DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIE (US 2018/0143436) in view of An et al. (US 10,319,300).
As to claims 1 and 2, Xie discloses a goggle-type electronic device (Fig. 1, and [0002] comprising: a housing (Fig. 1, (1, 7A-8B, 10A, 10B)(Standard parts of the regular eyeglass frame); a first display apparatus (Fig. 1, (3A) and a second display apparatus (Fig. 1, (3B), each incorporated in the housing (at the usual eyeglass lenses location); a first gaze detection portion (Fig. 1, (6A) and a second gaze detection portion (Fig. 1, (6B), each incorporated in the housing (Fig. 1, (6A, 6B)[0067, 0068, 0107]; an arithmetic portion incorporated in the housing (Fig. 1, (2)(processor includes arithmetic operations [0011, 0032, 0084]; wherein the arithmetic portion (2)) is interposed between the first display apparatus (3A) and the second display apparatus (3B), wherein the first display apparatus (3A) is interposed between the arithmetic portion (2) and the first gaze detection portion (6A) (see Fig. 1), wherein the second display apparatus (3B) is interposed between the arithmetic portion (2) and the second gaze detection portion (6B). However, XIE does not specifically disclose each of the first display apparatus and the second display apparatus includes a pixel circuit and a driver circuit.
An discloses each of the first display apparatus (Fig. 1, (112) and the second display apparatus (Fig. 1, (112) includes a pixel circuit (Fig. 2, (PX)) and a driver circuit (122, 124)(for first display) and (126, 128)(for second display). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the pixel circuit and driver, as taught by An, in XIE, in order to reducing delay of signals provided to pixels in a display panel through lines formed in the display panel. (Col. 1, lines 43-46).
As to claim 2, further, XIE discloses that the arithmetic portion (Fig. 1, (2) is configured to differentiate definitions of display portions of the first display apparatus and the second display apparatus, depending on a user’s gaze point [0067, 0068].
Claim(s) 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIE (US 2018/0143436) in view of An et al. (US 10,319,300), as in claim 1, and further in view of Kabuto et al. (WO 2024166171).
As to claims 3 and 6, XIE, further, discloses a sensor (Fig. 1, (11) and a motion detection apparatus (Fig. 1, (12), each incorporated in the housing (see Fig. 1). Also, XIE discloses a communication port incorporated in the housing ([0057].
However, Xie, as anticipated by Ann, does not specifically disclose the second display apparatus is interposed between the sensor and the motion detection portion.
Kabuto discloses the second display apparatus (Fig. 1A, (202R) is interposed between the sensor (Fig. 1A, (53) and the motion detection portion (Fig. 1A, (5), and Fig. 2, (52). ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the display between the two sensors, as taught by Kabuto, in the device of XIE and Ann, since it is well known in the art of HMD devices to have different types of sensors distributed at different locations relative to the displays in order to carry out the different necessary functions.
As to claims 4 and 7, see claim 2, above.
As to claims 5 and 8, further, Xie, as anticipated by Kabuto, does not specifically disclose the sensor is configured to measure at least one of a number of blinks, eyelid behavior, pupil size, body temperature, pulse, oxygen saturation in blood of a user, ambient temperature, humidity, illumination, and odor. Examiner takes Official Notice as to the sensor being configured to measure at least one of a number of blinks, eyelid behavior, pupil size, body temperature, pulse, oxygen saturation in blood of a user, ambient temperature, humidity, illumination, and odor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the sensor being configured to measure at least one of a number of blinks, eyelid behavior, pupil size, body temperature, pulse, oxygen saturation in blood of a user, ambient temperature, humidity, illumination, and odor, in the device of Xie, Ann and Kabuto, since these are commonly known examples of sensors that the manufacturer, or user, in a manufacturing, or lab environment can select to add to the device, in order to selectively obtain the measurable particular piece of information, as desired.
As to claim 9, further, Xie, as anticipated by Ann, does not specifically disclose the communication portion is configured to transmit and receive an RF signal.
Kabuto discloses communication portion (Fig. 2, (61)(“ The communications processing device 6 includes a LAN (Local Area Network) communication device 61, a mobile wireless communication device 62, and a close-proximity wireless communication device 63”), is configured to transmit and receive an RF signal (“The distance sensor may be configured with a radar that emits radio waves”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have transmission and reception of an RF signal, as taught by Kabuto, in the device of Xie and Ann, since RF signals are common alternative means of wireless communications, just as IR signals are.
/RICARDO OSORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625