DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 has been amended as per Applicant’s amendment filed on September 7, 2026. No claims have been canceled. Claims 1-8 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12493384 in view of Kim (US 2019/0155438 A1, Published May 23, 2019).
Present Application
US Patent 12493384
1. A touch input device comprises:
a display panel including an ELVSS layer; a touch sensor disposed on the ELVSS layer of the display panel;
a driving unit electrically connected to the touch sensor and configured to apply a driving signal to the touch sensor; and
a sensing unit electrically connected with the touch sensor and configured to sense a touch position of an object to be touched,
wherein the touch sensor comprises a plurality of first electrodes and a plurality of second electrodes,
wherein each of the first electrodes comprise a first-first electrode pattern disposed adjacent to one side of the second electrode and a first-second electrode pattern disposed adjacent to the other side of the second electrode,
wherein the first-first electrode pattern is relatively more adjacent to the second electrode than the first-second electrode pattern, and
wherein when the driving signal is applied to the first electrode by the driving unit, the sensing unit is configured to receive a sensing signal from the second electrode in which a noise signal generated by a cathode retransmission phenomenon of the ELVSS layer is removed.
1. A touch input device comprising:
a display panel comprising an ELVSS layer; a touch sensor disposed on the ELVSS layer of the display panel; and
a sensing unit electrically connected with the touch sensor to sense a touch position of an object to be touched,
wherein the touch sensor comprises a plurality of driving electrodes and a plurality of reception electrodes,
each of the reception electrodes comprises first reception electrode patterns arranged adjacent to one side of the driving electrode to which a driving signal is applied among the plurality of driving electrodes and second reception electrode patterns arranged adjacent to the other side of the driving electrode,
the first reception electrode patterns are relatively more adjacent to the driving electrode than the second reception electrode patterns, and
the sensing unit cancels a noise signal caused by a cathode retransmission phenomenon of the ELVSS layer contained in each of a first sensing signal and a second sensing signal by subtracting the second sensing signal outputted through the second reception electrode patterns from the first sensing signal outputted through the first reception electrode patterns.
2. The touch input device of claim 1, wherein the touch sensor further comprises a first-first connection pattern electrically connecting the first-first electrode patterns and a first-second connection pattern electrically connecting the first-second electrode patterns.
3. The touch input device of claim 2, wherein each of the second electrodes has a shape extending in a first direction and has a plurality of openings arranged along the first direction, wherein the first-first electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of openings of odd-numbered second electrodes along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction among the plurality of second electrodes, wherein the first-second electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of openings of even-numbered second electrodes along the second direction among the plurality of second electrodes, and wherein the first-first connection patterns electrically connects the first-first electrode patterns arranged along the second direction, and the first-second connection patterns electrically connects the first-second electrode patterns arranged along the second direction.
3. The touch input device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of driving electrodes each have a shape extending in a first direction and have a plurality of openings arranged along the first direction, the first reception electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of openings of odd-numbered driving electrodes along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction among the plurality of driving electrodes, the second reception electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of openings of even-numbered driving electrodes along the second direction among the plurality of driving electrodes, and first connection patterns electrically connect the first reception electrode patterns arranged along the second direction, and second connection patterns electrically connect the second reception electrode patterns arranged along the second direction.
4. The touch input device of claim 3, wherein a portion of the second electrode adjacent to the periphery of the first-first electrode patterns and a portion of another second electrode adjacent to the periphery of the first-second electrode patterns are arranged together between the first-first electrode patterns and the first-second electrode patterns.
4. The touch input device of claim 3, wherein a portion of the driving electrode adjacent to a periphery of the first reception electrode patterns and a portion of another driving electrode adjacent to a periphery of the second reception electrode patterns are arranged together between the first reception electrode patterns and the second reception electrode patterns.
5. The touch input device of claim 3, wherein the another second electrode adjacent to the periphery of the first-second electrode pattern is separated from the first-first electrode patterns by the second electrode disposed adjacent to the periphery of the first-first electrode patterns.
5. The touch input device of claim 3, wherein the another driving electrode adjacent to a periphery of the second reception electrode patterns is separated from the first reception electrode patterns by the driving electrode disposed adjacent to a periphery of the first reception electrode patterns.
6. The touch input device of claim 3, wherein the touch sensor has an opening formed in each of the first-first and first-second electrode patterns, and further comprises a dummy pattern arranged in the opening of each of the first-first and first-second electrode patterns.
6. The touch input device of claim 3, wherein the touch sensor has the opening formed in each of the first and second reception electrode patterns and further comprises a dummy pattern arranged in the opening of each of the first and second reception electrode patterns.
7. The touch input device of claim 3, wherein the first-first connection patterns are arranged not to overlap the first-second electrode patterns arranged between two first-first electrode patterns connected by the first-first connection patterns.
7. The touch input device of claim 3, wherein the first connection patterns are arranged not to overlap the second reception electrode patterns arranged between two first reception electrode patterns connected by the first connection patterns.
