DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/14/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10-11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2019/0386253)
As to Claim 1, Li et al. discloses A display device comprising: a light-emitting device (fig.11, OLED D; para.0078); and a color control portion disposed on the light-emitting device (fig.4, 11, color filter substrate 1; para.0078), the color control portion comprising: a bank (fig.4, black matrix 12 includes bank 121; para.0042) in which a color control hole is defined (para.0042, space defined by carrier substrate 11, first bank 121 and second bank 131),
the bank including a top surface (fig.4, upper surface of black matrix layer 12 which includes bank 121) including: a surface treatment region including: a first surface treatment region disposed next to a hole perimeter of the color control hole (fig.4, black matrix layer 12 including bank 121 next to space (photoresist 15), and may be formed of an organic resin or inorganic thin film {inner upper surface of bank 121 read as first surface treatment region}; para.0060-0061) and having a first contact angle (fig.4, contact angle of bank 121; para.0062); and
a second surface treatment region spaced apart from the hole perimeter with the first surface treatment region interposed therebetween (fig.4, dam layer 13 includes bank 131 and is disposed above first bank 121 and may be formed of a thin film {overlapping area where bank 131 is disposed above bank 121 is read as second surface treatment region} and spaced apart from space region (photoresist 15) and first bank 121 interposed therebetween; para.0062,0064) and having a second contact angle greater than the first contact angle (para.0062-a contact angle of bank 131 is greater than contact angle of bank 121),
a color control layer formed in the color control hole (fig.4, color photoresist layer 15; para.0042,0066).
As to Claim 2, Li et al. discloses wherein the first surface treatment region includes the hole perimeter (fig.4, bank 121 adjacent space (photoresist 15)), and the second surface treatment region includes an outermost perimeter of the surface treatment region (fig.4, bank 131 above bank 121).
As to Claim 3, Li et al. discloses, wherein the second surface treatment region and the first surface treatment region contact each other (fig.4, bank 131 disposed above (outer surface) of bank 121)
As to Claim 6, Li et al. discloses wherein the color control hole comprises a first color control hole and a second color control hole next to each other, and the color control layer comprises a first color control layer and a second color control layer having different colors from each other and filling the first color control hole and the second color control hole, respectively (fig.4, space filled with red photoresist R, space filled with green photoresist G; para.0066).
As to Claim 10, Li et al. discloses wherein the color control hole comprises a first color control hole, a second color control hole and a third color control hole, and the color control layer includes a first color control layer, a second color control layer and a third color control layer having different colors from each other and filling the first color control hole, the second color control hole and the third color control hole, respectively (fig.4, space filled with red photoresist R, space filled with green photoresist G, space filled with blue photoresist B; para.0066).
As to Claim 11, Li et al. discloses wherein the first color control layer, the second color control layer and the third color control layer serve as a red color layer, a green color layer and a blue color layer, respectively (fig.4, red photoresist R, green photoresist G, blue photoresist B; para.0066).
As to Claim 14, Li et al. discloses which the display device does not include a polarizing plate (as depicted in fig. 11 and respective description thereof).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2019/0386253) in view of Kim (US 2022/0208905).
As to Claim 4, Li et al. does not expressly disclose, but Kim discloses wherein the surface treatment region further comprises a third surface treatment region spaced apart from the first surface treatment region with the second surface treatment region therebetween (fig.2, third bank 330 spaced apart from bank 310 with bank 320 therebetween; para.0074, 0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li et al. with the teachings of Kim, such that a third bank disposed on second bank 131 (of Li). The motivation to provide separation between pixel columns and prevent solution from being mixed.
Li et al. in view of Kim do not expressly disclose the third surface treatment region has a third contact angle greater than the second contact angle of the second surface treatment region.
However, Li et al. in view of Kim, Li et al. discloses a contact angle of the first bank 121 is less than a contact angle of the second bank 131 (Li-para.0062).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device such that a contact angle bank 131 less than of third bank. The motivation being since in doing so would not have modified the operation of the device yielding predictable results, in particular improved evenness, uniform film thickness, and reduced risk of displaying color mixing.
As to Claim 5, Li et al. in view of Kim disclose wherein the first surface treatment region includes the hole perimeter (Li-fig.4, bank 121 adjacent space (photoresist 15)), and the third surface treatment region includes an outermost perimeter of the surface treatment region (Li-fig.4; Kim-fig.2, bank 330 farthest hole (220 located) perimeter).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2019/0386253) in view of Jun et al. (US 2019/0198574).
As to Claim 12, Li et al. does not expressly disclose, but Jun et al. discloses: wherein an area of the third color control layer is smaller than an area of each of the first color control layer and the second color control layer (fig.4, para.0098; a thickness of the blue control layer 210c smaller than of green control layer and the red control layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li et al. with the teachings of Jun et al., the motivation being to implement a color of desired wavelength according to a thickness of the color control layer.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2019/0386253) in view of Lin et al. (US 2021/0028327).
As to Claim 13, Li et al. discloses wherein the color control portion further comprises: a base layer on which the bank and the color control layer are arranged (fig.4, substrate 11).
Li et al. does not expressly disclose, but Lin et al. discloses: a light-scattering layer disposed between the color control layer and the base layer to selectively overlap the first color control layer and the second color control layer among the first color control layer, the second color control layer and the third color control layer (fig.5, light scattering layer 346 between light conversion layer 306 and protection layer 348, overlapping red and green light conversion layer; para.0055-0056,0059).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li et al. with the teachings of Lin et al., the motivation being to uniformly diffuse the converted light generated by the light conversion layer.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2019/0386253) in view of Nakatani et al. (US 2012/0228602).
