DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 of U.S. Application No. 19/391,118 filed on 11/17/2025 have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 8 of this application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each of the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function. Such claim limitations are:
“a mode command input operable to issue” in claims 1 and 8.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In the specification, applicant discloses that, “The joystick unit 60 includes a joystick button 61 (an example of a mode command input)” (See at least [0050] in applicant’s specification). It will therefore be appreciated that the functions disclosed are executed in the form of hardware and/or software executed by one or more processors. This is adequate structure to perform the claimed functions, so no 112(b) rejections are given based on this claim interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya et al. (US20230219677A1) in view of 6X9 Digital Electronic Control Operation Manual (later Helm Master EX series), hereinafter referred to as Tsuchiya and Yamaha respectively.
Regarding Claims 1 and 11: Tsuchiya discloses A system for propelling a watercraft, the system comprising:
a propulsion device attached to a hull of the watercraft; (“The watercraft 100 includes a hull 101 and outboard motors 1 provided as exemplary propulsion systems on the hull 101.” [0047]).
a joystick configured to operate the propulsion device; (“The substation SS includes neither the steering wheel 31 nor the acceleration levers 33, but includes a joystick 36S provided alone as an operation element to steer and adjust the propulsive force.” [0050]).
a mode command input operable to issue a command to transition to a joystick mode to operate the propulsion device with the joystick; (“If the joystick button 37S of the substation SS is pressed when the main station MS is the operative station and the control mode is the ordinary mode, the watercraft maneuvering controller 50 switches the operative station from the main station MS to the substation SS. At this time, the watercraft maneuvering controller 50 further switches the control mode from the ordinary mode to the joystick mode.” [0075]).
Tsuchiya does not explicitly teach a controller configured or programmed to deactivate the joystick mode based on the propulsion device changing between a stopped state and a started state in the joystick mode.
However, Yamaha does teach a controller configured or programmed to deactivate the joystick mode based on the propulsion device changing between a stopped state and a started state in the joystick mode. (“If you want to end the operation, do any of the following.• Press the “JOYSTICK” switch. (LED goes out)• Move the remote control levers to the F or R position. (LED goes out)• Stop one or more engines. (LED goes out)” [Pg.55]). Both Tsuchiya and Yamaha teach methods for methods of propelling a watercraft. However, Yamaha explicitly teaches a controller configured or programmed to deactivate the joystick mode based on the propulsion device changing between a stopped state and a started state in the joystick mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the watercraft control method of Tsuchiya to also include a controller configured or programmed to deactivate the joystick mode based on the propulsion device changing between a stopped state and a started state in the joystick mode, as taught by Yamaha, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the watercraft control methods using different conditions to activate and deactivate operation modes of the joystick based on the operation state of the propulsion device (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Yamaha, Pg.55]).
Regarding Claim 2: Tsuchiya discloses further comprising: a propulsion device command input operable to issue a command to change the propulsion device between the stopped state and the started state. (“Further, the all-switch 42S and the kill switch 44S are connected to the propulsion system controller 55 to input a propulsion system starting command signal and/or a propulsion system stopping command signal to the propulsion system controller 55.” [0061] and
“the user operates the all- switch 42, 42S to restart the engines 11 of all of the outboard motors 1, or selectively operates the separate switches 43 to restart the engine 11 of at least one of the outboard motors 1 in order to perform the watercraft maneuvering operation.” [0108]).
Regarding Claim 3:
Tsuchiya does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured or programmed to deactivate the joystick mode when the propulsion device has been changed from the started state to the stopped state in the joystick mode.
However, Yamaha does teach wherein the controller is configured or programmed to deactivate the joystick mode when the propulsion device has been changed from the started state to the stopped state in the joystick mode. (“If you want to end the operation, do any of the following.• Press the “JOYSTICK” switch. (LED goes out)• Move the remote control levers to the F or R position. (LED goes out)• Stop one or more engines. (LED goes out)” [Pg.55]). Both Tsuchiya and Yamaha teach methods for methods of propelling a watercraft. However, Yamaha explicitly teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to deactivate the joystick mode when the propulsion device has been changed from the started state to the stopped state in the joystick mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the watercraft control method of Tsuchiya to also include wherein the controller is configured or programmed to deactivate the joystick mode when the propulsion device has been changed from the started state to the stopped state in the joystick mode, as taught by Yamaha, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the watercraft control method (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Yamaha, Pg.55]).
