to impede or prevent relative rotation between the lower assembly (28) and the upper assembly (22)” [0082]
Regarding claim 10: Gray discloses the claimed invention except 10. The orienting tool of claim 1, further comprising a pressure relief valve deployed upstream of the metering valve in fluid communication with an output pressure of the hydraulic pump.
Schroter teaches a similar system with a pressure relief valve 218 deployed upstream of the metering valve in fluid communication with an output pressure of the hydraulic pump.(Figure 6)
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Grey to have a pressure relief valve deployed upstream of the metering valve in fluid communication with an output pressure of the hydraulic pump, in view of Schroter, so as to bypass the metering valve when the pressure in the line exceeds a threshold pressure [0086]
Regarding claim 15: Gray discloses the claimed invention except 15. The method of claim 11, wherein:
the orienting tool further comprises a brake configured to prevent rotation of the second collar with respect to the first collar, and
the method further comprises releasing the break prior to actuating the hydraulic pump.
Schroter teaches a similar system with a brake 122 between two collars (22 and 28, [0083]) where the break is operated by pressure originating from the pump(See figure 6, [00138))
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Grey and add a brake configured to prevent rotation of the second collar with respect to the first collar, and perform the step of releasing the break prior to actuating the hydraulic pump (The braking system of Schroter is released prior to the pump be actuated, since it is pressure controlled, via the pump)., in view of Schroter, “in order to impede or prevent relative rotation between the lower assembly (28) and the upper assembly (22)” [0082]
Claim(s) 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray as applied above in view of US 6059050 A to Gray’050.
Regarding claim 12: Gray discloses the claimed invention except 12. The method of claim 11, further comprising:
incrementally opening the metering valve to increase a rotation rate of the second collar with respect to the first collar while drilling; or
incrementally closing the metering valve to decrease a rotation rate of the second collar with respect to the first collar while drilling.
Gray’050 teaches a similar system with a metering valve 56 operated by a controller (Col 8, lines4-9) to keep the rotation at a required rate (Abstract, claim 1)
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Gray and include a controllable metering valve and operating it via a controller to increase and decrease the rotational rate, in view of Gray’050, so as to maintain “flow of fluid at a required rate to maintain the relative rotation at a required rate.”(Claim 1)
Regarding claim 16: Gray discloses 16. An orienting tool configured for use in a coiled tubing 100 bottom hole assembly (Figure 2), the orienting tool comprising:
a first collar 42 configured to rotate with respect to a second collar 41;
a hydraulic pump 47 deployed in the first collar, a drive shaft 50 of the hydraulic pump rotationally coupled to the second collar(Figure 3), the hydraulic pump configured to provide pressurized hydraulic fluid to a metering valve 55 in the first collar; and
the metering valve configured to restrict flow of the pressurized hydraulic fluid and thereby resist rotation of the drive shaft and the second collar relative to the first collar via back pressure to the hydraulic pump. (Col 6, line 50- Col 7, line 40)
However Gray fails to disclose an electronic controller configured to: incrementally open the metering valve to increase a rotation rate of the second collar with respect to the first collar; and incrementally close the metering valve to decrease a rotation rate of the second collar with respect to the first collar.
Gray’050 teaches a similar system with a metering valve 56 operated by an electronic controller (Col 8, lines4-9) to keep the rotation at a required rate (Abstract, claim 1)
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Gray and include a controllable metering valve and operating it via an electronic controller to increase and decrease the rotational rate, in view of Gray’050, so as to maintain “flow of fluid at a required rate to maintain the relative rotation at a required rate.”(Claim 1)
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray in view of Gray’050 as applied above in view of US 20130046417 A1 to Schroter
Regarding claim 20: Gray discloses 20. The orienting tool of claim 16, further comprising:
a gearbox coupled between the drive shaft and the second collar that provides a stepped down rotary torque to the drive shaft; (Figure 3, the ring gear and gear on the shaft is interpreted as meeting the limitation “gearbox”)
However fails to disclose:
a brake configured to prevent rotation of the second collar with respect to the first collar; and
a pressure relief valve deployed upstream of the metering valve in fluid communication with an output pressure of the hydraulic pump.
Schroter teaches a similar system with a brake 122 between two collars (22 and 28, [0083])
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Grey and add a brake configured to prevent rotation of the second collar with respect to the first collar, in view of Schroter, “in order to impede or prevent relative rotation between the lower assembly (28) and the upper assembly (22)” [0082]
Schroter teaches a similar system with a pressure relief valve 218 deployed upstream of the metering valve in fluid communication with an output pressure of the hydraulic pump.(Figure 6)
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Grey to have a pressure relief valve deployed upstream of the metering valve in fluid communication with an output pressure of the hydraulic pump, in view of Schroter, so as to bypass the metering valve when the pressure in the line exceeds a threshold pressure [0086]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8,13-14 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5 and 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 5894896 A teaches an Orienting Tool For Coiled Tubing Drilling.
US 8322461 B2 teaches a hydraulic circuit for controlling a rotatable connection in a wellbore tool.
/STEVEN A MACDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674