8. The touch input device of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of second electrodes has a shape extending in a first direction and has a plurality of openings arranged along the first direction, wherein the first-first electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of first openings arranged along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction among the plurality of second electrodes, wherein the first-second electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of second openings directly adjacent to the first openings in the first direction, and wherein the first-first connection patterns electrically connect the first-first electrode patterns arranged along the second direction, and the first-second connection patterns electrically connect the first-second electrode patterns arranged along the second direction.
8. The touch input device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of driving electrodes each have a shape extending in a first direction and have a plurality of openings arranged along the first direction; and the first reception electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of first openings arranged along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction among the plurality of driving electrodes, the second reception electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of second openings directly adjacent to the first opening in the first direction, and first connection patterns electrically connect the first reception electrode patterns arranged along the second direction, and second connection patterns electrically connect the second reception electrode patterns arranged along the second direction.
2. The touch input device of claim 1, wherein the sensing unit cancels a LGM noise signal and a display noise signal contained in the first sensing signal and the second sensing signal, respectively, by subtracting the second sensing signal outputted through the second reception electrode patterns from the first sensing signal outputted through the first reception electrode patterns.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 1 of the present application overlaps and encompasses the scope of claim 1 of US Patent 12493384 with the exception that claim 1 of US Patent 12493384 does not disclose the claimed aspect of: a driving unit electrically connected to the touch sensor and configured to apply a driving signal to the touch sensor.
However, Kim does disclose a driving unit electrically connected to the touch sensor and configured to apply a driving signal to the touch sensor (Kim at Fig 1, drive unit 120; ¶ [0038] discloses “a drive unit 120 which applies a drive signal to the plurality of the drive electrodes TX1 to TXn for the purpose of the operation of the touch sensor 100[.]”).1
US Patent 12493384 discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to US Patent 12493384 the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of detecting pressure without additional components (Kim at ¶ [0009]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim2 (US 2019/0220143 A1, Published July 18, 2019) in view of Brown (US 2013/0257785 A1, Published October 3, 2013).
As to claim 1, Kim2 discloses a touch input device comprises:
a display panel including an ELVSS layer (Kim2 at Fig. 6, ELVSS);
a touch sensor disposed on the ELVSS layer of the display panel (Kim2 at Figs. 2-4, input sensing layer ISL is disposed on display panel DP);
a driving unit electrically connected to the touch sensor and configured to apply a driving signal to the touch sensor (Kim2 at Fig. 8, first electrode driver 230); and
a sensing unit electrically connected with the touch sensor and configured to sense a touch position of an object to be touched (Kim2 at Fig. 8, readout circuit 250), 2
wherein the touch sensor comprises a plurality of first electrodes and a plurality of second electrodes (Kim2 at Fig. 8, first sensing electrodes IE1 and second sensing electrodes IE2),…
wherein when the driving signal is applied to the first electrode by the driving unit, the sensing unit is configured to receive a sensing signal from the second electrode (Kim2 at Fig. 8, readout circuit 250) in which a noise signal generated by a cathode retransmission phenomenon of the ELVSS layer is removed (Kim2 at Fig. 7, 9; ¶ [0130] discloses “ Referring to FIG. 7, the noise detector 160 may be connected to a second power source ELVSS. The noise detector 160 may detect noise generated in the second power source ELVSS, and generate a noise voltage VN representing the noise.” ¶ [0182]-[0184] discloses “Therefore, the differential amplifier 251 may generate the output signal VO, based on the difference voltage [VS] between the first input terminal and the second input terminal. [0183] According to the exemplary embodiments of the invention, the display panel included in the display device can detect noise from a driving power source. [0184] Further, according to the exemplary embodiments of the invention, the input sensing layer included in the display device can remove noise of a sensing signal.”).
Kim2 does not disclose that each of the first electrodes comprise a first-first electrode pattern disposed adjacent to one side of the second electrode and a first-second electrode pattern disposed adjacent to the other side of the second electrode, wherein the first-first electrode pattern is relatively more adjacent to the second electrode than the first-second electrode pattern.
However, Brown does disclose that each of the first electrodes comprise a first-first electrode pattern disposed adjacent to one side of the second electrode and a first-second electrode pattern disposed adjacent to the other side of the second electrode (Brown at Fig. 17A, second dual function electrode 413 and first dual function electrode 412),
wherein the first-first electrode pattern is relatively more adjacent to the second electrode than the first-second electrode pattern (Brown at Fig. 17A, second dual function electrode 413 is more adjacent to drive electrode 401 than first dual function electrode 412).
Kim2 discloses a base touch sensor upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Brown discloses a comparable touch sensor which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Kim2 the teachings of Brown for the predictable result of reducing the total resistance of the electrodes (Brown at ¶ [0187]).
