DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nash et al (4901527). Nash et al [see annotations] teach (1) A flameholder for a reheat assembly of a gas turbine engine, wherein: the flameholder comprises a main structure 54, 56 and a baffle structure 64; the main structure 54, 56 at least partially defines a flow direction for flow [entering 48] through the flameholder; the baffle structure 64 is suspended within the main structure 54, 56 at one or more mounting locations [see annotations]; the baffle structure 64 is coextensive with the main structure 54, 56 in the flow direction along a coextensive extent [see annotations]; and the baffle structure 64 has a detached portion spaced apart from the one or more mounting locations, the detached portion being detached from the main structure 54, 56 over a continuous extent [see annotations, may be “continuous A” “continuous B” or continuous A+B] which is at least 10 percent of the coextensive extent. (2) wherein the continuous extent [A or B or A+B] is at least 20 percent of the coextensive extent. (3) wherein the continuous extent [A or B or A+B] is at least 30 percent of the coextensive extent. (4) wherein the continuous extent [A or B or A+B] is no greater than 90 percent of the coextensive extent. (5) wherein the continuous extent [A or B or A+B] is no greater than 80 percent of the coextensive extent. (6) wherein the baffle structure 64 comprises a baffle inlet [top of 108, cooling air from 48] configured to receive a portion of flow through the flameholder. (7) wherein the flameholder includes an exterior wall 54 or 58. (8) wherein the baffle structure 64 is at least partially coextensive with the exterior wall 54 or 58 along the coextensive extent. (9) wherein: the flameholder is configured to promote a formation of a wake-stabilised region [e.g. within 74] within a flow of air downstream of the flameholder; and the external wall is a rear exterior wall which faces the wake-stabilised region. (11) wherein the flameholder is in the form of a unibody. (12) wherein the flameholder is a product of additive layer manufacturing. [product by process, it is noted that the patentability of these claims is determined on the basis of the product formed and not the method by which it is produced Ex parte Junger, 18 USPQ2d 1796 (BPAI 1991).
“Patentability of claim to apparatus does not rest merely on difference in method by which apparatus operates or produces product; rather, it is apparatus itself that must be new and unobvious; however, if claim contains structural limitations sufficient to distinguish claim from prior art and meet novelty and nonobviousness requirements, addition of further process limitations does not preclude patentability.” Note as long as any portion of the flameholder is an integral member, then that member forms the same product, i.e. a single integral member, that additive layer manufacturing would form.] (13) A reheat assembly for a gas turbine engine, the reheat assembly comprising: the flameholder of claim 1: a jetpipe casing 36 comprising: a reheat core section [within 38] configured to convey a core flow of air from a reheat core inlet to a reheat core outlet; and a reheat bypass section [between 38 and 36] configured to convey a bypass flow of air from a reheat bypass inlet to a reheat bypass outlet radially outward of the core section [within 38], the reheat core section and the reheat bypass section being radially separated at the reheat core inlet and the reheat bypass inlet by a support duct 38; wherein the flameholder 20 is mounted to the jetpipe casing 36 and/or the support duct 38 and is configured to receive a flow of air 48 from the reheat bypass section. (14) A gas turbine engine comprising: the reheat assembly of claim 13; an engine core 12 defining a core flow pathway ‘C”; and an outer casing 36 which defines a bypass duct [fan air] around the engine core; wherein: the jetpipe casing is attached to the outer casing and the support duct is radially aligned an outlet of the engine core so that: the reheat core inlet is aligned with an outlet of the core duct, and the reheat bypass inlet [fan air, see col. 8 lines 55+] is aligned with an outlet of the bypass duct [fan air]; the core flow pathway is configured to convey the core flow of air through the engine core to the reheat core inlet; and the bypass duct is configured to convey the bypass flow of air to the reheat bypass inlet. (15) An aircraft comprising the gas turbine engine of claim 14.