Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2025 and 09/15/2026 ware in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Neil, USPG_Pub. 20240404496.
Regarding claims 1, 8, 15, O’Neil discloses a system comprising:
one or more memories (Para. 60); and
at least one processor coupled to at least one of the one or more memories and configured to perform operations (Para. 59-60) comprising:
receiving first content (Para. 26 (video captured by camera is first content and it is received));
generating an animated background including one or more items associated with the first content based on context information associated with the first content (Para. 31, 33, 36 (background animation is dynamically generated based on who is in the video-the gestures of individuals in the scene forms the context and is associated with the scene/video-one or more items include lyrics and other effects)); and
placing the first content within the animated background (Para. 36 (background animation is dynamically generated to surround the individuals)).
Regarding claims 3, 10, O’Neil discloses the system, wherein the context information comprises a target user (Para. 33 (the individual of individuals whose gesture is captured makes the user a targeted user-see also demographics in Para. 65)).
Regarding claims 4, 11, 17 O’Neil discloses the system, wherein the context information comprises a source identifier identifying a brand or entity associated with the first content (Para. 33, 65 (the target individual associated with the scene/media is identified by for example demographic data or personal information-each of which are source identifiers)).
Regarding claims 5, 12, 18 O’Neil discloses the system, wherein the first content comprises a sequence of video frames, and wherein the context information identifies and characterizes a content associated with the sequence of video frames (Para. 33, 36 (the captured video scenes are a sequence of video frames and an actor can be identified and associated with the scene where they appear)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Neil, USPG_Pub. 20240404496, in view of Zhu, CN 116245985.
Regarding claims 2, 9, 16 O’Neil does not explicitly disclose the system, wherein at least a portion of the animated background is generated using a machine learning model.
Zhu discloses background animation processing for display using machine learning (artificial intelligence) (claim 3) which meets “the system, wherein at least a portion of the animated background is generated using a machine learning model”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the system, wherein at least a portion of the animated background is generated using a machine learning model as disclosed by Zhu in order to improve the efficiency of the automation process of generating the animated backgrounds.
Claims 7, 14, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Neil, USPG_Pub. 20240404496, in view of Gandhi, USPG_Pub. 20180160054.
Regarding claims 7, 14, 20, O’Neil discloses displaying media content within the animated video background (Para. 36), However, O’Neil does not explicitly disclose the computer system performing operation comprising resizing a display size of the first content based on a point in time during playback of the first content.
Gandhi discloses a, bottom half of the display screen that is dynamically partitioned into one or more partition views with varying aspect ratio based on the proximity between the one or more objects in the cropped dynamic scenes (fig. 1-6; Para. 39 (wide scenes with proximate objects meet “a point during playback” based on which the aspect ratio is dynamically adjusted or resized)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of O’Neil to include resizing a display size of the first content based on a point in time during playback of the first content as disclosed by Gandhi in order to be able to display finer details like emotions, lip movements, and body language in a shot or scene.
Claim Objections
Claims 6,13,19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The claims recite the allowable subject matter found in parent application claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,506,937. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the application are broader variation of the claims recited in the 937’ patent.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY BANTAMOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2422