DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the claims set filed 12/18/2025. Claims 1-20 were cancelled; claims 21-40 are newly added. Claims 21-40 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a biasing member” in claims 25 and 35. “member” being the generic placeholder; “configured to bias the plurality of roller elements to the engaged position” being the functional language recited in the claim; the claim possessing insufficient structural limitations/language.
The corresponding structure recited in the specification is: “The biasing members described herein may be springs, such as compression springs, or other known biasing members, including, but not limited to torsional springs, shape memory alloys, etc. Although a single biasing member is shown, more than one biasing member may be provided circumferentially around the centerline axis” in pr. 96.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-28 and 31-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2007/0212220, herein referenced as Perkinson.
Figure 2A of Perkinson
Regarding Claim 21, Perkinson discloses a hub assembly (see propeller system 20 in fig. 1) comprising:
a hydraulic pitch actuator (see pitch change system 48, pitch change actuator piston 49, actuator yoke assembly 50, coarse pitch actuator chamber PC and fine pitch actuator chamber PF in fig. 2A; “The yoke assembly includes an actuator piston that is hydraulically capable of outputting a force which overcomes the blade loads and position the blades to some desired operating angle” pr. 6) configured to move in a first direction (forward axially in fig. 2A; “pitch change actuator piston 49 translates along axis A to drive a yoke assembly 50” pr. 26) and a second direction (aft axially in fig. 2A) opposite the first direction (“ballscrew screw 54 is mounted within the pitchlock nut 56 and the ballscrew ballnut 58 to rotationally axially advance or retreat over the full travel of the actuator yoke assembly 50” pr. 29); and
a pitch lock system (pitch lock system 46 fig. 2A) for preventing the hydraulic pitch actuator (48 fig. 2A) from moving in the first direction or the second direction (“pitchlock system locks the actuator and prevents a decrease in blade angle when there is a hydraulic condition where the coarse pitch pressure cannot support the blade loads” pr. 6 and “When the propeller is commanded to pitchlock and the resulting blade loads are transferred through the pitchlock nut 56 into the pitchlock ballscrew screw 54, the lead angle is configured such that the pitchlock ballscrew screw 54 cannot back drive in the pitchlock nut 56 and the propeller pitchlocks” pr. 35; this would prevent movement in the aft direction as the ballscrew screw 54 cannot retreat in to the nut), the pitch lock system comprising:
an outer race (ballscrew ballnut 58 fig. 4A) having a centerline axis (see axis A in figs. 2A and 2B);
an inner race (ballscrew screw 54 fig. 4A) located radially inward of the outer race with respect to the centerline axis (shown in figs. 2A-4A); and
a plurality of roller elements (74 fig. 3-4A) located between the outer race (58 fig. 4A) and the inner race (54 fig. 4A),
wherein the pitch lock system has an engaged position (see fig. 4B; “when the propeller system is commanded to pitchlock such as by a decrease in the coarse pitch pressure Pc which may result from a loss of hydraulic pressure, or by dumping of the pitchlock pressure PPL, the pitchlock system 46 is mechanically initiated by the pitch lock spring” pr. 42) and a disengaged position (see position in fig. 4A which represents normal operation; “Referring to fig. 4A, the pitchlock system 46 is illustrated in a normal operational position in which the pitchlock gap is maintained and differential pressure between the coarse pitch pressure Pc and the fine pitch pressure PF operate to effectuate movement of the pitch change actuator piston 49 and resulting pitch change to the propeller blades 32” pr. 4) and, in the engaged position, the plurality of roller elements is constrained between the outer race and the inner race (see ball bearings 74 which are constrained between ballscrew ballnut 58 and ballscrew screw 54 in fig. 4B; which represents the engaged position) to prevent movement of the hydraulic pitch actuator in the first direction or the second direction (“the lead angle is configured such that the pitchlock ballscrew screw 54 cannot back drive in the pitchlock nut 56 and the propeller pitchlocks” pr. 35, the ballscrew screw 54 not being able to back drive into the pitchlock nut and the propeller pitchlocking means that the pitch change actuator piston 49 cannot drive to the fine direction or axially aft direction in figs. 4A-4B).
