DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the system loss” is believed to be in error for --a system loss--; “the thrust” is believed to be in error for --a thrust--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 2-6 recite the broad recitation “greater than”, and the claim also recites “preferably greater than” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation, and the claim further recites “more preferably greater than” which is an even narrower statement of range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation “less than”, and the claim also recites “preferably less than” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation, and the claim further recites “more preferably less than” which is an even narrower statement of range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 8 and 15 recite the broad recitation “in the range”, and the claim also recites “preferably in the range” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation, and the claim further recites “more preferably in the range” which is an even narrower statement of range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation “in the range”, and the claim also recites “preferably is in the range” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation, and the claim further recites “more preferably in the range” which is an even narrower statement of range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 10 recites the broad recitation “in the range”, and the claim also recites “preferably in the range” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation “between 1 and 10”, and the claim also recites “preferably between 3 and 5” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation “between 10 and 25”, and the claim also recites “preferably between 14 and 22” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation, and further recites “further preferably between 16 and 20” which is an even narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-12, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith 2022/0333534 in view of Bainville 2008/0083841 and Schripp “Aircraft engine particulate matter emissions from sustainable fuels: Results from ground-based measurements during the NASA/DLR campaign ECLIF2/ND-MAX”.
In regards to Independent Claims 1 and 17 and Dependent Claims 2-8, 11, 12 and 16, Smith teaches a gas turbine engine (figure 13 and abstract) for an aircraft (paragraph [0088]), comprising: a combustor (98), comprising a combustion chamber (22) and a plurality of fuel spray nozzles (34 and 38) configured to inject fuel into the combustion chamber (as shown in figure 1), wherein the plurality of fuel spray nozzles comprises a first subset of fuel spray nozzles (34) and a second subset of fuel spray nozzles (38), wherein the combustor is operable in a condition in which each of the fuel spray nozzles of the first subset of fuel spray nozzles is supplied with fuel at a greater fuel flow rate than each of the fuel spray nozzles of the second subset of fuel spray nozzles (paragraph [0094]); and wherein: a thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is defined as: EImaxTOFmaxTOEIidleFidle where: EIidle is the system loss corrected nvPM emissions index in mg/kg of the gas turbine engine if operating at around 7% available thrust for given operating conditions; EImaxTO is the system loss corrected nvPM emissions index in mg/kg of the gas turbine engine if operating at around 100% available thrust for the given operating conditions; FmaxTO is the thrust of the gas turbine engine at around 100% available thrust in kN for the given operating conditions; and Fidle is the thrust of the gas turbine engine at around 7% available thrust in kN for the given operating conditions (engine of figure 13 is capable of operating at 100 and 7 percent thrust). However, Smith does not teach that the ratio of first to second spray nozzles is between 1:3 to 1:6, that the nvPM emissions index ratio is between 0.0009 and 0.02, or that the fuel comprises SAF. Bainville teaches a ratio of first to second fuel nozzles of 1:3 (where fuel nozzles are defined in claim 1 and the ratio of 1:3 is defined in claim 3, and there can be up to 18 nozzles, paragraph [0029], such that there would be a maximum of 4 first nozzles and 12 second nozzles when the ratio is 1:3). Schripp teaches using a jet fuel SAF mixture for fuel for an aircraft engine during operation (Three concentrations of SAF used in Table 1 on line 147, with SAJF2 and SAJF3 include 30 and 17% HEFA-SPK respectively resulting in a reduction of nvPM emissions at a high fuel flow rate of 9.69 and 083 respectively, Figure 2 at l. 281). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use a ratio of first to second nozzles of Smith of 1:3 resulting in 4 and 12 nozzles respectively, as taught by Bainville, and to use a percentage of SAF fuel for all the fuel injectors during operation, as taught by Schripp, in order to provide enough fuel to orifices during startup when only the first set of nozzles is used and provide enough flow rate at full power with all of the fuel nozzles (paragraph [0029] of Bainville), and to reduce contrail ice particle number formation and lifetimes to mitigate climate impacts (ll. 97-100 of Schripp). Figure 3 of Schripp further teaches that increasing the amount of SAF in the fuel mixture will decrease the nvPM mass relative to fuel w/o SAF during different fuel flow generating different thrust (figure 3). Therefore, the amount of SAF used in the fuel that controls the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is that increasing the amount of SAF in the fuel will decrease nvPM emissions, with a greater reduction at lower thrust resulting in a higher thrust nvPM emissions index ratio (as shown in figure 3 of Schripp). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that the amount of SAF used in the fuel can be changed, was disclosed in the prior art by Schripp, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use an amount of SAF in the fuel that results in a thrust nvPM emissions index ratio between 0.0132 and 0.0133 to control the amount of nvPM emitted by an engine. It has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding Dependent Claim 10, Smith in view of Bainville and Schripp teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Smith in view of Bainville and Schripp does not teach that the ratio of the first to second set of fuel spray nozzles is between 1:4.25 and 1:4.75. Bainville further teaches a ratio of first to second fuel nozzles of less than 1/3 or more (paragraph [0010]) in order to improve lateral flame propagation (paragraph [0009]). Therefore, the ratio of first to second fuel spray nozzles is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is reducing the ratio will further improve lateral flame propagation (paragraph [0009]). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that the ratio of nozzles can be reduced, were disclosed in the prior art by Bainville, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use a ratio of between 1:4.25 and 1:4.75 for the ratio of first to second fuel spray nozzles of Smith in view of Bainville and Schripp, in order to improve lateral flame propagation. It has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding Dependent Claim 15, Smith in view of Bainville and Schripp teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Smith in view of Bainville and Schripp does not teach that 50 to 100 percent SAF is used for the fuel spray nozzles. Schripp teaches that increasing the percentage of SAF fuel in the fuel mixture (e.g. from SAJF3 to SAJF2 in figure 2) will reduce the nvPM emissions rate (as shown in figure 2). Therefore, the percentage of SAF used in a fuel is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.0(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is that increasing the percentage of SAF in the fuel mixture will reduce nvPM emissions. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that the percentage of SAF fuel used in the fuel mixture, was disclosed in the prior art by Schripp, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use between 50 and 100 percent SAF fuel for the system of Smith in view of Bainville and Schripp in order to reduce nvPM emissions. It has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Bainville and Schripp as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bemment 11,643,979.
Regarding Dependent Claim 9, Smith in view of Bainville and Schripp teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Smith in view of Bainville and Schripp does not teach that the max thrust is 300 kN resulting in an idle thrust of 21 kN. Bemment teaches operating a gas turbine engine (10) with a maximum thrust of 300 kN (Col. 21, ll. 33-39) resulting in an idle thrust of 21 kN (Col. 23, ll. 53-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to operate the engine of Smith in view of Bainville and Schripp at 300 kN thrust at 100% thrust and 21 kN thrust at 7% thrust, in order for the aircraft to generate adequate thrust for takeoff (Col. 10, ll. 5-7) and idling on the ground (Col. 23, ll. 47-50).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Bainville and Schripp as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Daniau 2010/0186370.
Regarding Dependent Claims 13 and 14, Smith in view of Bainville and Schripp teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Smith in view of Bainville and Schripp does not teach one or more ignitors arranged diametrically opposite one another. Daniau teaches diametrically opposed ignitors (10 and 11, paragraph [0054]) for a combustor (figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use the diametrically opposed ignitors of Daniau for the combustor of Smith in view of Bainville and Schripp, in order to obtain reliable and uniform ignition of fuel in the combustor (paragraph [0037]).
Conclusion
/STEVEN M SUTHERLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752