DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR 10-2022-0089880 and KR 10-2022-0159495, filed on 20th, Jul. 2022 and 24th, Nov. 2022 respectively.
Claim Objections
3. A. Claim(s) 8 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: Typo error.
“…an end of the second layer is located between the at least one valley and the bending area.”
There is NO “at least one valley” in Claim 1 that Claim 8 refers to.
To further advance prosecution, the Examiner interprets the above limitation as
“…an end of the second layer is located between [[ at least one valley and the bending area.”
3. B. Claim(s) 9 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: Typo error.
“…an end of the second layer is located in the at least one valley.”
There is NO “at least one valley” in Claim 1 that Claim 9 refers to.
To further advance prosecution, the Examiner interprets the above limitation as
“…an end of the second layer is located in [[ at least one valley.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1, 4, 14-15, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220225523) in view of CHOI et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20210091320).
Regarding Claim 1,
Nguyen et al. teach
a display device ([0029], FIG. 2, i.e. device 10 may have a display such as display 14) comprising:
a substrate ([0035], FIG. 3, i.e. flexible substrate layer) including a display area ([0045], FIG. 5, i.e. central area 54 … non-thinned portions 46; [0044], FIG. 5, i.e. display cover layer 14CG to occur in the central area) and a peripheral area ([0045], FIG. 5, i.e. thinned portion 44 … corner areas 48 and/or other edge areas such as end edge areas 51 and side edge areas 53) that includes a bending area ([0039], FIG. 4, i.e. bend axis 28 … to form locally thinned portion 44) disposed adjacent to the display area (FIG. 5, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) bending area 44 disposed adjacent to display area 54);
a display layer ([0035], FIG. 3, i.e. display panel 14P) including a display element ([0035], FIG. 3, i.e. an array of pixels P) arranged in the display area (FIG. 5, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) pixels P disposed arranged in display area 54);
[a driving circuit arranged in the peripheral area (taught by CHOI et al., see below)]; and
an optical functional ([0039], FIG. 3, i.e. display cover layer 14GC may be provided with coatings … for example, antireflection coatings; [0040], FIG. 3, i.e. The refractive index of polymer 50 may be matched to that of display cover layer 14CG to help minimize light reflections) layer ([0050], FIG. 11, i.e. display cover layer 14CG may be filled with polymer 50) including a first layer ([0050], FIG. 11, i.e. polymer 50) that is disposed on the display layer (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) polymer 50 disposed on display layer 14P) and includes a first opening in an area corresponding to the bending area (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) opening in an area of 50 under bending area 44 (and bending axis 28)), and a second layer ([0050], FIG. 11, i.e. display cover layer 14CG) that is disposed on the first layer (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) second layer 14CG disposed on first layer 50),
wherein the second layer (i.e. please see above citation(s)) includes a first portion having a first thickness corresponding to the display area (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) right/left edges of 14CG having thickest vertical portion in display area 54/46), a second portion having a second thickness corresponding at least partially to the bending area (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) right/left at borderlines 44/46 of 14CG having second vertical thickness), and a third portion having a third thickness (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) center portion of 14CG having vertical thickness through bending axis 28) coupled to the second portion (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) center portion of 14CG under area 44 coupled to the borderlines 44/46 portions) and having a third thickness (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) the vertical thickness through bending axis 28), and
wherein the second thickness of the second portion is greater than at least one of the first thickness and the third thickness (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) second thickness of the second portion at borderlines 44/46 is greater than the third thickness through bending axis 28 (Please see below annotations for detail)).
[AltContent: textbox (First
thickness)][AltContent: textbox (Second
thickness)][AltContent: textbox (Third
thickness)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
However, Nguyen et al. do not explicitly teach
a driving circuit arranged in the peripheral area.