Regarding Claim 22, Perkinson discloses the hub assembly of claim 21, further comprising a pitch lock line (see pitchlock pressure P_PL that is supplied to pitchlock piston 52 from load tube 63 and pitchlock transfer tube 65 in fig. 4A) supplying an on/off chamber (see chamber(s) of pitchlock piston 52 in fig. 4A which is supplied with P_PL) with a pressurized fluid (pitchlock pressure P_PL in figs. 2A and 4A), the on/off chamber configured to hold the pitch lock system in the disengaged position when pressurized (see disengaged position in fig. 4A which represents normal operation; “The pitchlock pressure PPL is communicated to the pitchlock system 46 to counteract the coarse pitch pressure Pc and pitchlock spring, balance the pitchlock piston 52 and maintain the pitchlock gap. The ballscrew screw 54 is mounted within the pitchlock nut 56 and the ballscrew ballnut 58 to rotationally advance or retreat over the full travel of the actuator yoke assembly 50 in response to movement of the pitch change actuator piston 49 through the differential pressure between the coarse pitch pressure Pc and the fine pitch pressure PF” pr. 41) and to move the pitch lock system to the engaged position when depressurized (see engaged position in fig. 4B; “when the propeller system is commanded to pitchlock such as by a decrease in the coarse pitch pressure Pc which may result from a loss of hydraulic pressure, or by dumping of the pitchlock pressure PPL, the pitchlock system 46 is mechanically initiated by the pitch lock spring” pr. 42 and “Once the hydraulic pressure on the pitchlock piston 52 is removed, the pitchlock piston 52 and pitchlock piston load tube 63 are biased (to the left in the figure) by a set of pitchlock springs 90” pr. 43).
Regarding Claim 23, Perkinson discloses the hub assembly of claim 21, wherein the first direction is a forward direction and the second direction is an aft direction, and in the disengaged position, the pitch lock system allows movement of the hydraulic pitch actuator in the forward direction and the aft direction (“ ballscrew screw 54 is mounted within the pitchlock nut 56 and the ballscrew ballnut 58 to rotationally advance or retreat over the full travel of the actuator yoke assembly 50 in response to movement of the pitch change actuator piston 49 through the differential pressure between the coarse pitch pressure Pc and the fine pitch pressure PF” pr. 41), and in the engaged position, the pitch lock system only allows movement of the hydraulic pitch actuator in the forward direction (“When the propeller is commanded to pitchlock and the resulting blade loads are transferred through the pitchlock nut 56 into the pitchlock ballscrew screw 54, the lead angle is configured such that the pitchlock ballscrew screw 54 cannot back drive in the pitchlock nut 56 and the propeller pitchlocks” pr. 35 and “As the pitchlock piston load tube 63 strokes, the ballscrew bearing support assembly 62 (FIGS. 2A and 2B) which is mounted thereto also strokes to drive the pitchlock ballscrew screw 54 toward the axially fixed actuator dome cover 68 and close the pitchlock gap” pr. 43; preventing the back driving of ballscrew screw 54 will also biasing it forward would enable movement in only a forward direction for piston 49).
Regarding Claim 24, Perkinson discloses the hub assembly of claim 21, wherein the plurality of roller elements comprises of cylindrical roller bearings or ball bearings (see ball bearings 74 fig. 4A).
Regarding Claim 25, Perkinson discloses the hub assembly of claim 21, further comprising a biasing member (see spring 78 or spring 90 in figs. 2A-4B) configured to bias the plurality of roller elements to the engaged position (see springs 90 which biases the ball bearings 74to the engaged position, via its load on the ballscrew screw 54, shown in fig. 4B).
Regarding Claim 26, Perkinson discloses the hub assembly of claim 25, wherein the biasing member is preloaded (“the pitchlock piston 52 and pitchlock piston load tube 63 are biased (to the left in the figure) by a set of pitchlock springs 90” pr. 43) to apply a force that biases the plurality of roller elements to the engaged position (“load from the pitchlock springs 90 loads the pitchlock ballscrew screw 54 against the axially fixed actuator dome cover 68” pr. 43, this load on the ballscrew screw 54 biases the ball bearings 74 to the engaged position shown in fig. 4B).
