DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,741,442 and 12,493,863. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claims at issue are recited in claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,741,442 and 12,493,863. Below is the claim comparison table.
19/410,216
U.S. Patent No. 11,741,442
1. A method performed by one or more processors, the method comprising:
receiving a withdrawal request from a math based currency (MBC) account holder, the withdrawal request comprising a cryptocurrency withdrawal amount;
exchanging the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount of a different currency type of the MBC account holder;
providing the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount in the different currency type to the MBC account holder;
creating a public and private key pair associated with an amount of cryptocurrency equivalent to a difference between the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount and a cryptocurrency account amount; and
transferring additional cryptocurrency into a pooled account database in response to determining a pooled account database amount is below a threshold cryptocurrency amount.
1. A method of performing a withdrawal transaction, the method comprising:
receiving, by an account balance processor, a withdrawal request from a math based currency (MBC) account holder, the withdrawal request comprising information identifying the MBC account holder, an output currency type, and an MBC withdrawal amount, wherein the MBC withdrawal amount is a cryptocurrency;
verifying, by the account balance processor, the identity of the MBC account holder based on comparing the information with previously verified information;
determining, by the account balance processor, the MBC withdrawal amount is larger than an MBC account amount of the MBC account holder;
determining, by an MBC transaction processor, the output currency type is a different currency type of the MBC account holder, wherein the MBC account holder is associated with the MBC account amount;
exchanging, by an exchange processor, the MBC withdrawal amount of the different currency type with the output currency type;
providing, by the account balance processor, the MBC withdrawal amount in the output currency type to the MBC account holder;
creating, by the MBC transaction processor, a public and private key pair associated with an amount of MBC equivalent to the difference between the MBC withdrawal amount and the MBC account amount;
updating, by the MBC transaction processor, a pooled account database with the public and private key pair; and
updating, by the account balance processor, an overlay ledger by the MBC withdrawal amount.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the MBC transaction processor, a pooled account database amount; and
in response to determining the pooled account database amount is below a threshold MBC amount, transferring, by the MBC transaction processor, additional MBC into the pooled account database.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising determining the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount to exchange from the MBC account holder in the different currency type.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the exchange processor, the MBC withdrawal amount to exchange from the MBC account holder in the output currency type.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising broadcasting the withdrawal request to a plurality of MBC verification nodes.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
broadcasting, by the MBC transaction processor, the withdrawal request to a plurality of math-based currency verification nodes.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the pooled account database stores public and private key pairs associated with amounts of cryptocurrency, and wherein the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount is an amount of a first cryptocurrency.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the pooled account database stores public and private key pairs associated with amounts of MBC.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein an overlay ledger is configured to track association of the amounts of cryptocurrency with each account of a financial institution, and wherein a first association is between the amount of the first cryptocurrency and the MBC account holder, and wherein a second association is between the different currency type and another MBC account holder.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the overlay ledger is configured to track the association of amounts of MBC with each account of a financial institution.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the different currency type is a different cryptocurrency type or a fiat currency.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the output currency type is a different MBC type or a fiat currency.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the withdrawal request is received by at least one of a user device of the MBC account holder, a computing system of a financial institution, or an automated telling machine (ATM).
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the withdrawal request is received by at least one of a user device of the MBC account holder, a computing system of a financial institution, or an automated telling machine (ATM).
8. A system, comprising:
at least one processing circuit configured to:
receive a withdrawal request from a math based currency (MBC) account holder, the withdrawal request comprising a cryptocurrency withdrawal amount;
exchange the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount of a different currency type of the MBC account holder;
provide the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount in the different currency type to the MBC account holder;
create a public and private key pair associated with an amount of cryptocurrency equivalent to a difference between the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount and a cryptocurrency account
amount; and
transfer additional cryptocurrency into a pooled account database in response to determining a pooled account database amount is below a threshold cryptocurrency amount.
