DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-10, 13, 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruskin (US 2,880,264).
Regarding claim 1, Ruskin discloses an electrical outlet cover assembly (see figure 1) comprising: an outlet cover unit (16) comprising an upper section with a lip portion (52,54), a front section, a left-side section, a right-side section, and an open end opposite the front section, the outlet cover unit (16) configured to enclose an electrical plug (see figure 1) inserted into an electrical receptacle (not shown); and a faceplate unit (10) comprising a planar body (18) configured to be mounted to the electrical receptacle (see figure 1) using one or more fasteners (column 2 lines 6-9; see figure 1), and a mounting bracket (34) integrally formed on a top side of the planar body (see figure 1), wherein the mounting bracket (34) comprises an offset portion(a) extending along a lengthwise direction of the faceplate unit (see figure 1), the offset portion (a) configured to releasably engage the lip portion (52,54; see figure 4) of the outlet cover unit (16) to securely and removably attach the outlet cover unit (16) to the faceplate unit (10), whereby the electrical cover unit and the faceplate unit together form a protective enclosure around the electrical plug to inhibit ingress of contaminants (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Ruskin discloses the electrical outlet cover assembly (see figure 1), wherein the outlet cover (16) unit is constructed from stainless steel (column 1 lines 63-69); and the faceplate (10) is dimensioned to fit standard single- or multi-gang electrical receptacle configurations (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Ruskin discloses a faceplate unit (10; see figure 1) configured for use with an electrical outlet cover assembly (16; see figure 1), comprising: a planar body (18) configured to be mounted to the electrical receptacle (not shown) using one or more fasteners (see figure 1; column 2 lines 6-9); and a mounting bracket (34) integrally formed on the planar body (18), the mounting bracket (34) comprising an offset portion (see figure1) (a) extending along a lengthwise direction of the planar body (18), wherein the offset portion (a) is configured to engage a complementary structure (54,52; see figure 1) to facilitate secure and removable attachment (see figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 10, Ruskin discloses the faceplate unit (see figure 1), wherein the planar body (18) is constructed from stainless steel, aluminum, or a polymeric material selected for durability and corrosion resistance (column 1 lines 63-69).
Regarding claim 13, Ruskin discloses a method for installing an electrical outlet cover assembly (see figure 1) to protect an electrical receptacle (not shown), the method comprising: mounting a faceplate (10) to an electrical receptacle (not shown), the faceplate (10) comprising a planar body (18) with an integrally formed mounting bracket (34) having an offset portion (a) extending along a lengthwise direction of the faceplate (10); and attaching an outlet cover unit (16) to the faceplate (10) by engaging a lip portion (52,54; see figure 4) of the outlet cover unit (16) with the offset portion (a) of the mounting bracket (34), the outlet cover unit (16) comprising an upper section with the lip portion (52,54; see figure 2), a front section, a left-side section, a right-side section, and an open end opposite the front section, thereby forming a protective enclosure around an electrical plug (not shown) inserted into the electrical receptacle (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 14, Ruskin discloses the method, wherein mounting the faceplate (10) comprises securing the faceplate (10) to the electrical receptacle using one or more screws (column 2 lines 6-9; see figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Ruskin discloses a method of installing a faceplate unit (10) to an electrical receptacle (not shown), the method comprising: positioning a faceplate unit (10) over an electrical receptacle (not shown), the faceplate unit (10) comprising a planar body (18) and an integrally formed mounting bracket (34); and securing the faceplate unit (10) to the electrical receptacle using one or more fasteners (see figure 1; column 2 lines 6-9; well known in the art) inserted through mounting holes (28) in the planar body (18).
Regarding claim 18, Ruskin discloses the method, wherein the faceplate unit (10) comprises a safety post (30,32) extending outward from a front surface ( see figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Ruskin discloses the method, further comprising aligning the safety posts (30,32) above plug slots (12,14; depends on the orientation of the planar body, if the planar body is mounted sideways the post (30 or 32) will be above the plug slots) of the electrical receptacle during installation (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 20, Ruskin discloses the method, wherein the faceplate unit (10) is secured using screws (column 2 lines 6-9; well known in the art) inserted through preformed mounting holes (28) in the planar body (see figures 3 and 4).
3. Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Brit et al (US 7,179,996; hereinafter Britt).
Regarding claim 17, Britt discloses a method of installing a faceplate unit to an electrical receptacle, the method comprising: positioning a faceplate unit (14) over an electrical receptacle, the faceplate unit (14) comprising a planar body (18) and an integrally formed mounting bracket (24); and securing the faceplate unit (14) to the electrical receptacle using one or more fasteners (see figures 3 and 4; well known in the art) inserted through mounting holes in the planar body (14).
Regarding claim 18, Britt discloses the method, wherein the faceplate unit (14) comprises a safety post (26,28) extending outward from a front surface (18, see figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 19, Britt discloses the method, further comprising aligning the safety posts (26,28) above plug slots (20,22) of the electrical receptacle during installation (see figures 3 and 4; column 5 lines 30-47).