Regarding Claim 27, Perkinson discloses the hub assembly of claim 21, wherein the inner race comprises an angled surface inclined radially outward towards the outer race (see recessed/rounded surfaces of pitchlock ballscrew screw 54 which accommodate the ball bearings 74 in figs. 3-4B; these rounded curved surfaces would define an tangents with angled surfaces that are inclined outward from the axial direction), the angled surface configured to guide the plurality of roller elements from the disengaged position to the engaged position (see recessed surface of 54 which guide the ball bearings 74 to a disengaged position shown in fig. 4A and to an engaged position shown in fig. 4B).
Regarding Claim 28, Perkinson discloses the hub assembly of claim 27, wherein the angled surface has an angle between zero degrees and thirty degrees with respect to the outer race (the rounded and recessed surface of screw 54 is shown to possess a tangent having an angled between 0 to 30 degrees, particularly adjacent the bottom of it, as shown in fig. 3), the angled surface and the outer race configured to retain the plurality of roller elements in the engaged position (the angled surface are shown to retain the plurality of roller elements in the engaged position in fig. 4B).
Regarding Claim 31, Perkinson discloses a turbine engine (gas turbine engine 22 fig. 1; “FIG. 1 is a general perspective view an exemplary gas turbine turboprop engine” pr. 10) comprising:
a core engine (see 22 fig. 1) including a compressor section, a combustion section, and a turbine section in a serial flow relationship (a gas turbine engine by definition has a compressor section, combustion section, and a turbine section; they are in a serial flow relationship since airflow enters the compressor section, goes to the combustion section, and then goes to a turbine section); and
a hub assembly (see propeller system 20 in fig. 1) comprising:
a hydraulic pitch actuator (see pitch change system 48, pitch change actuator piston 49, actuator yoke assembly 50, coarse pitch actuator chamber PC and fine pitch actuator chamber PF in fig. 2A; “The yoke assembly includes an actuator piston that is hydraulically capable of outputting a force which overcomes the blade loads and position the blades to some desired operating angle” pr. 6) configured to move in a first direction (forward axially in fig. 2A; “pitch change actuator piston 49 translates along axis A to drive a yoke assembly 50” pr. 26) and a second direction (aft axially in fig. 2A) opposite the first direction (“ballscrew screw 54 is mounted within the pitchlock nut 56 and the ballscrew ballnut 58 to rotationally axially advance or retreat over the full travel of the actuator yoke assembly 50” pr. 29); and
a pitch lock system (pitch lock system 46 fig. 2A) for preventing the hydraulic pitch actuator (48 fig. 2A) from moving in the first direction or the second direction (“pitchlock system locks the actuator and prevents a decrease in blade angle when there is a hydraulic condition where the coarse pitch pressure cannot support the blade loads” pr. 6 and “When the propeller is commanded to pitchlock and the resulting blade loads are transferred through the pitchlock nut 56 into the pitchlock ballscrew screw 54, the lead angle is configured such that the pitchlock ballscrew screw 54 cannot back drive in the pitchlock nut 56 and the propeller pitchlocks” pr. 35; this would prevent movement in the aft direction as the ballscrew screw 54 cannot retreat in to the nut), the pitch lock system comprising:
an outer race (ballscrew ballnut 58 fig. 4A) having a centerline axis (see axis A in figs. 2A and 2B);
an inner race (ballscrew screw 54 fig. 4A) located radially inward of the outer race with respect to the centerline axis (shown in figs. 2A-4A); and
a plurality of roller elements (74 fig. 3-4A) located between the outer race (58 fig. 4A) and the inner race (54 fig. 4A),
wherein the pitch lock system has an engaged position (see fig. 4B; “when the propeller system is commanded to pitchlock such as by a decrease in the coarse pitch pressure Pc which may result from a loss of hydraulic pressure, or by dumping of the pitchlock pressure PPL, the pitchlock system 46 is mechanically initiated by the pitch lock spring” pr. 42) and a disengaged position (see position in fig. 4A which represents normal operation; “Referring to fig. 4A, the pitchlock system 46 is illustrated in a normal operational position in which the pitchlock gap is maintained and differential pressure between the coarse pitch pressure Pc and the fine pitch pressure PF operate to effectuate movement of the pitch change actuator piston 49 and resulting pitch change to the propeller blades 32” pr. 4) and, in the engaged position, the plurality of roller elements is constrained between the outer race and the inner race (see ball bearings 74 which are constrained between ballscrew ballnut 58 and ballscrew screw 54 in fig. 4B; which represents the engaged position) to prevent movement of the hydraulic pitch actuator in the first direction or the second direction (“the lead angle is configured such that the pitchlock ballscrew screw 54 cannot back drive in the pitchlock nut 56 and the propeller pitchlocks” pr. 35, the ballscrew screw 54 not being able to back drive into the pitchlock nut and the propeller pitchlocking means that the pitch change actuator piston 49 cannot drive to the fine direction or axially aft direction in figs. 4A-4B).