9. A system comprising:
at least one processing circuit configured to:
receive a withdrawal request from a math based currency (MBC) account holder, the withdrawal request comprising information identifying the MBC account holder, an output currency type, and an MBC withdrawal amount, wherein the MBC withdrawal amount is a cryptocurrency;
verify the identity of the MBC account holder based on comprising the information with previously verified information;
determine the MBC withdrawal amount is larger than an MBC account amount of the MBC account holder;
determine the output currency type is a different currency type of the MBC account holder, wherein the MBC account holder is associated with the MBC account amount;
exchange the MBC withdrawal amount of the different currency type with the output currency type;
provide the MBC withdrawal amount in the output currency type to the MBC account holder;
create a public and private key pair associated with an amount of MBC equivalent to the difference between the MBC withdrawal amount and the MBC account amount;
update a pooled account database with the public and private key pair; and
update an overlay ledger by the MBC withdrawal amount.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein the at least one processing circuit further configured to:
determine a pooled account database amount; and
in response to determining the pooled account database amount is below a threshold MBC amount, transfer additional MBC into the pooled account database.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein at least one processing circuit configured to determine the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount to exchange from the MBC account holder in the different currency type.
11. The system of claim 9, wherein the at least one processing circuit further configured to:
determine the MBC withdrawal amount to exchange from the MBC account holder in the output currency type.
10. The system of claim 8, wherein at least one processing circuit configured to broadcast the withdrawal request to a plurality of MBC verification nodes.
12. The system of claim 9, wherein the at least one processing circuit further configured to:
broadcast the withdrawal request to a plurality of math-based currency verification nodes.
11. The system of claim 8, wherein the pooled account database stores public and private key pairs associated with amounts of cryptocurrency, and wherein the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount is an amount of a first cryptocurrency.
13. The system of claim 9, wherein the pooled account database stores public and private key pairs associated with amounts of MBC.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein an overlay ledger is configured to track association of the amounts of cryptocurrency with each account of a financial institution, and wherein a first association is between the amount of the first cryptocurrency and the MBC account holder, and wherein a second association is between the different currency type and another MBC account holder.
14. The system of claim 9, wherein the overlay ledger is configured to track the association of amounts of MBC with each account of a financial institution.
13. The system of claim 8, wherein the different currency type is a different cryptocurrency type or a fiat currency.
15. The system of claim 9, wherein the output currency type is a different MBC type or a fiat currency.
14. The system of claim 8, wherein the withdrawal request is received by at least one of a user device of the MBC account holder, a computing system of a financial institution, or an automated telling machine (ATM).
16. The system of claim 9, wherein the withdrawal request is received by at least one of a user device of the MBC account holder, a computing system of a financial institution, or an automated telling machine (ATM).
15. At least one non-transitory processor-readable medium comprising processor-readable instructions, such that when executed by at least one processing circuit, causes the processing circuit to:
receive a withdrawal request from a math based currency (MBC) account holder, the withdrawal request comprising a cryptocurrency withdrawal amount;
exchange the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount of a different currency type of the MBC account holder;
provide the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount in the different currency type to the MBC account holder;
create a public and private key pair associated with an amount of cryptocurrency equivalent to a difference between the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount and a cryptocurrency account amount; and
transfer additional cryptocurrency into a pooled account database in response to determining a pooled account database amount is below a threshold cryptocurrency amount.
17. One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one processing circuit, cause the at least one processing circuit to:
receive a withdrawal request from a math based currency (MBC) account holder, the withdrawal request comprising information identifying the MBC account holder, an output currency type, and an MBC withdrawal amount, wherein the MBC withdrawal amount is a cryptocurrency;
verify the identity of the MBC account holder based on comparing the information with previously verified information;
determine the MBC withdrawal amount is larger than an MBC account amount of the MBC account holder;
determine the output currency type is a different currency type of the MBC account holder, wherein the MBC account holder is associated with the MBC account amount;
exchange the MBC withdrawal amount of the different currency type with the output currency type;
provide the MBC withdrawal amount in the output currency type to the MBC account holder;
create a public and private key pair associated with an amount of MBC equivalent to the difference between the MBC withdrawal amount and the MBC account amount;
update a pooled account database with the public and private key pair; and
update an overlay ledger by the MBC withdrawal amount.
18. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of 17, having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one processing circuit, cause the at least one processing circuit to:
determine a pooled account database amount; and
in response to determining the pooled account database amount is below a threshold MBC amount, transfer additional MBC into the pooled account database.