As to Claim 15, Li et al. discloses A display device comprising: a light-emitting device (fig.11, OLED D; para.0078); and a color control portion disposed on the light-emitting device (fig.4, 11, color filter substrate 1; para.0078), the color control portion comprising: a bank (fig.4, black matrix 12 includes bank 121; para.0042) in which a color control hole is defined (para.0042, space defined by carrier substrate 11, first bank 121 and second bank 131),
the bank comprising: a top surface including: a surface treatment region having a contact angle which increases in a region farther from a hole perimeter of the color control hole in a radial direction of the color control hole (fig.4, black matrix layer 12 including bank 121 may be formed of an organic resin or inorganic thin film and has a contact angle of bank 121; para.0060-0062); and
a color control layer formed in the color control hole (fig.4, color photoresist layer 15; para.0042,0066).
Li et al. discloses a contact angle of the first bank 121 is less than a contact angle of the second bank 131 (para.0062). Li et al. does not expressly disclose a contact angle which increases in a region farther from a hole perimeter of the color control hole in a radial direction of the color control hole
Nakatani et al. discloses a bank having a contact angle which increases in a region farther from a hole perimeter of the color control hole in a radial direction of the color control hole (fig.2-3, para.0113-0114; the contact angle increases in radial direction (16c to 16a)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li et al. by implementing a bank as disclosed by Nakatani et al., the motivation being to obtain gradient wettability along the height of the bank.
As to Claim 16, Li et al. in view of Nakatani et al. disclose wherein the surface treatment region is provided in plural, and a plurality of surface treatment regions have contact angles which increase stepwise from the hole perimeter (Li-fig.4 bank 131, para.0062, contact angle of the first bank 121 is less than a contact angle of the second bank 131; Nakatani-fig.2-contact angle increases as the height of the bank increases; para.0113-0114).
As to Claim 17, Li et al. in view of Nakatani et al. disclose wherein the contact angle of the surface treatment region continuously increases from the hole perimeter (Nakatani-fig.2-contact angle increases as the height of the bank increases; para.0113-0114).
As to Claim 18, LI et al. in view of Nakatani et al. disclose wherein the surface treatment region is provided in plural (Li-fig.4, each of bank 131 above bank 121 ), the color control hole is provided in plural (Li-fig.4, space where photoresist 15 R,G,B is disposed), a plurality of color control holes are surrounded by a plurality of surface treatment regions, respectively (Li-fig.4, space where photoresist 15 R,G,B is disposed surrounded by banks 121, 131), and the surface treatment regions are spaced apart from each other on the top surface of the bank (Li-fig.4, bank 131 above bank 121).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2019/0386253) in view of Jang et al. (US 2021/0408109).
As to Claim 19, Li et al. discloses An electronic device comprising: a display device comprising: a light-emitting device (fig.11, OLED D; para.0078); and a color control portion disposed on the light-emitting device (fig.4, 11, color filter substrate 1; para.0078), the color control portion comprising: a bank (fig.4, black matrix 12 includes bank 121; para.0042) in which a color control hole is defined (para.0042, space defined by carrier substrate 11, first bank 121 and second bank 131),
the bank including a top surface (fig.4, upper surface of black matrix layer 12 which includes bank 121) including: a surface treatment region including: a first surface treatment region disposed next to a hole perimeter of the color control hole (fig.4, black matrix layer 12 including bank 121 next to space (photoresist 15)), and may be formed of an organic resin or inorganic thin film {inner upper surface of bank 121 read as first surface treatment region}; para.0060-0061) and having a first contact angle (fig.4, contact angle of bank 121; para.0062); and
a second surface treatment region spaced apart from the hole perimeter with the first surface treatment region interposed therebetween (fig.4, dam layer 13 includes bank 131 and is disposed above first bank 121 and may be formed of a thin film {overlapping area where bank 131 is disposed above bank 121 is read as second surface treatment region} and spaced apart from space region (photoresist 15) and first bank 121 interposed therebetween; para.0062,0064) and having a second contact angle greater than the first contact angle (para.0062-a contact angle of bank 131 is greater than contact angle of bank 121), a color control layer formed in the color control hole (fig.4, color photoresist layer 15; para.0042,0066).
Li et al. does not expressly disclose, but Jang et al. discloses: a memory (para.0052); and a processor which executes data included in the memory and controls an operation of the display device (para.0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li et al. with the teachings of Jang et al., in order to perform various functions of the device.
As to Claim 20, Li et al. in view of Jang et al. disclose wherein the electronic device includes virtual reality or augmented reality glasses, a smartphone, a tablet personal computer, a laptop, a television, a desk monitor, smart glasses, a head-mounted display, a smart watch, or a vehicle display (Jang-para.0003).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 7 is allowable over the prior art of record since the cited references alone or in combination do not teach or suggest “wherein the surface treatment region is provided in plural, and a surface treatment region surrounding the first color control hole among surface treatment regions and a surface treatment region surrounding the second color control hole among the surface treatment regions are separated with a separation distance interposed therebetween on a portion of the top surface of the bank between the first color control hole and the second color control hole” along with the other limitations in the claim.
Conclusion
/DISMERY MERCEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627