In the same field of endeavor, CHOI et al. teach
a driving circuit ([0068], FIG. 2, i.e. data driving circuit 150) arranged in the peripheral area ([0068], FIG. 2, i.e. peripheral area PA may include … data driving circuit 150).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Nguyen et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including first layer and second layer having plurality of thicknesses with CHOI et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area and driver circuit in peripheral area to effectively supply the driving signal to the display area yet not interfere with emission of light in display area by positioning driver circuit in peripheral area (CHOI et al.’s [0068]).
Regarding Claim 4,
the display device of claim 1,
CHOI et al. teach
further comprising:
an inorganic insulating layer ([0097], FIG. 5B, i.e. inorganic layer 101) disposed on one surface of the substrate (FIG. 5B, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) inorganic layer 101 on upper surface of substrate 100), and having an open portion ([0097], FIG. 5B, i.e. opening pattern OP) corresponding to the bending area ([0097], FIG. 5B, i.e. opening pattern may correspond to the corner area CA).
Regarding Claim 14,
the display device of claim 1, wherein
Nguyen et al. teach
a top surface of the second layer is flat (FIG. 6-12, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) top surface of 14CG is flat) on the display area (FIG. 6-12, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) display area 46) and bending area (FIG. 6-12, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) bending area 44).
Regarding Claim 15,
the display device of claim 14, wherein
Nguyen et al. teach
a thickness of the second layer gradually decreases ([0045], FIG. 8-12, i.e. “portions of display cover layer 14CG at the corners and other edge locations with increased thickness” (in other words, 14CG’s ends at the borders with bending area gradually decreases)) to an end of the second layer (FIG. 8-12, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) both ends of 14CG at bend portion’s borders).
Regarding Claim 17,
the display device of claim 1,
CHOI et al. teach
further comprising an inorganic insulating layer ([0097], FIG. 5B, i.e. inorganic layer 101) disposed on the substrate (FIG. 5B, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) inorganic layer 101 disposed on substrate 100) and including an opening portion ([0097], FIG. 5B, i.e. inorganic layer 101 may include opening pattern OP) in an area corresponding to the bending area ([0097], FIG. 5B, i.e. opening pattern may correspond to the corner area CA),
wherein the barrier rib layer ([0150], FIG. 5B, i.e. first organic material layer 114) is arranged to cover the opening portion ([0150], FIG. 5B, i.e. first organic material layer 114 may be on the opening pattern OP).
Regarding Claim 20,
an electronic device ([0029], FIG. 2, i.e. device 10) comprising:
a display device ([0029], FIG. 2, i.e. display such as display 14); and
a case housing ([0030], FIG. 2, i.e. housing 12) the display device;
wherein the display device (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprising:
a substrate ([0035], FIG. 3, i.e. flexible substrate layer) including a display area ([0045], FIG. 5, i.e. central area 54 … non-thinned portions 46; [0044], FIG. 5, i.e. display cover layer 14CG to occur in the central area) and a peripheral area ([0045], FIG. 5, i.e. thinned portion 44 … corner areas 48 and/or other edge areas such as end edge areas 51 and side edge areas 53) that includes a bending area ([0039], FIG. 4, i.e. bend axis 28 … to form locally thinned portion 44) disposed adjacent to the display area (FIG. 5, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) bending area 44 disposed adjacent to display area 54);
a display layer ([0035], FIG. 3, i.e. display panel 14P) including a display element ([0035], FIG. 3, i.e. an array of pixels P) arranged in the display area (FIG. 5, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) pixels P disposed arranged in display area 54);
[a driving circuit arranged in the peripheral area (taught by CHOI et al., see below)]; and
an optical functional ([0039], FIG. 3, i.e. display cover layer 14GC may be provided with coatings … for example, antireflection coatings; [0040], FIG. 3, i.e. The refractive index of polymer 50 may be matched to that of display cover layer 14CG to help minimize light reflections) layer ([0050], FIG. 11, i.e. display cover layer 14CG may be filled with polymer 50) including a first layer ([0050], FIG. 11, i.e. polymer 50) that is disposed on the display layer (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) polymer 50 disposed on display layer 14P) and includes a first opening in an area corresponding to the bending area (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) opening in an area of 50 under bending area 44 (and bending axis 28)), and a second layer ([0050], FIG. 11, i.e. display cover layer 14CG) that is disposed on the first layer (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) second layer 14CG disposed on first layer 50),
wherein the second layer (i.e. please see above citation(s)) includes a first portion having a first thickness corresponding to the display area (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) right/left edges of 14CG having thickest vertical portion in display area 54/46), a second portion having a second thickness corresponding at least partially to the bending area (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) right/left at borderlines 44/46 of 14CG having second vertical thickness), and a third portion having a third thickness (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) center portion of 14CG having vertical thickness through bending axis 28) coupled to the second portion (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) center portion of 14CG under area 44 coupled to the borderlines 44/46 portions) and having a third thickness (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) the vertical thickness through bending axis 28), and
wherein the second thickness of the second portion is greater than at least one of the first thickness and the third thickness (FIG. 11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) second thickness of the second portion at borderlines 44/46 is greater than the third thickness through bending axis 28 (Please see above annotations in Claim 1 for detail)).
