DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1. the claim recites “the lamp cover” in line 5, it is unclear why the phrase “the lamp cover” appears at this point in the claim, as neither the preceding nor the following limitation relates to the lamp cover. Accordingly, the Examiner interprets this phrase as lacking contextual relevance and, therefore, as unnecessary recitation that does not affect the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scribante et al. (US 9,206,948 hereinafter refer as “Scribante”) in view of Bilan et al. (US 2017/0198867 hereinafter refer as “Bilan”) and further in view of JOO (US 2015/0260376).
Regarding claim 1. Scribante discloses a lighting apparatus, comprising: a lamp body (troffer housing 209, see Fig. 2B, Col. 6; lines 50-57, Col. 13; lines 58-67); a hinge structure (303, see Figs. 3A and 3F, see Col. 13; lines 58-67 and Col. 14; lines 1-8), wherein the hinge structure is an extruded member connecting the lamp body (troffer housing 209) and a lamp cover (door assembly 101, see Figs. 1 and 3A, Col. 12; lines 42-60); and the lamp cover, wherein the hinge structure (303, see 3F) comprises a first fixing portion (325, 327, see Fig. 3F), a second fixing portion (plate section 321, see Fig. 3F), and a connecting section (323, see Fig. 3F, Col. 13; lines 33-43), wherein the first fixing portion (325, 327) is fixedly connected to the lamp body (e.g. configured to be inserted into a corresponding slot on either troffer housing 209 of existing troffer light fixture 207 or adaptor bracket 103, Col. 13; lines 44-47), wherein the second fixing portion (plate section 321) is fixedly connected to a first cover side of the lamp cover (e.g. lower side frame 307, see Figs. 3E and 3F, Col. 13; lines 13-27), wherein the lamp cover is rotatable relative to the lamp body along the hinge structure (303), and wherein, when the lamp body is mounted at an installation position, the lamp cover hangs downward for user access to perform configuration and installation of the lamp body, and after installation is completed, the lamp cover is rotated along the hinge structure to engage and close with the lamp body (see Figs. 10B and 10D, Col. 18; lines 52-56).
However, Scribante is silent with respect to the hinge structure is an extruded polymer member.
Bilan discloses an LED fixture (400, see Fig. 28, Para. 0128) that includes hinge (95); wherein the hinge mechanism is made of a selection of materials including metal, metal alloy, plastic, a plastic and metal mixture and a fiberglass composite and other polymers (claim 16).
JOO teaches a lens substrate (110) formed of at least one selected from the group consisting of epoxy resin, silicon resin, acrylic resin, and polycarbonate (see Para. 0048); wherein a hinge structure (130) may be integrally formed with the lens substrate (110, see Fig. 1, Para. 0047, 0050, 0054); wherein the hinge structure (130) includes a connection unit (134, see Fig. 5, Para. 0052) formed between a hinge body (132) and each side of the lens substrate (110) and the hinge body (132) is formed of polycarbonate (see Fig. 1, Para. 0051).
Therefore, in view of Bilan and JOO, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scribante’s hinge structure to be formed from an extruded polymer member in order to provide the desired flexible hinge movement, since such a modification would involve noting more than a selection of a known material based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose.
Regarding claim 2. Scribante further discloses the lamp cover (101, see Fig. 3A) further includes a coupling structure (e.g. latches 301, see Figs. 3A and 3G) disposed at a second cover side of the lamp cover (see Col. 10; lines 9-14).
Regarding claim 3. Scribante further discloses the coupling structure (301, see Fig. 3G) comprises a movable member (hook portion 333 and the handle portion 329, see Fig. 3G) wherein a user operates the movable member to engage the lamp cover (101) with the lamp body (209) and releases the movable member to complete fixation (see Fig. 10F, Col.14; lines 35-53).
