Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
For example, the preamble of Claim 1 recites: "A system (S) for preventive inhibition of scaling in oil wells, comprising the following components and interconnections:" (see Lines 1-2). This wording fails to conform with current U.S. practice and should be amended to read ― A system [[(S) ]]for implementing a scale inhibitor in oil wells, comprising
For another example, Claim 4 recites "said production string comprises selective completion valves" (see Lines 2-3) (emphasis added). It is unclear how the valves are "selective." If this wording is meant to indicate that the valves can be opened and closed, then the term "selective" should be deleted from the recited phrase because it is unnecessary. All valves open and close. Similarly, in Claim 4, it is not necessary to recite that the Christmas tree is "wet" (see Line 2).
For another example, Claim 5 recites "wherein the vessel comprises a tank for storing a scale inhibitor, a tank for industrial water or a saline fluid, and a tank for preparing an inhibitor solution, in which the tank has interconnection with the tanks and" (see Lines 1-3). This wording is grammatically incorrect and does not make sense. Amendment is required.
Similar issues, and antecedent basis problems, exist in Claims 6-9 and must be corrected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belakshe et al (U.S Patent 10,221,658) (“Belakshe”) in view of Headworth (U.S Pub 2003/0056954) (“Headworth”).
Regarding Claim 1, Belakshe discloses a system (S) for preventive inhibition of scaling in oil wells (Abstract; Col 3, lines 45-48; Col 9, lines 27-44 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Belakshe discloses system and methods for inhibiting the formation of scale downhole), comprising the following components and interconnections:
a drilling string interconnected at the top with the rig (Figure 1; Col 13, lines 25-58 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Belakshe discloses a tubular #16 connected to wellhead #14 via line #12 at the top which is a rig as depicted in Figure 1, wherein the system also comprises drill strings, drill pipes, insert strings, liners etc), and interconnected at the bottom with a production string (Figure 1; Col 13, lines 25-58 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Belakshe discloses drill strings, drill pipes, insert strings, tubulars, liners); and
a reservoir rock that externally surrounds the production string (Figure 1; Col 13, lines 25-58 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Belakshe discloses extending a tubular #16 into a subterranean formation that is primarily composed of rock, minerals and other hydrocarbons).
Belakshe, however, fails to expressly disclose wherein the system comprises a stimulation vessel interconnected to a completion rig.
Headworth teaches the system above comprising a stimulation vessel interconnected to a completion rig (Abstract; Figure 2; Page 6, paragraph [0072] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Headworth teaches a production facility #40 disposed on a platform #42 that may be a floating platform such as a SPAR or a tension leg platform anchored to the ocean floor #44 or another type of floating vessel such as a floating production storage and off take vessel (FPSO) ) for the purpose of processing well fluids produced by a plurality of producing wells in order to enhance the recovery of oil/fluids (Abstract; paragraph [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Belakshe to include a system comprising a stimulation vessel interconnected to a completion rig, as taught by Headworth, because doing so would help to processes well fluids produced by the plurality of producing wells in order to enhance the recovery of oil/fluids.
Regarding Claim 2, Headworth teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the interconnection of the vessel with the rig occurs by means of a transfer pipe directly connected to connection lines present in said rig (Abstract; Figure 2; Page 6, paragraphs [0072] and [0075] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Headworth teaches a production facility #40 disposed on a platform #42 that may be a floating platform such as a SPAR or another type of floating vessel such as a floating production storage and off take vessel (FPSO), the system comprising a pipe #70), and said lines are consecutively connected to a circulation head also present in said rig (paragraph [0111]).
Regarding Claim 3, Belakshe discloses the system according to claim 2, wherein the interconnection of the drilling string with the rig occurs by means of the circulation head (Figure 1; Col 13, lines 25-58 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Belakshe discloses a tubular #16 connected to wellhead #14 via line #12 at the top which is a rig as depicted in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Headworth teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the interconnection of the drilling string with the production string occurs by means of a wet Christmas tree, in which said production string comprises selective completion valves (Figures 2-3; paragraphs [0005] and [0072], Christmas tree #54 comprising a plurality of valves for controlling flow).
Regarding Claim 5, Belakshe discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the vessel comprises a tank for storing a scale inhibitor (Col 8, lines 29-34), a tank for industrial water or a saline fluid, and a tank for preparing an inhibitor solution, in which the tank has interconnection with the tanks (Figure 1, Col 6, lines 1-18 and lines 49-54; Col 13, lines 26-58 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Belakshe discloses a tank #10 that can be used to store/mix corrosion inhibitors downhole as well as other aqueous solutions).
