DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 55-74 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duindam et al. (US 2020/0078103 A1).
Regarding claim 55, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach a medical system (100, see figs. 1, 2, and 5) comprising: a display system (110, see figs. 1, 2, and 5); an elongate device configured to be inserted in an anatomical passageway of a patient anatomy (200, see fig. 2); and a control system communicatively coupled to the display system, the control system configured to: display a graphical user interface via the display system, the graphical user interface including a virtual navigation view (see [0064]); display an articulation marker in the virtual navigation view (see [0064]); determine an articulation direction of the elongate device (see [0063]); and display a graphical marker on the articulation marker, the graphical marker indicating the articulation direction of the elongate device (see [0073], [0078]).
Regarding claim 56, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 55, wherein the control system is further configured to: determine a radial deployment location for a medical tool using the articulation marker, the medical tool configured to extend within the elongate device (see [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 57, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 55, further comprising: an imaging probe configured to extend within the elongate device (see [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 58, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 57, wherein the control system is further configured to: receive imaging data from the imaging probe; and determine whether an anatomical target is identified in the imaging data (see [0073], [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 59, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 58, wherein the control system is further configured to: if the anatomical target is identified in the imaging data, determine an orientation of the anatomical target (see [0073], [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 60, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 58, wherein the imaging data comprises a plurality of images, and wherein the control system is further configured to: determine that the anatomical target is identified in at least some images of the plurality of images; and determine a clarity of the anatomical target in each image in which the anatomical target is identified (see [0073], [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 61, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 60, wherein the control system is further configured to: determine an orientation of the anatomical target based on an image in which the clarity of the anatomical target is a highest clarity (see [0073], [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 62, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 58, wherein the control system is further configured to: if the anatomical target is identified in the imaging data, determine an extension distance of the imaging probe from a distal end of the elongate device (see [0073], [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 63, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 62, wherein the articulation marker is displayed in the virtual navigation view if the extension distance of the imaging probe is less than a threshold extension distance (see [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 64, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 57, wherein the imaging probe is configured to be retracted into the elongate device before the elongate device is articulated from the articulation direction to a second articulation direction (see [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 65, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 57, wherein the elongate device is articulatable from the articulation direction to a second articulation direction while the imaging probe is extended from a distal end of the elongate device (see [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 66, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 63, wherein the control system is further configured to: determine whether the articulation direction exceeds a threshold articulation of the elongate device (see [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 67, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 55, wherein the articulation marker is displayed in the virtual navigation view in response to a user input selecting an icon of the graphical user interface (see [0103]; and fig. 5).
Regarding claim 68, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 55, wherein the articulation marker is spaced from a distal end of a representation of the elongate device displayed in the virtual navigation view (see [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 69, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 55, wherein an entirety of the articulation marker is displayed in the virtual navigation view (see [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 70, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 55, wherein the articulation marker is a ring (see [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 71, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 55, wherein the control system is further configured to: display a representation of the elongate device in the virtual navigation view, wherein when the elongate device is in a non-articulated configuration, a distal end of the representation of the elongate device is displayed as pointed towards a center of the articulation marker (see [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 72, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 55, wherein the graphical marker is a highlighted portion of the articulation marker (see [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 73, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 55, wherein the graphical marker is a different color than a color of the articulation marker (see [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 74, Duindam et al. (‘103) teach the medical system of claim 55, wherein the control system is further configured to: continue to display the graphical marker on the articulation marker as the elongate device is articulated from the articulation direction to a second articulation direction (see [0078]-[0079]).
Conclusion
/MARK D REMALY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797