Regarding Claim 32, Perkinson discloses the turbine engine of claim 31, further comprising a pitch lock line (see pitchlock pressure P_PL that is supplied to pitchlock piston 52 from load tube 63 and pitchlock transfer tube 65 in fig. 4A) supplying an on/off chamber (see chamber(s) of pitchlock piston 52 in fig. 4A which is supplied with P_PL) with a pressurized fluid (pitchlock pressure P_PL in figs. 2A and 4A), the on/off chamber configured to hold the pitch lock system in the disengaged position when pressurized (see disengaged position in fig. 4A which represents normal operation; “The pitchlock pressure PPL is communicated to the pitchlock system 46 to counteract the coarse pitch pressure Pc and pitchlock spring, balance the pitchlock piston 52 and maintain the pitchlock gap. The ballscrew screw 54 is mounted within the pitchlock nut 56 and the ballscrew ballnut 58 to rotationally advance or retreat over the full travel of the actuator yoke assembly 50 in response to movement of the pitch change actuator piston 49 through the differential pressure between the coarse pitch pressure Pc and the fine pitch pressure PF” pr. 41) and to move the pitch lock system to the engaged position when depressurized (see engaged position in fig. 4B; “when the propeller system is commanded to pitchlock such as by a decrease in the coarse pitch pressure Pc which may result from a loss of hydraulic pressure, or by dumping of the pitchlock pressure PPL, the pitchlock system 46 is mechanically initiated by the pitch lock spring” pr. 42 and “Once the hydraulic pressure on the pitchlock piston 52 is removed, the pitchlock piston 52 and pitchlock piston load tube 63 are biased (to the left in the figure) by a set of pitchlock springs 90” pr. 43).
Regarding Claim 33, Perkinson discloses the turbine engine of claim 31, wherein the first direction is a forward direction and the second direction is an aft direction, and in the disengaged position, the pitch lock system allows movement of the hydraulic pitch actuator in the forward direction and the aft direction (“ ballscrew screw 54 is mounted within the pitchlock nut 56 and the ballscrew ballnut 58 to rotationally advance or retreat over the full travel of the actuator yoke assembly 50 in response to movement of the pitch change actuator piston 49 through the differential pressure between the coarse pitch pressure Pc and the fine pitch pressure PF” pr. 41), and in the engaged position, the pitch lock system only allows movement of the hydraulic pitch actuator in the forward direction (“When the propeller is commanded to pitchlock and the resulting blade loads are transferred through the pitchlock nut 56 into the pitchlock ballscrew screw 54, the lead angle is configured such that the pitchlock ballscrew screw 54 cannot back drive in the pitchlock nut 56 and the propeller pitchlocks” pr. 35 and “As the pitchlock piston load tube 63 strokes, the ballscrew bearing support assembly 62 (FIGS. 2A and 2B) which is mounted thereto also strokes to drive the pitchlock ballscrew screw 54 toward the axially fixed actuator dome cover 68 and close the pitchlock gap” pr. 43; preventing the back driving of ballscrew screw 54 will also biasing it forward would enable movement in only a forward direction for piston 49).