Regarding claim 5. Scribante further discloses the lamp body (209) includes a locking hole (609, see Fig. 10F), and wherein the coupling structure (301) comprises a locking hook (333, see Fig. 3G) configured to engage the locking hole for fixation (see Col. 14; lines;35-47).
Regarding claim 6. Scribante further discloses the second cover side of the lamp cover includes a frame sides (307/407, see Figs. 3A and 4F, Col. 15; lines 38-45)
However, Scribante is silent with respect to a waterproof strip configured to prevent moisture ingress into the lamp body when the lamp cover and the lamp body are fixed together.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scribante by providing the side frame with a waterproof structure in order to protect the light source by preventing moisture entering the lamp body, since incorporating a waterproof strip between the lamp cover and the lamp body to prevent moisture ingress would have been a predictable design choice that naturally would have occurred to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of well-known need to protect internal lighting components from moisture as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 7. Scribante further discloses the lamp body includes a driver (1109) and a configuration switch, wherein, when the lamp cover is opened, a user operates the configuration switch to perform parameter setting of a driving circuit (e.g. a various door assembly electronics 1101 are located within cover 313, electronics housing 413, 4I, see Fig. 11, Col. 26; lines 26-61).
Regarding claims 8 and 9. Scribante further discloses comprising a light source including a plurality of LED modules (i.e. the light fixture 207 is retrofitted to include LED string containing a plurality of LEDs rather than existing fluorescent lamps, e.g. two strips of LEDs, see Fig. 10B, Col. 7; lines 31-64 and Col. 11; lines 42-67). Scribante further discloses the door assembly (101) can include a plurality of lenses (505, 506, see Fig. 5F); wherein the three lenses may be configured to produce light of varying color temperatures or intensities (see Fig. 5F, Col. 17; lines 1-16).
However, Scribante is silent with respect to the plurality of LED modules having different optical parameters, wherein the configuration switch is operable to adjust a mixing ratio of the LED modules to obtain a desired color temperature, as recited in claim 8; wherein the configuration switch includes indicia corresponding to a plurality of discrete color-temperature settings, as recited in claim 9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scribante by providing a plurality of LED modules having different optical parameters and configuring the configuration switch to include indicia corresponding to a plurality of discrete color-temperature settings in order to improve the aesthetic appearance and versality of the lighting apparatuses by enabling adjustment of the mixing ratio of the LED modules to achieve a desired color temperature, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, selecting a plurality of LED modules having different optical parameters and providing a configuration switch with indicia corresponding to a plurality of discrete color-temperature settings to adjust the mixing ratio of the LED modules would have been a predictable design choice that would have naturally occurred to one of ordinary skill in the art to satisfy the well known need for selectable color temperature in lighting application based on the specific requirements of the intended application.
Regarding claim 10. Scribante further discloses the lamp cover (e.g. door assembly electronics 1101) includes a light source (one or more LEDs, LED strips) electrically connected to a power supply of the lamp body (see Col. 26; lines 26-42). Scribante further discloses the hinge (303) includes a locking portion (325, see Fig. 3F) that is configured to be inserted into a corresponding slot on either troffer housing (209) of existing troffer light fixture (207) or adaptor bracket (103, see Fig. 10D, Col. 13; lines 44-57, Col. 19; lines 56-67); wherein the door assembly (101) can then be hung using hinges from slots included in adaptor brackets (103) and wired to an existing wiring system (e.g., the wiring system which was supplying the existing troffer light fixture) (see Col. 4; lines 60-64).
However, Scribante is silent with respect to the hinge structure includes a conductive channel and the light source connected to the power source through the conductive channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scribante’s hinge structure to include a conductive channel in order to allow wiring system which was supplying power to the light source to connect through the conductive channel, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, modifying the hinge to include a conductive channel would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 11. Scribante further discloses the second fixing portion (plate section 321, see Fig. 3F) includes a plurality of second fasteners (319, see Fig. 3F, Col. 13; lines 13-27).