16. The non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 15, wherein at least one processing circuit configured to determine the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount to exchange from the MBC account holder in the different currency type.
19. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of 17, having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one processing circuit, cause the at least one processing circuit to:
determine the MBC withdrawal amount to exchange from the MBC account holder in the output currency type.
17. The non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 15, wherein at least one processing circuit configured to broadcast the withdrawal request to a plurality of MBC verification nodes.
12. The system of claim 9, wherein the at least one processing circuit further configured to:
broadcast the withdrawal request to a plurality of math-based currency verification nodes.
18. The non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the pooled account database stores public and private key pairs associated with amounts of cryptocurrency, and wherein the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount is an amount of a first cryptocurrency.
19. The non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 18, wherein an overlay ledger is configured to track association of the amounts of cryptocurrency with each account of a financial institution, and wherein a first association is between the amount of the first cryptocurrency and the MBC account holder, and wherein a second association is between the different currency type and another MBC account holder.
20. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of 17, wherein the pooled account database stores public and private key pairs associated with amounts of MBC, and
wherein the overlay ledger is configured to track the association of amounts of MBC with each account of a financial institution.
20. The non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the withdrawal request is received by at least one of a user device of the MBC account holder, a computing system of a financial institution, or an automated telling machine (ATM).
16. The system of claim 9, wherein the withdrawal request is received by at least one of a user device of the MBC account holder, a computing system of a financial institution, or an automated telling machine (ATM).
19/410,216
U.S. Patent No. 12,493,863
1. A method performed by one or more processors, the method comprising:
receiving a withdrawal request from a math based currency (MBC) account holder, the withdrawal request comprising a cryptocurrency withdrawal amount;
exchanging the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount of a different currency type of the MBC account holder;
providing the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount in the different currency type to the MBC account holder;
creating a public and private key pair associated with an amount of cryptocurrency equivalent to a difference between the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount and a cryptocurrency account amount; and
transferring additional cryptocurrency into a pooled account database in response to determining a pooled account database amount is below a threshold cryptocurrency amount.
1. A method of performing an exchange, the method comprising:
receiving, by an account balance processor, a withdrawal request from a math based currency (MBC) account holder, the withdrawal request comprising a cryptocurrency withdrawal amount;
exchanging, by an exchange processor, the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount of a different currency type of the MBC account holder;
providing, by the account balance processor, the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount in the different currency type to the MBC account holder;
creating, by an MBC transaction processor, a public and private key pair associated with an amount of cryptocurrency equivalent to a difference between the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount and a cryptocurrency account amount;
updating, by the MBC transaction processor, a pooled account database with the public and private key pair; and
updating, by the account balance processor, an overlay ledger by the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the MBC transaction processor, a pooled account database amount; and
in response to determining the pooled account database amount is below a threshold cryptocurrency amount, transferring, by the MBC transaction processor, additional cryptocurrency into the pooled account database.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising determining the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount to exchange from the MBC account holder in the different currency type.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the MBC transaction processor, the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount to exchange from the MBC account holder in the different currency type.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising broadcasting the withdrawal request to a plurality of MBC verification nodes.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
broadcasting, by the MBC transaction processor, the withdrawal request to a plurality of MBC verification nodes.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the pooled account database stores public and private key pairs associated with amounts of cryptocurrency, and wherein the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount is an amount of a first cryptocurrency.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the pooled account database stores public and private key pairs associated with amounts of cryptocurrency, and wherein the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount is an amount of a first cryptocurrency.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein an overlay ledger is configured to track association of the amounts of cryptocurrency with each account of a financial institution, and wherein a first association is between the amount of the first cryptocurrency and the MBC account holder, and wherein a second association is between the different currency type and another MBC account holder.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the overlay ledger is configured to track the association of the amounts of cryptocurrency with each account of a financial institution, and wherein a first association is between the amount of the first cryptocurrency and the MBC account holder, and wherein a second association is between the different currency type and another MBC account holder.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the different currency type is a different cryptocurrency type or a fiat currency.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the different currency type is a different cryptocurrency type or a fiat currency.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the withdrawal request is received by at least one of a user device of the MBC account holder, a computing system of a financial institution, or an automated telling machine (ATM).
