CTNF 19/398,338 CTNF 92185 DETAILED ACTION Notice of AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This action is in response to application 19398338 filed on 11/24/2025. Claims 1-7 are presented for examination. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of foreign priority document, Application No. JP2024-206249, filed in Japan on 11/27/2024, has been received. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In [0006] of the specification, the phrases “suppling” should read “supplying” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: In lines 9 and 12 of claim 7, the phrases “suppling” should read “supplying” . Appropriate correction is required. Prior Art Rejections 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US Patent Pub. No. 2018/0004343 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2019/0294310 A1) Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches a display device (Shin, Fig. 1 and [0048], display panel 110), comprising: a plurality of pixel electrodes (Shin, Fig. 1 and [0048], sub pixels SP); a plurality of drive electrodes (Shin, Fig. 1, touch sensing circuit 120; Shin, Figs. 5 and 6, touch electrode TEs); and a drive circuit that drives at least one of the plurality of drive electrodes (Shin, [0050] and Fig. 1, touch sensing circuit 120), wherein the drive circuit is configured to alternatingly execute driving at least one of the plurality of pixel electrodes in a display mode for image display (Shin, Fig. 2, display section DS), and driving at least one of the plurality of drive electrodes in a touch mode for touch sensing (Shin, Fig. 2 , touch section TS), supply a touch drive signal in pulse form to at least one of the plurality of drive electrodes in driving in the touch mode an n’th time (Shin, Fig. 2, touch driving signal TDS is a pulse type), where n is a natural number (Shin, Fig. 2, first touch driving signal TDS). Shin does not seem to explicitly teach supply a touch drive signal in pulse form, of which polarity is inverse as to the touch drive signal in pulse form in the n’th time, to at least one of the plurality of drive electrodes in driving in the touch mode an (n+1)’th time. However, in a related art of providing pulse signals to drive touch display, Lee teaches supply pulse signals for driving touch display having polarity is inverse as to the touch drive signal in pulse form in the n’th time, to at least one of the plurality of drive electrodes in driving in the touch mode an (n+1)’th time (Lee, Figs. 7A, 13A and 13B, polarity of the driving signal Sdrv is reversed in adjacent/successive frames). Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to inverse polarity of the touch driving signal in adjacent/successive frames as suggested by Lee in the touch display of Shin. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to prevent the image displayed from degrading when performing touch sensing (Lee, [0005]). Regarding claim 2, Shin in view of Lee teaches the limitation of claim 1 and further teaches a plurality of gate lines (Shin, [0048] and Fig. 1, gate lines GL); and a plurality of source lines (Shin, [0048] and Fig. 1, data lines DL), wherein the plurality of pixel electrodes are each connected to the plurality of gate lines and the plurality of source lines via switching devices, and are laid out in matrix form (Shin, [0048] and Fig. 1,sub pixels SP are connected to the gate lines GL and data lines DL in a matrix form). Regarding claim 3, Shin in view of Lee teaches the limitation of claim 1 and further teaches the plurality of drive electrodes are common electrodes that provide common potential in the display mode (Shin, [0119] and Fig. 2, a common voltage is provided to touch electrode in display driving mode and touch sensing mode). Regarding claim 4, Shin in view of Lee teaches the limitation of claim 1 and further teaches the drive circuit includes a detection circuit that outputs the touch drive signal in pulse form to drive at least one of the plurality of drive electrodes, and detects presence or absence of touching, or a position of touching (Shin, [0052] and Figs. 1-2, touch sensing circuit 120 detects capacitance variation to detect finger, and TDS is provide in a pulse form). Regarding claim 5, Shin in view of Lee teaches the limitation of claim 1 and further teaches the drive circuit includes a detection circuit that outputs the touch drive signal in pulse form and detects presence or absence of touching, or a position of touching (Shin, [0052] and Figs. 1-2, touch sensing circuit 120 detects capacitance variation to detect finger, and TDS is provide in a pulse form). Regarding claim 6, Shin in view of Lee teaches the limitation of claim 5 and further teaches the detection circuit includes a sensing generator that generates the touch drive signal in pulse form, and a switching circuit that switches between positive voltage and negative voltage for a power source of the sensing generator (Shin, [0165], driving circuit perform touch driving based on waveform modulation; Shin, Fig. 2, TDS having positive and negative voltages). Regarding claim 7, Shin teaches a control method of a display device including a plurality of pixel electrodes and a plurality of drive electrodes (Shin, Fig. 1 and [0048], display panel 110 with sub pixels SP, touch electrode TEs and touch sensing circuit 120), the method comprising: alternatingly executing driving at least one of the plurality of pixel electrodes in a display mode for image display (Shin, Fig. 2, display section DS), and driving at least one of the plurality of drive electrodes in a touch mode for touch sensing (Shin, Fig. 2 , touch section TS); supplying a touch drive signal in pulse form to at least one of the plurality of drive electrodes in driving in the touch mode an n’th time, where n is a natural number (Shin, Fig. 2, touch driving signal TDS is a pulse type). Shin does not seem to explicitly teach supplying a touch drive signal in pulse form, of which polarity is inverse as to the touch drive signal in pulse form in the n’th time, to at least one of the plurality of drive electrodes in driving in the touch mode an (n+1)’th time. However, in a related art of providing pulse signals to drive touch display, Lee teaches supplying a touch drive signal in pulse form, of which polarity is inverse as to the touch drive signal in pulse form in the n’th time, to at least one of the plurality of drive electrodes in driving in the touch mode an (n+1)’th time (Lee, Figs. 7A, 13A and 13B, polarity of the driving signal Sdrv is reversed in adjacent/successive frames). Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to inverse polarity of the touch driving signal in adjacent/successive frames as suggested by Lee in the touch display of Shin. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to prevent the image displayed from degrading when performing touch sensing (Lee, [0005]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0341356 A1 to Wu et al. discloses a similar invention as recited, specifically the providing of inversed touch driving signal in adjacent/successive periods, see Figs. 2-4 and 13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DONG HUI LIANG whose telephone number is (571)272-0487. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7am-3pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, BENJAMIN C. LEE can be reached at (571)272-2963. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DONG HUI LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/398,338 Page 2 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/398,338 Page 3 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/398,338 Page 4 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/398,338 Page 5 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/398,338 Page 6 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/398,338 Page 7 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 19/398,338 Page 8 Art Unit: 2629