However, Nguyen et al. do not explicitly teach
a driving circuit arranged in the peripheral area.
In the same field of endeavor, CHOI et al. teach
a driving circuit ([0068], FIG. 2, i.e. data driving circuit 150) arranged in the peripheral area ([0068], FIG. 2, i.e. peripheral area PA may include … data driving circuit 150).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Nguyen et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including first layer and second layer having plurality of thicknesses with CHOI et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area and driver circuit in peripheral area to effectively supply the driving signal to the display area yet not interfere with emission of light in display area by positioning driver circuit in peripheral area (CHOI et al.’s [0068]).
5. Claim(s) 2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220225523) and CHOI et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20210091320) in view of Wu et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20180284934).
Regarding Claim 2,
Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teach
the display device of claim 1.
However, Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the third thickness of the third portion is greater than the first thickness of the first portion and less than the second thickness of the second portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu et al. teach
wherein the third thickness ([0051], FIG. 7, i.e. second thickness T2 of the insulating layer 116 (more precisely, thickness of second layer 1162); [0045], FIG. 7, i.e. second layer 1162 is formed of organic insulating material (Please note that applicant defines “second layer 520” as “organic insulating material” in PGPub. [0086])) of the third portion ([0038], FIG. 1 & 7, i.e. second region R2 … that is bendable or foldable) is greater than the first thickness of the first portion ([0038], FIG. 1 & 7, i.e. thickness of the third region R3) and less than the second thickness of the second portion ([0038], FIG. 1 & 7, i.e. thickness of the first region R1 (Please see below for detail)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including first layer and second layer having second thickness greater than third thickness with Wu et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including first layer and second layer having third thickness greater than first thickness and less than second thickness in the bending area to effectively improve stability or the reliability in the high stress of bending area by having third thickness greater than first thickness and less than second thickness in the bending area (Wu et al.’s [0051]).
[AltContent: textbox (Third
thickness)][AltContent: textbox (Second
thickness)][AltContent: textbox (First
thickness)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 16,
Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teach
the display device of claim 1.
However, Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. do not explicitly teach
further comprising:
a polarizing layer disposed on the second layer in an area corresponding to the display area; and
a window layer disposed on the polarizing layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu et al. teach
further comprising:
a polarizing layer ([0038], FIG. 1-2, i.e. polarizer 172) disposed on the second layer ([0039], FIG. 1-2, i.e. insulating layer 116) in an area ([0039], FIG. 1-2, i.e. first/third region R1/R3) corresponding to the display area ([0038], FIG. 1-2, i.e. display region 102); and
a window layer ([0040], FIG. 1-2, i.e. cover layer 170) disposed on the polarizing layer ([0040], FIG. 1-2, i.e. cover layer 170 disposed on … a polarizer 172).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including first layer and second layer having second thickness greater than third thickness with Wu et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, polarizer layer on cover layer to greatly enhance image quality at the same time effectively provide protection to other layers below utilizing polarizer layer on cover layer (Wu et al.’s [0040]).