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vdoviak et al (3487636). Vdoviak et al [see annotations] teach (1) A flameholder for a reheat assembly of a gas turbine engine, wherein: the flameholder comprises a main structure 32 and a baffle structure 30; the main structure 32 at least partially defines a flow direction for flow through the flameholder; the baffle structure 30 is suspended within the main structure 32 at one or more mounting locations [top and bottom, e.g. at 44]; the baffle structure 30 is coextensive with the main structure 32 in the flow direction along a coextensive extent; and the baffle structure 30 has a detached portion [between mounting locations] spaced apart from the one or more mounting locations, the detached portion being detached from the main structure 32 over a continuous extent which is at least 10 percent of the coextensive extent [see annotations]. (2) wherein the continuous extent is at least 20 percent of the coextensive extent. (3) wherein the continuous extent is at least 30 percent of the coextensive extent. (6) wherein the baffle structure 30 comprises a baffle inlet 36 configured to receive a portion of flow through the flameholder. (7) wherein the flameholder includes an exterior wall 32. (8) wherein the baffle structure 30 is at least partially coextensive with the exterior wall 32 along the coextensive extent. (9) wherein: the flameholder is configured to promote a formation of a wake-stabilised region within a flow of air downstream of the flameholder; and the external wall is a rear exterior wall [rearward portion of 30] which faces the wake-stabilised region [e.g. in 12, 14]. (10) wherein the baffle structure 30 is configured to direct flow through the flameholder toward the rear exterior wall. (11) wherein the flameholder is in the form of a unibody. (12) wherein the flameholder is a product of additive layer manufacturing [product by process, it is noted that the patentability of these claims is determined on the basis of the product formed and not the method by which it is produced Ex parte Junger, 18 USPQ2d 1796 (BPAI 1991). Note as long as any portion of the flameholder is an integral member, then that member forms the same product, i.e. a single integral member, that additive layer manufacturing would form. In other words, since the claim does not require the entirety of the flameholder be additively manufactured, only that it is a product of it, that is any portion of it made by additive manufacturing results in a unitary component. The applied flameholder has many unitary components].
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berglund et al (6334303). Berglund et al [see annotations] teach (1) A flameholder for a reheat assembly of a gas turbine engine, wherein: the flameholder comprises a main structure 1, 1b and a baffle structure 21; the main structure 1, 1b at least partially defines a flow direction for flow through the flameholder; the baffle structure 21 is suspended within the main structure 1, 1b at one or more mounting locations [see annotations]; the baffle structure 21 is coextensive with the main structure 1, 1b in the flow direction along a coextensive extent [see annotations]; and the baffle structure 21 has a detached portion spaced apart from the one or more mounting locations, the detached portion being detached from the main structure 1, 1b over a continuous extent [see annotations] which is at least 10 percent of the coextensive extent. (2) wherein the continuous extent is at least 20 percent of the coextensive extent. (3) wherein the continuous extent is at least 30 percent of the coextensive extent. (4) wherein the continuous extent is no greater than 90 percent of the coextensive extent. (5) wherein the continuous extent [appears] no greater than 80 percent of the coextensive extent. (6) wherein the baffle structure 21 comprises a baffle inlet configured to receive a portion of flow through the flameholder. (7) wherein the flameholder includes an exterior wall 1, 1b. (8) wherein the baffle structure 21 is at least partially coextensive with the exterior wall 1, 1b along the coextensive extent. (9) wherein: the flameholder is configured to promote a formation of a wake-stabilised region within a flow of air downstream of the flameholder; and the external wall is a rear exterior wall 1b which faces the wake-stabilised region. (10) wherein the baffle structure 21 is configured to direct flow through the flameholder toward [in the direction of, when entering at 21 from the left and aimed toward 1b] the rear exterior wall. (11) wherein the flameholder is in the form of a unibody. (12) wherein the flameholder is a product of additive layer manufacturing [product by process]. (13) A reheat assembly for a gas turbine engine, the reheat assembly comprising: the flameholder of claim 1: a jetpipe casing comprising: a reheat core section [within 12] configured to convey a core flow of air from a reheat core inlet to a reheat core outlet; and a reheat bypass section 6 