DETAILED ACTION
Specification
2. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
3. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it recites “Examples of the present application disclose” in line 1, which can be implied. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Memory with Loading Circuit Providing Drivers with Different Gate Voltages.”
Double Patenting
6. Claims 9 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12494252 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 9 and 18 of the instant application recite a subset of the features of claim 4 in US 12494252 B2.
Claim Limitations of the Instant Application
Claim Limitations of US Patent 12494252 B2
Claim 9: The memory device of claim 5, wherein the voltage converter circuit comprises a first phase inverter, a second phase inverter, a first depletion-N-metal oxide semiconductor (NDMOS) transistor, a second NDMOS transistor, and a P-metal oxide semiconductor (PMOS) transistor, whereinan output terminal of the first phase inverter is coupled with an input terminal of the second phase inverter and a gate of the PMOS transistor, respectively, an output terminal of the second phase inverter is coupled with an input terminal of the first NDMOS transistor, and an output terminal of the first NDMOS transistor is coupled with a gate of the second NDMOS transistor; andan input terminal of the second NDMOS transistor is coupled with a first power loading terminal, an output terminal of the second NDMOS transistor is coupled with an input terminal of the PMOS transistor, and an output terminal of the PMOS transistor is connected in parallel with the output terminal of the first NDMOS transistor and then coupled with a first output terminal.
Claim 4: The memory of claim 3, wherein the voltage converter comprises a first phase inverter, a second phase inverter, a first depletion-N-metal oxide semiconductor (NDMOS) transistor, a second NDMOS transistor, and a P-metal oxide semiconductor (PMOS)transistor, wherein the voltage converter further comprises: an input terminal of the first phase inverter coupled with the control terminal, an output terminal of the first phase inverter respectively coupled with an input terminal of the second phase inverter and a gate of the PMOS transistor respectively, an output terminal of the second phase inverter coupled with an input terminal of the first NDMOS transistor, and an output terminal of the first NDMOS transistor coupled with a gate of the second NDMOS transistor; and an input terminal of the second NDMOS transistor coupled with the first power loading terminal, an output terminal of the second NDMOS transistor coupled with an input terminal of the PMOS transistor, and an output terminal of the PMOS transistor connected in parallel with the output terminal of the first NDMOS transistor and coupled with the first output terminal, and wherein the first voltage is equal to the third voltage.
Claim 18: The memory device of claim 14, wherein the voltage converter circuit comprises a first phase inverter, a second phase inverter, a first depletion-N-metal oxide semiconductor (NDMOS) transistor, a second NDMOS transistor, and a P-metal oxide semiconductor (PMOS) transistor, whereinan output terminal of the first phase inverter is coupled with an input terminal of the second phase inverter and a gate of the PMOS transistor, respectively, an output terminal of the second phase inverter is coupled with an input terminal of the first NDMOS transistor, and an output terminal of the first NDMOS transistor is coupled with a gate of the second NDMOS transistor, andan input terminal of the second NDMOS transistor is coupled with a first power loading terminal, an output terminal of the second NDMOS transistor is coupled with an input terminal of the PMOS transistor, and an output terminal of the PMOS transistor is connected in parallel with the output terminal of the first NDMOS transistor and then coupled with a first output terminal.
Claim 4: The memory of claim 3, wherein the voltage converter comprises a first phase inverter, a second phase inverter, a first depletion-N-metal oxide semiconductor (NDMOS) transistor, a second NDMOS transistor, and a P-metal oxide semiconductor (PMOS) transistor, wherein the voltage converter further comprises: an input terminal of the first phase inverter coupled with the control terminal, an output terminal of the first phase inverter respectively coupled with an input terminal of the second phase inverter and a gate of the PMOS transistor respectively, an output terminal of the second phase inverter coupled with an input terminal of the first NDMOS transistor, and an output terminal of the first NDMOS transistor coupled with a gate of the second NDMOS transistor; and an input terminal of the second NDMOS transistor coupled with the first power loading terminal, an output terminal of the second NDMOS transistor coupled with an input terminal of the PMOS transistor, and an output terminal of the PMOS transistor connected in parallel with the output terminal of the first NDMOS transistor and coupled with the first output terminal, and wherein the first voltage is equal to the third voltage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Futatsuyama, et al (US 20060186942 A1), hereinafter Futatsuyama.
Regarding independent claim 1, Futatsuyama teaches a memory device (FIG. 1), comprising:
a memory array (FIG. 1, 101); and
a periphery circuit coupled to the memory array (FIG. 1, e.g., row decoder 105, voltage generating circuits 120, etc.; ¶[0036-0037]), the periphery circuit comprising:
a first driver comprising a first transistor (FIG. 5, QN9; ¶[0043]; note for convenience of explanation, the second embodiment of the level shifter (FIGS. 13-14, 54”) will be referenced in place of level shifter 54 going forward), wherein a first current terminal of the first transistor is coupled to at least one of a top select gate (FIG. 5, QN9 shown coupled to top select gate S1) or a bottom select gate, and a gate terminal of the first transistor is configured to receive a first voltage (FIG. 5, voltage at node N1 (output of INV1)); and
a second driver comprising a second transistor (FIG. 5, e.g., QN1; ¶[0043]), wherein a first current terminal of the second transistor is coupled to a first word line (FIG. 5, QN1 shown coupled to word line CG(1); ¶[0041]), and a gate terminal of the second transistor is configured to receive a second voltage (FIG. 5, voltage at node N10(OUTPUT)) different from the first voltage (voltage at node N1 will be either VSS or Vdd (see, e.g., ¶[0062], [0064]), while the voltage at node N10(OUTPUT) will be adjusted by the threshold voltage of transistor HNE2 (FIG. 14, OUTPUT waveform during period from t2 to t4 is Vdd-Vth(HNE2), during which time INPUT is Vdd and therefore the voltage at N1 will be Vss)).