Regarding Claim 6, Belakshe discloses a process (P) for preventive inhibition of scaling in oil wells (Abstract; Col 3, lines 45-48; Col 9, lines 27-44 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Belakshe discloses system and methods for inhibiting the formation of scale downhole), wherein it occurs in the system (S), as defined in claim 5, said process (P) comprising the following steps:
transferring of the scale inhibitor (Col 8, lines 29-34), initially contained in the tank #10, to the tank; and transfer of industrial water or saline fluid, initially contained in the tank (Figure 1, Col 6, lines 1-18 and lines 49-54; Col 13, lines 26-58 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Belakshe discloses a tank #10 that can be used to store/mix corrosion inhibitors downhole as well as other aqueous solutions), to the tank;
preparing the inhibitor solution in the tank (Figure 1, Col 6, lines 1-18 and lines 49-54; Col 13, lines 26-58 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Belakshe discloses a tank #10 that can be used to store/mix corrosion inhibitors downhole as well as other aqueous solutions);
interconnecting the components in the rig by means of the pipe, connection lines, and circulation head (Figure 1; Col 13, lines 25-58 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Belakshe discloses a tubular #16 connected to wellhead #14 via line #12 at the top which is a rig as depicted in Figure 1, wherein the system also comprises drill strings, drill pipes, insert strings, liners etc);
pumping the inhibitor solution from the vessel to the rig through the tubing (Col 12, lines 40-60), followed by pumping said solution to the production string through the drilling string (Figure 1; Col 13, lines 25-58 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Belakshe discloses drill strings, drill pipes, insert strings, tubulars, liners); and
maneuvering the valves to pump the inhibitor solution (Col 13, lines 26-50 and lines 59-67; Col 14, lines 1-5).
Belakshe, however, fails to expressly disclose wherein the process (P) system comprises interconnecting the vessel with the rig and maneuvering the wet Christmas tree and valves to align the treatment with the reservoir rock.
Headworth teaches the process (P) system above comprising interconnecting the vessel with the rig (Abstract; Figure 2; Page 6, paragraph [0072] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Headworth teaches a production facility #40 disposed on a platform #42 that may be a floating platform such as a SPAR or a tension leg platform anchored to the ocean floor #44 or another type of floating vessel such as a floating production storage and off take vessel (FPSO) ) and maneuvering the wet Christmas tree and valves to align the treatment with the reservoir rock (Figures 2-3; paragraphs [0005] and [0072], Christmas tree #54 comprising a plurality of valves for controlling flow) for the purpose of processing well fluids produced by a plurality of producing wells in order to enhance the recovery of oil/fluids (Abstract; paragraph [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Belakshe to include a process (P) system comprising a stimulation vessel interconnected to a completion rig as well as a Christmas tree and valves, as taught by Headworth, because doing so would help to processes well fluids produced by the plurality of producing wells in order to enhance the recovery of oil/fluids.
Regarding Claim 7, Belakshe discloses the process according to claim 6, further comprising the following steps:
conditioning the reservoir rock after pumping the inhibitor solution from the vessel to the rig through the tubing (Figure 1; Col 13, lines 25-58 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Belakshe discloses a tubular #16 connected to wellhead #14 via line #12 at the top which is a rig as depicted in Figure 1, wherein the system also comprises drill strings, drill pipes, insert strings, liners etc), and pumping said solution to the production string through the drilling string (Col 12, lines 40-60), is completed;
allowing action of the inhibitor solution in the reservoir (Col 8, lines 29-34); and
preparing the reservoir rock for opening and production (Abstract; Figure 1; Col 13, lines 25-58 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Belakshe discloses extending a tubular #16 into a subterranean formation that is primarily composed of rock, minerals and other hydrocarbons).
Regarding Claim 8, Belakshe in view of Headworth teach the process according to claim 6, wherein the preparation of the inhibitor solution (Col 8, lines 29-34) comprises the use of 5,000 liters of the scale inhibitor from the tank #10, and the use of 245,000 liters of water or the use of 245,000 liters of saline fluid, in which the saline fluid, when selected for use in the tank #10, is an aqueous solution of potassium chloride at a concentration of 2 to 3% m/V (Headworth: paragraph [0088]).
Regarding Claim 9, Belakshe discloses the process according to claim 8, wherein the scale inhibitor (Col 8, lines 29-34) is a chemical formulation comprising a scale inhibitor selected from the group comprising phosphonates, phosphonate ethers, phosphate esters, polyacrylates, or glucosides, in which said scale inhibitor is present in said chemical formulation at a concentration between 10% and 50% m/V (Col 3, lines 18-28).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Halvorsen et al (U.S Patent 11,555,382) – discloses a subsea hydrocarbon production field comprising first subsea christmas trees, a first manifold and a variety of first flexible flowline jumpers connected between the first manifold and a corresponding first tree (Abstract; Figure 2; Col 4, lines 1-17).
Smith et al (U.S Pub 2016/0160111) – discloses methods for removing geothermal scale from a wellbore by introducing a descaling agent and removing at least a portion of the geothermal scale from the geothermal well (Abstract; Figure 1; paragraphs [0016] and [0018]).
/ASHISH K VARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3674
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674