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the withdrawal request is received by at least one of a user device of the MBC account holder, a computing system of a financial institution, or an automated telling machine (ATM).
8. A system, comprising:
at least one processing circuit configured to:
receive a withdrawal request from a math based currency (MBC) account holder, the withdrawal request comprising a cryptocurrency withdrawal amount;
exchange the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount of a different currency type of the MBC account holder;
provide the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount in the different currency type to the MBC account holder;
create a public and private key pair associated with an amount of cryptocurrency equivalent to a difference between the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount and a cryptocurrency account
amount; and
transfer additional cryptocurrency into a pooled account database in response to determining a pooled account database amount is below a threshold cryptocurrency amount.
9. A system comprising:
at least one processing circuit configured to:
receive a withdrawal request from a math based currency (MBC) account holder, the withdrawal request comprising a cryptocurrency withdrawal amount;
exchange the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount of a different currency type of the MBC account holder;
provide the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount in the different currency type to the MBC account holder;
create a public and private key pair associated with an amount of cryptocurrency equivalent to a difference between the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount and a cryptocurrency account amount;
update a pooled account database with the public and private key pair; and
update an overlay ledger by the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein the at least one processing circuit further configured to: determine a pooled account database amount; and
in response to determining the pooled account database amount is below a threshold cryptocurrency amount, transfer additional cryptocurrency into the pooled account database.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein at least one processing circuit configured to determine the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount to exchange from the MBC account holder in the different currency type.
11. The system of claim 9, wherein the at least one processing circuit further configured to: determine the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount to exchange from the MBC account holder in the different currency type.
10. The system of claim 8, wherein at least one
processing circuit configured to broadcast the withdrawal request to a plurality of MBC verification nodes.
12. The system of claim 9, wherein the at least one processing circuit further configured to:
broadcast the withdrawal request to a plurality of MBC verification nodes.
11. The system of claim 8, wherein the pooled account database stores public and private key pairs associated with amounts of cryptocurrency, and wherein the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount is an amount of a first cryptocurrency.
13. The system of claim 9, wherein the pooled account database stores public and private key pairs associated with amounts of cryptocurrency, and wherein the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount is an amount of a first cryptocurrency.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein an overlay ledger is configured to track association of the amounts of cryptocurrency with each account of a financial institution, and wherein a first association is between the amount of the first cryptocurrency and the MBC account holder, and wherein a second association is between the different currency type and another MBC account holder.
14. The system of claim 13, wherein the overlay ledger is configured to track the association of the amounts of cryptocurrency with each account of a financial institution, and wherein a first association is between the amount of the first cryptocurrency and the MBC account holder, and wherein a second association is between the different currency type and another MBC account holder.
13. The system of claim 8, wherein the different currency type is a different cryptocurrency type or a fiat currency.
15. The system of claim 9, wherein the different currency type is a different cryptocurrency type or a fiat currency.
14. The system of claim 8, wherein the withdrawal request is received by at least one of a user device of the MBC account holder, a computing system of a financial institution, or an automated telling machine (ATM).
16. The system of claim 9, wherein the withdrawal request is received by at least one of a user device of the MBC account holder, a computing system of a financial institution, or an automated telling machine (ATM).
15. At least one non-transitory processor-readable medium comprising processor-readable instructions, such that when executed by at least one processing circuit, causes the processing circuit to:
receive a withdrawal request from a math based currency (MBC) account holder, the withdrawal request comprising a cryptocurrency withdrawal amount;
exchange the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount of a different currency type of the MBC account holder;
provide the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount in the different currency type to the MBC account holder;
create a public and private key pair associated with an amount of cryptocurrency equivalent to a difference between the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount and a cryptocurrency account amount; and
transfer additional cryptocurrency into a pooled account database in response to determining a pooled account database amount is below a threshold cryptocurrency amount.
17. One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one processing circuit, cause the at least one processing circuit to:
receive a withdrawal request from a math based currency (MBC) account holder, the withdrawal request comprising a cryptocurrency withdrawal amount;
exchange the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount of a different currency type of the MBC account holder;
provide the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount in the different currency type to the MBC account holder;
create a public and private key pair associated with an amount of cryptocurrency equivalent to a difference between the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount and a cryptocurrency account amount;
update a pooled account database with the public and private key pair; and
update an overlay ledger by the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount.