Regarding claim 20, Britt discloses the method, wherein the faceplate unit (14) is secured using screws (well known in the art) inserted through preformed mounting holes in the planar body (see figures 3 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruskin (US 2,880,264) in view of Drane (US 8,110,743).
Regarding claim 7, Ruskin discloses the electrical outlet cover assembly (see figure 1), wherein the outlet cover unit (16) further comprises a side bottom section with a gap (60) configured to allow passage of an electrical cord (see figure 1; column 2 lines 28-31); but Ruskin lacks the gap including a rubber gasket with a slit to provide a substantially watertight seal around the electrical cord. Drane teaches an outlet cover (10; see figure 1) comprising a bottom section with a gap (68) configured to allow passage of an electrical cord (29), the gap including a rubber gasket (70) with a slit (78; see figure 2) to provide a substantially watertight seal around the electrical cord (29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to Ruskin's outlet cover with a gap including a rubber gasket with a slit to provide a substantially watertight seal around the electrical cord as taught by Drane to provide means for firmly securing the cord and prevent the ingress of water, dirt or other contaminates.
Regarding claim 15, Ruskin discloses the method, further comprising passing an electrical cord (not shown) through a gap (60) in a bottom section of the outlet cover unit (see figure 1; column 2 lines 28-31); but Kilgore lacks the gap including a rubber gasket with a slit to provide a substantially watertight seal around the electrical cord. Drane teaches an outlet cover (10; see figure 1) comprising a bottom section with a gap (68) configured to allow passage of an electrical cord (29), the gap including a rubber gasket (70) with a slit (78; see figure 2) to provide a substantially watertight seal around the electrical cord (29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to Ruskin's outlet cover with a gap including a rubber gasket with a slit to provide a substantially watertight seal around the electrical cord as taught by Drane to provide means for firmly securing the cord and prevent the ingress of water, dirt or other contaminates.
5. Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruskin (US 2,880,264) in view of Shotey (US 4,874,906).
Regarding claim 6, Ruskin disclose the claimed invention except for the electrical outlet cover, further comprising a gasket or seal positioned between the faceplate and a wall surface when the faceplate is mounted, the gasket or seal configured to provide environmental protection against contaminants such as grease or liquids. Shotey teaches an electrical outlet (see figure 1), further comprising a gasket (24) or seal positioned between a faceplate (22) and a wall surface (14) when the faceplate (22) is mounted, the gasket (24) or seal configured to provide environmental protection against contaminants such as grease or liquids (see figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to Ruskin's outlet cover with a gasket or seal positioned between the faceplate and a wall surface when the faceplate is mounted as taught by Shotey to provide the assembly with means to prevent the ingress of water, dirt or other contaminates.
Regarding claim 12, Ruskin disclose the claimed invention except for the faceplate unit, further comprising a gasket or seal positioned between the planar body and a wall surface when mounted, the gasket or seal configured to inhibit ingress of contaminants including grease, moisture, and liquids. Shotey teaches a faceplate unit (see figure 1), further comprising a gasket (24) or seal positioned between a faceplate (22) and a wall surface (14) when the faceplate (22) is mounted, the gasket (24) or seal configured to inhibit ingress of contaminants including grease, moisture, and liquids (see figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to Ruskin's outlet cover with a gasket or seal positioned between the faceplate and a wall surface when the faceplate is mounted as taught by Shotey to provide the assembly with means to prevent the ingress of water, dirt or other contaminates.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 2-5, 11 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: The primary reasons for the indication of the allowability of claims 2-5, 11 and 16 are:
Regarding claims 2-5, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest in combination with the other claimed limitations an electrical outlet cover assembly further comprising: a pair of safety posts extending outward from a front surface of the faceplate unit, wherein the safety posts are positioned above plug slots of the electrical receptacle when the faceplate unit is mounted, and the safety posts are configured to prevent the outlet cover unit from contacting live plug prongs or resting on the front surface of the faceplate unit.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest in combination with the other claimed limitations the faceplate unit, further comprising a pair of safety posts extending outward from a front surface of the planar body, the safety posts positioned to prevent contact with live plug prongs and to maintain spacing from adjacent components.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest in combination with the other claimed limitations the method, wherein the faceplate comprises a pair of safety posts extending outward from a front surface of the planar body, positioned above plug slots of the electrical receptacle, and wherein attaching the outlet cover unit comprises aligning the outlet cover unit to avoid contact with the safety posts, ensuring proper engagement with the mounting bracket.
These limitations are found in claims 2-5,11 and 16, and are neither disclosed nor taught by the prior art of record, alone or in combination.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6-10, 12, 15 and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
8. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 17-20 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Britt et al (US 7,179,996) lacks “a faceplate unit comprising a planar body and an integrally formed mounting bracket." The applicant states that the "first flexible retention arm 24," functions as a latch, not a mounting bracket, it does not receive, support, or enable removable attachment of a separate outlet cover unit. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, Britt disclose the element 24 as the "first flexible retention arm," which is integrally formed with the faceplate (see figure 4) and function as a bracket since it supports the protective enclosure.
Conclusion
June 5, 2026
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841