However, Scribante is silent with respect to the first fixing portion includes a plurality of first fasteners, and wherein the plurality of first fasteners and the plurality of second fasteners are alternately arranged.
Bilan further discloses the hinge (95) includes a first fixing portion (see Fig. 28) and a second fixing portion; wherein the first fixing portion includes a plurality of first fasteners, and the second fixing portion includes a plurality of second fasteners (see Fig. 28, Para. 0120).
Therefore, in view of Bilan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scribante’s hinge structure to be attached at the first fixing portion and second fixing portion using a plurality of first fasteners that are alternately arranged in order to effectively secure the cover such that the hinges allow the opening of the lighting apparatus for gaining access to the interior housing of the fixture, since such a modification would involve noting more than a selection of a known material based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose.
Regarding claim 13. Scribante further discloses the lamp body (troffer housing 209, see 2B, Col. 6; lines 50-57, Col. 13; lines 58-67) includes a housing defining an accommodation space in which a driver box (e.g. 125, see Fig. 10B) is disposed, and wherein the housing includes a wire-passing hole through which an external power cable (power supply wires 1227) extends to the driver box (see Col. 25; lines 56-62).
Regarding claim 14. Scribante further discloses the lamp body includes an LED module (strips of LEDs, see Col. 7; lines 31-64 and Col. 11; lines 42-67) having a protective layer (e.g. “lens 305 protects one or more components within door assembly 101. For example, lens 305 may limit access to LEDs included in door assembly 101,” see Fig. 3A, Col. 10; lines 25-27).
Regarding claim 15. Scribante further discloses the hinge includes a locking portion (325) includes one or more extended portions (327, see Fig. 3G).
However, Scribante is silent with respect to the extruded polymer member has different wall thicknesses along different segments thereof.
Bilan further discloses the hinge mechanism includes a thicker portion at the connecting section of the hinge (see Figs. 22 and 23).
Therefore, in view of Bilan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scribante’s hinge structure to be formed from an extruded polymer member with different wall thicknesses along different segments thereof in order to provide the desired flexible hinge movement, since such a modification would involve noting more than a selection of a known material based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose.
Regarding claim 16. Scribante further discloses the lamp body includes a strip-shaped light source (strips of LEDs, see Col. 7; lines 31-64 and Col. 11; lines 42-67).
Regarding claim 17. Scribante further discloses the lamp cover (door assembly, see Figs. 1, 3A, and 5A, Col. 7; lines 31-64, Col. 11; lines 42-67, and Col. 12 lines 42-60) includes a lens structure (e.g. 505 and 506, see Figs. 5A) corresponding to the strip-shaped light source (see Col. 17; lines 1-16).
Regarding claim 18. Scribante further discloses the hinge (303) may be part of a single piece making up the housing of door assembly (101, e.g., hinge 303 may be part of an injection molded or milled housing; Plate section 321 may provide a surface with which to spot weld hinge 303 to door assembly 101, see Fig. 3F, Col. 13; lines 13-32).
However, Scribante is silent with respect to the hinge structure further includes a metal strip embedded therein, wherein, when the extruded polymer member melts under fire conditions, the metal strip maintains mechanical connection between the lamp body and the lamp cover.
Bilan further discloses an LED fixture (400, see Fig. 28, Para. 0128) that includes hinge (95); wherein the hinge mechanism is made of a selection of materials including metal, metal alloy, plastic, a plastic and metal mixture and a fiberglass composite and other polymers (see claim 16).
Therefore, in view of Bilan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scribante’s hinge structure that include a metal strip embedded therein in order to provide the desired flexible hinge movement, since such a modification would involve noting more than a selection of a known material based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose.
Regarding claim 19. The teachings of Scribante have been discussed above.
However, Scribante is silent with respect to the hinge structure is light-transmissive and includes a light source configured to emit light through the hinge structure to generate a side-light effect.