18. The one or more computer-readable storage media of claim 17, having additional instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one processing circuit, cause the at least one processing circuit to:
determine a pooled account database amount; and
in response to determining the pooled account database amount is below a threshold cryptocurrency amount, transfer additional cryptocurrency into the pooled account database.
16. The non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 15, wherein at least one processing circuit configured to determine the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount to exchange from the MBC account holder in the different currency type.
17. The non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 15, wherein at least one processing circuit configured to broadcast the withdrawal request to a plurality of MBC verification nodes.
19. The one or more computer-readable storage media of claim 17, having additional instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one processing circuit, cause the at least one processing circuit to:
determine the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount to exchange from the MBC account holder in the different currency type; and
broadcast the withdrawal request to a plurality of MBC verification nodes.
18. The non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the pooled account database stores public and private key pairs associated with amounts of cryptocurrency, and wherein the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount is an amount of a first cryptocurrency.
19. The non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 18, wherein an overlay ledger is configured to track association of the amounts of cryptocurrency with each account of a financial
institution, and wherein a first association is between the amount of the first cryptocurrency and the MBC account holder, and wherein a second association is between the different currency type and another MBC account holder.
20. The one or more computer-readable storage media of claim 17, wherein the pooled account database stores public and private key pairs associated with amounts of cryptocurrency, wherein the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount is an amount of a first cryptocurrency, and wherein
the overlay ledger is configured to track the association of the amounts of cryptocurrency with each account of a financial institution, and wherein a first association is between the amount of the first cryptocurrency and the MBC account holder, and wherein a second association is between the different currency type and another MBC account holder.
20. The non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the withdrawal request is received by at least one of a user device of the MBC account holder, a computing system of a financial institution, or an automated telling machine (ATM).
16. The system of claim 9, wherein the withdrawal request is received by at least one of a user device of the MBC account holder, a computing system of a financial institution, or an automated telling machine (ATM).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Analysis
In the instant case, claims 1-7 are directed to a method, claims 8-14 are directed to a system and 15-20 are directed to CRM. Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
The claim(s) recite(s) processing withdrawal transaction request. Specifically, the claims recite “receiving a withdrawal request from a math based currency (MBC) account holder, the withdrawal request comprising a cryptocurrency withdrawal amount; exchanging the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount of a different currency type of the MBC account holder; providing the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount in the different currency type to the MBC account holder; creating a ... associated with an amount of cryptocurrency equivalent to a difference between the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount and a cryptocurrency account amount; and transferring additional cryptocurrency into a ... in response to determining a pooled account database amount is below a threshold cryptocurrency amount.”, which is “commercial or legal interactions” within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106) because the claims involve a series of steps for processing withdrawal transaction request. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106), the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as the use of processor, processing circuit, public and private key pair, pooled account database and processor-readable medium merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The processors and memories are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing withdrawal transaction request) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using processor, processing circuit, public and private key pair, pooled account database and processor-readable medium to perform withdrawal transaction steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2, 9 and 16 describe exchange. Dependent claims 3, 10 and 17 describe broadcasting transaction. Dependent claims 4, 11 and 18 describe pooled account database. Dependent claims 5, 12 and 19 describe overlay ledger. Dependent claims 6 and 13 describe currency type. Dependent claims 7, 14 and 20 describe transaction device. These claims further recite the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as the use of processor, processing circuit, public and private key pair, pooled account database and processor-readable medium merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims simply recite the concept of processing withdrawal transaction request. The claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field.