6. Claim(s) 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220225523) and CHOI et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20210091320) in view of KIM et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20200243781).
Regarding Claim 5,
Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teach
the display device of claim 1.
However, Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. do not explicitly teach
further comprising:
a barrier rib layer arranged in the bending area,
wherein the first layer extends from the display area to the peripheral area and includes the first opening in an area corresponding to the bending area, and the second layer directly contacts a top surface of the barrier rib layer through the first opening.
In the same field of endeavor, KIM et al. teach
further comprising:
a barrier rib layer ([0059], FIG. 3, i.e. dam member DM) arranged in the bending area ([0081], FIG. 3, i.e. dam member DM disposed in the first extending portion BA1-2 of the first bending area BA1),
wherein the first layer ([0088], FIG. 3, i.e. organic material layer 392) extends from (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 392 extends from display area FA to peripheral area BA1-1) the display area ([0047], FIG. 1, i.e. pixel PX is provided in plurality in the flat area FA) to the peripheral area ([0050], FIG. 1, i.e. first upper bending portion BA1-1) and includes the first opening in an area corresponding to (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) opening above DM of BA1-2) the bending area ([0050], FIG. 1, i.e. first extending portion BA1-2), and the second layer ([0088], FIG. 3, i.e. organic material layer 391) directly contacts a top surface of the barrier rib layer through the first opening (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 391 directly contacts a top surface of the barrier rib layer DM through the first opening above DM).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including first layer and second layer having second thickness greater than third thickness with KIM et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including first layer and second layer directly contacts a top surface of the barrier rib layer through the first opening to effectively prevent the organic materials such as monomers from overflowing when the organic material layer of the encapsulation layer is provided or formed during manufacturing of the display device by including first layer and second layer directly contacts a top surface of the barrier rib layer through the first opening (KIM et al.’s [0091]).
Regarding Claim 6,
the display device of claim 5, wherein
KIM et al. teach
the first layer includes at least one valley ([0090], FIG. 3, i.e. member DM) located between the bending area ([0081], FIG. 3, i.e. first extending portion BA1-2 of the first bending area BA1) and the driving circuit ([0062], FIG. 3, i.e. transistor TR), and wherein the at least one valley (i.e. please see above citation(s)) includes a first valley ([0090], FIG. 3, i.e. first dam DM1) and a second valley ([0090], FIG. 3, i.e. second dam DM2) which are spaced apart from each other (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) DM1 and DM2 are spaced apart from each other).
Regarding Claim 7,
the display device of claim 6, wherein
KIM et al. teach
the bending area bends about a bending axis (FIG. 1, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) bending axis would be in horizontal direction at center of BA1; FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) bending axis would be perpendicular to the figure’s plane at center of BA1-2; FIG. 6, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) bending axis would be in the “First direction” at center of the shaded area BA1) in a first direction (FIG. 6, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) in the “First direction” at center of the shaded area BA1), and the at least one valley extends in the first direction (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) DM extends perpendicularly to the figure’s plane; FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) DM would extend in the “First direction).
Regarding Claim 8,
Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teach
the display device of claim 1.
However, Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the second layer extends to the peripheral area and an end of the second layer is located between the at least one valley and the bending area.
In the same field of endeavor, KIM et al. teach
wherein the second layer ([0088], FIG. 3, i.e. organic material layer 392) extends to (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 392 extends to peripheral area BA1-1) the peripheral area ([0050], FIG. 1, i.e. first upper bending portion BA1-1) and an end of the second layer (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 392’s end at BA1-1 and BA1-2) is located between (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 392’s end is located between DM and BA1-1) the at least one valley ([0059], FIG. 3, i.e. dam member DM) and the bending area ([0050], FIG. 1, i.e. first upper bending portion BA1-1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including first layer and second layer having second thickness greater than third thickness with KIM et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including an end of second layer is located between a dam and bending area to effectively prevent the organic materials such as monomers from overflowing when the organic material layer of the encapsulation layer is provided or formed during manufacturing of the display device by including an end of second layer is located between a dam and bending area (KIM et al.’s [0091]).
