DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ophardt et al. (US PGPub 2017/0215655) in view of Renwick (US PGPub 2012/0223935).
Regarding claim 1, Ophardt discloses a system (fig. 17, device 10) comprising:
an ablutionary fitting ([0319], “an outwardly projecting spout body 16 for dispensing fluid”);
a ([0319] and fig. 17, computer 42 and electronic display 72) to control operation of the ablutionary fitting ([0319], “The computer 42 controls the electronic display 72, as well as the dispensing of fluids such as water 36 and soap 24 from the spout body 16”), the
a display screen (fig. 17, “electronic display 72”);
an infrared touch bar ([0320], infrared sensor 74) for analyzing activation of the screen image by a user and controlling the ablutionary fitting based on the activation of the screen image ([0320], “The electronic display 72 is configured to display graphics, such as water icon 48, soap icon 50, and hand sanitizer icon 52. As in the previously described embodiments, the icons 48, 50 and 52 are selected by moving the user's hand 46 towards one of the icons 48, 50 and 52. The location of the user's hand 46 is detected by sensors 74, which transmit detection data to the computer 42 for interpretation. The sensors 74 may use infrared, radar, time of flight, or any other suitable detection method for detecting the location of the user's hand 46”).
While Ophardt teaches displaying three-dimensional objects ([0331]), it has been known to display three-dimensional objects using holographic displays. In a similar field of infrared-touch input devices, Renwick discloses a holographic user interface module ([0048], “FIGS. 3A-3D illustrate example interaction with an example three-dimensional virtual rotary card user interface according to an example embodiment”) including a holographic 3D plate, wherein when light emits from the display screen ([0028], “The display 28 of the mobile terminal may be of any type appropriate for the electronic device in question with some examples including a plasma display panel (PDP), a liquid crystal display (LCD), a light-emitting diode (LED), an organic light-emitting diode display (OLED), a projector, a holographic display or the like”), the light is directed toward the holographic 3D plate ([0036], “The three-dimensional touch display 118 may comprise any type of display capable of displaying a user interface, image, and/or the like in a manner such that it may be perceived to be displayed in three-dimensions by a user”), and wherein the holographic 3D plate transforms the light into a screen image ([0036], “the three-dimensional touch display 118 may comprise a display capable of displaying a 3-D holographic image”).
In view of the teachings of Ophardt and Renwick, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the holographic display of Renwick as the display in the system of Ophardt, for the purpose of providing a display which has a known advantage of providing 3D realism.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ophardt and Renwick further discloses further comprising a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA), wherein the display screen is coupled to the PCBA (Renwick: [0031], “In some example embodiments, one or more of the means illustrated in FIG. 1 may be embodied as a chip or chip set. In other words, the apparatus 102 may comprise one or more physical packages (e.g., chips) including materials, components and/or wires on a structural assembly (e.g., a baseboard). The structural assembly may provide physical strength, conservation of size, and/or limitation of electrical interaction for component circuitry included thereon. In this regard, the processor 110, memory 112, communication interface 114, user interface 116, hovering gesture sensor 120, and/or UI control circuitry 122 may be embodied as a chip or chip set. The apparatus 102 may therefore, in some cases, be configured to or may comprise component(s) configured to implement embodiments of the present invention on a single chip or as a single "system on a chip." As such, in some cases, a chip or chipset may constitute means for performing one or more operations for providing the functionalities described herein and/or for enabling user interface navigation with respect to the functionalities and/or services described herein”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ophardt and Renwick further discloses wherein the display screen is positioned a first distance and a first angle relative to the holographic 3D plate, and wherein the screen image is positioned a second distance and a second angle relative to the holographic 3D plate (Renwick: figs. 3B-3D, show three-dimensional cards 314 on a display 304, where a display has a distance and an angle associated with it).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ophardt and Renwick further discloses wherein the first distance is the same as the second distance (Renwick: figs. 3B-3D, show three-dimensional cards 314 on a display 304).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ophardt and Renwick further discloses wherein the first angle is the same as the second angle (Renwick: figs. 3B-3D, show three-dimensional cards 314 on a display 304).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ophardt and Renwick further discloses wherein the infrared touch bar creates an interactive plane, and wherein the interactive plane substantially aligns with the screen image (Ophardt: [0335], “the electronic display 72 may display graphics that directly interact with the movable indicator 76 to control parameters such as water 36 temperature and volume. For example, the electronic display 72 could display a temperature slide graphic having a slidable marker indicating the water 36 temperature. To adjust the temperature, the movable indicator 76 can be moved along the slide graphic, dragging the slidable marker to the desired temperature. The electronic display 72 could also display a rotatable tap graphic that would appear to rotate when the movable indicator 76 is placed over the tap graphic and the user's hand 46 is turned. This would simulate the turning of a manually operated water tap, and could be used to control the volume of water 36 that is dispensed”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ophardt and Renwick further discloses wherein the ablutionary fitting is a faucet (Ophardt: [0319], “an outwardly projecting spout body 16 for dispensing fluid”), and wherein the holographic user interface module is integrated with the faucet (Ophardt: [0319], “The device 10 includes an electronic display 72, two sensors 74, and an outwardly projecting spout body 16 for dispensing fluid. The device 10 is wall-mounted over a sink 18. As in the previously described embodiments, the device 10 has a computer 42, and is connected to a soap dispenser 20, a hand sanitizer dispenser 22, and a water pipe 36, which may, for example, be mounted at the back of the electronic display 72 similarly to the arrangement shown in FIG. 2. The computer 42 controls the electronic display 72, as well as the dispensing of fluids such as water 36 and soap 24 from the spout body 16”).