As to claim 2, the combination of Kim2 and Brown discloses the touch input device of claim 1, wherein the touch sensor further comprises a first-first connection pattern electrically connecting the first-first electrode patterns and a first-second connection pattern electrically connecting the first-second electrode patterns (Brown at Fig 17, first and second connecting wires 414, 415).
Claims 3, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim2 and Brown as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ding (US 2013/0335355 A1, Published December 19, 2013).
As to claim 3, the combination of Kim2 and Brown discloses the touch input device of claim 2…
wherein the first-first connection patterns electrically connects the first-first electrode patterns arranged along the second direction, and the first-second connection patterns electrically connects the first-second electrode patterns arranged along the second direction (Brown at Fig. 17, first and second connecting wires 414, 415. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration are obvious).
The combination of Kim2 and Brown does not disclose that each of the second electrodes has a shape extending in a first direction and has a plurality of openings arranged along the first direction, wherein the first-first electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of openings of odd-numbered second electrodes along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction among the plurality of second electrodes, wherein the first-second electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of openings of even-numbered second electrodes along the second direction among the plurality of second electrodes, and
However, Ding does disclose that each of the second electrodes has a shape extending in a first direction and has a plurality of openings arranged along the first direction (Ding at Fig. 2, first conductive axis 20),
wherein the first-first electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of openings of odd-numbered second electrodes along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction among the plurality of second electrodes, wherein the first-second electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of openings of even-numbered second electrodes along the second direction among the plurality of second electrodes (Ding at Fig. 2, second conductive unit 32. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration are obvious. Therefore, it would be obvious to substitute dual function electrodes 412, 413 of Brown for second conductive units 32 of Ding ).
The combination of Kim2 and Brown discloses a base touch sensor upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Ding discloses a comparable touch sensor which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kim2 and Brown the teachings of Ding for the predictable result of providing electrostatic shielding (Ding at ¶ [0007]).
As to claim 8, the combination of Kim2 and Brown discloses the touch input device of claim 2…
wherein the first-first connection patterns electrically connect the first-first electrode patterns arranged along the second direction, and the first-second connection patterns electrically connect the first-second electrode patterns arranged along the second direction (Brown at Fig. 17, first and second connecting wires 414, 415. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration are obvious).
The combination does not disclose that each of the plurality of second electrodes has a shape extending in a first direction and has a plurality of openings arranged along the first direction, wherein the first-first electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of first openings arranged along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction among the plurality of second electrodes, wherein the first-second electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of second openings directly adjacent to the first openings in the first direction.
However, Ding does disclose that each of the plurality of second electrodes has a shape extending in a first direction and has a plurality of openings arranged along the first direction (Ding at Fig. 2, first conductive axis 20),
wherein the first-first electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of first openings arranged along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction among the plurality of second electrodes, wherein the first-second electrode patterns are arranged in a plurality of second openings directly adjacent to the first openings in the first direction (Ding at Fig. 2, second conductive unit 32. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration are obvious. Therefore, it would be obvious to substitute dual function electrodes 412, 413 of Brown for second conductive units 32 of Ding ).
The combination of Kim2 and Brown discloses a base touch sensor upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Ding discloses a comparable touch sensor which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Kim2 and Brown the teachings of Ding for the predictable result of providing electrostatic shielding (Ding at ¶ [0007]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claims 1-8 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant contends that a Terminal Disclaimer has been filed with Applicant’s Amendment (Applicant’s Response (AR) at page 5). No Terminal Disclaimer has been received. Therefore, the Double Patenting Rejection shall persist.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1, Applicant contends that the Brown reference is inapposite because it “does not disclose applying a driving signal to a split, asymmetric electrode pattern (first-first and first-second patterns) to induce a noise cancelled signal on a separate sensing electrode)” (emphasis included) (AR at page 5-6). Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) standard, the combination of Kim2 and Brown fully contemplates claim 1 as discussed above in the substantive rejection of the claims. To the extent that Applicant’s invention differs from the prior art, if any, such differences are not manifested in the claims as presently recited.
Applicant also contends that there is no motivation to combine the teachings of Kim2 and Brown (AR at page 7-8). Examiner respectfully disagrees because both Kim2 and Brown are directed to touchscreen type devices. Therefore, there exists an ample nexus between from which a PHOSITA would be motivated to combine their teachings. Moreover, Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments that combining their teachings results in “fatal operational conflict” (AR page 7). Both Kim2 and Brown are directed to capacitive type sensors. Thus, modifying the electrode shape of Kim2 would preclude its operability.
Lastly, Examiner finds no merit that Kim2 and Brown do not disclose the noise cancellation configuration (AR at page 8). As discussed above, Kim2 contemplates the noise suppression as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Subject to the Double Patenting Rejection above, claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sanjiv D. Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
09/10/2026
1 See also Kim2.
2 See also Yang (US 2020/0202785 A1, Published June 25, 2020) at Figs. 14-15; ¶ [0063].