Regarding Claim 9,
Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teach
the display device of claim 1.
However, Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the second layer extends to the peripheral area and an end of the second layer is located in the at least one valley.
In the same field of endeavor, KIM et al. teach
wherein the second layer ([0088], FIG. 3, i.e. first inorganic material layer 391) extends to (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 391 extends to peripheral area BA1-1) the peripheral area ([0050], FIG. 1, i.e. first upper bending portion BA1-1) and an end of the second layer (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) portion of 392’s end) is located in (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) portion of 392 is located in dam DM) is located in the at least one valley the at least one valley ([0059], FIG. 3, i.e. dam member DM).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including first layer and second layer having second thickness greater than third thickness with KIM et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including an end of second layer is located in a dam to effectively prevent the organic materials such as monomers from overflowing when the organic material layer of the encapsulation layer is provided or formed during manufacturing of the display device by including an end of second layer is located in a dam (KIM et al.’s [0091]).
7. Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220225523) and CHOI et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20210091320) in view of Hu (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20240188385).
Regarding Claim 10,
Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teach
the display device of claim 1.
However, Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the second layer has a modulus of 0.2 GPa to 1.5 GPa.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu teaches
wherein the second layer ([0101], FIG. 2-4, i.e. buffer layer 205) has a modulus of 0.2 GPa to 1.5 GPa ([0101], FIG. 2-4, i.e. elastic modulus of the buffer layer 205 is preferably 1Mpa - 1Gpa).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including first layer and second layer having second thickness greater than third thickness with Hu teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, and second layer having modulus of 1MPa to 1GPa to effectively reduce breakage and greatly improve elastic property using a buffer layer with modulus of 1MPa to 1GPa (Hu’s [0101]).
Regarding Claim 12,
Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teach
the display device of claim 1.
However, Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the second layer has light transmittance of 90% or greater.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu teaches
wherein the second layer ([0088], FIG. 2-3, i.e. hard layer 208) has light transmittance of 90% or greater ([0088], FIG. 2-3, i.e. light transmittance … to be greater than 90%).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including first layer and second layer having second thickness greater than third thickness with Hu teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, and transparent hard layer having light transmittance of 90% or greater to greatly reduce the shielding of light and effectively improving the display effect of the flexible display utilizing transparent hard layer having light transmittance of 90% or greater (Hu’s [0088]).
8. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220225523) and CHOI et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20210091320) in view of Lee et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20170200915).
Regarding Claim 11,
Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teach
the display device of claim 1.
However, Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the second layer has elongation of 10% or greater.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee et al. teach
wherein the second layer ([0050], FIG. 1-2, i.e. first adhesive member AD1) has elongation ([0009], FIG. 1-2, i.e. stress-relaxation test mode when a strain of about 25%) of 10% or greater ([0009], FIG. 1-2, i.e. strain of about 25%).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including first layer and second layer having second thickness greater than third thickness with Lee et al. teaching of bendable display comprising adhesive layer having 25% elongation to effectively improve durability under constant folding yet greatly reduce peeling rate by utilizing adhesive layer having 25% elongation (Lee et al.’s [0006]-[0007]).
9. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220225523) and CHOI et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20210091320) in view of LIU (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20250089524).
Regarding Claim 13,
Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teach
the display device of claim 1.
However, Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein a light-shielding portion is further arranged on an upper portion of the second layer in an area corresponding to the peripheral area, and
wherein a space of the bending area between the second layer and the light-shielding portion is an empty space.