The use of a processor, processing circuit, public and private key pair, pooled account database and processor-readable medium as tools to implement the abstract idea does not render the claim patent eligible because it does not provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment and requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Application Publication US20150332256A1 (“Minor”) in view of US Application Publication US20150310424A1 (“Myers”).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 15, Minor discloses:
receiving a withdrawal request from a math based currency (MBC) account holder, the withdrawal request comprising a cryptocurrency withdrawal amount; (¶0008 and ¶0023)
exchanging the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount of a different currency type of the MBC account holder; (¶¶0008-9 and ¶¶0012-13)
providing the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount in the different currency type to the MBC account holder; (¶¶0008-9 and ¶¶0012-13)
transferring additional cryptocurrency into a pooled account database in response to determining a pooled account database amount is below a threshold cryptocurrency amount. (¶0100 and ¶0107)
Minor does not explicitly disclose:
creating a public and private key pair associated with an amount of cryptocurrency equivalent to a difference between the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount and a cryptocurrency account amount; and
However, Meyers discloses:
creating a public and private key pair associated with an amount of cryptocurrency equivalent to a difference between the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount and a cryptocurrency account amount; and (Fig. 3 items item 312; ¶0039)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the System and Method for Converting Cryptocurrency to Virtual Assets Whose Value is Substantiated by a Reserve of assets of Minor by including creating a public and private key pair associated with an amount of cryptocurrency equivalent to a difference between the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount and a cryptocurrency account amount in accordance with the teaching of Myers. This modification ensures the unspent remains at the desired address. It prevents the unspent be accidently collected as transaction fees.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Minor in view of Myers discloses all limitations as described above. Minor further discloses:
determining the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount to exchange from the MBC account holder in the different currency type. (¶0007)
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Minor in view of Myers discloses all limitations as described above. Mayer further discloses:
broadcasting the withdrawal request to a plurality of MBC verification nodes. (¶0041 and ¶0044)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the System and Method for Converting Cryptocurrency to Virtual Assets Whose Value is Substantiated by a Reserve of assets of Minor by including broadcasting transaction request to cryptocurrency network for recordation in accordance with the teaching of Myers. This modification allows the transaction be validated by the cryptocurrency network and record on the ledger should validation is successful.
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Minor in view of Myers discloses all limitations as described above. Minor further discloses:
wherein the pooled account database stores public and private key pairs associated with amounts of cryptocurrency, and wherein the cryptocurrency withdrawal amount is an amount of a first cryptocurrency. (Fig. 7 item 707; ¶0007, ¶0028 and ¶0032; claim 20)
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Minor in view of Myers discloses all limitations as described above. Minor further discloses:
wherein an overlay ledger is configured to track association of the amounts of cryptocurrency with each account of a financial institution, and wherein a first association is between the amount of the first cryptocurrency and the MBC account holder, and wherein a second association is between the different currency type and another MBC account holder. (Fig. 7 item 705; ¶0028)
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Minor in view of Myers discloses all limitations as described above. Minor further discloses:
wherein the different currency type is a different cryptocurrency type or a fiat currency. (Fig. 3; ¶¶0013-14)
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, Minor in view of Myers discloses all limitations as described above. Minor further discloses:
wherein the withdrawal request is received by at least one of a user device of the MBC account holder, a computing system of a financial institution, or an automated telling machine (ATM). (¶0008)
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US9892460B1 (“Winklevoss et al.”) discloses systems, methods, and program products for providing an exchange traded product holding digital math-based assets. Shares based on digital math-based assets may be created using one or more computers by determining share price information based upon quantities of digital math-based assets held by a trust, electronically receiving a request from an authorized participant user device to purchase a quantity of shares, electronically transmitting a quantity of digital math-based assets to one or more destination digital asset accounts for receipt of digital math-based assets from the authorized participant based on the determined share price information and the requested quantity of shares, and electronically issuing shares to the authorized participant.
US20150287026A1(“Yang et al.”) discloses a system and method for providing a hot wallet service. Specifically, a manager server of the system is configured to receive a cryptocurrency transaction request, identifying at least a hot wallet accountholder, identifier and to determine a first set of authentication servers to authenticate the cryptocurrency transaction request; the authentication servers, each configured to independently authenticate the cryptocurrency transaction request by verifying a requester of the cryptocurrency transaction request against an accountholder profile associated with the hot wallet accountholder identifier; wherein the authentication servers are configured to approve, independently from each other, the cryptocurrency transaction request by cryptographically signing approval messages to send to an aggregation server using respective private authentication keys stored respectively in the authentication servers when the requester is verified; and the aggregation server configured to aggregate cryptographic signatures of the cryptocurrency transaction request from the authentication servers to publish the cryptocurrency transaction request into a cryptocurrency network.
/YINGYING ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3697