Regarding claim 9, Ophardt discloses a (fig. 17, device 10) to control operation of an ablutionary fitting ([0319], “The computer 42 controls the electronic display 72, as well as the dispensing of fluids such as water 36 and soap 24 from the spout body 16”) comprising:
a display screen (fig. 17, “electronic display 72”) for emitting light ([0309], “the mirror 12 and light guide 56 are integrated as one continuous display”);
; and
an infrared touch bar ([0320], infrared sensor 74) for controlling the ablutionary fitting based on activation of the screen image ([0320], “The electronic display 72 is configured to display graphics, such as water icon 48, soap icon 50, and hand sanitizer icon 52. As in the previously described embodiments, the icons 48, 50 and 52 are selected by moving the user's hand 46 towards one of the icons 48, 50 and 52. The location of the user's hand 46 is detected by sensors 74, which transmit detection data to the computer 42 for interpretation. The sensors 74 may use infrared, radar, time of flight, or any other suitable detection method for detecting the location of the user's hand 46”).
While Ophardt teaches displaying three-dimensional objects ([0331]), it has been known to display three-dimensional objects using holographic displays. In a similar field of infrared-touch input devices, Renwick discloses a holographic user interface module ([0048], “FIGS. 3A-3D illustrate example interaction with an example three-dimensional virtual rotary card user interface according to an example embodiment”) including a holographic 3D plate for transforming the light from the display screen into a screen image ([0036], “the three-dimensional touch display 118 may comprise a display capable of displaying a 3-D holographic image”).
In view of the teachings of Ophardt and Renwick, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the holographic display of Renwick as the display in the system of Ophardt, for the purpose of providing a display which has a known advantage of providing 3D realism.
Claim 10 is within the scope of claim 2 and is therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ophardt and Renwick further discloses wherein the light emitted from the display screen is directed toward the holographic 3D plate (Renwick: [0028], “The display 28 of the mobile terminal may be of any type appropriate for the electronic device in question with some examples including a plasma display panel (PDP), a liquid crystal display (LCD), a light-emitting diode (LED), an organic light-emitting diode display (OLED), a projector, a holographic display or the like”).
Claims 13-16 are within the scope of claims 4-7.The holographic user interface module of claim 9, wherein the display screen is positioned a first distance and a first angle relative to the holographic 3D
Regarding claim 17, Ophardt discloses a system (fig. 17, device 10) comprising:
an ablutionary fitting ([0319], “an outwardly projecting spout body 16 for dispensing fluid”);
a ([0319] and fig. 17, computer 42 and electronic display 72) to control operation of the ablutionary fitting ([0319], “The computer 42 controls the electronic display 72, as well as the dispensing of fluids such as water 36 and soap 24 from the spout body 16”), the
a display screen (fig. 17, “electronic display 72”) for emitting light ([0309], “the mirror 12 and light guide 56 are integrated as one continuous display”);
an infrared touch bar ([0320], infrared sensor 74) for controlling the ablutionary fitting based on activation of the screen image ([0320], “The electronic display 72 is configured to display graphics, such as water icon 48, soap icon 50, and hand sanitizer icon 52. As in the previously described embodiments, the icons 48, 50 and 52 are selected by moving the user's hand 46 towards one of the icons 48, 50 and 52. The location of the user's hand 46 is detected by sensors 74, which transmit detection data to the computer 42 for interpretation. The sensors 74 may use infrared, radar, time of flight, or any other suitable detection method for detecting the location of the user's hand 46”);
wherein the screen image displays a plurality of control options ([0320], “The electronic display 72 is configured to display graphics, such as water icon 48, soap icon 50, and hand sanitizer icon 52. As in the previously described embodiments, the icons 48, 50 and 52 are selected by moving the user's hand 46 towards one of the icons 48, 50 and 52”); and
wherein, when the screen image is activated and at least one of the plurality of control options is selected, at least one characteristic of water exiting the ablutionary fitting is adjusted ([0289] and fig. 5, “The proximity sensor 44 detects when the user's hand 46 is placed below the fluid outlet 34, and relays this information to the computer 42. The computer 42 then causes the electronically operated valve mechanism 40 to open, causing the water 36 to flow through the spout body 16 and onto the user's hand 46, as shown in FIG. 5. When the user's hand 46 is moved away from the fluid outlet 34, the proximity sensor 44 again relays this information to the computer 42, which stops the flow of water 36 by closing the electronically operated valve mechanism 40”).