Regarding Claim 4:
Tsuchiya does not explicitly teach wherein a plurality of propulsion devices including the propulsion device are attached to the hull; and the controller is configured or programmed to deactivate the joystick mode when at least one of the plurality of propulsion devices has been changed from the started state to the stopped state in the joystick mode.
However, Yamaha does teach wherein a plurality of propulsion devices including the propulsion device are attached to the hull; and the controller is configured or programmed to deactivate the joystick mode when at least one of the plurality of propulsion devices has been changed from the started state to the stopped state in the joystick mode. (“If you want to end the operation, do any of the following.• Press the “JOYSTICK” switch. (LED goes out)• Move the remote control levers to the F or R position. (LED goes out)• Stop one or more engines. (LED goes out)” [Pg.55]). Both Tsuchiya and Yamaha teach methods for methods of propelling a watercraft. However, Yamaha explicitly teaches wherein a plurality of propulsion devices including the propulsion device are attached to the hull; and the controller is configured or programmed to deactivate the joystick mode when at least one of the plurality of propulsion devices has been changed from the started state to the stopped state in the joystick mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the watercraft control method of Tsuchiya to also include wherein a plurality of propulsion devices including the propulsion device are attached to the hull; and the controller is configured or programmed to deactivate the joystick mode when at least one of the plurality of propulsion devices has been changed from the started state to the stopped state in the joystick mode, as taught by Yamaha, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the watercraft control method (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Yamaha, Pg.55]).
Regarding Claim 5: Tsuchiya discloses wherein a plurality of propulsion devices including the propulsion device are attached to the hull; and the controller is configured or programmed to deactivate the joystick mode when at least one of the plurality of propulsion devices has been changed from the stopped state to the started state in the joystick mode. (“When the control mode is set to the joystick mode, the controller is configured or programmed to determine whether the propulsion systems are in the propulsive force operable state. If all of the plurality of propulsion systems are in the propulsive force operable state, the controller is configured or programmed to set the control mode to the first joystick mode. If not all of the plurality of propulsion systems are in the propulsive force operable state, the controller is configured or programmed to set the control mode to the second joystick mode.” [0028]).
Regarding Claims 6 and 12: Tsuchiya discloses wherein, when at least one of the plurality of propulsion devices is operating upon deactivation of the joystick mode, the controller is configured or programmed to cause the at least one of the plurality of propulsion devices to stop operating. (“In the joystick mode, the watercraft maneuvering controller 50 determines whether or not all of the outboard motors 1 with their propulsive forces to be used in the first joystick mode are in the propulsive force operable state (Step S 1). Specifically, the propulsive force operable state is such that the engines 11 of the outboard motors 1 are in the operation state. If the engines 11 are off, it is determined that the outboard motors 1 are in the propulsive force non-operable state.” [0103]).
Regarding Claim 7: Tsuchiya discloses wherein the controller is configured or programmed to deactivate the joystick mode and thereafter transition to a mode preventing manual operation of the watercraft. (“The control mode includes an ordinary mode in which the operation of the joystick is disabled, and a joystick mode in which the operation of the joystick is enabled. The controller sets the control mode to the joystick mode when selecting the substation as the operative station.” [0019]).
Regarding Claim 8: Tsuchiya discloses wherein the controller is configured or programmed to deactivate the joystick mode and thereafter transition to the joystick mode in response to a command issued thereto from the mode command input. (“If the joystick button 37S of the substation SS is pressed when the main station MS is the operative station and the control mode is the ordinary mode, the watercraft maneuvering controller 50 switches the operative station from the main station MS to the substation SS. At this time, the watercraft maneuvering controller 50 further switches the control mode from the ordinary mode to the joystick mode.” [0075]).
Regarding Claim 9: Tsuchiya discloses wherein the propulsion device includes an electric motor as a power source thereof. (“The outboard motors 1 may each include an engine outboard motor or an electric outboard motor.” [0064]).
Regarding Claim 10: Tsuchiya discloses a hull; and the system according to claim 1 on the hull. (“The watercraft 100 includes a hull 101 and outboard motors 1 provided as exemplary propulsion systems on the hull 101.” [0047]).
Conclusion
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668