configured to convey a bypass flow of air from a reheat bypass inlet to a reheat bypass outlet radially outward of the core section, the reheat core section and the reheat bypass section being radially separated at the reheat core inlet and the reheat bypass inlet by a support duct 12; wherein the flameholder is mounted to the jetpipe casing 2 and/or the support duct 12 and is configured to receive a flow of air 6, 8from the reheat bypass section. (14) A gas turbine engine comprising: the reheat assembly of claim 13; an engine core defining a core flow pathway [hot core, see col. 1, lines 6-36]; and an outer casing which defines a bypass duct [by-pass duct] around the engine core; wherein: the jetpipe casing is attached to the outer casing and the support duct is radially aligned an outlet of the engine core so that: the reheat core inlet is aligned with an outlet of the core duct, and the reheat bypass inlet is aligned with an outlet of the bypass duct; the core flow pathway is configured to convey the core flow of air through the engine core to the reheat core inlet; and the bypass duct is configured to convey the bypass flow of air to the reheat bypass inlet. (15) An aircraft comprising the gas turbine engine of claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nash et al (4901527) in view of Ruberte et al (2019/0072277). Nash et al do not teach (10) wherein the baffle structure 64 is configured to direct flow through the flameholder toward the rear exterior wall. Ruberte et al teach wherein the baffle structure 96, 98 is configured to direct flow through the flameholder toward the rear exterior wall 76 in the vicinity of the fasteners 74 [¶ 0038, Fig. 4], , which is analogous to the fastening / assembly of Nash et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the baffle structure is configured to direct flow through the flameholder toward the rear exterior wall, as taught by Ruberte et al, in order to allow for cooling of the rear exterior wall in the vicinity of the fasteners. Claim (12) wherein the flameholder is a product of additive layer manufacturing was treated as a product by process limitation above. Alternately, Ruberte et al teach (12) wherein the flameholder 64 is a product of additive layer manufacturing [¶ 0037] as equivalent to any other manufacturing technique, such as bending, casting forging, etc. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the flameholder is a product of additive layer manufacturing, as taught by Ruberte et al, as an equivalent manufacturing process for the flameholder. As for (11) wherein the flameholder is in the form of a unibody, this is regarded as an obvious matter of making integral, which has been held to be within the ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the flameholder a unibody / integral, as an obvious matter of making integral, which has been held to be within the ordinary skill in the art
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either Nash et al (4901527) or Berglund et al (6334303) in view of Koshoffer (2006/0213180). Nash et al teach (13) A reheat assembly for a gas turbine engine, the reheat assembly comprising: the flameholder of claim 1: a jetpipe casing comprising: a reheat core section configured to convey a core flow of air from a reheat core inlet to a reheat core outlet; and a reheat bypass section configured to convey a bypass flow of air from a reheat bypass inlet to a reheat bypass outlet radially outward of the core section, the reheat core section and the reheat bypass section being radially separated at the reheat core inlet and the reheat bypass inlet by a support duct; wherein the flameholder is mounted to the jetpipe casing and/or the support duct and is configured to receive a flow of air from the reheat bypass section. (14) A gas turbine engine comprising: the reheat assembly of claim 13; an engine core defining a core flow pathway; and an outer casing which defines a bypass duct around the engine core; wherein: the jetpipe casing is attached to the outer casing and the support duct is radially aligned an outlet of the engine core so that: the reheat core inlet is aligned with an outlet of the core duct, and the reheat bypass inlet is aligned with an outlet of the bypass duct; the core flow pathway is configured to convey the core flow of air through the engine core to the reheat core inlet; and the bypass duct is configured to convey the bypass flow of air to the reheat bypass inlet. (15) An aircraft comprising the gas turbine engine of claim 14. Similarly, Berglund teach the bypass duct, core duct, etc of claims 13-15.Nash & Berglund do not illustrate the bypass duct (duct for fan flow, is disclosed), and the engine core C and core flowpath is disclosed. Alternately, Koshoffer