In the same field of endeavor, LIU teaches
wherein a light-shielding portion ([0043], FIG. 4, i.e. ink 19) is further arranged on an upper portion ([0043], FIG. 4, i.e. first portion 171) of the second layer ([0043], FIG. 4, i.e. adhesive layer 17) in an area corresponding to the peripheral area ([0043], FIG. 4, i.e. corresponding to the bending portion), and
wherein a space (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) space to the right of portion 173) of the bending area ([0037], FIG. 4, i.e. bending portion 163) between the second layer and the light-shielding portion is an empty space (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) empty space to the right of adhesive layer 17 and ink 19).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including first layer and second layer having second thickness greater than third thickness with LIU teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, and an ink layer on an adhesive layer in the vicinity of the bend region to effectively prevent a problem of deterioration of appearance incurred by exposing the bent part using an ink layer on an adhesive layer in the vicinity of the bend region (LIU’s [0043]).
10. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220225523) and CHOI et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20210091320) in view of HWANG et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20150202853).
Regarding Claim 18,
Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teach
the display device of claim 1.
However, Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the second layer includes from about 5% to about 40% of difunction acrylate monomers.
In the same field of endeavor, HWANG et al. teach
wherein the second layer ([0034], FIG. 4, i.e. adhesive layer 420) includes from about 5% to about 40% of difunction acrylate monomers ([0009], FIG. 4, i.e. about 5 percent by weight to about 50 percent by weight of 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including first layer and second layer having second thickness greater than third thickness with HWANG et al. teaching of display comprising adhesive layer having 5-50% diacrylate to effectively prevent separation of polymer film form substrate utilizing adhesive layer having 5-50% diacrylate (HWANG et al.’s [0003]).
11. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220225523) and CHOI et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20210091320) in view of YU et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20200225699).
Regarding Claim 19,
Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teach
the display device of claim 1.
However, Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein a bending protection layer is further disposed on the second layer corresponding to the bending area.
In the same field of endeavor, YU et al. teach
wherein a bending protection layer ([0187], FIG. 18, i.e. compensating member 603) is further disposed on the second layer ([0187], FIG. 18, i.e. compensating member 603) corresponding to the bending area ([0188], FIG. 18, i.e. folding region FR).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Nguyen et al. and CHOI et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area, optical layer including first layer and second layer having second thickness greater than third thickness with YU et al. teaching of bendable display comprising display area, peripheral area and bending protection layer in the bending area to smoothly perform folding operation by including bending protection layer in the bending area (YU et al.’s [0192]).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claim(s) 3 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
13. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Nguyen et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220225523) teach a foldable display may have a display cover layer and a flexible display panel. The foldable display may bend around a bend axis. The display panel may have an array of pixels configured to display an image through the display cover layer. The display cover layer may be formed from a layer of glass. A recess may be formed in the layer of glass that extends along the bend axis. The recess may form a flexible locally thinned portion in the layer of glass that allows the glass layer to bend about the bend axis. To ensure that the display cover layer exhibits satisfactory impact resistance during drop events, corner portions of the display cover layer and other edge portions of the display cover layer may be provided with greater thickness relative to other portions of the display cover layer outside of the locally thinned portion.
CHOI et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20210091320) teach a display device having improved reliability includes a substrate including a display area and a peripheral area outside the display area. The display area includes a central display area, a first bending display area contacting the central display area and bent about a first bending axis, and a second bending display area bent about a second bending axis intersecting the first bending axis. The peripheral area includes a corner area rounded and adjacent to the first bending display area and the second bending display area. This display device includes an inorganic layer disposed at the display area and the peripheral area, an opening pattern formed in the inorganic layer and corresponding to the corner area, and a first organic material layer covering the opening pattern.
The subject matter of the claim(s) that could neither be found/suggested nor obviously combinable in the prior arts of record. The subject matter was a foldable display device/method including
“…wherein the first thickness of the first portion is 10 μm to 25 μm, the second thickness of the second portion is 20 μm to 40 μm, and the third thickness of the third portion is 10 μm to 30 μm.” (Claim 3), in combination with the other elements (or steps) of the device or apparatus and method recited in the claims.
Conclusion
/VINH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628