While Ophardt teaches displaying three-dimensional objects ([0331]), it has been known to display three-dimensional objects using holographic displays. In a similar field of infrared-touch input devices, Renwick discloses a holographic user interface module ([0048], “FIGS. 3A-3D illustrate example interaction with an example three-dimensional virtual rotary card user interface according to an example embodiment”) including a holographic 3D plate for transforming the light from the display screen into a screen image ([0036], “the three-dimensional touch display 118 may comprise a display capable of displaying a 3-D holographic image”)
In view of the teachings of Ophardt and Renwick, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the holographic display of Renwick as the display in the system of Ophardt, for the purpose of providing a display which has a known advantage of providing 3D realism.
Claims 18 and 19 are within the scope of claims 2 and 8 and are therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ophardt and Renwick further in view of Hornstein et al. (US PGPub 2021/0373205).
Regarding claim 3, while Ophardt and Renwick teaches a holographic display, it has been known to include a privacy filter in a holographic display. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Hornstein discloses wherein the holographic user interface module further includes a privacy filter ([0106], privacy film) covering the display screen ([0106], “a display can include a screen (e.g., a panel, pixelated screen) configured to output light (e.g., directionally or nondirectionally); a lenticular array configured to magnify and/or collimate different portions of the light from the screen (e.g., to generates a light output having viewing angle dependency); a privacy film configured to block light from being transmitted outside of a privacy filter viewcone; and an optical volume (e.g., defined by a frame of the display, a high index optical block, etc.) where the light is perceived to form a holographic image within the optical volume (e.g., within a volume enclosed by the frame, within a volume of an optical block, within a volume the extends into free space outside of the frame, etc.)”).
In view of the teachings of Ophardt, Renwick and Hornstein, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the privacy filter of Hornstein, within the system of Ophardt and Renwick, for the purpose of improving a user’s experience when privacy is desired.
Claim 11 is within the scope of claim 3 and is therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ophardt and Renwick further in view of Clements (US PGPub 2015/0000026).
Regarding claim 20, while the combination of Ophardt and Renwick teaches the ablutionary fitting is a faucet, other types of ablutionary fittings are known including toilets. In a similar field of endeavor of touch-free user devices, Clements discloses wherein the ablutionary fitting is a toilet ([0132], ”toilet assembly 206”), and wherein the holographic user interface module is integrated with the toilet ([0133], “To interact with the display, the user moves their hand in front on of the screen 204 and Kinect sensor 202, which is in the user inter action zone 214. The user hand inter action zone is from about 0.8 to 3.5 meters from the Kinect sensor. The hand controls a cursor 144 viewed in the display, either hand can be used. The pointer follows the hand movement of the user 218. The user points the palm of their hand toward the screen 204, and moves the cursor, which is shaped like a hand, on the screen, over the toilet function icon they want to select, such as the front wash bidet icon 216. The user moves the pointer, cursor 244 to the desired menu toilet option. When the cursor touches the icon function, the icon is highlighted, changes color, or is illuminated. The user activates the toilet device bidet function, by holding the hand controlled cursor on the icon, which starts a visual timer 246, after a specified 1 second's time the icon function activates. The visual timer 246 is a encircling of the cursor hand, 244 by a circular line 246”).
In view of the teachings of Ophardt, Renwick, and Clements it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the toilet fixture of Clements in place of the fixture in Ophardt and Renwick, for the purpose of substituting known touchless bathroom fittings which user’s may find more sanitary.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Keel et al. (US PGPub 2020/0123744) discloses “The display 16, shown in FIGS. 3C and 3D, emits red light when a control menu item P representing boiling water is selected, whereas the display 16 emits blue light in the case of a control menu item P for selecting cold water. The display can emit green light for filtered water when the corresponding control menu item P is selected and the display 16 can emit white light for carbonated water” ([0065]).
Casey (US PGPub 2019/0264428) discloses “FIG. 4 shows a water tap 102 having an upright body portion 103, a spout 104 for allowing water to be dispensed from the same in use, and a display portion 106 associated with the top of tap 102. The display portion 106 is a touch screen display portion and so a user presses said display 106 in order to actuate one or more functions of the tap, such as moving the tap between a dispensing or “on” condition and a non-dispensing or “off” condition, for changing the temperature of the water being dispensed and for activating the fingerprint sensor 108” ([0075]).
/EJF/
/BENJAMIN C LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2629