teaches (13) A reheat assembly for a gas turbine engine, the reheat assembly comprising: the flameholder 52 of claim 1: a jetpipe casing comprising: a reheat core section [for 52] configured to convey a core flow of air 28 from a reheat core inlet to a reheat core outlet; and a reheat bypass section 26 configured to convey a bypass flow of air from a reheat bypass inlet 26 [in Fig. 2] to a reheat bypass outlet 59 or 42 radially outward of the core section, the reheat core section and the reheat bypass section being radially separated at the reheat core inlet and the reheat bypass inlet by a support duct 100, 49 ; wherein the flameholder 52 is mounted to the jetpipe casing 36 and/or the support duct 100, 50 and is configured to receive a flow of air 26 from the reheat bypass section. (14) A gas turbine engine comprising: the reheat assembly of claim 13; an engine core 30 defining a core flow pathway 37, 33; and an outer casing 21which defines a bypass duct 26 around the engine core 30; wherein: the jetpipe casing 36 is attached to the outer casing 21 and the support duct is radially aligned an outlet of the engine core so that: the reheat core inlet 28 is aligned with an outlet 30 of the core duct, and the reheat bypass inlet 28 is aligned with an outlet of the bypass duct 24; the core flow pathway is configured to convey the core flow of air through the engine core 30 to the reheat core inlet 28; and the bypass duct 24 is configured to convey the bypass flow of air to the reheat bypass inlet 26 [in Fig. 2]. (15) An aircraft comprising the gas turbine engine of claim 14. To the extent not already inherent, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (14) A gas turbine engine comprising: the reheat assembly of claim 13; an engine core defining a core flow pathway; and an outer casing which defines a bypass duct around the engine core; wherein: the jetpipe casing is attached to the outer casing and the support duct is radially aligned an outlet of the engine core so that: the reheat core inlet is aligned with an outlet of the core duct, and the reheat bypass inlet is aligned with an outlet of the bypass duct; the core flow pathway is configured to convey the core flow of air through the engine core to the reheat core inlet; and the bypass duct is configured to convey the bypass flow of air to the reheat bypass inlet; (15) An aircraft comprising the gas turbine engine of claim 1, as taught by Koshoffer, as the typical construction utilized in the art for the core engine, bypass duct of the type of fan bypass engine used by either Nash or Berglund et al.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berglund et al (6334303) in view of Ruberte et al (2019/0072277). Claim (12) wherein the flameholder is a product of additive layer manufacturing was treated as a product by process limitation above. Alternately, Ruberte et al teach (12) wherein the flameholder 64 is a product of additive layer manufacturing [¶ 0037] as equivalent to any other manufacturing technique, such as bending, casting forging, etc. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the flameholder is a product of additive layer manufacturing, as taught by Ruberte et al, as an equivalent manufacturing process for the flameholder. As for (11) wherein the flameholder is in the form of a unibody, this is regarded as an obvious matter of making integral, which has been held to be within the ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the flameholder a unibody / integral, as an obvious matter of making integral, which has been held to be within the ordinary skill in the art
Claim(s) 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vdoviak et al (3487636) in view of Ruberte et al (2019/0072277). Claim (12) wherein the flameholder is a product of additive layer manufacturing was treated as a product by process limitation above. Alternately, Ruberte et al teach (12) wherein the flameholder 64 is a product of additive layer manufacturing [¶ 0037] as equivalent to any other manufacturing technique, such as bending, casting forging, etc. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the flameholder is a product of additive layer manufacturing, as taught by Ruberte et al, as an equivalent manufacturing process for the flameholder. As for (11) wherein the flameholder is in the form of a unibody, this is regarded as an obvious matter of making integral, which has been held to be within the ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the flameholder a unibody / integral, as an obvious matter of making integral, which has been held to be within the ordinary skill in the art
Prior Art
Mayer teaches an air cooled baffle structure.
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
September 24, 2026