DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on November 25, 2025. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-11, and 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McGarian (US 2011/0308785).
Regarding claim 1: McGarian discloses a whipstock 5, comprising:
a coupling section 6u having a first radius of curvature Fig 13, the coupling section configured to engage with a mill bit 10 when running in hole [0040], Fig 1;
a casing breakthrough section 7 having a second radius of curvature Fig 14; and
a controlled exit section 6l having a third radius of curvature fig 15, wherein the second radius of curvature is less than the third radius of curvature Fig 14, 15.
Regarding claims 5 and 15: Wherein the second radius of curvature is less than the first radius of curvature Fig 13, 14.
Regarding claims 6 and 16: Wherein the third radius of curvature is less than the first radius of curvature Fig 13, 15.
Regarding claims 7-10 and 17-20: Due to the phrase “ramp rate” not being defined in the instant specification, claims 7-10 and 17-20 are being rejected as best understood.
Regarding claims 7 and 17: Wherein the coupling section has a first ramp rate, the casing breakthrough section has a second ramp rate, and the controlled exit section has a third ramp rate Fig 13-15.
While McGarian does not disclose the ramp rate of the different sections of the whipstock, as the structure of the whipstock is substantially identical to that of the claims, the resulting function and structural relationships will be the same. “When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claims 8 and 18: Wherein the first ramp rate is less than the second ramp rate but greater than the third ramp rate Fig 13-15 – see above.
Regarding claims 9 and 19: Wherein the second ramp rate is at least six times the first ramp rate Fig 13-15 – see above.
Regarding claims 10 and 20: Wherein the controlled exit section includes a downhole portion at C in Figure 8 with a downhole portion ramp rate Fig 8 and an uphole portion at A in Figure 8 with an uphole portion ramp rate Fig 8, and further wherein a downhole portion ramp rate is less than an uphole portion ramp rate.
While McGarian does not disclose the ramp rate of the different sections of the whipstock, as the structure of the whipstock is substantially identical to that of the claims, the resulting function and structural relationships will be the same. “When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 11: McGarian discloses a well system Fig 1, comprising:
a wellbore Abstract, [0002] extending through one or more subterranean formations;
wellbore casing 1 located in at least a portion of the wellbore;
the above described whipstock located within the wellbore radially inside of the wellbore casing; and
a bottom hole assembly Fig 1-3 extending within the wellbore adjacent the whipstock.
Regarding claim 21: The well system further including a lateral wellbore extending from the wellbore proximate the whipstock [0002], [0036].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-11, and 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGlothen in view of McGarian (US 2010/0012322, McGarian2).
Regarding claim 1: McGlothen discloses a whipstock 28, comprising:
a coupling section 32 having a first radius of curvature r – [0033], [0034], [0036], the coupling section configured to engage with a mill bit when running in hole;
a casing breakthrough section 50 having a second radius of curvature Fig 4 – relatively flat; and
a controlled exit section 30 having a third radius of curvature R – [0033], [0034], [0036], wherein the second radius of curvature is less than the third radius of curvature an element or section that is flat has a radius of curvature that is less than an element or section that is concave.
McGlothen discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the coupling section being configured to engage with a mill bit when running in the hole.
McGarian2 discloses a whipstock-mill assembly Fig 1 where the mill is secured to the upper portion of the whipstock for running into the wellbore. McGarian2 further discloses that it is advantageous use such a single trip system instead of running the components in individually [0001], [0003].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified McGlothen so that the mill was secured to the coupling section of the mill, as suggested by McGarian 2, in order to have eliminated the need to run the whipstock and mill into the wellbore as separate trips [0003].
Regarding claims 5 and 15: Wherein the second radius of curvature is less than the first radius of curvature [0033], [0034], [0036].
Regarding claims 6 and 16: Wherein the third radius of curvature is less than the first radius of curvature [0033], [0034], [0036].
Regarding claims 7-10 and 17-20: Due to the phrase “ramp rate” not being defined in the instant specification, claims 7-10 and 17-20 are being rejected as best understood.
Regarding claims 7 and 17: Wherein the coupling section has a first ramp rate, the casing breakthrough section has a second ramp rate, and the controlled exit section has a third ramp rate Fig 2, 4.
While McGlothen does not disclose the ramp rate of the different sections of the whipstock, as the structure of the whipstock is substantially identical to that of the claims, the resulting function and structural relationships will be the same. “When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claims 8 and 18: Wherein the first ramp rate is less than the second ramp rate but greater than the third ramp rate Fig 2, 4 – see above.
Regarding claims 9 and 19: Wherein the second ramp rate is at least six times the first ramp rate Fig 2, 4 – see above.
Regarding claims 10 and 20: Wherein the controlled exit section includes a downhole portion 36 with a downhole portion ramp rate Fig 5 and an uphole portion 44 with an uphole portion ramp rate Fig 5, and further wherein a downhole portion ramp rate is less than an uphole portion ramp rate.
While McGlothen does not disclose the ramp rate of the different sections of the whipstock, as the structure of the whipstock is substantially identical to that of the claims, the resulting function and structural relationships will be the same. “When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 11: McGlothen discloses a well system, comprising:
a wellbore extending through one or more subterranean formations Fig 1;
wellbore casing 18 located in at least a portion of the wellbore;
a whipstock 28 located within the wellbore radially inside of the wellbore casing, the whipstock including:
a coupling section 32 having a first radius of curvature r – [0033], [0034], [0036], the coupling section configured to engage with a mill bit when running in hole;
a casing breakthrough section 50 having a second radius of curvature Fig 4 – relatively flat; and
a controlled exit section 30 having a third radius of curvature R – [0033], [0034], [0036], wherein the second radius of curvature is less than the third radius of curvature an element or section that is flat has a radius of curvature that is less than an element or section that is concave; and
a bottom hole assembly extending within the wellbore adjacent the whipstock Fig 1.
Regarding claim 21: The well system further including a lateral wellbore extending from the wellbore proximate the whipstock [0002], [0023], [0024].
Regarding claim 22: The well system further including a mill bit 66 located proximate the whipstock, the mill bit including:
a tubular having an uphole end and a downhole end Fig 9;
a first cutting section 70 having one or more first cutting surfaces 76 disposed about the tubular, the first cutting section having a first material removal rate and configured to engage with wellbore casing disposed within a wellbore [0065]; and
a second cutting section 68 having one or more second cutting surfaces 74 disposed about the tubular, the second cutting section having a second material removal rate less than the first material removal rate [0061] and configured to engage with a whipstock disposed within the wellbore [0061], [0065].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,497,842. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are merely broader recitations of U.S. Patent No. 12,497,842.
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,071,815. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are merely broader recitations of U.S. Patent No. 12,071,815.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 12-14 would be allowable if the statutory double patenting rejection, set forth in this Office action, is overcome and if they are rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 2 and 12: The prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest that the second radius of curvature is at least 5% less than the third radius of curvature as recited in the claimed combination.
It is noted that paragraph [0038] provide criticality for this feature and thus it cannot be said to be obvious.
Regarding claims 3 and 13: The prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest that the second radius of curvature is at least 10% less than the third radius of curvature as recited in the claimed combination.
It is noted that paragraph [0038] provide criticality for this feature and thus it cannot be said to be obvious.
Regarding claims 4 and 14: The prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest that the second radius of curvature is at least 25% less than the third radius of curvature as recited in the claimed combination.
It is noted that paragraph [0038] provide criticality for this feature and thus it cannot be said to be obvious.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER H GAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
JHG
07/23/2026