JOO further teaches the hinge body (132) may be formed of transparent or semitransparent resin (see Para. 0049 and 0051).
Therefore, in view of Bilan and JOO, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scribante’s hinge structure to be formed from a polymer member that can transmit light in order to provide the desired flexible light distribution including generating a side-light effect, since such a modification would involve noting more than a selection of a known material based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose.
Regarding claim 20. Scribante further discloses the lamp body includes a driver (driver 1109) that can control the intensity of the light output from the LEDs, control the color temperature of light output by the LEDs, dim the LEDs, turn on or off the LEDs, and/or otherwise alter or control the light output from the LEDs.
Regarding the drive being “operable to selectively activate the side-light effect,” the applicant is advised that it has been held by the courts that the recitation that an element is adapted to (i.e. operable to) perform a function or serve in a given application is not a positive limitation, but only requires the ability to so perform. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138. In this case, Scribante discloses a driver (1109) that has an ability to selectively activate the side-light effect.
3. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scribante in view of Bilan, JOO, and further in view of LEE (US 2021/0388973).
Regarding claim 4. Scribante further discloses the coupling structure (301, see Fig. 3G) comprises a slanted latch member (hook portion 333, see Fig. 3G) wherein a user operates the movable member to engage the lamp cover (101) with the lamp body (209) and releases the movable member to complete fixation (see Fig. 10F, Col.14; lines 35-53).
However, Scribante is silent with respect to the coupling structure comprises an elastic member and a slanted latch member, wherein a user operates the movable member to engage the lamp cover with the lamp body and releases the movable member to complete fixation.
LEE teaches a brackets (coupling structure 100, see Fig. 2) for fixing a lamp to be embedded in the ceiling of a building to an M bar inside the ceiling (see Figs. 1 and 2); wherein coupling structure comprises an elastic member (control bar spring 200-2, and a button inclined surface 300-1, see Figs. 2 and 3, Para. 0027) and a slanted latch member (inclined surface 200-1, see Figs. 2 and 3, Para. 0027), wherein a user operates the movable member to engage the lamp cover with the lamp body and releases the movable member to complete fixation.
Therefore, in view of LEE, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scribante’s coupling structure to include the elastic member and slanted latch member taught LEE in order to facilitate user operation by enabling smooth action of the movable member of the coupling structure thereby providing a simple, reliable, and secure fixation mechanism.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scribante in view of Bilan, JOO, and further in view of Patel (US 2019/0257481).
Regarding claim 12. The teachings of Scribante have been discussed above.
However, Scribante is silent with respect to the second fixing portion of the hinge structure and the lamp cover are fixed through a sliding-rail structure.
Patel teaches a light system that includes a lamp body (16, see Fig. 2, Para. 0039) and a lamp cover (LED frame 22) and a hinge (36) that is slidably carried in a hinge track (38) allowing the hinge (36) to travel laterally along path (40) of hinge track (38, see Para. 0038, 0041, 0042).
Therefore, in view of Patel, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scribante’s second fixing portion of the hinge structure to include a sliding-rail structure in order to allows the hinge to be adjusted. One would have been motivated to make this combination for providing varying numbers of hinge attachments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rashidi Doust (US 2015/0308664) discloses a lighting apparatus (see Fig. 6) comprising a lamp body (66, see Figs. 1 and 4), a hinge structure (55, see Figs. 6, 9, and 18, Para. 0033, 0048), wherein the hinge structure (55) is extruded and connecting the lamp body (66) and a lamp cover (door 56, see Fig. 6, Para. 0036); Ring et al. (US 2023/0010234) discloses a linear light fixture that includes a housing body that defines a component compartment therein that is configured to receive electrical components; and AKPINAR (US 2022/0312611) discloses a mounting apparatus for profiles with a cover that allows simple and quick assembly without using any additional hinge or locking element in products with a lidded structure that can be produced with aluminum profiles.
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875