Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7, 10, 13, 14, 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6, 8, 9, 11, 12 also objected as being dependent to an objected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (2024/0204163) “Chen”.
As of claim 1, Chen teaches
A display apparatus comprising:
a display panel (92 Fig.7);
a data driver in signal communication with the display panel, the data driver configured to output a data voltage to the display panel ([0035]);
a driving controller in signal communication with the data driver, the driving controller configured to control an operation of the data driver ([0035]); and
an eye tracker in signal communication with the driving controller, the eye tracker configured to output a view signal representing a user’s viewing position to the driving controller ([0045]),
wherein the data driver ([0045]) comprises:
a plurality of interface circuits configured to independently operate ([0037, 0038, 0045] interfaces 104, 106, 108); and
wherein a resolution of a display area corresponding to the user’s viewing position is different from a resolution of a display area not corresponding to the user’s viewing position ([0045]).
In an obvious variation, Chen
a plurality of drivers configured to independently operate, the plurality of drivers being connected one-to-one to the interface circuits ([0035] “The electronic display panel 92 may include a reference array 94, an active area 96, and associated driver circuits (e.g., scan driver, data driver)” which would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art that the “association driver circuits” functionality would function the same as the claim limitations “, the plurality of drivers being connected one-to-one to the interface circuits”),
wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of display areas corresponding one-to-one to the drivers ([0035] “The electronic display panel 92 may include a reference array 94, an active area 96, and associated driver circuits (e.g., scan driver, data driver)”, [0045]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Chen’s apparatus as taught above to control displaying image frames on the active area 96 of the display panel 92 (see [0035]).
As of claim 2, Chen teaches
wherein the resolution of the display area decreases as a distance between the display area and the user’s viewing position increases ([0044] teaches changing resolution based on location and length).
As of claim 3, Chen teaches
wherein the interface circuit is configured to receive a data signal corresponding to the interface circuit and a resolution signal corresponding to the interface circuit ([0024]).
As of claim 16, Chen teaches
wherein the display areas are disposed adjacent to each other in a first direction (Fig.12, same disposition of display areas), and wherein the display area corresponding to the user’s viewing position has two or more resolutions in a second direction different from the first direction ([0045], Fig.12, teaching different resolutions).
As of claim 17, Chen teaches
wherein a resolution of the display position decreases as a distance between a display position and the user’s viewing position increases in the display area corresponding to the user’s viewing position ([0045] teaching resolution on 402 “gaze point” different than resolution on 404).
As of claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same as claim 1. Only claim 18 is a method claim.
As of claim 19, Chen teaches
An electronic apparatus comprising:
a display panel (92 Fig.7);
a data driver in signal communication with the display panel, the data driver configured to output a data voltage to the display panel ([0035]);
a driving controller in signal communication with the data driver, the driving controller configured to control an operation of the data driver ([0035]);
an eye tracker in signal communication with the driving controller, the eye tracker configured to output a view signal representing a user’s viewing position to the driving controller ([0045]); and
a processor in signal communication with the driving controller, the processor configured to output each of input image data and an input control signal to the driving controller ([0024, 0029]),
wherein the data driver ([0045]) comprises:
a plurality of interface circuits configured to independently operate ([0037, 0038, 0045] interfaces 104, 106, 108); and
wherein a resolution of a display area corresponding to the user’s viewing position is different from a resolution of a display area not corresponding to the user’s viewing position.
In an obvious variation, Chen teaches
a plurality of drivers configured to independently operate, the plurality of drivers being connected one-to-one to the interface circuits ([0035] “The electronic display panel 92 may include a reference array 94, an active area 96, and associated driver circuits (e.g., scan driver, data driver)” which would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art that the “association driver circuits” functionality would function the same as the claim limitations “, the plurality of drivers being connected one-to-one to the interface circuits” ),
wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of display areas corresponding one-to-one to the plurality of drivers ([0035] “The electronic display panel 92 may include a reference array 94, an active area 96, and associated driver circuits (e.g., scan driver, data driver)”, [0045]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Chen’s apparatus as taught above to control displaying image frames on the active area 96 of the display panel 92 (see [0035]).
As of claim 20, Chen teaches
wherein the input image data includes color data associated with one or more pixels of the display panel ([0028]).
Conclusion
INSA . SADIO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2628
/INSA SADIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628