DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brossard (US 7232000).
Re Clm 1: Brossard discloses (figs 22a, 22b; and also fig 26) a power transmission apparatus comprising: a wheel hub (19, fig 1); an outer race (175, fig 22a/b; and 250, fig 26); a first inner race (right side inner race connected to shaft 10) combined with the outer race to constitute a first constant velocity joint (homokinetic); a second inner race (left side inner race connected to shaft 12) combined with the outer race to constitute a second constant velocity joint; a shaft (10) coupled to the first inner race so as to transmit rotation to the first inner race; a stem (12) coupled to the second inner race and the wheel hub (as disclosed and shown in at least fig 1) so as to receive rotation from the second inner race and to transmit the same to the wheel hub; and an elastic body (178, in figs 22a/b; and spring 262 in fig 26) configured to elastically support the stem or the shaft relative to the outer race.
Re Clm 2: Brossard discloses a support plate (central dividing walls, including 254; fig 26) fixed to the outer race, wherein the elastic body elastically supports the stem or the shaft relative to the support plate (on first side).
Re Clm 3: Brossard discloses the elastic body is a coil spring (fig 26).
Re Clm 4: Brossard discloses a fixing portion (central dividing walls, including 254; see fig 26) fixed to the outer race, wherein the elastic body is fixed to the fixing portion (on right side dividing wall) to elastically support the stem or the shaft.
Re Clm 6: Brossard discloses wherein each of the first and second constant velocity joints are implemented as a fixed ball type constant velocity joint or a sliding ball type constant velocity joint (figs 22a/b).
Re Clm 8: Brossard discloses wherein the first and second constant velocity joints have different sizes (the right and left sides of the joint have a different shape to accommodate the fixed and sliding type.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brossard (US 7232000).
Re Clm 5: Brossard fails to disclose that the material of the elastic body (262, fig 26) is rubber or plastic. Examiner notes that while Brossard is silent with respect to the coil spring material, rubber or plastic compression springs are well-known in the art for providing a lightweight, corrosion-resistant, and non-conductive alternative to traditional steel springs. Examiner further notes that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided the spring of Brossard to be made of rubber or plastic, as is known in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a lightweight, corrosion-resistant, and non-conductive alternative to traditional steel springs
Re Clm 7: Brossard discloses multiple embodiments of tripod type and ball type constant velocity joints. Examiner notes that Brossard discloses that the sliding ball-type CV joint could be used in the configuration shown in Figure 2. Examiner notes that Brossard fails to explicitly disclose or show wherein one of the first and second constant velocity joints are implemented as a fixed ball type constant velocity joint, and the other is implemented as a sliding ball type constant velocity joint.
Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the tripod-type CV joint, shown in figure 26, with the known ball-type CV joints as shown in figure 22 with a reasonable expectation of success for the well-known purpose of providing a wider articulation angle. Examiner notes that providing the ball-type CV joint structure in the configuration of figure 26 would result in the limitations of claim 8, wherein one of the first and second constant velocity joints are implemented as a fixed ball type constant velocity joint, and the other is implemented as a sliding ball type constant velocity joint.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678