Regarding claim 6, Futatsuyama teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Futatsuyama further teaches the first voltage is smaller than the second voltage in a normal programming mode of the memory devices (FIG. 14, first voltage OUTPUT is positive in the time period from t2 to tr2, while second voltage at node N1 (FIGS. 5 and 13) remains at Vss (FIG. 14, INPUT is Vdd and therefore N1 is Vss)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futatsuyama, et al (US 20060186942 A1), hereinafter Futatsuyama, in view of Kikuchi, et al (US 20230317181 A1), hereinafter Kikuchi.
Regarding independent claim 19, Futatsuyama teaches a memory device (FIG. 1), comprising:
a memory array (FIG. 1, 101); and
a periphery circuit coupled to the memory array (FIG. 1, e.g., row decoder 105, voltage generating circuits 120, etc.; ¶[0036-0037]), the periphery circuit comprising:
a first driver comprising a first transistor (FIG. 5, QN9; ¶[0043]; note for convenience of explanation, the second embodiment of the level shifter (FIGS. 13-14, 54”) will be referenced in place of level shifter 54 going forward), wherein a first current terminal of the first transistor is coupled to at least one of a top select gate (FIG. 5, QN9 shown coupled to top select gate S1) or a bottom select gate, and a gate terminal of the first transistor is configured to receive a first voltage (FIG. 5, voltage at node N1 (output of INV1)); and
a second driver comprising a second transistor (FIG. 5, e.g., QN1; ¶[0043]), wherein a first current terminal of the second transistor is coupled to a first word line (FIG. 5, QN1 shown coupled to word line CG(1); ¶[0041]), and a gate terminal of the second transistor is configured to receive a second voltage (FIG. 5, voltage at node N10(OUTPUT)) different from the first voltage (FIG. 5, voltage at node N10(OUTPUT)) different from the first voltage (voltage at node N1 will be either VSS or Vdd (see, e.g., ¶[0062], [0064]), while the voltage at node N10(OUTPUT) will be adjusted by the threshold voltage of transistor HNE2 (FIG. 14, OUTPUT waveform during period from t2 to t4 is Vdd-Vth(HNE2))).
Futatsuyama does not teach the memory device is part of a memory system, comprising a memory controller coupled to the memory device and configured to control the memory device.
Kikuchi teaches the memory device is part of a memory system (FIG. 1, ¶[0028]), comprising a memory controller (FIG. 1, 1) coupled to the memory device (FIG. 1, 2) and configured to control the memory device (¶[0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kikuchi into the method of Futatsuyama to include a controller in a system implementation. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Futatsuyama in the above manner for the purpose of controlling reads and writes of data in according with requests from a host (Kikuchi ¶[0030]).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 10-17 are allowed.
12. Claims 2-5, 7-8, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
13. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach the claimed limitation of the periphery circuit further comprises a source follower circuit, wherein a first terminal of the source follower circuit is coupled to the gate terminal of the first transistor, and a second terminal of the source follower circuit is coupled to the gate terminal of the second transistor, and the first terminal of the source follower circuit is different from the second terminal of the source follower circuit. Claims 2-5 and 7-9 depend on claim 2, but claim 9 is rejected due to double patenting.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach the claimed limitation of a periphery circuit coupled to the memory array, the periphery circuit comprising:
a source follower circuit, wherein a first terminal of the source follower circuit is coupled to a gate terminal of the first transistor, a second terminal of the source follower circuit is coupled to a gate terminal of the second transistor, and the first terminal of the source follower circuit is different from the second terminal of the source follower circuit. Claims 11-18 depend on claim 10, but claim 18 is rejected due to double patenting.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach the claimed limitation of the periphery circuit is further comprises a source follower circuit, wherein a first terminal of the source follower circuit is coupled to the gate terminal of the first transistor, a second terminal of the source follower circuit is coupled to the gate terminal of the second transistor, and the first terminal of the source follower circuit is different from the second terminal of the source follower circuit.
Citation of Relevant Art
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen, et al (US 20090147799 A1) teaches a source follower, but as part of a data driver feeding the drain of the top transistor of an inverter stage.
Miyamoto (US 5831900 A) uses a source follower WL driver circuit, but the source follower is not a single-transistor, nor does it feed the gate of a WL driver transistor.
Ogura, et al (US 20020131304 A1) uses source followers as sub-bitline drivers.
Futatsuyama, et al (US 20010005015 A1) uses different driver gate voltages for word line drivers and top/bottom select line drivers, but does not disclose a source follower circuit feeding any driver gates.
Conclusion
/B.S.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2827
/AMIR ZARABIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2827