Regarding Claim 34, Perkinson discloses the turbine engine of claim 31, wherein the plurality of roller elements comprises of cylindrical roller bearings or ball bearings (see ball bearings 74 fig. 4A).
Regarding Claim 35, Perkinson discloses the turbine engine of claim 31, further comprising a biasing member (see spring 78 or spring 90 in figs. 2A-4B) configured to bias the plurality of roller elements to the engaged position (see springs 90 which biases the ball bearings 74to the engaged position, via its load on the ballscrew screw 54, shown in fig. 4B).
Regarding Claim 36, Perkinson discloses the turbine engine of claim 35, wherein the biasing member is preloaded (“the pitchlock piston 52 and pitchlock piston load tube 63 are biased (to the left in the figure) by a set of pitchlock springs 90” pr. 43) to apply a force that biases the plurality of roller elements to the engaged position (“load from the pitchlock springs 90 loads the pitchlock ballscrew screw 54 against the axially fixed actuator dome cover 68” pr. 43, this load on the ballscrew screw 54 biases the ball bearings 74 to the engaged position shown in fig. 4B).
Regarding Claim 37, Perkinson discloses the turbine engine of claim 31, wherein the inner race comprises an angled surface inclined radially outward towards the outer race (see recessed/rounded surfaces of pitchlock ballscrew screw 54 which accommodate the ball bearings 74 in figs. 3-4B; these rounded curved surfaces would define an tangents with angled surfaces that are inclined outward from the axial direction), the angled surface configured to guide the plurality of roller elements from the disengaged position to the engaged position (see recessed surface of 54 which guide the ball bearings 74 to a disengaged position shown in fig. 4A and to an engaged position shown in fig. 4B).
Regarding Claim 38, Perkinson discloses the turbine engine of claim 37, wherein the angled surface has an angle between zero degrees and thirty degrees with respect to the outer race (the rounded and recessed surface of screw 54 is shown to possess a tangent having an angled between 0 to 30 degrees, particularly adjacent the bottom of it, as shown in fig. 3), the angled surface and the outer race configured to retain the plurality of roller elements in the engaged position (the angled surface are shown to retain the plurality of roller elements in the engaged position in fig. 4B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29-30 and 39-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 29-30 and 39-40, no prior art was found which anticipated or rendered obvious the invention as claimed. Specifically, where the hub assembly “further comprising a cage disposed radially between the inner race and the outer race, the cage extending in a circumferential direction and including a row of circumferentially spaced openings configured to receive the plurality of roller elements”. The prior art used to rejection claim 1 presents an arrangement where the ball bearings are recirculated by the ball screw nut 58, this would make it difficult to bring in a cage for the structure. While US 4717312 to show a cage that is provided between an inner racer and outer racer with a row of circumferentially spaced openings configured to receive a plurality of roller elements which are provided in a screw/helix fashion. No rationale is found in this reference which could be used to modify Perkinson above and it does not appear that this references would be compatible with the apparatus of Perkinson which utilizes a recirculation system for the balls while US 4717312 does not. US 2009/0004008 and GB411580A disclose of a cage/retainer for roller elements provided in a screw/helix orientation but are similarly not applicable for the reasons listed above for US 4717312. As such, these claims are deemed to contain allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 8545178 – US patent grant of prior art cited above.
US 8267656 - discloses subject matter similar to Perkinson cited above.
US 6679367, US 9746040 and US 4456430 – discloses a roller clutch means between a shaft and a rotor which comprises a plurality of rollers which interface with an inclined surface.
FR1159648A and GB972894A discloses a clutch system whereby roller elements interface with a surface which is inclined along the axial direction.
US 6684992 – discloses a clutch assembly which is comprised of a plurality of rollers between an inner racer and an outer racer, the rollers having a conical shape with the bearing surface of the outer racer having an incline along the axial direction.
US 10415429 - discloses an assembly with a plurality of rollers between an inner racer and an outer racer, the rollers provided as a first circumferential row and a second circumferential row, a roller cage provided with openings for each of the rollers and has two rows of spaces to accommodate the two rows of rollers.
/W.L.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745